The Time Has Come
Submitted: Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 14:11
Member - Nick (Kununurra)
Much to my dismay,we are getting ready to pack up up here and head back home(I thought I was home !!!).The family has had enough,the kids miss their friends, SWMBO HATES the heat(only peaked around 43 last few days), me Im a bleep tered man.I absolutley love it here and would never go back but Im out voted so when work breaks up at christmas, we head off and have christmas on the road,most likely in
Alice Springs.
Months before we actually left Tassie I wondered if it we were doing the right thing,worried like crazy but now that we've done it I gotta say that it was the best thing we've done, it really is a great spot.That may change if you were working outside all the time in the heat.Me, Im in and out of an A/C office running a John Deere workshop all day so I can cool down as needed.
So any one considering a "sea change" but keep putting it off because of the unknown,don't.Get out and do it , we only get one chance, make the best of it before you carnt.
Cheers Guys
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 14:17
Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 14:17
There's an add in today's paper for a service manager a McIntosh and sons in
Perth
You would have to change colours that's all
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 22:23
Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 22:23
Have done some dealing with them while here.
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 16:31
Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 16:31
Safe trip back Nick for you and your family, and agree with you only live once go and see what we can before its too late. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 22:22
Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 22:22
Cheers Mate
Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 17:40
Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 17:40
Gday Nick
Its a pity - it does get to you a bit but you get used to it. I get back to town on Tuesday night so we'll have to catch up - maybe a trip up river & a swim, followed by tea and a swim in
the pool at our place? I'll give you a ring on wednesday or call into vanderfields
Cheers Andrew
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 22:26
Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 22:26
Look forward to it,cheers
Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:51
Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 21:51
Hey Nick
What's the bet that before long you will be back up in the tropics again because now that you have tasted the change from the southern mentality, your whole family will be yearning to return. Bear that in mind. Once bitten....................
Just a thought from an old tropical inhabitant.
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 22:21
Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 22:21
Gday Willem,yeah I hope to come back soon.We have a few ventures to try when we get home and if they dont happen
well we may spend 6 months here and 6 in Tassie.Work up here wants me to do that so Ill see what happens
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 01:19
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 01:19
I lack the intelligence to establish the order of sequence here, so I'll just jump in, boots on and mouth wide open.
Nick, ahh, the Top End. Mouldy bread, mouldy boots, bleep full tempers in the build-up.
We traded
Darwin for
Tully (I truly believe we could have been in the Fungal Zone
'till fungi did dispose of our bodies: tetapi, SWMBO relocated us to
Bundaberg.)
Bundy's a great area, but the fecund North is still the (gentler) place to be .
Depends a bit on family. (Sorry, did I say a bit? Smak my wrist!! Look after your Mum, buddy.) Jeff H.
Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:04
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:04
Nick,
Sorry to hear of your imminent departure from
Kununurra.
Have always read your posts, in case you mention parts of that area I always enjoyed so much, almost 40 years ago.
Just remind the Boss about all that beautiful. mild weather prior to the onset of the hot weather. Got to remember too, that K. has one of the highest average temps anywhere in Australia. That area has to have some of the most charismatic scenery anywhere in Oz.
Where we live now, just south of
Winton, it gets hot too, but a few aircons help to make life bearable. At moment, at 11am, it has just reached 40'C, but is only 25 here in the office. Dry heat a lot easier to take too.
Have a safe trip back to Vic.
hooroo...
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 13:09
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 13:09
Yeah thanks Bob,I have the option of coming back each dry season to work so will see what happens back home.1000am here and just nudging 40'c and yes we are all indoors by the A/C.Carnt even get in the spa,
water temp in there is "bath
water hot".If you didnt like it/wernt happy here I can understand how the temp would get to you, even all the locals are complaining about the heat.
Reply By: Glenn (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 14:10
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 14:10
Hi Nick,
That is sad news for you. I know the kids and wife will be happy though. At least I was lucky enough to catch up with you whilst you were in
Kununurra. I am hoping my sea change will start soon in the new year. The house will be on the market and hopefully sold soon after that. Then come Feb/March, with the divorce finalised, access arrangements and settlement sorted, James and I can head to Alice for a while.
Keep in touch.
Glenn