People never cease to amaze me

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 15:36
ThreadID: 39364 Views:3556 Replies:16 FollowUps:27
Went to Wilbinga yesterday and whilst stopped at the fence on the way out (we were looking for the sand bowl and couldn't find it); a brand new yota cruiser stopped and was full of what appeared to be two Middle Eastern families. They like us were looking for the big sand bowl. Anyway off they went and around we turned (a convoy of 3 terracans). Around a bend there was this cruiser up to both axles wheels spinning sand flying in all directions.

Came to a nice rolling stop behind this peanut. Asked him if he had a shovel - No; a compressor - No; Tyre pressure gauge - no; had he let his tyres down - No. What gear are you in - don't know; UHF; no? You getting the drift here.
So the tree of us started to dig this guy out I hooked up my strap. Wasn't going to miss a chance of me in my little old Terracan dragging a big mean Toyota out of a bog was I. Eventually he let his tyres down and he used my gauge to check his pressures. In the end he was able to back up out of the mess he was in.
Bugger me he then loads up the family's and buggers off. Wonder if they got home alright or are still bogged up to the sills so lonely sandy place in the middle of nowhere?

Reply By: eazy - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 15:57

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 15:57
It does make you wonder what they would have done had you not been around!

My wife and I stIll laugh and grimace in equal measures when we wonder what happened to the old guy we saw back in July setting off to drive up to Palm Valley in Finke Gorge (about 13km up a rocky and sandy riverbed!) in a Toyota Tarago despite our best efforts to flag him down!
AnswerID: 204427

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:27

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:27
Probably had no problems. Not really a hard offroad trip last time I went. Don't think we used 4wd at all.
FollowupID: 464344

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 16:00

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 16:00
Hi Duncan

I don't think it was the Toyota's fault, just the nut driving it, I,m sore the same nut could drive a Terracan.

Sorry I drive a big mean Toyota... LOL
AnswerID: 204429

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 17:43

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 17:43
Yer I know Richard but could you of imagined the glee in me posting such a photo here. LOL

FollowupID: 464216

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 16:02

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 16:02
yet you lot think there shouldnt be a 4 wheel drive licence .

You chose to help the bloke , thats great. Probably taught him simething also , like you were taught once apon a time.

get over it and move on
AnswerID: 204431

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 17:44

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 17:44
Ouch.

FollowupID: 464217

Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 18:31

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 18:31
i guess the answer was no.
FollowupID: 464224

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 16:17

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 16:17
You mean you dug him out? You got that wrong.

First rule of recovery: "I'm the boss. Everyone does what I say."
Second rule: "If there's digging to be done, I have a shovel, but you're doing the digging"
Third rule: "If anything breaks it's your problem - my stuff or yours"

A bit like the questions you hinted at:

"Are you in 4WD?" - it is amazing how often "no" is the answer
"What gear are you in?"
"What pressure are your tyres?"
"May I drive?"
AnswerID: 204434

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 17:35

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 17:35
Hear hear !!!!!

Add to that .. "Got a snatch strap"? .. then go back to "well, here, you can borrow my shovel or buy my strap".

I have rendered two snatch straps useless in the past with no thought of those I was helping offering to replace it or fix me up for the damaged one. So .. "twice bitten, thrice shy".

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 464215

Follow Up By: Mobi Condo - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:12

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:12
Now - I have just read two or three REALLY GOOD pieces of advice. Yep stop and give the advice and let them do the WORK at THEIR EXPENSE and the lesson may start to get in!
Cheers- Mobi
FollowupID: 464229

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:30

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:30
Just another word of warning, if I may..............

You come across some bloke bogged in the sand and offer to assist him. He volunteers (or responds to your question), that he does have his own snatch strap. You suggest he connects the strap to his rig and you'll do the same to yours.

There are 2 potential problems with this scenario:

1). Some people do not know the difference between a snatch strap and a winch extension strap.......they look the same, so the dude that's bogged probably isn't too worried if he's got it wrong. You take off with a couple of meters of slack and promptly either break something or maybe bend your chassis. So, make sure what he offers-up IS a snatch strap and that it is in excellent condition.

2). For goodness sake, check how he has attached the strap to his car (assuming you've let him do it while you do the join to your rig)...... He may have attached it to a tie-down point or used a shackle (worse still, an unrated shackle). If something on his car lets go during the recovery, chances are that you'll wear the shackle/tie-down bracket etc when it lets go. No need to worry if that does happen though, cos you won't even feel a thing!! The bit will have passed through the back of your head before you've even realised something was amiss.
FollowupID: 464278

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:48

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:48
Definately agree, I did the attaching and put the bag over to take the whip out if it broke. As above didn't use it in the end.

FollowupID: 464326

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 18:11

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 18:11
At the risk of being expunged from the forum I reckon you did a damned good job, I have taken a strong line with these types and would have offered to let the "Authorities" know they were stuck there....Particularly the types who seem to think it is my responsibility to resolve the crisis they have created for themselves & then after you've sorted them out they just drive off without even a simple "thank you"
AnswerID: 204446

Reply By: longJohn - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 18:41

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 18:41
Ok how about this guy. Up at Double island point near fraser island (same type of all sandy area) there is rainbow beach just north of it, with mudlo rocks on the beach front, passable at low tide. Everyone goes this way, its known locally as the normal way to go at low tide. Well this peanut (scuse me for using that even tho its already been used here, its just that approriate though) heard this and tries it, only he does it at double island point. Its a huge rocky headland which juts out into the sea! 60foot deep water around it! He just starts driving off beside the rocks into the surf, and stops when the water starts entering the snorkel of his new 75 000 Land cruiser. It was a write off. He had no clue. And due to his neglegence id imagine not a happy insurance company either! Probably voided his policy id imagine.

AnswerID: 204449

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:51

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:51
unlikely ... senior AAMI guy told me that no motor vehicle insurance policy in Australia includes a stupidity clause.

Only reason his policy would be voided is because of the write-off which they would pay more than likely unless he was proven drunk.
FollowupID: 464293

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:15

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:15
1st rule when coming upon someone stuck and wanting a hand...get out of the vehicle and after the customary "g'day mate ya need a hand" grab the camera and take plently of pics during all stages of the recovery including pics of any good looking females from various angles. :)

Where are the pics ?
AnswerID: 204461

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:40

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:40
What has the term ' Middle Eastern ' got to do with the story?

Wouldn't Peanut be enough?

Next time you come across a local in a new Yota stuck to the gunwhales, maybe you could describe them as of ' Caucasian ' appearance.

Methinks you watch too much telly.
AnswerID: 204471

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:52

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:52
Point taken, that meaning to be racist or over dramatising. If he had of been Greek he would of been Greek, or Italian, etc, just happened to of been from that neck of the woods, think he may of been from Turkey. But definitely a peanut or should that be a Turkey.

FollowupID: 464237

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:11

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:11
Arhhh, a Turkish Delight, very nice.
FollowupID: 464241

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:10

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:10
Duncan

My opinion is to try not to categorise people by their appearance on forums as it invites criticism and/or condemnation.

FollowupID: 464270

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:25

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:25
Willem to be honost if this forum had editting functions I would of removed the refernece to ethnisity, as it is superfluous to the intent of the Post.

FollowupID: 464276

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:31

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:31
Us kiwi/australians don't mind though, we enjoy a good sheep joke

Duncan, don't worry mate, you're a good man
FollowupID: 464279

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:44

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:44
I was more concerned about the carist remarks made on this thread

They always pick on Toyota .LOL

Richard Kovac

Of Eastern Europe (but have shaved of my moustache) descent
FollowupID: 464651

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:55

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:55
AnswerID: 204480

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:15

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:15
Alf my mate had my camera, I said take some video and photos, when I downloaded all the photos not one photo of the incident was taken. The other guys may of taken some photos though.

FollowupID: 464245

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:22

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:22
Whilst others may think that you should have left them there, good on ya for doing the noble thing, biting your tongue and helping out someone in need.

You never know when will need a hand, no matter what vehicle you drive........Karma count +1.

FollowupID: 464249

Reply By: longJohn - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:12

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:12
I heard about this one at Eli creek on fraser a while ago, I wasnt there, but I recognise the photo, found it on the net

AnswerID: 204485

Follow Up By: viz - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 08:21

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 08:21
Eli Creek has claimed a lot of vehicles over time - and not just Eli. The whole of Fraser will eat the unwary 4WD.... About ten years ago a few of friends came with me and my wife on a trip to Fraser. I had a well modified Range Rover and the others were in a Nissan (Pathfinder?). I have driven very extensively on sand in all sorts of 4WDs, my friend in the Nissan still learning (remind me one day to tell you the story of how he got his 4WD pearched on top of a VW Beetle...). We come to Eli on the way back to camp when the tide was fairly well out and the banks a bit high. The RR just cruised down one side and up the other - no dramas no problems. The Nissan, due to its IFS and lower ground clearance, was advised to take a route near the tide, but "watch the waves and time it when a wave is receding..."

We all hopped out to watch - and I so very badly wish I had my camera out at the time... The driver (we wont name names, but his was Bradley ;) had a young lady with him from Denmark who he was trying to impress - so far with no luck. So he winds up his windows and without waiting for my all-clear signal, floors the gas pedal and bolts - right into the path of a big wave tumbling up the beach (you know the big wave at the end of a set - the 7th wave, king wave - call it what you like). The Nissan disappears in a wall of green-blue water and foam - and I look on with my jaw down on the sand. Wait wait wait, out he comes, motor roaring - - and he's made it!!

But....

The passenger door flies open and a ringing wet prospective girl friend jumps out, says something very load and noisy in Danish at Bradley, grabs her sun dress and pulls it off over her head and throws it at him. Not sure if that was quite *how* he wanted that to happen, but what the hell the end result is what counts I guess...

We all ran over to have a gander (not so much at her - she changed her mind about the dress when she realised she had an audience - she did not have much else on) - and looked on in disbelief as he opened up his door and CD's and other bits and pieces floated out on a wave of water.

By this time I was incoherent with laughter, lying on the sand - and so were the others. Even Bradley. And the now ex-prospective girl friend is trying very hard to keep a straight face - she sees the funny side, but is still mad at him...

And what did he do wrong??? Apart from not listening to me (as long as we have known each other he never has!) he left his sun-roof open..........!!!

/viz
PS - The young Danish lady did forgive Bradley - and warmed to him. They became an item for a while, but she had to go back to Denmark...

FollowupID: 464385

Reply By: longJohn - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:22

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:22
or what about this guy? least he had a half decent go at diggin himselt out:P

AnswerID: 204492

Reply By: Aandy(WA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:58

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:58
Just remember that there was a time when you were not an expert. There are in fact many things that you're probably not an expert in even now. One day you might need the help of someone - I wonder if they will tell the world about your shortcomings. You helped someone in need but what is the purpose of publicly putting them down? I guess it makes you feel superior. Maybe it's something to do with your vehicle!!! Not exactly what such an expert 4wder usually drives!!
AnswerID: 204510

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:29

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:29
Toyota - bogged
Terracan - not bogged

Since when does the vehicle you drive determine how skilled you are at driving? Seems to me that you would need to be more of an expert to drive a Terracan than a Toyota off road.

Just my opinion, and I drive a Toyota and dig myself out LOL

FollowupID: 464277

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:32

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:32
Aandy far from it, my intent was and still is not to ridicule or humiliate the individual, but to point out that the person had ventured out unprepared. I'm happy for their sake that we did turn around and hopefully he may of learnt something from it and next time be a bit more prepared.
Never professed to be an expert. Yep I'll be learning to the day I die.
My choice of vehicle is my choice, just as your's is for you. Vehicle choice was never in the equation.

FollowupID: 464281

Follow Up By: Member - jeff M (SA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:36

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:36
Duncan : Good on you for helping someone out , some people are a bit touchy about your deception of event's.
He could of at least thanked you and your friends for saving them from a sticky situation.

Well done.
FollowupID: 464315

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:53

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:53
Thanks Jeff.
John agree with what you're saying regarding the Yota's capabilities. I know my capabilities or lack of them and also my vehicles.

FollowupID: 464330

Follow Up By: AndrewX - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:29

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:29
Jiarna, you will not find any experienced off roaders driving a Terracan.
FollowupID: 464400

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 10:30

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 10:30
Andrew I suggest that you get out a bit more often. There are many experienced off road drivers now driving Terracans. Many of these guys have traded in their Patrols, cruisers, etc for what ever reason and now drive terracans. Or have Military, mining, and exploration backgrounds. When making such derogatory statements please back it up with facts or qualify the level of experience you refer to.

FollowupID: 464415

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:16

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:16
I think this is all - 'a test' of some sort.
AnswerID: 204565

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 08:04

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 08:04
Yep......................and YOU failed....hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 464382

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:10

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:10
Why do you always state the bleeding obvious.

Tell me something I don't know. for a change
FollowupID: 464520

Reply By: Member - Phillip S (WA) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:50

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:50
I agree Lucy.....I have done a lot of stupid things myself and paid a dear price from time to time...But now I get a lot of pleasure in helping those who make the same mistakes as I did once.....I try to get them involved in the recovery process and that way they learn to their delight that 4wd can be fun and in turn help others.
AnswerID: 204569

Reply By: MickO13 - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 13:59

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 13:59
Dunc,

pardon my asking but were you at Kennedy Ranges NP in W.A. about 23rd May this year? We met a Duncan and Kerry there and they drove a Terracan. Could there be two of you? (Ran into them a few days later at Mt Augustas as well)

Mick.

AnswerID: 204653

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 15:52

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 15:52
You've got a good memory Mick. Yep ended up doing 16,600k's all up. The trip across from Mt Augustas to Tom Price via Ashburton Downs was interesting with Kerry getting a bit upset because we were the only ones on the road and it was still fairly rough in places. Long and slow but no big deal.

FollowupID: 464481

Reply By: aeiou - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 17:07

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 17:07
came accross broken down pajero.

set up a dead vehicle tow but noticed the vehicle was unregistered.
assumed it was also uninsured.

We packed up all the recovery gear, explained our concerns and offered them a lift instead.

They declined the lift so we left them there (explained about possible liability with the unreg vehicle).

The last thing we wanted was damage or injury that we had to pay for.

AnswerID: 204691