Labor in bed with the Greens!
Submitted: Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:10
Shaker
Now we know why Alpine Grazing was terminated & the cattle were unceremoniously dumped from the High Country, Labor in Victoria have just signed a deal with the Greens for vote preferences.
Not really wanting to be political, but you don't need to be Rhodes Scholar to work out that if Labor are returned, they will have a debt to repay to the Greens.
This will be most likely repaid in the way of more track closures & restriction of High Country access, unless you are a Green of course.
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:57
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:57
Shaker if I had said that I would have Jimbo saying I was poitically biased. Makes you wonder at the stated policy as pasted up my Member John the other day and how they can reconcile it with their 'Green' credentials. I don't think they can and I agree you are right with your statement.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:00
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:00
I certainly don't want turn the
forum into a political 'soapbox', but it it certainly raises the question & also answers why the cattle were removed, obviously to secure the deal.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:04
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:04
Welcome to the real world Shaker :)))) Has there ever been any doubt ???
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:13
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:13
Any truth to the rumor that the Liberals are also negotiating with the Greens?
I gunna be all about the preferences.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:44
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:44
Hahahahaha John. They're all a bunch of tarts no matter which political persuasion :)))))
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:49
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:49
Spot on Al.
It will be important to vote below the line and mark the Greens last in this election.
A vote above the line for the mainstream parties will lead to the dirty little preference deals done by all coming into play.
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:54
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:54
Last time I looked I swung to the left but that could change by a stroke of the hand. Members to the right are in the majority at this point in time.... LOFL
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:56
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:56
I only know what I read in the papers mate..... I agree about marking them last, I have done my ballot papers all the way with the numbers for years.
Hey, Al, you arn't speaking from close acquaintance are you? ;-)
Follow Up By: silkwood - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:14
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:14
The forthcoming election may or may not result in reduction of access into National Parks (no offence, but I'll do a bit more research before taking comments here as gospel) but my hat's off to you for not letting the facts get in the way of a good story. The argument about allowing cattle onto the high plains is exactly the opposite of that presented here. In fact the undeniable damage sustained in this NATIONAL
PARK has been recognised for years. It was political pressure (and cowardice) towards keeping the status quo which was only recently overcome. Consecutive Liberal and Labor governments have been aware for more than three decades the continuation of grazing in National Parks was not only damaging but unsupportable.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:38
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:38
JohnR,
I don't think any politician could stand the constant ridicule and abuse they'd get if they were a regular acquaintance of
mine :)))) The few that I have met,
well ..... tarts have a far higher standard of morals/ethics.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:21
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:21
silkwood .... wait for the next Alpine area fires!
Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:36
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:36
Forgot to add that compared to vehicles driving off the tracks, leaving cans, bottles, plastics,
toilet paper, nappies, fire pits & God knows what what other cr@p around the Alpine areas ... the cattle were pretty harmless.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:44
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:44
Jeez!! Shaker the Greens won't have a clue about the Alpine Fires as they never go to the high country to see the real issues, either before of after the affect.
The term Green is a misnomer when the country was black as the ace of spades post effect.
Follow Up By: Barnesy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:47
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:47
John R,
Just a few days ago you criticised me for making this
forum too political when I criticised a government policy. But then I suppose you agree with this political view on an issue where no facts have emerged, only speculation, so that must make it OK.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:53
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:53
Now thats a sad thing to read "I only know what I read in the papers mate"
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:42
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:42
Well Barnsey, I nearly thought you were to get a solar 4by mate and quit any thought of towing a trailer let alone fitting better brakes.
Bit sad Richard, I admit. Just means I am not close to the action though doesn't it. Bit contrary to a thought you had perhaps? Am I sad about it? Not at all, I prefer to get to the outdoors. I spend more time on the dairy industry, not party politics. Decisions I would make have more direct meaning than the other. ;-)
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 08:34
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 08:34
Actually having read the papers of yesterday now - over brekkie this morning, and knowing a little of the balloting system.
Labor preferences may pass through the shooters interests or whatever, but they won't have enough strength to hold the votes. The preferences from Labor will only travel through if they aren't at the top of the feed chain. If they are third or lower they will be of value. That won't happen in many seats. It won't mean much at all.
Al, I don't ridicule any I know, and they have been both sides of the house. One I had trouble with on the Labor right a few years ago, had real trouble with me when he found I could talk also with a friend on the left - that was Feds too. The leftie had been TLC fellow over this way and I had invited him to meetings. Turned to be an effective Indiginous Affairs miinister. Has horse interests these days. I don't!
Follow Up By: Nifty1 - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:40
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:40
Oh, B'ware, what a gem of a post! And no-one seems to have noticed. Bunch of eunuchs, I suppose....
Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:18
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:18
Any of these mobs would shoot their own grandmothers to gain or stay in power. I'm never surprised when one of em ends up on the front page. I wouldn't give most of them the time of day.
What's that old tee shirt saying, "Don't vote. It only encourages the B's ?" What a sad reflection on all of us.
Could be worse. In some countries the pollies, lawyers and generals are all in bed with one another.
Our system is far from perfect, but it seems a lot better than some others. Just :))
Personally I'll stick to 4wd touring. It doesn't hurt my head as much.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:00
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:00
"the pollies, lawyers and generals are all in bed with one another"
In our case, two out of three ain't bad, eh :)))))
It's good to see a healthy dose of Aussie cynicism regarding politicians in this discussion LOL
Reply By: Jimbo - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:41
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:41
There is a time and place for political promotion.
This
forum is not either.
Give it up, it's very boring. And the effort is not worthwhile, you'll never change the opinion of more than 1% of the community.
Whilst this is a well occupied
forum, it won't ever change Govt based on changing 1% of the contributors here.
Finally, John Renyard you are poltically biased, and that is your right. You just don't have to stuff it down everyone's throat. And you don't have to get stuck into those who alert you to it.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:05
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:05
LOL Jimbo. Tell us how you REALLY feel :)))
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:23
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:23
Actually I do disagree with you Jim.
If the issue we are discussing is the policy of continued access to public lands then that is rather relevant to the 4wding agenda of this
forum.
So I reckon anyway.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:24
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:24
Sorry should have added that politics can't be any more or less boring then who has the best tyre or
fridge. :-)
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:06
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:06
Your points are fair John.
Comments about someting that affect us is relevant.
Poltical grandstandinig is not. I'm not suggesting you have included yourself in this, quite the opposite actaully.
ATB,
Jim
Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:45
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:45
No matter who you vote for .. you always get a politician.
Ther's no doubt that the Labour and Greens have done a deal. I still recall Mark Latham (Mark who???) down in Tassie being shown over wilderness areas by Bob Brown. That cost him plenty of votes (thank heavens).
But then the Libs are no better ... when they declared a few years ago that they would not deal with One Nation. I had a mate very close to the workings of One Nation and there were quite a few preference deals done in various electorates. I am aware of one case where the Libs paid for one One Nation candidates advertising (posters etc) in exchange for preferences.
I guess it is the nature of the game, as rotten as it is.
Jack
Reply By: Barnesy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:40
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:40
I don't know the details of this case but all political parties make deals with all other parties. Always have and always will. If the Greens do get more power then we may finally begin to see change with other issues, like global warming for example. An issue the greens have been pushing for years.
I ask you how many deals have the Libs done with big business? How many business groups complain about the new IR laws? How many deals has the PM done with Bush? To be honest i trust the greens more than G. Bush.
Do you know for sure that this deal will result in track closures Shaker, or are you just guessing?
Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:47
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:47
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think said "most likely".
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:57
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:57
You would be a blind corpse to think that the greens wont get their way in closing things down. They have succeeded in other states...
Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 16:08
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 16:08
Come on mate!
What sort of statement is that? What's the point your trying to make?
I trust used car, aluminium cladding and roof restoration salsmaen more than I trust G. Bush.
Perhaps that it, let's lump the greens in with used car, aluminium cladding and roof restoration salesmen...Whoops! Sorry! SalesPERSONS. (Sensitive little souls those Greens).
Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:26
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:26
I don't support the greens with all of their policies. But as a minor party i think they do a good job.
Silkwood said it, previous parties were unwilling change anything with cattle in the highlands. The Greens are willing.
They are tireless campaigners for stopping the logging of native forests and reducing co2 emissions (both of which they have been doing for years). For this they get my vote.
How many in this
forum have been to the Tassy forests? How many want to see them logged? Which party fights for them to be preserved?
Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:34
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:34
It's the hoons in their big mud
tyres driving through every boghole they can find who are the cause for track closures. Get stuck into those fools. Not the Greens.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 21:14
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 21:14
I didnt know you did stand up barnsey?
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 22:19
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 22:19
Isn't it the needle exchange programs in prisons you want em for Barnsey? Perhaps the contraceptives for the wild dog problem or the fox problem? Its called ethically dealing with the problem animals, bugger the native animals they kill while you wait. Support them and that is part and parcel of what they are after.
Great you want to reduce the greenhouse gas too, but don't you have a 4by?
Bruce is right on the standup, if you are that convinced, you have to start with yourself mate.
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:57
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:57
Shaker..
The funny thing is that you wont see a Liberal Rhodes Scholar... lol
That's a Labor thing .
Kim
Tony
Get the drift
also my Troopy is going fine (just to keep with the theme of the site)
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:06
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:06
Hmm Richard,
Think you have forgotten Tony Abbott and Malcolm Turnbull :))))
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:20
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:20
Not to mention Daryl Williams :)))))
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:24
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:24
They must be poor boys NOT BORN TO LEAD... had to work for a living???
Tony's from the middle and Malcolm is a Republican..
So as I have said before there is always some good in bad..:)))))))
Al
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:26
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:26
who the...
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:29
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:29
Richard,
I am more cynical than most people. I don't trust any of them. They may start off with good intentions etc but it does'nt take long for them to be worn down and only look after themselves.
I did'nt trust the bastard that wanted to keep the other bastards honest either LOLOL
Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:31
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:31
Richard, as I actually live on the edge of, & use the High Country, I consider the access to be more than relevant to this
forum.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:35
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:35
Shaker
"live on the edge of, & use the High Country"
what part and how do you use it?
I come from the highland i may know..
Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:46
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:46
I live a few kms from
Walhalla & 'use' it respectfully for recreation.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:51
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:51
Hey Richard not denying that Rhodes scholars are
bright but some use their intelligence better than others, right and left side.......
"The funny thing is that you wont see a Liberal Rhodes Scholar" you did use a capital L for the Liberal so you were identifying a political person I guess and as Al said you had selective memory.
I know the area where Shaker is from, been kayaking one the local rivers round his area a few times. Think you are a different state, may be wrong. He actually talked about the fires round his area last year and this one
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:04
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:04
Shaker
So nothing to do with "Now we know why Alpine Grazing was terminated & the cattle were unceremoniously dumped from the High Country, Labor in
Victoria have just signed a deal with the Greens for vote preferences."
So "Not really wanting to be political" was a meaningless statement?
No problems Jr &m I was born a bread in
Broadford played football where the ice and snow fall on the fields have driven only a couple of hundred meter short of the top of Vic. (in a Datsun)
Liberal = a lefty in the great US of A thank God we. Johnny isn't as right as the "W"..
Reply By: Kata - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:57
Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:57
Im not political at all, think one is worse than the other.
A mate emailed me this late last week.
Dunno if they ever get to or put anything into action, but I guess maybe they are listening.
Tried to hyperlink it but tells me there is no real site, maybe it is bulltish...lol
http://www.alpvictoria.com/alp/pdf/policies/Hunting_4WD.pdf
Kata
Interesting read
no afiliation at ALL.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:16
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:16
The press release from that document has been posted on here already have a look at Post No 39286.
Interesting extract from that document though..........
THE CONTRAST WITH THE GREENS
The Greens political party would ban all hunting and 4WD access to our parks
and forests and create ‘no catch’ limits on
fishing. This would deny many
Victorians the chance to enjoy our great outdoors.
Instead of banning all recreational hunting and
fishing, the Bracks Government
has set sustainable limits.
What I find intriguing is that we never see the Greens deny such statements????
Reply By: LastAussieWorker - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:12
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:12
Alpine grazing should never have been started. The cattlemen have absolutely ruined the high country with grazing. Pity grazing was not stopped sooner.
The Liberal Party have already agreed to more track closures to 4WD vehicles. The hoons in 4WD driving off the tracks is making one hell of a mess and is an environmental disaster. Idiots with big
tyres and mud
tyres have screwed it for everybody.
Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:32
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:32
Agree Lastaussie worker. It's the hoons in their big mud
tyres, driving through every boghole they can find that causes tracks to be closed. Responsible 4wders like most people are, should get stuck into them, not a political party.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:42
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:42
"The Liberal Party have already agreed to more track closures to 4WD vehicles."
LastAussieWorker I must have missed that policy statement.
Can you please advise where that Liberal Policy is stated?
It seems to be in contrast to the public statement released by BOTH major parties at this time.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 22:32
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 22:32
John, there have been a few variations on the leftie side as they have already closed quite a few and are climbing back to say, normality. Not sure what I trust in what they say as they have promised two paramedics for our local community and a new ambulance station. Funny thing is, it doesn't appear in any of the financial information they are allowing to spend. They have a list of a dozen ambulance stations costed but not our local one.
Barnsey, I must be a hoon with big
tyres on Moses some of the time. But then I actually prefer to cruise through on the ridges between the ruts. Mud
tyres allow me traction to succeed in that in most cases.
L..A..W seems to have a side of track closures that is misleading. They are wanting to make sure of maintenance for fire trails from
press releases. Plenty of Aussie workers round here mate, so a few misleading words.
Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 23:53
Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 23:53
John R,
you have to have the last word on each point made don't you. Looking down the post from the top you have a comment for everybody.
Now hang on........I've heard that typed somewhere before.