Hill Billy Products

Submitted: Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:32
ThreadID: 39425 Views:3076 Replies:10 FollowUps:8
Gday all.....have just purchased a hill billy stove..( camp oven ). Has any one any advise using these. You place the coals on top of the lid of the thing and it cooks...roasts etc.
Just seeing iof any one else has these?

Flight Sargent

Reply By: Ozrover - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:53

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 23:53
Hi FS, We've had one of these for about three years now & they work brilliantly.

For roasts make sure that you use a trivet (spacer with holes in it) to keep the meat off the bottom & I usually put some liquid in every now & then (beer works well).
For stews, (and for roasts) small amount of coals on the ground & lots on top & keep topping them up!

Yum! They also make woks, & frying pans as well.

Jeff.
AnswerID: 204783

Reply By: Member - Jason R (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 05:43

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 05:43
Hi FS,

I also have one of these and paid the extra for the gas converter. Brilliant, either way they cook a sensational roast and we have used it at home rather than cook in the stove. It's more fun that way.

Rusty
AnswerID: 204803

Reply By: mfewster - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 07:45

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 07:45
Ours has been great. The handle arrangement can be a bit fiddly. Welders gloves makes handling them easy. Definitely use the trivet- the heat isn't as even as cast iron..
AnswerID: 204813

Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 07:49

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 07:49
Yep - a brilliant piece of gear. Great roasts, stews (when used as a pot), and we have made bread it ours as well. I have quite a few of HillBilly's products and find them all excellent.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 204814

Reply By: GazzaS (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 08:16

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 08:16
Hi Flight Sargent

We too would not be without ours - great for a whole range of things. Hill Billy put out a cook book as well which I would recommend. An important part of using is to clean and season before you use it for cooking. Need to get all the manufacturing oil etc out of it and then get some cooking oil into it. Let me know if you are not sure on this (I recall they give some instructions with new ones).

Good luck and enjoy
AnswerID: 204817

Follow Up By: Flight Sargent - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 10:30

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 10:30
Thanks guys......tried a roast out in it but just didnt cook right after 2 .5 hours. Just put coals on top as shown by the chap who sold it to me.Wondering if I used enough heat beads....used 12 beads. Those with the gas option......is it worth paying the extra do you think and buy the gas attachment ?

FLIGHT SARGENT
FollowupID: 464714

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:04

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:04
I have one as well, I was very happy with mine cooking with the coals, so opted to get the gas ring. To date I am not happy with the gas ring set up as I cannot get a roast to cook in a fair time frame.

By this I mean I have tried to cook a roast chicken and after 3 hours still had to put in (house) oven for 30 mins to cook a size 1.7kg so not large. I have also tried roast meat and still no success. I have no issue using beads to cook my roasts the above size chook takes about 1 - 1 1/2 hours with beads.

I have tried different things, screens to stop any breeze, leave the gas on full and still I cannot get success. I know the last time i was able to touch the bottom outside of the camp oven and it was barely warm let along hot enough to cook anything in it.

Now before I get shouted down, I have spoken to hillbilly about it and have been told to just keep turning the meat or chook every 20 / 30 mins. Not sure how that will go with roast pork?

When hillbilly come back to Brisbane I will go see them as I feel my gas ring is not working as it should and may simply be faulty albiet they don't think this is the case.

As for the camp oven using beads they are great and very happy with it and use it all the time.

If your in Brisbane you can use my gas ring and see if it works for you and give it trial.

AnswerID: 204852

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:08

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:08
Sarg,

I also have had a Hillbilly camp oven for three years or so and just love it.

The best way to cook with it I have found is to use Heat Beads.
You place two less heat beads on the bottom and two more heads beats on the top, than the diameter of the oven.

Therefore, for the Bush King (12" diameter) 10 beds on the bottom & 14 on top gives a consistant heating source to cook a big roast up.

I place all the beads on a "cake stand" in a cast iron skillet and light-em up. When they are burning sufficiently, take 14 out and place on the lid and leave the rest on the stand/skillet. Place the oven on top. This allows sufficient air circulation under and around the heats beads so they will not be extiguished.

Still love my campfires, but use the heat beads for controlled cooking using the camp oven.

AnswerID: 204867

Reply By: junior - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 21:11

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 21:11
Yep- hill billy stuff rocks- we've also got the folding handle frypan/ skillet- just make sure you clean equip well and then a light wipe with veg or olive oil soaked paper towel before putting him to bed!
AnswerID: 204982

Reply By: ev700 - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 21:57

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 21:57
How do you clean them aftyer cooking? Just scrub out with detergent?

EV
AnswerID: 204998

Follow Up By: junior - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 00:56

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 00:56
yep- same as everything else.
if you've got cacked on stuff, you can also try chuckin some water and detergent in the bottom and back on fire for a while to "loosen" up the gunk!
Just oil afterwards!
FollowupID: 464940

Reply By: Turist (The Original One) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 08:13

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 08:13
Combine your Hillbilly with a Camp Oven Mate and a 2 burner cast iron gas ring.

A perfect combo for roasts, bread baking and whatever.

AnswerID: 205044

Follow Up By: Turist (The Original One) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 08:16

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 08:16
A better pic here

Brilliant gear, been using one for about 4 years.

FollowupID: 464968

Follow Up By: Flight Sargent - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 11:09

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 11:09
Hi Bob......will this camp mate take a Hillbilly oven. Looks like a cast iron oven wouldnt be an issue but looks like it would be a squeeze for the hillbilly ?

SARGE
FollowupID: 464999

Follow Up By: Turist (The Original One) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 11:27

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 11:27
I am using it with the Hillbilly, no problems.
I think that there are 2 sizes of Hillbilly, normal and BIG.
The normal one is fine and if you use the Hillbilly height extender and vegie ring for cooking vegies over the top of the roast that still fits OK.

FollowupID: 465003

Follow Up By: Flight Sargent - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 19:33

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 19:33
Cheers Bob....one more question does the camp oven mate fold down flat ? Also I have the smaller hill billy with the extension ring....do you leave the lid on the camp oven when in the camp oven mate...... and the tabs for the handle ON THE HILL BILLY do they go in ok. Sorry for the 20 questions but need to consider if I will by the gas attachment or just go with the camp oven mate.

Thanks for your help.

SARGE
FollowupID: 465143

Follow Up By: Turist (The Original One) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 21:33

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 21:33
The sides are 3 pieces, almost fit into the lid.
Total package about 60mm high.

Leave the lid on the hillbilly for most jobs.
There is a lot of top heat even though gas is under.

I had the Hillbilly gas attachment but had the same issues as previous correspondents.
And yes the tabs fit in OK.
I find heavy (welders) gloves better than Hillbilly handle.

FollowupID: 465174

Follow Up By: Flight Sargent - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:08

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:08
Cheers Bob....thats why this forum is so great you can get really good advise. I will indeed order the camp oven mate and give the gas attachment a miss. Thanks for your help mate !

SARGE
FollowupID: 465183