Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:59
Cuppa500
G'day folks,
I'm currently in the process of converting a Nissan Civilian in preparation for a 16 month trip around Oz. We are considering towing a small trailer with two Postie Bikes on it. Apart from 'getting around' locally, we hope to do some
camping trips on the Posties, to get into areas where we can't take the bus.
One of the roads we would love to travel is the
Gibb River Road in the
Kimberley.
Would anyone like to comment upon the type of conditions likely to be encountered on that road during the dry season. I know we're probably a bit mad to consider using Postie bikes for such travels, but if we accept a low cruising speed, they have sufficient gear carrying capacity, comfy seats & are light enough to be pushed/carried if necessary. I think they would go just about anywhere a 4WD would go.
I imagine the Ginbb river Road mainly comprises of rocks & soft sand & washouts, with a few river crossings. I expect that if any rivers were too deep to ride across we could push the bikes, or even wait for a ute/truck to get a lift across the
water.
Cuppa
Reply By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:39
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:39
Haven't driven the GRR myself yet, heading that way next year to work. I have seen what the road can do to 4wd tyres though, sharp rocks. You would probably be pretty crazy to take postie bikes on it. How many punctures would you get? How tough are the chassis and
suspension on those things? Postie bikes were designed for suburban riding on pavements, not bush touring.
You don't want to be stuck in the middle of nowhere with nothing more than a postie bike! If you do want to do a road like that on a bike then get a dirt bike, like a KTM or Yamaha.
Why not take the bus on the GRR and take the bikes on short detours from the main road?
Barnesy
Follow Up By: Cuppa500 - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 15:56
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 15:56
G'day Barnsey,
The reason for Posties is they are very lightweight , have a comfy
seat & good carrying capacity & despite my wife being an ex motorcyclist (hasn't ridden for 10 years) she is adamant she wants something small with auto-clutch.
I've ridden on & off road for over 30 years, & would prefer a bigger offroad bike, but it makes sense for us both ride identical machines. That said a lot of posties are used off road on many farms throughout the country.
If we go this route I will modify the bikes to improve their off road durability as far as is practical.
How far from each end of the GRR could we get in the Nissan Civilian Bus?
Cuppa
Follow Up By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:22
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:22
>That said a lot of posties are used off road on many farms throughout the country.
On a farm you are only ever a quick call on the uhf to get the ute out to carry the bike back to the shed if it breaks. Not in the middle of a bush track, loaded up with fuel, food,
camping gear and
water. With no real way of getting back if something goes wrong. Except hitch a ride.
Take the bus and go for short detours, surely that would be safer.
Follow Up By: Cuppa500 - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:44
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:44
>>Take the bus and go for short detours, surely that would be safer<<
Yeah but....but......but.......doesn't sound so adventurous. :-) I presume you are referring to the regular bus service on the GRR. (not out bus)? Do they tow a trailer? Might be good to trailer the bikes along the GRR, & just do the 'side
routes' on the bikes.
Cuppa
Follow Up By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:44
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:44
>Might be good to trailer the bikes along the GRR, & just do the 'side
routes' on the bikes.
Yes Cuppa, don't you have a bus? You will be able to see more of the area doing this too as long, boring stretches of road could be travelled faster (and safer)leaving more time for exploring.
Follow Up By: Member - Ric K (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:48
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:48
Hi cuppa,
We have done with both. Travelled GRR in 04 amd 05. We also have postie bikes on the farm for my wife and self. I really wouldn't recommend them as there is not much travel in the front forks, and on the road which is crap east of the
Kalumburu turn off (chopped up small rocks) and west of the turnoff can be quite sandy. With the river crossings especially the Pentecost beware as it is inhabitted by snapping leather hand bags, although when we went
water level wasn't past axle. Now that I might have put you off, give it a go but ride according to the conditions and you will make it. Both times we have done it we managed no punctures or blowouts, coz we didn't rush. Watch out for the "Fritz's in the Britz's" as they only have one speed flat out or stop. Might even c u up there again next year...... regards Ric
Reply By: Warrie - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:55
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:55
Cuppa, go into Treks and then the GRR and scroll down to all the Waypoints. Click on these and you will see pix of road conditions, campsites etc. The GRR is over 600km of gravel, loose sand, dirt and sharp rocks and gets pretty boring in the middle so instead of staying at a safe non - damaging slow speed, drivers tend to speed up and you can guess the rest!! Cheers, Warrie
Follow Up By: Cuppa500 - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:09
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:09
G'day Warrie,
Thanks for directing me to the pics. Mainly the road appears to me to be no more dificult than the (logging) road I live on (10 kms from nearest bitumen). I imagine that it's not the road itself that may present us with difficulties, but remain uncertain about the various 'obstacles' along it's length. (Eg. steep exits out of deep
water, deep ruts etc, but basically I still reckon that if trucks & 4WD's can get through, a Postie probably could, & if not I'm sure sooner or later someone would come along who could fit a couple of posties on the back of their vehicle. ;-)
Cuppa
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 15:21
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 15:21
We did the GRR in June/July this year, including
El Questro,
Kalumburu Road and
Mitchell Plateau.
I'm assuming you mean the little Honda CT 90 or 110? Are they genuine ex Aust Post (and therefore registered), or the 'civilian' version which normally can not be registered)?
The main feature of the GRR other than the wonderful scenery, Gorges, waterfalls etc, is the corrugations. Not much sand, but lots of rocks and corrugations.
We came across a guy on a PUSH BIKE would you believe, but he was doing it tough.
I'd say you should be OK (with care) going into
El Questro. It is normally corrugated (but just normal corrugations) and the
Pentecost River crossing will probably be between 200 and 500mm deep depending on the previous wet season and time you go.
El Questro is
well worth the trip for 4 or 5 days.
From the other end you could probably do
the loop from
Derby around through
Windjana Gorge,
Tunnel Creek and back to
Derby. Maybe better still, leave the bus at
Fitzroy Crossing and go up to
Tunnel Creek and
Windjana Gorge (
good camp ground at Windjana), then go back down the same road.
As for the rest of the GRR, I'd just say that the road conditions very a great deal. Some is as smooth as glass. Elsewhere, the corrugations are near a foot deep. I'd sure hate to be doing the worst of it on any sort of motor cycle, even an off road one.
Follow Up By: Cuppa500 - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:18
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:18
G'day Norm, Thanks for your reply. I'd buy a couple of ex Aus Post CT110's.
Corrugations are certainly tedious, but mangeable, particularly with no time limit. But on a push bike -No Way! There's madness & madness.
Suprisingly the idea of travelling the road from *both* ends hadn't occurred to me. Thanks. Mote food for thought.
Cuppa
Reply By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 15:39
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 15:39
Would you have the fuel range, especially on the western portion of the road?
Follow Up By: Cuppa500 - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:34
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:34
G'day Scubaroo,
Fuel would certainly be an issue, but I would have thought that with fuel available along the way we would be able to carry enough extra on the bikes to get through. A full
tank (4 litres) plus a 5 litre jerry should get each bike over 300kms. If we had to, we could each carry a 10 litre jerry giving a range of 450kms+.
Cuppa.
Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:21
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:21
keep in mind the last pertrol before either
Derby or Fotroy xing is Mr Barnett ....
Imintji only has deisel
Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:18
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:18
As others have said, a long dusty and VERY corrugated road to ride a bike on. Certainly no challenge if the weather is ok. I go along with others who say take the bus. If you want to experience a mini version of the corrugations then ride into the Bungles it's only about 50 km each way. I will probably be shouted at by some others for saying this but the scenery on the GRR is (in my opinion) not a great deal different to a lot of other roads way up north.
Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:41
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:41
The GRR is as roads go resonable most of the time. In the wet a bit average but passable to a nissan civilian bus in the dry. Just think of it as a hammer- the harder you hit it the harder it hits back.
Follow Up By: Cuppa500 - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:52
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:52
G'day Squizzy,
So with care we could take the Civilian the length of the GRR in the dry? Wow! I had thought that 2wd vehicles weren't even allowed on it! That could change plans significantly. How about a Civilian towing a small bike trailer? The idea of driving the road in our bus, & leaving it parked up for a day or three at a time whilst we head off the GRR to various attractions on the bikes sounds good.
Cuppa
Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:27
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:27
Cuppa,
You don't need to engage 4wd for much of anything up there during the dry (except some bits of the
Mitchell Falls road - maybe), however............ any vehicle that lacks the robustness (and possibly clearance) of a 4wd is gonna take a pounding. In short, the Van will most likely do the trip, however I would vouch for how many things that will crack or fall off, bare minimum, you're gonna be tightening stuff up for ages....
Reply By: mfewster - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:19
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:19
The road can vary enormously depending on whether or not work has been done on it recently. It can be vehicle destroying, or no problems at all. I did 4 shockers and lost 2 Cibie spots when the mounts snapped on one GRR trip. Assume the worst. Any trailer needs to be a good off road construction, they get pounded more than vehicles. There is no shortage of abandoned trailers along GRR. Taking it easy on a small bike should enable you to pick your way along the edge, but the problem will be tyre wear. Those corrugations are rock hard and the rocks are razor edged. I don't know the tyre size, but they probably wont be all that easy to get along there. Having spare tyres would be a real good idea.
I think the bus option and use the bikes for side trips sounds about right.
Reply By: Moser - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 19:15
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 19:15
Traveling the GRR on postie bikes , glad its you and not me, the dust alone is enough to put me off, from passing motorist and oncomming traffic
Moser
Reply By: Darian (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 19:21
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 19:21
As mentoned above, you are buying into a lottery - as we all do on these trips - was up there last July - joined the Gibb somewhere near ElQuestro (came off the Karunji track) and went west - not a problem - graders been in the region recently and it was a breeze _ we just soften our tyres for the gravel roads and take it very easy. The
Kalumburu road above Drysdale (and the
Mitchell Falls track) were another thing altogether - corrugation mania). You might win the lottery and have a great time - you might also need to change your plans when you enter the region. Re the suitability of the bikes - can't comment, but river crossings of around 500-600mm are common up there, in the dry !
Reply By: HGMonaro - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 20:46
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 20:46
was talking to a guy who had ridden the GRR on a bike (much bigger than a postie though) and he commented the worse thing he found was he had to stand up to see where he was going... sitting down his eyeballs were rattling around so much he couldn't see bugger all.
Wondering if there's a different bike out there that would suit better. How's your wife go on a PeeWee :)
Reply By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 21:38
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 21:38
Mate, if your experianced riding bikes it would be a piece of cake, boring cake though.Like you say, strap on a jerry for fuel, a swag and it would be a great ride but boring at times.Those postie bikes take a flogging and as speeds would be low they would handle it easily.I have flogged to death many posties in my time and all were subject to worse conditions than the GRR.
Now if your inexperianced at riding bikes, maybe a rethink.
Reply By: Eric Experience. - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:15
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:15
Cuppa.
The bikes on the trailer would be a problem, the trailer and the bikes would be rattled to pieces, as mentioned there are plenty of broken trailers on the road. I would not leave my bus for any time anywhere on the road, there are plenty of "scavengers" around. If you take the bikes I would mount them on a rear bar or dismantle them and stow them inside the vehicle. The load capacity of the rear tyre on the bikes will prevent you from taking a gerry can and a swag, if you over inflate the tyre it will
puncture very easily. Sorry to be so negative but it is all true. Eric.
Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 16:53
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 16:53
Gday Cuppa
All advice above seems good. If time is no issue go for it. If you get in touch with ......arghhh I can't remember, one of the aussie bike mags - AMCN I think it was, there was a bloke submitting articles about 5 or 6 years ago who rode a postie along the railroad accross the nullabore and beyond, was a good read and he had a ball (but some wouldn't......its an individual thing. A bit like a
young couple that went from Whyndham to
kalumburu in a 13ft tinny, would be a great trip, but not for all!)
Cheers Andrew