lunch/smoko stop camping table - HELP

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:47
ThreadID: 39493 Views:3691 Replies:16 FollowUps:13
G'day,

I am seeking suggestions (polite) and experiences (what you do, or have seen done) regarding a lunch/smoko stop camping table.

Scenario I often am in is like this: (no camper-trailer nowadays is towed).

I always stop to boil the billy mid morning. and mid afternoon. Where to put the cups, sugar, teaspoons, milk, slab of cake to be cut up & shared, etc?

A table, silly!

But where do you carry such an item so it is easily accessible?, and large enough to be functional? And what sort of table/bench is it?

Same goes at lunchtime, but maybe a bit more flat surface area is required so as to do the bits'n'pieces for lunch, and make another cuppa tea.

If travelling with another vehicle, will one surface do for all those people?

I have a roof rack and a permanent drawer system in the rear of the vehicle (barn doors on a GU). At smoko, the fridge is extended on the slide so as to access the cold Tim Tams, milk etc. Rear of wagon seems always loaded to the max, as my trips are usually self sufficient for tucker, water etc for at least a week for two or three pax. So there is a space crisis in the rear, but as I began this thread asking for help, I will consider all replies.............including a re-sort etc.

On the roof rack I have now taken to using the rack sack all the time, as it makes a much tidier package, more aerodynamic, and actually easier to pack gear into. But for smoko it is not really practical to open it up etc.

So, what do you suggest?

Thanks in anticipation

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:54

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:54
Rick,

Have a look at the Black Widow options. Specifically the "Drop Down Table" that attaches to the barn door.

www.blackwidow4wdstorage.com/

Even if you don't buy their product, you may get a "home made" idea.

AnswerID: 205219

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:57

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:57
Sorry Mate,

After clicking on the Website above, select New Products & News and scroll down.

FollowupID: 465193

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:36

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:36
Thanks, Sand Man,

Have one in the shed. Used it for years with my old, previous drawer/storage system. But now, with the bought drawers installed about 4 years ago, it won't fit; nor will anything else.............damn!

Cheers for the contribution.
FollowupID: 465199

Reply By: Busy Bee - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:57

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:57
Hi Rick
Get a ute, put the tailgate down.

The most useful vehicles I had for stops while on the move were the old Series II Landrovers with flat mudguards and almost-flat bonnets. And a tailgate.
Back then you didn't mind putting a hot cuppa on the duco.
Gutless as hell but very practical once you were in the bush.
AnswerID: 205221

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:33

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:33
Yeah, had one for about 5 years, series II A. Very torquey motor, even though it was gutless. Worked with Landies as station vehicles; always respected them. I recall being at Robe a few years ago, and $ 0.5 million of vehicles (8 vehicles)followed me along the beach. I was in my $ 2,000 Landie.........I went just as far & fast as them!

Had an old FJ 40 Landcruiser and did the flat mudguard thing with that too. Even bolted an axe & a shovel to the top of the mudguards. Good bus, but I kinda like my GU Pootrol. Power this'n'that, comfy, easy to drive, GREAT touring bus.

Happy to put something hot on the GU, but it ain't got no flat surfaces. Mind you, the flat of the Bullbar does get a work out; it's just at the wrong end of the vehicle for this task!

FollowupID: 465198

Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:00

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:00
Here's a home made one that I put in the back of my Prado - worked like a charm

Site Link
AnswerID: 205224

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:59

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:59
Thanks, Ivan.

Would need to do as you did & remove the trim. But even so I've only got about 5 mm space between the door & the drawers. It may come to this style yet. I'll see what other suggestions arrive.

FollowupID: 465204

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:08

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:08
We don't have a drawer system like you, and in fact, I have removed all the rear seats and have a flat board the length of the rear so my storage space is a bit different to yours. BUT... We carry a moulded plastic table with fold down legs that is about 4 feet long and 2 feet wide that is just perfect for breakfast lunch and dinner.

I am just about to make up a small "drinks" table to clip onto the roobar for quick stops on the side of the road.

I have noted this thread number and will post photo's when it's done.
AnswerID: 205226

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:38

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:38
Hey, I like that idea. Looking forward to the post.

Where do you store the moulded table so as to provide asy access?

FollowupID: 465200

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 00:16

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 00:16
Rick, the table slides in the back, under or alongside everything else. We quite often use our GU like a panel van, hence the flat board in the back. I usually slide the table on top of the mattress and put the doonah on top then everything else gets chucked in. As hard as it sounds, I can slide the table out and even slide it back in under everything with out too much hassle.

When the Jayco comes along for the trip the table lives in there while travelling.

The one I'm hoping to rig up to be attached to the front is actually one end off a steel BBQ trolley. I plan on using small bolts that protrude slightly and are permanently fixed, and the table slides down onto them like the hanging system of a large wall clock. This way I can also have the same type of bolts on the back of the Jayco, and the table will be used where we need it.

Otherwise my friend you are stuck with one of those crappy wobbly card tables, like I and many other ppl used until we coughed up more moolah for the better but more expensive stuff. The moulded plastic table we have has come down in price a fair bit.
FollowupID: 465207

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:38

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:38
Hi Rick,
"cold Tim Tams"..................geeze your getting soft....

Like Ivan, we used a fold down table on the rear door of the Prado - just removed the trim, and used it as a template over a piece of 3mm ply (the backing) and then use hinged a fold down table out of 9mm ply. Used 2mm galv multistrand wire for the stays (no rattles and they fold in) and a case clip to hold it up. But I guess you'd have to have it high enough to be out of the way of the drawers.
We have a similar one for the canopy on the traytop - only has to be 2 square foot as a prep bench for lunch.

I've also seen people have a lid sit on an open drawer as a table.

When are you going to move to a traytop and canopy and make life more simple??? hehehe

AnswerID: 205233

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:53

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:53
Cheeky Bugger!...........when I win Tatts Lotto, that's when. This bus has 20 + years left in it yet.

Re the Tim Tams, well, once they melted into an un-holy mess, so I chucked 'em into the fridge, Now I pop them in there as soon as there is room.
I am travelling under the principle of avoiding the ByLine of an EO member: "Any mug can be uncomfortable in the bush". As providore, cook and convenor, I like to eat better in the bush than I do at home. So there!

re the drop down table, see my other reply.

re the lid, yes, am currently using a contact covered mdf "lid" - it's a bit small in surface area, and too restrictive for access at lunch stops with hungry blokes milling around.

FollowupID: 465203

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 12:59

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 12:59
Hey, I'm famous!

Pete
FollowupID: 465268

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:40

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:40
The suggestion Ivan made is a good one. But I carry a cheap plastic foldable table/chair thing, you know the one that folds out to 4 seats and a table. No matter what I stack in the back, I have room for it - sideways lengthways, top, bottom, etc.
AnswerID: 205234

Reply By: Member - Tim - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 00:05

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 00:05
In the back of the Pajero there are a couple of mounts for baby seats on the roof above the back door. I put a couple of straps from those to the cargo barrier and I slide a small plywood table up on top of those. Everything else fits underneath it and you can even put a few other things on the top of it. One of the straps can be loosened (used an old cargo strap with a buckle) to get the table in and out easier. Put an ockey strap round it if it rattles. I have seen photos of people who put a solid tray up in the roof and that would work as well to put the table above.

Other options would be to put a slight false floor above the drawers and slide a table in there.

Hope one of those ideas help :).

Tim.
AnswerID: 205242

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 01:04

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 01:04
I usually make lunch on a tray on my lap - it can also sit awkwardly on the dash board or centre console. We travelled last year with wooden slatted camp table and chairs rattling in the back and never bothered about getting them out.

We have and Engel in the car, and one of those plastic tubs with clip on lid for all the not refrigerated lunch thing. I can also use the top of this for preparing food and hot drinks.

Works for us - keep things simple and pack light.

AnswerID: 205252

Reply By: Maddmav - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 07:48

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 07:48
Rick

Coleman make a fold away table that is light and quick to set up.

We have one stowed behind the back seat of our Mav (GQ same same) so this would fit behind the seat of your GU being similar design built trucks.

Off memory we paid $69 for it at a camp store - It is an oval shape with folded legs and the leg extensions clip on the underside when folding awayan

When set-up it is a good size for a stove and making lunch and dinner on.
AnswerID: 205259

Reply By: Peter - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 08:33

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 08:33
We saw a table that was basically a piece of ply 1 metre long 300 mm wide. On each corner was a piece of rope tha tied onto hook. This was the hooked onto roof gutter or roof rack (depends on what you have) of car. It basically hung down and used the side of the car to stablise it. The table had a bit of foam on the back to protect car paint. It can be used anywhere along either side of car.

Hope this may help.
AnswerID: 205270

Reply By: hoyks - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 09:09

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 09:09
We got a small folding table that was advertised in one of those Innovations catalogues. It was around the $60 mark, but I have seen them for more in camping shops.
The 1/2 the legs unclip and fit under the table with 2 small stools and the whole thing then folds in half. Quite compact and reasonably sturdy.

I have a pic here*(if the link doesn't work):

http://forum.australia4wd.com/uploads/1161152265/gallery_663_475_35582.jpg

*Mini-spit and gas bottle not included;-)
AnswerID: 205276

Follow Up By: hoyks - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 09:14

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 09:14
Oh, and table is 600mmx800mm (600x400x110mm folded)
FollowupID: 465236

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 09:22

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 09:22
Hi Rick

I have 2 x Roll-up tables which fit into carry bags. The large one lives in the trailer and the smaller one lives in the truck next to the space between the fridge and the window. Smaller table is same size as fold-up chairs in carry bags. Store table anywhere. Maybe if you dropped in one day you may see lots of camping innovations...lol

AnswerID: 205281

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:12

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:12
Thanks Willie.

Currently am using your system with one x roll up table.
Should I send royalties to Peterborough c/- you, or the dog?

hahahahahaha

Was fishing for ideas without entirely showing my hand. But there are a couple of ideas here I will investigate.

PS yeah, I got the hint.
FollowupID: 465314

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 09:30

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 09:30
I have a piece of melamine cut to size which fits neatly on top of one of my black widow drawers when pulled out. Fits in the drawer when not in use. Takes up bugger all room. Am going to get a cover made for one of the drawers, like a lid, that will serve the same purpose, just like the one shown here.

Go to "new products and news", about half way down the page...

AnswerID: 205283

Reply By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 10:24

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 10:24
I have similar idea to mrbitchie's. In my own design drawer system, the drawer carries a fitted removable top flap of 2mm stainless steel. This lifts to reveal cups and utensils and the makings. It is 350 X 750mm and being stainless does away with need for plates/cutting boards etc. If you can find the 4mm clearance between drawers, it might be the go.

Cheers Chris
AnswerID: 205288

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:20

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:20
Thanks to all.

I will investigate further a few of these options, and report in due course.

The real issue is space - am currently using a roll up table, and a drop in lid to the extended drawer, but thought there may be other, more better-er, more practical ideas than mine.

The options that immediately look worth pursuing further are the remoulded door trim & drop down table a la Ivan; the reply of Peter's re a simple long table system on the side of the bus; & hoyks mini table.

But still the issue is there in the background - where to store it? I'll work on a repack, most likely.

Cheers for now.
AnswerID: 205342

Follow Up By: kev.h - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 18:22

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 18:22
Hi Rick
Had the same problem have made up a table with fold up legs about 1m square that slides in under the drawer system ( you need to raise the draw system by about 50mm on runners that the table slides in) the table can be used as a slide out about 750mm or removed and used free standing the best mod i have made, use it all the time, best of all dont have to unload anything to get at it
Regards Kev
P.S. may be i can post photos (if i can figure out how to ) if you need
FollowupID: 465334

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 00:10

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 00:10
Kev.h

Would love some pics.
Given that this is one of the larger posts (over 500 views = larger than normal),perhaps may others would like to see same also.

FollowupID: 465382

Follow Up By: kev.h - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 11:12

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 11:12
Rick
Have to be tomorrow will take a few shots Only question How does one post photo's have attempted before without success
Kev
FollowupID: 465440

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 22:04

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 22:04
I ran a length of 12mm angle aluminium along each side of the inside of one of my drawers about 10mm from the top edge, have a 2 piece insert, one is laminated marine plywood & the other half is poly cutting board, so all I have to do is open the drawer, instant table!
AnswerID: 205541