Exploroz membership - no VKS 737 discount??

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 01:29
ThreadID: 39497 Views:3617 Replies:6 FollowUps:23
I reently sent off my VKS 737 HF radio membership renewal and included my Exploroz membership details in order to get a discount. They offer a discount for offroad club or organisation memberhips.

VKS rang me this morning and said Exploroz is not acceptable as club or organisation that qualifies for the VKS discount and I therefore owe them another $9.00. Not a lot, I know.

Is this correct? I was under the impression that VKS737 was somehow affiliated with Exploroz??

Bilbo

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 08:10

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 08:10
Don't think so Bilbo........Exploroz is a commercially operated business. I would say it would be the same as presenting an ARB/TJM/Opposite Lock discount card or evidence of subscription to a 4x4 monthly magazine etc.

I've just been through the same exercise with VKS737 myself and have just emailed them a copy of our club's latest newsletter to "prove" to them that I am still the president..........
AnswerID: 205263

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 10:52

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 10:52
i wouldnt believe a newsletter
FollowupID: 465252

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 18:02

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 18:02
No mate, nor would I if anything substantial depended upon it.!!! hahaha

However, as I said to them in the covering email I sent them, I'm not sure how else I can "prove" my membership. We do get a small receipt from our treasurer when we pay our dues, but I just through it away, as I know the records are "up to date", cos the carbon copy is in his bloody book and I have a cheque issued (difficult to get it back from the bank though).

Our club doesn't have a plastic membership card (like they issue at VKS737 each year).
FollowupID: 465330

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 07:55

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 07:55
get the secretary (swmbo, bloke next door or me) to send them a letter saying your a financial member of the club ....too easy
FollowupID: 465401

Reply By: SA_Patrol - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 08:36

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 08:36
Reids Radio Data shares 4 of the 5 channels VKS737 use. and an extra channel channel which isn't always busy. The sheds VKS is useful but also can be a pain as it's the best freq to use for comms between 4:30pm and 7pm.
Reids radio only charge $22 per year for there 5 channels.

www.reidsradiodata.com.au/
AnswerID: 205271

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 12:34

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 12:34
yea but the vks also includes your radio liscnse (for those channels)does the reids do this or do you need the radio liscense on top
FollowupID: 465263

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 13:23

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 13:23
I don't believe you need a separate licence to use these frequencies as you're operating under a "Class Licence" which governs the type and power of the radios you use. Same for VKS737.

FollowupID: 465275

Reply By: Turist (The Original One) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 11:32

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 11:32
Hang around a while.
VKS 737 will give a seniors discount.

Waiting, waiting, waiting, waiting, waiting, waiting, waiting, waiting, waiting,

AnswerID: 205299

Reply By: Bilbo - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 12:49

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 12:49
Thanks everyone for the clarifications.

Bob - I'm a self funded retiree and 59 years and 7 months old. I'm hoping, really hoping, really really hoping,,,,,,,,,,,that I don't kark it before 27/4/07. On that date I will be 60 years old and on that date I will get the first thing, the first freebie I've ever had from any Australian Government - a West Australian Seniors Card.

It's one of my main ambitions, nay, a veritable dream, a vision splendid to actually get something from these shinyarses before I die!!

Self funded retirees get SFA from anyone. This will prolly include VKS737 knowing my luck!!

Thanks Bob,

Bilbo
AnswerID: 205312

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 20:41

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 20:41
Welcome to the Seniors Club, Bilbo. I am a tad ahead of you.....but only just...lol

I have decided that I am going to forego VKS this year as the fees just keep on rising and I do not use the system whatsover. Make no mistake, it is a good system and a very good service but it does not suit me and I can spend that money somewhere else. I still have the HF and reach the RFDS if I need to. These days I use my Satphone to stay in touch.

FollowupID: 465352

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 21:01

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 21:01
Hi Bilbo,
I am 57 something and get a National Seniors Card which gives you discount for VKS membership. You should qualify for the same.
FollowupID: 465356

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 23:50

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 23:50
Phantom,

Where, how do I get one? First I've heard of these. I thought you had to be 65 to get one.

Bilbo

Willem,

I "chose" HF over Satphone 'cos I already had 2 HF radios, about 20 antennas and miles of coax etc from my professional prospecting days in the "times before satellites". That and the fact that the future of sat phones is a bit uncertain. Now we're both retired we spend the winters out bush looking for some yella stuff, so i find the HF radio does the job until Telstra and the guvment makes its mind up. Plus a prospecting mate of mine has a sat phone and it wasn't always reliable out there.

Take care,

Bilbo
FollowupID: 465379

Follow Up By: Oz Travellers - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 07:07

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 07:07
National Seniors Card
Dont confuse this with the link text some states give more benefits with the National Seniors Card (that you purchase) than others and in NSW the transport department does not accept it.

With the Seniors Card that comes free from the Government on turning 60 you sign a Statutory Declaration that you have turned 60, dont post it off before your actual birthday. Although you hear tales of people that send it in early, generally they will not be processed until after your actual birthday and it takes 3 weeks from then before you get it.

For us SFR's the best thing since sliced Bread!!!

Carolyn

FollowupID: 465395

Follow Up By: Oz Travellers - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 07:10

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 07:10
**** Link Text = Seniors Card****

Had a senior moment LOL

Carolyn
FollowupID: 465396

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 11:28

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 11:28
Bilbo , the link below from Carolyn is correct. It costs $24 pe year and mine has paid for itself with VKS membership and recent entry to the 4 wheel drive show in Perth.
I have just re-read the VKS membership and it may be they are tightening up on these. I have not yet renewed this year so can't comment officially but have used it for the past 4 or 5 years.
It is also handy at a whole lot of shops and other organisations.
FollowupID: 465442

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 13:13

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 13:13
Phantom, Carol et al,

VKS are tightening up. I queried the fact that they asked me for another $9.00 this year, because they accepted my Exploroz membership last year, but refused to do same this year.

The reply was that they are indeed "tightening up".

Thanks for the links on Seniors Cards.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 465446

Reply By: lindsay - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 18:17

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 18:17
I think VKS are getting a bit funny with their discounts. I sent them an invoice one month old from Radtel as proof that I qualified for a discount. They rejected the invoice as it" wasn't current" so I had to send them my membership (Radtel) to them they did try to talk me into paying the full fare. With the recent increases I declined in an animated manner. Would like to see a profit & loss and balance sheet to see if the increases are justified.
AnswerID: 205356

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 20:32

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 20:32
I had to pay $50 to my local council as a welcome to a new suburb tax....I reckon VKS737 membership is cheap.
FollowupID: 465351

Follow Up By: Member - Mal B - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 22:06

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 22:06
just renewed my v k s for about the 5 time. they wanted proof of age for discount seams people useing all cards ie any pension card not the old farts as required .also proof you are a current club member.not shore if its good value ,maybe go ametaur radio more scope more coverage and you can use v k s chanells under there licence safe driveing mal b
FollowupID: 465366

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 21:32

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 21:32
Sounds to me like vks737 are just treading water whilst they wait for the sat phone monster to gobble them up.
AnswerID: 205377

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 21:35

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 21:35
Wanna bet?
FollowupID: 465361

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 22:04

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 22:04
No way Brew........

You oughta see the ever-expanding list of members they post out each and every year.............new memberships are increasing more than ever.
FollowupID: 465363

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 00:16

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 00:16
Hello - no doubt sat phones are becoming more popular...but HF will always be a part of the "outback experience" and for this reason will not get "gobbled up". It is also, for example, used by Police, SES, Fire Services, St John and RFDS.

HF has its advantages and disadvantages as do sat phones - use what best suites your intended purpose. I suspect those well set up have both. While they have an overlap of applications, a sat phone, its its current form, can not totally replace a HF radio and for this reason they will continue to be used by many.

Here is current (downloadable) list of VKS737 users to give you and idea of the number of people/organisations that make use of the service.

http://www.vks737.on.net/pdfs/DOC%2050.pdf

Also keep in mind this represents only a fraction of HF users in Australia and the world.

Why aren't all these people using sat phones?

FollowupID: 465383

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 06:43

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 06:43
My comment was tongue in cheek. However i really do think HF has a use by date a lot clser than most people think. How far in the last 10 years has mobile phone technology changed???????
I wouldn't be surprised if in 10 years time people are saying ..."HWhat?"
FollowupID: 465392

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 08:38

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 08:38
Good morning brew,
Sat phone will NEVER be able to replace HF, maybe a great addition to it, but NEVER replace it!

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 465410

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 09:31

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 09:31
Brew69(SA) - no worries mate - I can understand your logic - technology is moving at a rapid pace and outback communications will only get better...still don't think a mobile phone (satellite or otherwise) will replace HF radio - for starters you have to pay some silly price just to say hello. Then try ringing 100 people at once on the phone!. HF user's have a sense of community and as I mentioned it is part of the "outback experience" now. Also until such time as you can get a dirty great sat phone aerial to go on the front of you 4x4 they just wont catch on:)

FollowupID: 465414

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 09:41

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 09:41
I've still got my Dick Tracy watch in the drawer somewhere.
It is supposed to comunicate with anyone, anywhere, at any time, but I'm still waiting on the specific frequency band to be enabled.

Anyone else got one?
Ordered it through Marvel Comics in 1957 I think:-)

FollowupID: 465418

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 09:45

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 09:45
Hasn't got "3G" stamped on it anywhere has it?

FollowupID: 465420

Follow Up By: anglepole - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 10:11

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 10:11
If HF is a dying technology try obtaining a frequency from ACMA.

Airservices Austrailia (Civil Aviation) has spent huge sums on upgrading their HF Networks for Domestic and International flights.

HF Email and voice services for Mariners is constantly being improved.

IPS has a devotes much of its efforts to world wide HF services, and a most helpful and Professional Government Department

www2.ips.gov.au/

The Services that are provided by VKS are excellent and value for money.

FollowupID: 467629