Member - bushfix
G'day all,
my younger brother's working visa has run out in the uk and he is with me in
sydney. our family is and always has been, in
perth.
he needs to get to
perth in time for christmans and would prefer to get there via the road but i am unable to get him there and drive back to
sydney.
adelaide is a slim chance.
could i ask please, is there anyone travelling from sydney/vic/sa to
perth in the next few weeks who has a spare
seat for a
well mannered
young fella willing to pay his way and contribute to fuel?
geez a big ask i know but i thought i'd ask the eo family. thanks.
kind regards,
Jeremy.
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 15:39
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 15:39
Jeremy,
There was a link floating around somewhere (you can never find it when you need it) of a website which displayed hire vehicles that needed to be somewhere else by a certain timeframe. They would pay just enough and allow just enough time to drive the vehicle to the location, however the beauty of the system was that the trip was essentially free.....maybe someone else knows the website address. I was looking at it at some time for a free drive somewhere, however never got around to following it up.
Follow Up By: Kirky66 - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 16:15
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 16:15
This might be the URL your talking about
www.standbycars.com.au/hotdealsqa.aspx
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 10:27
Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 10:27
thanks for the link guys,
i'll check it out.
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 10:53
Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 10:53
That's the one, thanks.
Reply By: John R (SA) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 21:19
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 21:19
needaride.com.au
Might be worth a look
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 10:27
Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 10:27
cheers John, will have a bo peep at that.
Reply By: The Explorer - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 22:55
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 22:55
"he needs to get to
perth in time for christmans and would prefer to get there via the road but i am unable to get him there and drive back to
sydney.
adelaide is a slim chance."
Gee you're keen - 1 way air tickets can be had for <$300. A drive from
Sydney to
Adelaide and back could not be cheaper (and he'll only be 1/3 the way??). Though I suppose road trips are more fun...is this the reason for your request?
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 10:31
Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 10:31
g'day mate,
yeah it's the road trip he wants to do. he's been out of Australia too long. ideally in a truck but if i can get him part of the way there with some
camping maybe he can get a coach from
Adelaide or
Broken Hill.
Reply By: adamj1300 - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 13:19
Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 13:19
maybe hit a few trucking companies up for a ride, i use to have a mate that would travel from
brisbane to sheppertan (in melb) to visit his family a couple of times a yr. he reckens the truck driver was only to happy for the company!
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 17:18
Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 17:18
g'day mate,
yeah I would not try the companies themselves...would need to know truckstops for a better approach i reckon....i reckon if you are at the right place it is only a matter of time. cheers.