Kim's dummy spit

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 20:24
ThreadID: 39563 Views:3038 Replies:12 FollowUps:11
Gidday,

Can somebody explain to me, why in many cases, you need to be a 190Kg brute to open an ever increasing range of packaged goods?

Usually I leave the chain saw at home. However, its got to the point whereby a chain saw is necessary if a man wants to eat.

Honestly, its easier to track, shoot, gut and skin a dinosaur than open some of the current day packaging.

I was working on the car today and decided to make a ham sandwich for lunch. It soon became apparent the manufacturer considered his product a work of art and, not to be tampered with.

As an Aussie male I wasn't going to be intimidated by a bit of plastic (chest pumping and all that).

However.....

Let me tell you this particular manufacturer thought of everything!

By the time I got it open, even the dog would'nt touch it!

Kim

Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 20:29

Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 20:29
LOL...Dont know why but wife was laughing at me as she read that post. My most favorite kitchen implement these days is a cut throat razor...Opens anything
AnswerID: 205652

Follow Up By: kimprado - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 20:54

Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 20:54
Squizzy,

Don't get me started on women.

I have a number of "shirla persons" working for me who are proving to be a lot more intelligent than me. Which means nothing because I'm really dumb!

On another matter, who's taken up the position of Aboriginal Economic Development Manager in Kununurra?

Kim
FollowupID: 465619

Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 21:59

Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 21:59
Last I heard it was John Smoker
FollowupID: 465627

Follow Up By: kimprado - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 22:09

Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 22:09
Hi Squizzy,

John has gone down South (Perth) some time ago. If you can ask around I'd appreciate it.

Kim
FollowupID: 465629

Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 22:20

Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 22:20
Will do
FollowupID: 465630

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 21:00

Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 21:00
What about trying to open a Bandaid, with a cut finger?
Even if you manage to tear of the top, they are epoxy glued to the sides of the pack.
Those things are sealed for life!
AnswerID: 205656

Follow Up By: kimprado - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 21:26

Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 21:26
Shaker,

Your dead right. Another example of the insipid influence shirla persons have in the packaging industry.

A big strapping Aussie guy like you who's gone through the misery of a cut finger deserves considerable empathy.

Kim

FollowupID: 465622

Reply By: Bilbo - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 21:52

Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 21:52
For may years, the western world made and packaegd it's own food. It became a "norm" that packets were to be 'easy to open".

BUT - now a lot of stuff is packaged in SE Asia. Often the food is actually grown there.

After years of expat jobs in SE Asia there's one thing the used to get up my nose about packaged food over there - you need to be an professional wrestler or an indian mystic to get packets open without the contents flying all over the place. It used to drive me nuts opening "nuts". Pull, pull, tug, tear, bite, ahhh stuff it - go for it, and wallop - all over the floor.

Now that same disease is here in OZ 'cos it's either packed in SE Asia or packed to lesser SE Asian standards.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 205665

Follow Up By: kimprado - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 22:58

Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 22:58
Bilbo,

This is a serious subject. You need to get a measure of control. We're not going to fix this problem with hysterics.

The use of statement such as, "Pull, pull, tug, tear, bite, ahhh stuff it - go for it, and wallop - all over the floor" will achieve nothing.

Can I ask you to have a Bex (assuming you can open the package) and have a good rest.

We need to focus on blame.

Kim
FollowupID: 465639

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 20:54

Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 20:54
"Pull, pull, tug, tear, bite, ahhh stuff it - go for it, and wallop - all over the floor"

You had me in hook line and sinker until I read what the post was about....now I'll move on, seem it's not up my back alley mentality. Hehehe.

Cheers Trevor.
FollowupID: 465741

Reply By: Bilbo - Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 01:15

Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 01:15
I'll try Kim, I promise,,,,,,,,,,,,,But

While we're here, another thing that seems to open my bowels is "bubble packs".

You know the kind of thing. You buy say, a set of twist drills or a set of batteries. You look at the front of the pack - hard plastic. Your heart sinks. You look at the back of the pack - still no apparent easy way of opening it. You think," Nah,I wont use the knife again, last time I slit my finger doing this. No knife this time"

You bite it. Not even a tooth mark on it. You try to rip the cardboard off the back of it. Still can't get it open enough to get the bloody drills out! You tear a fingernail to the quick trying to get the plastic from off the cardboard. Schite that hurts!!

GET THE BLOODY KNIFE OUT!! THE SHARP ONE!!

A quick stab at the plastic reveals that THIS plastic does not split in the expected direction when ya cut it. The knife does not follow the proposed trajectory. It veers off, askew, with a will of its own.

And where does the SHARP knife go?

Right into your finger!! Exactly where it stabbed you last time when you vowed never again to use a knife on a BLOODY BUBBLE PACK!!

AAARGGHHH!!

Bilbo
AnswerID: 205682

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 01:23

Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 01:23
And it's even worse when they won't take it back cos the packaging has been damaged!

DAMAGED!

DAMAGED!

I'LL SHOW YA DAMAGED YER WANKER!

I honestly don't know why they need to do it on some items. Like an electric tooth brush. Why does this particular product need to be packaged in a way that you almost break the thing in half trying to unwrap it?? !! ?? !! ??
FollowupID: 465648

Reply By: Bilbo - Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 01:38

Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 01:38
That made me chuckle Muzz :)

We've all been there,,,,,,,,

Thanks mate,

Bilbo
AnswerID: 205685

Reply By: Member - Geoff W (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 01:57

Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 01:57
Hi kim was just reading the thread,(lol) classic stuff,not only do i have issue with that. whats the go gladwrap? Somebody is laughing @ me somewhere, it doesnt rip straight when i try to rip it off, & when i do finally wrap something i can sit back and be safe in the knowledge that my lunch will start to unwrap it self soon. My wife just shakes her head & wakes away.
Gladwrap.......im glad when its wrapped i tell ya!
My wife wraps stuff that would survive a nuclear blast! I cant open the thing,but me ......no way,maybe 4x4 monthly could do an article on gladwrap....
cheers geoff
AnswerID: 205687

Reply By: nissnut - Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 09:55

Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 09:55
Or those poxy rolls of tear off bags at supermarket vegie stalls.
AnswerID: 205717

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 12:16

Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 12:16
Kim,

You have to be prepared mate.
I used to rip into the packaging with my teeth, but a few thousand dollars invested in Caps, has left me reluctant to resort to this normally male solution.

I now carry the Victorinox everywhere for just such occasions.

My biggest frustration is removing the plastic wrapping off the morning paper.
I reckon our local newsagent spends a perverse amount of time ensuring the end of the wrapper is suitably disguised. Bloody Mongrel he is!

AnswerID: 205743

Follow Up By: kimprado - Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 15:05

Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 15:05
Sandman

Ah yes.....the good old plastic wrapped newspaper. This demonic idea was invented by the Greens to constantly remind us of Global Warming (too much moisture in Australia).

Unfortunately you only tell one half of the story. What about the time spent unrolling the paper and trying to get it in a flat condition?

Kim
FollowupID: 465701

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 15:16

Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 15:16
tip...wey ya thumb and drag it around the paper a few times..if nothing happens go the other way...you'll lift the edge of the glad wrap
FollowupID: 465702

Reply By: Member No 1- Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 15:18

Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 15:18
its the stuff in the hard formed clear plastic thats bleep es me

i now keep a LARGE pair of scisssors handy....
AnswerID: 205771

Reply By: longJohn - Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 21:25

Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 21:25
The reason they do this sort of packaging these days is to try to combat shoplifting. Shoplifters tend to try to remove the item from the packaging before they leave the store, so they made packaging that was impossible to open without a knife. Bulky strong hard to break plastic. Such a waste of oil resources and anyway, whats there to deter a shoplifter from carrying a knife anyway? *shrug*
I wish they would stop this over packaging nonsense, for the reason of resources wastage alone.
AnswerID: 205819

Reply By: Member - SKI er (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 21:13

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 21:13
Gidday,

My worst experience of packaging was whilst on a flash boat as a guest for a watch the start of the Sydney to Hobart. I worked for a grog company so I brought a good bend of scotch along .

Not long into events, and after much description of the taste that was to come I tried to open the bottle but the tamper proof ring wouldn't break and the thread of the cap wouldn't engage the glass thread of the bottle neck. No tools to speak of...... but

Everyone on board had an solution.. one actually worked. One guest took out a sneaker lace and halved it. Half went back to his shoe and the other half he wrapped around the neck of the bottle which he lit and let it burn/smolder for a good few minutes. Then he poured some beer over the hot area and the neck snapped off clean as a whistle.

We lost a shot or two but this man was immediately elevated to legend status.

SKI'er
AnswerID: 206233

Follow Up By: kimprado - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 17:27

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 17:27
There is one old and very good method for undoing bottles tops.

lay the bottle on a non slip service (carpet, concrete etc). Place your foot on the top of the bottle and role backwards and forwards.

I have no idea why this works. My grandfather taught this to me and I've never found a bottle top that won't come loose using this method. Hope this helps.

Kim
FollowupID: 466331

Reply By: Dunedigger - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 13:06

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 13:06
What about opening some mail, some envelopes defy even a knife unless it is very skinny. I find scissors are the best option for most packaging except cling wrap, It completely defies my dexterity.

Dunedigger
AnswerID: 206828