Geoff (Newcastle, NSW)
Well Team,
After yesterdays effort on
Stockton Beach where I compunded a few stuff ups I've decided to seriously look at Exhaust Jacks.
After playing in the Post Archives I've come up with this one, XJack
Anyone got any better recommendations?
Besides put the shovel back in the Troopy on Saturday afternoon's when you've finished using it for gardening. ;-)
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: cuffs - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 14:02
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 14:02
I have had a TMJ exhaust jack for a couple of years best thing in sand for modular compact 4WD, 4 Tonne for a 2 tonne vehicle,the way to go. High lift jacks twist the body.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 14:38
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 14:38
Cuffs,
Where sthe best place to put them under the Xtrail?
Follow Up By: cuffs - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 15:24
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 15:24
Hi Phil, under the side pillars between both doors, I use a carpet square on top & bottom incase of sticks in the sand or anything sharp on the vehicle, I have found it VERY stable in the sand, lifts easy plenty of room to shovel under carriage and fill in hole under tyres.
Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 14:31
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 14:31
Exhaust jacks (aka Bull Bags) are great IF you've got no sharp self tapping screws or other sharp edges under the vehicle. That the vehicle is reasonably level, and that the exhaust system hasn't got heaps of leaks.
And it's one of those things to practice a few times at home- before 'needing' it out and about.
Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 14:38
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 14:38
buy another shovel for the garden...the garden is too good for your 4by shovel
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 15:06
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 15:06
Or get a new shovel for the Troopy?
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 18:10
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 18:10
Decisions, decisions ...... hahahahahaha
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 22:45
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 22:45
Not that big a decision really Al,
Put the bloody shovel back in the Troopy!
Instead of spending 1.5 hours on Sunday morning under the Troopy shifting sand by hand and every now and then hearing some very
well remembered barstewards drive by I could have spent that time enjoying
Stockton Beach!!
Mind you, don't tell anyone but brain in gear in the first case would have prevented the whole problem!
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 23:24
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 23:24
LOL look at it this way Geoff. If you had your shovel with you, it would have been a normal boring recovery. Without the shovel, you now have a story that you can recount many, many times at various bullshi.... er, I mean campfire sessions :)))
Now, where do I apply for a job as one of those 'spin doctor' chappies who seem to be in such demand hahahahahaha
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 14:43
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 14:43
There's a
well respected mechanic in my ex-4wd club who was recommending they not be used with Turbo-diesels. Something to do with backpressure, but unfortunately, I can't remember the details. Maybe someone else will know.
phil
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 15:05
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 15:05
Thanks Phil,
That could make sense.
There'd be high temperature shaft seals on the inlet and exhaust side of the turbine that may not take too kindly to some unplanned back pressure.
That's Ok, the one I looked at can be inflated from an air compressor,
Thanks again for the additional information,
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: cuffs - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 15:28
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 15:28
Correct again Phil exhaust jacks should not be used on any tubo because of back pressure and yes the compressor types will overcome this problem or use your mades exhaust lol.
Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 18:47
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 18:47
I've never had a problem using them on turbo vehicles including VVT. With the engine at idle, I can't see the pressure in the turbine being too much higher than it would be at full gallop.
Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 19:00
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 19:00
If anyone has FIRSTHAND knowledge of a problem using an exhaust jack on a turbo diesel then please tell us all about it. I think that this so-called problem is just an old wives tale. I have used them heaps of times with no problem and have never met anyone who has had a problem. The manufacturers don't mention it either.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 19:31
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 19:31
David, and KK,
Fair call. But I gather Bushranger recommend against it, and introduced the tyre pump option for inflating them.
We had this discussion on post 28622.
IMO its a theoretical problem - been extrapolated from the observation that blocked mufflers can stuff up turbos. But would I risk my vehicle????? Especially when I could simply use my tyre pump instead????
Follow Up By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 20:32
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 20:32
as a manufacture of inflatable boats & low pressure vessels the pressure in a exhaust jack is only normally between 2.5 & 6 psi. 4Psi the most common (high volume low pressure) Your electric tyre compressor is going to take some time as it works on high pressure low volume (my big red compressor normally over heats & is slower than a inflatable boat foot pump) & i have made & used many on turbo diesel's with out problem, & as the pressure is so low i guess that the exhaust back pressure would be higher crossing a
deep creek with the tail pipe under a meter of water?
Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 06:58
Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 06:58
I reckon a blocked muffler at highway speeds, and for a long duration you are definitely correct that damage would be done. Pumping up the jack tho is in my view unikely to do damage.
Dave O
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 07:42
Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 07:42
Hi Trendsetters,
I thought I'd remembered something from LCOOL regarding the 78/79 factory turbo diesel landcruisers such as Phil G's and
mine relating to back pressure in the turbo and exhaust manifold.
Here it is, Turbo Back Pressure
It would appear my engine is capable of back pressuring itself including its turbo far more readily than an exhaust jack could.
So, what does this prove? Nothing beyond let the user beware!
Thanks for the input team,
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 07:53
Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 07:53
Let's try that again shall we?
Turbo Back Pressure
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 17:04
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 17:04
Hi there Geoff, my mate did have one for his patrol and now belongs to me, when he used it on his patrol (petrol 4.8L) couple years back he had problems on the way back to
sydney with the engine management light coming on, took into dealer and it had a stuffed oxygen sensor, kept his mouth shut fixed under waranty then found out later that you cant use them on petrol motors as the exhaust gas cant get out and back up and stuff the sensor, now wether this is true or not or it was just a dicky sensor in the first place I'm not sure as reading above they have been useing on the xtrail so maybe a false statement but either way I ended up with his and it works a treat. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 19:04
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 19:04
I have used exhaust jacks on petrol vehicles with O2 sensors and never had any problems. If the ehaust 'backs-up' to the extent that it effects the O2 sensor then I reckon it would stop the engine.
Reply By: Robin - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 19:27
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 19:27
Hi Geoff
Can only reccomend exhaust jacks here , used / have a couple of sorts.
Like anything they need to be used with care and understanding.
I have not seen/or experienced any issues with their use relating to turbo diesels or my current 4800 petrol patrol.
Its possible to envisage issues relating to excessive back pressure but these would be rare and probably in conjunction with other circumstances such as faulty air bag valve or just forgetting to disconnecting the thing when it job is done.
Excessive back pressure also occurs when exhaust is under water and have been there many times for long periods without that causing damage.
Biggest issue I see is ensuring that jack covers the slant so often sen these days on end of tailpipes.
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 22:32
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 22:32
Hi Trendsetters,
I thought I'd remembered something from LCOOL regarding the 78/79 factory turbo diesel landcruisers such as Phil G's and mine relating to back pressure in the turbo and exhaust manifold.
Here it is, Turbo Back Pressure
It would appear my engine is capable of back pressuring itself including its turbo far more readily than an exhaust jack could.
So, what does this prove? Nothing beyond let the user beware!
Thanks for the input team,
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 23:13
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 23:13
Yeh I reackon that's the one I will be buying when the time comes
Doug
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 23:19
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 23:19
Geoff.
Mate an Air Jack would have been easier than doing it the way I did last Easter when one is alone
Site Link
Puff Puff Puff Puff
Doug
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 09:02
Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 09:02
Doug
That last dune pic of yours......that one stopped me right at the top in April this year. So I backed down, with the trailer going a tad sideways. Managed to turn the rig around and then have a go about 100 metres to the left of the track. Bogged the Nissan on top of the first crest. I then dug away some of the sand, put my two rubber floor mats in front of the rear wheels, let the tyres down to 9psi all round, and idled out in 1st Low and over the dune. Phew!!!
Reply By: Member - Alan (WA) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 22:58
Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 22:58
I bought and XJack, thinking handy for beach work.
First thing - if you have an exhaust pipe with an acute cut - rather than a square cut - make sure you get the adaptor - basically a piece of pipe that slides inside your exhaust but adds a square cut. Had to ring and ask for this - but arrived within a week free of charge - they actually have a little liftout inside with the warranty info. Very good service.
Have now used it - can't get the wheels off the ground. I have an OME
suspension upgrade (which has provided a slight height lift) - and am thinking (as a I naive observer) that the vehicle is going up (which it clearly is) - but the travel on the
suspension is keep the wheels on the ground? Is this likely? Still seems to be some weight on the tyres - so if this is the case - what do you suggest?
Follow Up By: Member - Alan (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 07:48
Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 07:48
Are high lift jacks really the only other option?