TERRANO TD27 Woes

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 16:04
ThreadID: 39788 Views:6098 Replies:9 FollowUps:1

I have been having trouble with my terrano's steering (it was all over the road), and as I do all the repairs/servicing myself, I started to gather some info on ball-joints and tie-rod ends. Eventually, after asking at a couple of spare shops and having been told that they did not stock any of the items. i was forced to go to the nissan agents. Never mind the cost which was a shocker, but they also gave me the wrong tie-rod ends. This became apparent only when I had already removed one assembly which was u/s anyway. So back to the agents and this time they asked for the chassis No. etc. and that maybe they had no stock in Oz, and the parts had to come from Japan. I live in WA and as I can see there are quite a few terranos driving around, is it possible that there is never stock of anything? I am not aware of any aftermarket parts, but if someone out there does, please do tell as I am sitting with my car or stands (hehe). Not really impressed with the agents I might add!!

Thanks to all and regards

Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 16:30

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 16:30
Those are the main short falls with Terrano's in australia the pathfinder which is the australian model has different tie rods and idler arms. That Nissan will source them for you is a plus as it wasnt an Australian delivered vehicle. The other way is to try Nissan clubs around Aus to see if they know of any importer of parts.
AnswerID: 206964

Reply By: 666toy - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 18:40

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 18:40
sorry to say but you have been bitten by the import bug that plagues a lot of vehicles here in Aus. Try e bay here & overseas you will be surprised what turns up . some car importers might be worth a shot as well . is it possible to get a local navara or pathfinder ball joint adapted to your vehicle (cut shunt & sleeve) if not i have had a ball joint injected with a hard setting teflon baced product on a very rare Buick here in Australia & it is still going strong & done over 20,000k on this without any probs & it was not very expencive....hope this helps
AnswerID: 206974

Reply By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 19:22

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 19:22
Feel for you mate!, have just been through the same chit this weekwith a alternater for a imported earthmoving machine. Why can't the japs just keep a few basic items the same between various models, Keep chasing something will turn up. good luck.

AnswerID: 206982

Reply By: hoyks - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 19:57

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 19:57
I have a Terrano II that Was sold here by Nissan, and they didn't have stock of ball joints for it. I got 1 lower x-stock from Sydney and the rest had to come from Japan.
It did cure the wantering, uneven tyre wear and tramlining that I was sufering though. Wether it was worth the $1200 odd dollars that the the balljoint set cost me though is debatable.
AnswerID: 206988

Reply By: kev.h - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 22:43

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 22:43
Hi Bosco
Try a google for Calmimi they make after market steering assy's and the importer is in Perth not sure what stock he keeps but by all reports good gear
if yours is a late model one the patrol tie rod ends should fit thats what mine are(mines a 95 ) can probably get the part no if you like i bought mine through Autopro parts in Qld
I probably have a serviceable set of ball joints if you are interested
also while its apart have a good look at the lower control arm bushes where it bolts to the chassis as they do wear as well
You can contact me at kev dot h at bigpond dot com if you need
its not only imports that are a problem i've waited 2 1/2 weeks for a part for my commodore
Regards kev
AnswerID: 207022

Reply By: bosco - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 22:50

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 22:50
Hi there again to all and thanks for the replies. Yeah, it makes one wonder why with all the japanese vehicles we have here, they don't keep a bit of stock in hand. They said it can take up to 14 days for the damn things to come from Japan, in the meantime, 'cos I only have 1 car, I am at the mercy of these turnips. The 4 ball joints plus the 4 tie-rod ends cost me $1,200 as well, I have the same prob with the tyres wearing on the inside. Are there any aftermarket kits/upgrades for the suspension that anyone knows about? I also discovered that the back disk brake rotors house brake shoes for the hand brake. Hell, without a workshop manual one has to learn as one goes by..hehehe...I don't mind that at all. I think that the best thing is to get a spare set of common things that can go wrong. I have changed the standard air filter with a K&N one and the car breathes a bit better. Overheating is also a big prob. I am in the process of sussing out some possibilities, but there isn't much space to play with...

Nevertheless, we shall carry on rewardless...thanks again to all for the replies and regards

gb
AnswerID: 207025

Reply By: Oskar - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 10:30

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 10:30
Bosco
Don't listen to them
I own both the TD27 (1992) import and the TII (1997), and have done since 1997.
I've never had trouble getting parts locally, and I've rebuilt my old TD27 front end several times because my older vehicle does a lot of-road stuff. eg. Fraser Is. heaps, Simpson desert twice, Vic high country and a lot of corrugations etc. etc.
I have sourced water-pumps, ball joints, tie-rods, brake components and drag-links etc from several suppliers here in Bris.
If you have a Fulcrum suspension place in WA they will get them easily.
Repco and Coventry handle quite a lot of suitable parts but I don't know who you have in WA.
Apart from that just keep trying.
Check your upper and lower control-arm/wish-bone bushes as they will wear your tyres etc if they are worn.
Also replace your idler-arm bushes regularly as worn ones will give your a serious left front wheel wobble. (I actually machine my own now out of bronze to get a decent fit)
I don't bother with Nissan anymore (I did initially) although some of their stuff was cheaper than non-genuine.
You will find that there is not really any significant difference between the Pathfinder and Terrano parts for the front end. Most of my parts are Pathy parts.
Oskar
AnswerID: 207073

Follow Up By: Oskar - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 10:52

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 10:52
Try "fulcrumsuspensions.com.au" and go to the WA link.
Sorry, us dinosaurs don't know how to paste a link.
FollowupID: 467043

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 11:19

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 11:19
Bosco,

I have a 92 terrano and changed the tie rod ends a few months back. I just picked them up from repco and as far as I remember they were the ones for the 2.7 navara. I might still have the packaging at home somewhere so I can get you the nmumbers.

R.
AnswerID: 207080

Reply By: bosco - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:41

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:41
Hi All and thanks for the replies and moral support, it is good to know that I am not the only one who's battling out there...

I have gone back to Nissan and gave them my chassis No. it took about 1/2 hour, but eventually the young bloke gave me 2 print-outs of the steering and suspension assemblies with part numbers...Hey...howzat?? Now we're cookin' with gas...so if anyone's interested, I will scan them and will gladly email them to you folks...hope that they can be of help. Actually, when I go to get the parts (they will be here tomorrow) I will ask them is there's any chance of having the diagram for the rear suspension as well...what else do you guys reckon??

Also found bushes for the upper arm (front wishbone) at Coventrys, they can also get them for the lower arm.

Will keep you guys posted and thanks again for all the help, I reaaallly appreciate it

gb
AnswerID: 207233