Police harasment at a new level

Submitted: Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 17:47
ThreadID: 39826 Views:3970 Replies:13 FollowUps:33
I know its not a 4x4 event , even though it could have been with the amount of 4bys there.

Spent the weekend in Shepperton for the Spring car Nationals . What a joke. The police were on a mission to book as many people as possible. There were more cops than people. If you drove your hotty on the street , you got booked. If you had it on a trailer , you got booked for that also. The locals were up in arms about it. All I got asked from the locals, was, I hope you didnt get harrast today , and im so sorry about all this , it aint the local cops doing it .
A poor girl got a defect sticker for no water in her washer bottle on a 06 car with 17,000 kms . they even set up a epa station. From my days, it was alway 3 defects before a sticker , could be fitted , whats the go now ?

Well i guess it will be the last time this event gets held there. The only people to suffer are going to be the local's. I wish i could say that people were acting like hoons , but I didnt see one car even close to the speed limit.

Well i guess 4 wheel drive events are next.

Thanks Bracks . I guess we now are the worse state to live in.

turned up to the super cruise , to find 25 vehicle out of the registered 850 , everyone was worried as to what the cops were going to do.

Dam shame.

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 18:07

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 18:07
Yep was up there about 6 years back for the spring nats with a mates ute we worked up. There were plain clothes cops everywhere in the crowd taking photos of cars and numberplates for sending out notices and pit requests later on.

Yes i thought it was still 3 pings for a yellow sticker.

As young bucks we used to go over to shep for the saturday night cruises ( early 90's) and geez there were some good times had by all LOL...

Mate i know what you mean about public events, i think i'm going to give up totally on them, people stopped from taking "hard" eskies into the cricket even though the tickets said it was ok at the test the other day, Hell we even got stopped from going into the melb. shymphony org. summer picnics at the music bows last year because we had an esky !!! they wouldnt let anyone in who had chairs or eskies.......
Ah well we all had a ball in the gardens next to the fence LOL...

Not just braksie stuffing it up, thank corporate supply contracts as well ala - spotless etc.

Anyway mate - was the caddy entered or just looking??

I'm hoping to get to the port fairy hot rod show again this year, its a nice little event, warny rodeo on the same w/e for a laugh......
AnswerID: 207153

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 19:19

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 19:19
No Place for the caddy in a Nats event , but I was asked to goin the supercruise .

Got more attention than most hotties lol
FollowupID: 467117

Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 21:15

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 21:15
when i did my roadworthy course the instructer asked how many defects before a canary most answered 3
corect answer was 1
FollowupID: 467143

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:07

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:07
What no place for the pimp daddy machine :-))

Do they still run the soundoff or db drags in conjunction with the nats ??
FollowupID: 467182

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:29

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:29
I didnt see a sound off , Didnt really see many stereo vehicled either ,
FollowupID: 467194

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 21:10

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 21:10
Eric, the empty washer bottle has done it many times from my understanding.

Mind you the camera cars are now back out in force after taking weeks off prior to the election. Can usually smell them but they are using all sorts of odd vehicles now. Blacked out windows of course are standard. Of course they aren't used for revenue raising are they, we just had an absence of 'safety' period prior to the election so no one would get ugly surprises in their mail......
FollowupID: 467555

Reply By: 666toy - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 18:20

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 18:20
makes it bloody hard to own a modified vehicle of any kind with the revenew raisers targeting you. i used to drive a very hot pontiac 67 & even when the girlfreind (she obayed the traffic laws to the letter) drove the ponti the bloody cops would just pull her over for a vehicle inspection. happend twice in one day sometimes. . the buggers are targeting the wrong croud but they just dont get it or dont care!. ...road safety my ass revinew raising to the hilt. must be getting close to cristmas eh lol ...ps looking for a cl charger for future project heard of anything ?
AnswerID: 207159

Follow Up By: Wetty - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 20:49

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 20:49
Could be that they're as jealous a hell cause the only hot thing they get to drive is a clapped out crumbledoor! Although when you look at the age of some of these Officers, maybe they're p*&%$d off cause they could never do what we were able to in our younger days. Mind you there are plenty of rice burners with turbos gettin round here at the mo.
FollowupID: 467138

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 18:21

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 18:21
Interesting, since the VW nats at Nambucca (just south of Coffs Harbour) are normally no problem, local police and people good to get on with.
Maybe with more family types around and not so much of a hoon image, we get a different response.
And there is some racing events, and some beetles are well under the 12 sec 1/4 mile. (Helps with a turbo, or WRX motor in the back.) Usually a good trike turnout as well. So they are not all ovals and splitties.
AnswerID: 207160

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 18:26

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 18:26
Hi Rock Crawler
Makes your blood boil. What's the bet that the police response would be in the Public interest and Saving Lives?

Who has been here

AnswerID: 207161

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 19:12

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 19:12
Sorry Stephen , I dont agree with you. If people were driving around like idiots , I would be the first to point them out to the cops. When a mid 30's Bloke with his wife and child in the back get stopped 3 doors before there driveway and get asked to go to the epa station, like they were second class citizens , it wakes my blood boil. Caught up with the bloke 2 hrs later , as he was staying 3 doors from our room. His vehicle came in at 95 db that 1 db under legal. So 4 cops went thought it till they found something, in the end , it must have been to hard to find something wrong with a 69 mint XP wagon, so they got him for leaving the tow bar tounge on his car. Public safety ? what , it might have hit you in the head if he ran over you ?
The locals were supporting us , because were clowns ?

what about the poor girl with the washer bottle ., Bloody leathel that. Come on , lets not catogorize everyone that loves cars as hoons. If it was the case , why even pick on people towing there hotties?
FollowupID: 467114

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 20:11

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 20:11
Hi Rock Crawler,
Please read my response again. I am in no way praising the Police for what they did, I am in fact on your side and having a dig at them and what their excuses would have been, just like speed camera's saves lives and are not money making tools for governments - Ha Ha

I think it is about time that the Police should be accountable for their actions.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 467130

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 20:46

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 20:46
I agree with your thoughts , but acountablle to who ? we are to lenient here in oz i think
FollowupID: 467136

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 19:08

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 19:08
I looked up the QTA website re towbar tongues and the only comment in there was that they not be a "dangerous" protusion, and no sharp corners. No mention about removing them when not in use.

T/R
FollowupID: 467297

Reply By: DIO - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 18:56

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 18:56
For an alternate point of view and at the risk of being accused of being unreasonable, unrealistic and out of touch, I'll bite...

Where's the problem IF...

Unroadworthy vehicles being driven on roads

Illegally modified vehicles being driven on roads

Dangerous vehicles being driven on roads

Unregistered/uninsured vehicles being driven on roads (if that WAS the case)

Manner of driving caught the attention of Police resulting in vehicle inspection etc

Often when Police take action, bystanders, not in possession of the facts often perceive that they are acting in excess of their authority. If you think it's as a result of YOUR govt, I suggest that you think again.

Police act according to the laws as such in all states in regard to enforcement of Motor Vehicle and Road Traffic (and other) matters.

There is a groundswell in the community relating to noisy (often illegally modified) vehicles being driven in apparently unsafe ways.

Without sounding like a 'preacher' (which I certainly ain't) sometimes it takes a wake up call to some drivers for them to realise their responsibilities on the roads and with their vehicles. Surely if a motor vehicle is modified in accordance with the requirements and conforms to all standards (engineering etc) then no one - including me - would have a problem with them.

Surely such an attitude toward safer driving and roadworthy (legal) vehicles is within the objectives and aims of this forum and it's members. Mind you, members/users are entitled to their opinions however if it implies or advocates that road users should blatantly flout or break the law then I believe it will only be a matter of time before such examples are made public to the detriment of all.

Whilst you are not advocating anything to the contrary, and your concerns relating to your observations at this event are respected, imagine if there were no rules or standards relating to this forum, the 'red necks and cowboys ' would have a field day.
AnswerID: 207166

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 19:18

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 19:18
I am all for rules , but what you say dosnt add up , I can go over your car and defenently find something wrong with your car, even if its the most insignificent thing. All that was asked , was to have some decency and not treat everyone like a criminal. I was there and experienced over the top. there was NO tolerance, just a get everyone. If this was the iligal street drags , I would say , bust everyone. But this is a well organized event , all the racing and burnouts happening on the track.
FollowupID: 467116

Follow Up By: longJohn - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 11:00

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 11:00
And its this image of the police that is being blown away by the bad cops who are being bleep s. Booking someone for leaving a towbar toungue in , or no water in a washer bottle. I mean for god sake come on!

This is why I left the modified car scene, and Ive lost heaps of old freinds from doing that. I was just sick of being booked for things that I didnt think were any problem. I had a twin turbo VL commodore and Im telling you it was safer than alot of cars on the roads that never got booked EG MY DIAHATSU ROCKY. It no way can pull up quicker than most cars and its probably got worse emissions too!

SO the damn police are targetting an easy crowd, in one place, for good revenue in my opinion and they dont give a bleep what image that is showing to the public.

Since I left the modified car scene and joined the 4wd scene ive never been harassed, but by god if they start targetting us also, theres going to be hell to pay.
FollowupID: 467430

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 19:57

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 19:57
They're all probably mid 40s stuck on traffic duty and have a grudge.
AnswerID: 207174

Follow Up By: goingplatinumcomau - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 20:48

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 20:48
Yes
With an over worked liver from all the 1/2 price Mac'donalds they eat.

The ones i hate are the Shopping Center security wankers who think there Copper's.One started asking me if my wheels were legal in a Gestpo like fashion.

Gave him a serious dressing down i can tell you he still turns and walks the other direction when he see's me LOL.

Regards Shane.
FollowupID: 467137

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 21:36

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 21:36
I too have heard about blokes being booked when the car is on a trailer, I really don't think that one could stick,if the trailer was road worthy , registered and the car sitting on it was not going over weight then up em, next thing they will be pulling over DJR V8 Supercar Transporter and all the other teams and booking them too , While the car is on a trailer it is no more than freight,

Doug

AnswerID: 207201

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 08:45

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 08:45
thats what i cant fathom

if the trailer is designed to carry the wieght of and the load is securely fastened, and towing vehicle is suitable and roadworthy and trailer is roadworhty...then how can they give you a defect notice...something must be wrong

also doubt if they could give you a defect for no water in washer bottle
FollowupID: 467207

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 16:53

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 16:53
Maybe, and this is a guess.
If the car on the trailer had license plates, it could be checked for not being road worthy, since it can be legally driven on the road?
Now, if they put the car on the trailer and took the plates and rego sticker off, the police would have no reason to check it?
Makes you wonder about transporting a car while you are doing it up, and may have parts stripped off it.
FollowupID: 467271

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 17:15

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 17:15
thats doesnt make sense either..it was on the trailer..it was not being driven...they cant defect the car if its not on the road
FollowupID: 467275

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:05

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:05
Any registered vehicle can be checked and defected MN1, on a trailer or not

FollowupID: 467285

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:27

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:27
but couldnt that be the reason its on the trailer?
FollowupID: 467291

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 19:03

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 19:03
I never said it was fair, its just the way it is

What about a vehicle on the back of a tow truck, same deal

FollowupID: 467296

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 21:08

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 21:08
no/yes?
it should be on a tray top carrier if not registered?...else if on a tow truck it would need to be registered i guess...or do they have exemption and/or trade plates to cover those areas
FollowupID: 467329

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:18

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:18
I been reading the comments as I get them on my emails , What about Car Carriers , TNT , Patricks, and all the other companies carrying cars, Yes I drove a roadtrain Car Carrier Bris-Darwin and many of the cars were unregistered , unregistered new cars etc , They are just freight and no difference to a pallet of bricks when they are on the trailers,then there is the Dozers, dump trucks , and other wheeled machinery moved all over Australia , the coppers don't worry about that except to make sure required Permits are carried , the smaller stuff don't need permits, the permits are for weight and dimensions,

FollowupID: 467347

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:00

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:00
Just remember that a cigarette butt in a ashtray is classed as a fire hazard and you can get a yellow sticker for it.

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 207208

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 08:41

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 08:41
what?...crap!
FollowupID: 467206

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:52

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:52
been there, done that baby,,,,couldn't believe it either, but thatis what was on the docket.
Fire hazard inside cabin.
Car was three days old, with 200km on the clock.
mind you,,,,it was a commodore...lol

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 467364

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:26

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:26
An event saturated by Police is not likely to be initiated by them acting alone. Someone needs to scratch beneath the surface to reveal the real culprits...perhaps someone has a grudge against the organisers and enough political clout to marshall the law to serve their purposes?? As a former local & cruiser I know the local boys look forward to this event...its a shame this occurred.
AnswerID: 207213

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 23:55

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 23:55
This is what you need to make them policepersons green with envy.

!MPG:20!

He's the man...This is the Sheriff 's Car of the Local Police Department in Texas.

Specifications:
ENGINE: 7.0L Supercharged V8, 515 KW, 904 Nm Torque
MAX SPEED: 250 (Limited)
ACCELERATION: 0-100 in 6.5 sec. (Quick for a car that ways more than 3.5
tonne!)

WHEELS: 28 inch chrome
TYRES: 325/35 R28 Profile

Hummer! Hummer! (H2 I believe)

AnswerID: 207226

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:31

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:31
now thats pimp
FollowupID: 467195

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:05

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:05
When u gettin one?

FollowupID: 467286

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:13

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:13
I am looking Bonzy im looking lol
FollowupID: 467288

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:15

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:15
come on, remember Police are your friends.

they are there to save you from yourself... Never found one I'd bleep on personally.

YDV..
AnswerID: 207228

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 08:59

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 08:59
YDV.. ????
FollowupID: 467208

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:06

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:06
I have

FollowupID: 467287

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 20:29

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 20:29
I got booked and fined 5 hours after getting my license for "obstructing traffic". Apparently my rear end was sticking out a little far while I was turning right (bugger if I knew it, didn't look like it to me). All I had was the peice of paper I received in the morning after my test. I was careful, driving to the speed limit and going to pick up my mum from work (this was about 12 years ago) and the police officer was rude, arrogant and didn't give two bleep s about anything I had to say. ( I was being polite). It gave me a bad taste about the police and I must say I don't think I have ever had a positive experience with them ever since. I have no respect for them, I hate them, and I don't think I'm the only one who feels that way. I wanted a clean driving record, after getting a fine and losing points on my first day of driving, while trying to do the right thing, I instantly gave up. I was a hoon after that, I didn't give a bleep . For years I drove like a moron until I grew up. Reflecting on it, I honestly don't think I would have been such an idiot on the road if it wasn't for that incident... The amount of times we were pulled over as young blokes and had our vehicles stickered for pathetic things that really were not saftey issues is countless. Cops vs saftey in my mind are completley un related. The amount of dangerous things I see on the roads, people's driving habbits and vehicles that they drive are also countless. Unfortunatally the coppers are too busy bleep in each others pockets, making themselves feel powerful harrasing people that are trying to do the right thing and they seem to miss all of the dangerous stuff out there. It's crazy, wrong and pointless. I hate to scoop people all up into one basket and label them, and I'm sure there are good coppers out there somewhere.... I have had many a run in with them in my driving career and have not once had anything nice to say to about them.... BTW - before anyone harps on that I am not a responsible driver, I have all my points and don't very often speed, so I think it's fair to say that my comments are based on at least a reasonble driver.
FollowupID: 467314

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 11:45

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 11:45
>>>and the police officer was rude, arrogant and didn't give two bleep s about anything I had to say.

standard issue 400 stone fat useless donut punching slob with a badge.. Most filth were people beaten and picked on at school... becoming a stinking corrupt scum was the only way to get some "respect"...

yet to find a filth worth bleep on,,

NMWVOT.

NOBODYS!
FollowupID: 467434

Reply By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 08:32

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 08:32
Is SA we defect cars for all sorts of reasons, but only the minority go to a vehicle inpsection station, the rest only need to be taken to a Police station (of the driver's choice) to get cleared. It's no big deal really, and it just ensures that the defects are rectified. How many people when the cops caution to get fixed, would actually go and get it fixed completely voluntarily? The coppers were probably under directions from their superiors to show zero tolerance, and probably because of some particular incident or event last year which compromised public safety, or upon request from the council, organisers, etc.

As for unlawfully modified cars, why should anyone else get to drive around in an illegal car when I do the right think and stick by the rules?

I do think that the lass with no water in her wiper reservior was a bit had done by though. Maybe there was more to it???

D-Jack
AnswerID: 207268

Follow Up By: DIO - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 09:19

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 09:19
D-Jack, well put. If only these youngsters could come to grips with 'the facts of life'....

If you are caught with undersized fish - you get pinched

If you are caught parking in a No Standing zone - you get pinched

If you are caught with an un-registered dog - you get pinched

If you light an outdoor fire on a Fire Ban day - you get pinched

If you are caught making unauthorised building additions to your home - you get pinched

You drive a heavy vehicle that is overloaded - you get pinched

You drive a heavy vehicle and exceed your driving hours - you get pinched

If you are caught driving on a closed track in National parks - you get pinched

If you are caught on Native Lands without appropriate permits - you get pinched

No Desert Parks Permit - you get pinched

and dare I say it, IF YOU ARE CAUGHT SPEEDING - YOU GET PINCHED

along with - IF YOU HAVE AN ILLEGALLY MODIFIED OR UNROADWORTHY VEHICLE - YOU GET PINCHED

and so it goes on and on...

In all of the above examples, the person issuing the expiation (fine etc) is doing their job in accordance with the terms of their employment and in accordance with legislation. Just because someone doesn't agree with that and probably because they weren't taught as youngsters to have respect for and compliance with the 'rules/law' GROW UP, welcome to the real world.

That's life. Get over it.

'Play the sailor - pay the price'
FollowupID: 467209

Follow Up By: 666toy - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 10:53

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 10:53
Seems to be lately that if you even look like having a little fun ...YOU GET PINCHED . ....Some bureaucratic clown sitting behind a desk making rules that they really have no bloody clue about. For example how does a crack in a indicator lens make the vehicle unsafe. Or a stone chip on your windscreen make your vehicle dangerous. I believe in following the law but some times the"law" needs a little wake up call to the powers that be...Coppers only do there job BUT some times they need to use a little COMMON SENCE. By all means book the clown doing circle work on the main drag (usually with very stupidly & illegally modified vehicles. But the bloke (& shelas) who spend there time & big dollars on making a show car usually don't want to wreck there cars doing circle work or being stupid. Its just that show cars stand out more than the usual hoons sleeper & therefore is targeted (often very unfairly) by the police...just my thoughts ...666toy
FollowupID: 467216

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:23

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:23
Man , what can I say. Some cops just need to get a life. The council alows a event and also organizes th cops to bust everyone ? come on guys , look at the big picture , its all about bucks. If someone got booked for iligal activity , then so be it. But when people go to the trouble of taking there vehicle to Deca on a trailer , dosnt it signify that he is ttrying to do the right thing????? setting up a epa station and booking tow balls and washer bottles is a discrace , I am imbarased to call myself Australian. Sit back and smerk , lets get rid of the hotties , then where is the money going to come from ? 4 wheel drives , there was a report today that thats the next target . When they book your tow bar , or bull bar , then we will see how much you smile .

If I inspected your vehicle , I bet i find enough on it to make you cry. if you are with the law , you shouldnt be above it. Whens the last time you got booked , or was the freddy enough to get you off .

I felt sorry for the local boys in blue , they were im,barased as hell.
Then you wonder why the hurl bottles at police when they have enough.

FollowupID: 467290

Reply By: Mark & Jo*Teabags&Teacup* Bris - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:36

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:36
It's coming up to work christmas party time, how else they gonna pay for it!!!!!!!!!
bleed us of course like!!!!!!!!

Jo
AnswerID: 207473