OT - The film "Wolf Creek"!!!

Submitted: Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 23:37
ThreadID: 39840 Views:4448 Replies:33 FollowUps:55
I watched the first 30 minutes of the film "Wolf Creek".

Who on earth allowed kerrapp like this to be released?? I'm no prude but that film was disgusting. Me & the wife turned it off after 30 minutes.

No bluddy wonder we've got half the population desensitised to blood, gore and violence!!

Geeezzuss sake!!

Shocking.

It's easy to see where Ivan Milat and the guy that killed Joanne Lees's boyfriend on the Stuart Highway came from.

Kerrist Almighty!!!!

This is NOT art. This is NOT film. This should be banned.

I've never been afraid to camp in the bush, done it fer 25 years, but now,,,,,,,,,,,,

Bilbo

Reply By: samsgoneagain - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 23:44

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 23:44
ok knobbo
AnswerID: 207223

Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:01

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:01
Yes Sam? "Ok" What?

I know the topic is "off topic", but I've spent many years in the bush as a prospector and I've seen many lonely old geezeers that rant all night long about conspiracy theories, alien sightings, paranoia, strange ways of suggesting things, drunk 'n drugged howling at the moon (literally) etc, etc. All of 'em were pretty close to the edge. It only takes a film like this to push 'em over it.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 207227

Follow Up By: Scoof - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 09:50

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 09:50
Thanks for the warning ,

I will not let my wife watch it as it would be the last time she would go camping..... emmm.is that a good thing.?? LOL

Regards : Scoof...
FollowupID: 467213

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 17:36

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 17:36
yer Bilbo, what a useless post, (sams I mean)

FollowupID: 467280

Reply By: craig - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:18

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:18
Oh come on, its quite funny I kept thinking of better homes and gardens
AnswerID: 207230

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:34

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:34
Craig,

I wonder if Ivan Milats victims and thier families thought it was funny.

I bet Joanne Lees thought it was bluddy hilarious.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467187

Follow Up By: tomjones83 - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 10:11

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 10:11
Bilbo, I see your point and my condolences do go out to the familes of Ivan Milat's victims.

The film is not based on Milat's actions, it depicts scenes from Milat's murders and the Falconio murders.

My thoughts, the film is R rated for a reason. If you read the back of it and see the warnings, you will know that it has "heavy violence" "coarse language" etc. Nobody held a gun to your head and told you to watch it...

All people react differently to movies, I cant say that I liked the movie either but I dont go bagging it all over the internet. Some people may have enjoyed it.

No need to get on here and bag a movie along with everyone that doesn't share 'your' view of it.

Grow up!
FollowupID: 467214

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 17:20

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 17:20
Tom,

Firstly, I'm entitled to bag a movie anywhere - even on this forum. We, on this forum, bag stuff all the time - Nissan ZD30 engines, Toyota IFS, Hi-lift jacks, generators, tyre brands, batteries and often, each other. Most people on here are intelligent enough to have a reasoned debate that doesn't necessarily have to be 100% 4WD stuff. We're all citizens of the world as well as 4WD fans.

I contribute regularly on here with assistance on technical issues and help out where I can. I've even helped members privately, off the public face of the forum. Is it then presumptious of me to start a thread that might be a bit different to my normal stuff? Is it then presumptious of me to start a thread for comments amongst people that I regard as friends? If so, then I'll apolgise now.

Secondly, at what point did bag anyone or any person? These sentences are merely asking Craig a question:-

"Craig,

I wonder if Ivan Milats victims and thier families thought it was funny.

I bet Joanne Lees thought it was bluddy hilarious."

Nowhere, I have used phrases that could be construed as a personal attack.

You on the hand have made a personal attack on me, by using phrases such as:- "Grow up!"

Bilbo

FollowupID: 467277

Follow Up By: craig - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 21:39

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 21:39
Bilby

I think you miss the point. I meant funny as in John Jarrett playing that part, (I can't believe I'm having to explain this) as he is better known in "Better Homes and gardens"

He is obviously a brilliant actor to affect you that much. I also enjoy Australian movies and that’s it really, it’s just a movie

As Shaker said below “The content of "Wolf Creek" was no secret ...... why watch it?”

Craig
FollowupID: 467335

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:10

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:10
Craig,

It wasn't the brilliance of John Jarret that affected me. Indeed, I don't think he's very good at it. It was the sheer brutality of the film and the possible effect on some of our population that can't quite distinguish between right 'n wrong, good 'n bad, acceptable and unacceptable.

We can all look at things from our own perspective and think there's not a problem. But just think how many loonys there are in the world that think, "Hey this'd be good fer a laugh eh! - lets cut someone's spinal cord and then we can do what we like with 'em, head on a stick, fun, kewl, sweet dude"

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467345

Reply By: ross - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:33

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:33
I thought it was well done for a very low budget thriller .
How is it different from watching a war film where hundreds die from grenades or machine guns?.
In Wolk Creek there are only 3-4 murders ,what makes it so damn uncomfortble is the way that the phsycopath is so cool and conniving at the same time.

Even if you dont like the content matter you have to give the films production crew full marks for making something so tight and suspenseful without a multi million dollar budget.
I dont normally watch these films ,but this one is different.
Beats the chrap out of Silence of the Lambs; )
AnswerID: 207231

Follow Up By: Troo Bloo - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 13:16

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 13:16
"You hit the nail on the head" exactly to true, i have been to wolf creek and all through the kimberly and would have no problem going back.
FollowupID: 467663

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:42

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:42
Jusw saw anothery, the Hills have Eyes (US made), not qutre up with the "statements" the wolf creek film tries to say, but crap overall. I can't take them seriously, it turns into a joke.
AnswerID: 207234

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:42

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:42
Bilbo,

If I recollect correctly, the film was made AFTER the Ivan Milat and Bradley Murdoch incidences and in fact was based on these two crimes.

The wife and I watched the film all the way through. Very powerful content.
Haven't had a decent nightmare for ages but now can conjure up one at will.
And you wouldn't believe the amount of "personal protection" we now carry with us when travelling.

Just think, John Jarratt was better known for his exploits in "Better Homes and gardens" , until "Wolf Creek". Now he's the Bad Man.

The film may not suit everyone but it sure makes you think what could (and does) happen from time to time in this twisted world of ours. I regard "Wolf Creek" as a truly great Australian Horror Film.

Just lighten up a little mate. Have a little "smoke" or a valium tablet.
Life is much better for most of us Australians.

AnswerID: 207235

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 16:55

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 16:55
Yer right Sandman. The film was made ater those killings. I knew that and I didn't word that very well did I?

I first tried "smoke" about 40 years ago in the UK. It did absolutely nothing for me when everyone else was "out of it", smoking the same stuff. The next and last try was about 10 years ago and it made me throw up and have nighmares all night - bad ones. After 2 more goes at it on subsequent evenings, I threw a Coles shopping bag 3/4 full of the stuff on the camp fire!! I got the "smoke" for 2 cartons of grog from a mate of mine. I reckon my mate got the best of that deal!!

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467272

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 01:53

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 01:53
Texas chainsaw masacre........ evil dead.............
do not understand................ I watched evil dead stoned as.......... 20 years later I am still camping..... have been camping since I was 11
get over it........................ WHEN YOUR TIME IS UP, IT IS TIME................ I get asked all the time "do I carry a gun" duuuhhhhh nooooo why?????????? there are pirates out there ...... don't you love the media...........
hey if I get a weirdo out there I am sure I will be able to syke the fykkker out.....

I love being out there and love even more having a minute or 2, maybe even dinner to chat to people I see out there..... if the're lucky they may become imortalised in print for eva

I love my life......... although have only met 1 exploroz dude........... and I must say he did not seem a happy chappy and was a little rude..... I have pictures of u at LITTLE RED :( am sure u will remember me..... OH and by the way my next project is to cruise oz and I have a bigger project in mind. "happy cruisers!!!!!!!!!!!!! Stressed dudes....." I have seen both and it is very funny how the family works....... And I have loved every minute of helping out the ones who have needed help in the middle of nowhere.
Am now watching helen hunt on tv........ think I got to get some zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

oh by the way
Am now watching helen hunt on tv........ think I got to get some zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

AnswerID: 207238

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 06:30

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 06:30
Quite possibly the worst film ever. Cr@p, rubbish & torture all come to mind. I was stuck on a bus with nowhere to go when i saw it. I was close to the edge when i got off that bus :-l
AnswerID: 207245

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:09

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:09
Bilbo,

I agree with what you said . I would never watch a movie like that because I do not enjoy having the crap scared out of me .

I can imagine how it would be unsettling out in the bush after watching it . A bit like going for a surf the morning after watching Jaws - constantly looking around for a shadow in the water .

Willie .
AnswerID: 207250

Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 16:51

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 16:51
I'm with you Willie - I wont watch it as I spend a fair bit of time camping and dont want to be thinking about it when I am out there....
FollowupID: 467270

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:14

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:14
When I was a younger fellow I was staying at a caravan park with my grandparents , Jaws was a new realease on video ( probably Beta ).

I was told not to go to the movie night where it was screening , I went anyway .

Poor Gran was pushing bleep e uphill trying to get me to go swimming after that !

LOL.

Glenn

FollowupID: 467289

Reply By: madcow - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:16

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:16
Go and watch SAW 3. It will be a nursery rhyme in comparison.
AnswerID: 207252

Follow Up By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 13:15

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 13:15
and 'Hostel' makes Saw look timid!
FollowupID: 467232

Reply By: cackles - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:26

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:26
try 'house of 1000 corpses" was written and directed by rob Aombie of the
"white zombies", definatley the most psychopathic film I have ever seen.

cackles
AnswerID: 207255

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:53

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:53
Its a movie,,,, thats all it is...
Anyone who is mentally affected by a movie needs to seek medical help...
I thought Wolf Creek was great viewing,,,, HOSTEL is another good one....
I rekon channel 10 news is heaps worse...On there you see and hear of real people dieing....
AnswerID: 207259

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:51

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:51
Voxon ,
That is crap . There are plenty of people affected by scary movies and I doubt if they all need help . Maybe you have had a sensitivity bi-pass .
Willie .
FollowupID: 467294

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 21:10

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 21:10
Hey Willy... Thats just my opinion...
I havent had a sensitivity bypass,,, i just know that movies are make believe....
Ya know,,, Brad Pitt, George Clooney,, etc etc.... and all that sort...
If channel 10 news said that there is a serial killer on the loose in my neighbourhood then i would be scared because that would be "non fiction" as apposed to "fiction" like the movies...
Santa, Easter Bunny, Monsters, Vampires, etc etc,,, they are entertainment like movies.."make believe"....
GEESH... Cant believe i am even explaining this to you...

Regards Grant...
FollowupID: 467330

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:22

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:22
Your statement was " Anyone who is mentally affected by a movie needs to seek medical help " you are saying Bilbo, myself , Drew , Glen D and Old Plodder are mentally unbalanced .

You ARE a very smart fellow , are you perhaps a psychiatrist or a psychologist ?

Willie .
FollowupID: 467354

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:30

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:30
Willie,

That's my point exactly - ",,,There are plenty of people affected by scary movies,"

Not of all these people are affected the same way. Some of us are frightened by 'em. Some are revolted by 'em. Some think they're funny. Some think they're cool.

It's the last category that can lead to the violence we see every day on the streets.

Aaaagh, WTF, I just bottled him in the face maaate. What's the prob wiv a bit o' blood maaate. I seen worse in the movies maaate. What's yer problem??"

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467356

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:40

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:40
Voxson,

You said,",,,,,,,,i just know that movies are make believe,,,,,"

Sure you do. We all do. But,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Trust me when I say this, there are a lot of people out there that cannot rationalise this issue. Their whole world is driven by PC games and videos. They obtain thier value system from this source. They judge what is good and bad from this type of entertainment. They are the ones that worry me, not you.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467359

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:13

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:13
Yeah,, sure my comments are strong and direct.....
Everyone has different thoughts to everyone else.....I am not wrong or right... Just my opinion....
Dont get me wrong,,,, i can understand that people are affected by these movies,,, but the thing i cant get my head around is that people get caught up in these movies and sometimes it changes the way they run their lives...and after these movies people talk about them like it just really happened....
FollowupID: 467415

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:21

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:21
WILLIE SAID...."Anyone who is mentally affected by a movie needs to seek medical help ".....you are saying Bilbo, myself , Drew , Glen D and Old Plodder are mentally unbalanced .

I should have added the word "may" into my sentence....as in medical help...

But no way in the world should you change my words into calling you guys mentally unbalanced.... Because i didnt say that,,,, and you shouldnt say i did because in my plain English i didnt...

Anyway,, this is just dragging on and on and on now,,,,,i am sure if i made my comments to you over a beer or three instead of this typing stuff it could have been taken a little less dramatically and we probably would be onto our 14th next subject by now and still laughing...

Cheers guys...
FollowupID: 467418

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 10:40

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 10:40
And after thinking about it for a while,,, yes you guys are unbalanced hehehehe... lol.....
FollowupID: 467428

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:58

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:58
I guess it basically comes down to personal preference. I enjoy films like this and others such as the SAW series. I'm guessing you watched more than 30mins worth as it is pretty tame for the first 30-40mins. I thought it was pretty good.

WRT Joanna Lees, there isn't something quite right about her situation and I really think she isn't telling the whole truth. Even though she has changed her story a couple of times.....Didn't know Tray back cruisers (Murdock's Vehicle) has rear seats????????
AnswerID: 207260

Reply By: 4x4Mad - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 08:07

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 08:07
next thing we will have someone posting that they are worried about drop bears !!
jeeezz it,s a movie ! more worrying things out there ! Price of fuel scares me more !
AnswerID: 207262

Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 12:38

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 12:38
drop bears DROP BEARS.
where where i thought it was a lie
geez i hope your only kidding were going camping soon
and now you got me worried
THANKS A LOT.
lol
FollowupID: 467227

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 16:41

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 16:41
It'll be OK nowimnumberone as long as it is'nt the lardarse variety on the Bundy adds :))))))))
FollowupID: 467267

Reply By: Dion - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 08:23

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 08:23
I reckoned it was great, mainly because most of the filming is around home, so there are a lot of landmarks that I can recognise and relate to.
It does make you look at JJ in a different light, but after all, he is an actor, and a bloody good job he did of it too.

Dion.
AnswerID: 207265

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 15:02

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 15:02
What rubbish....the whole film was full of geograghical stuff ups.

1. The sun does not rise over the beach in Broome as the beaches there face the west.

2. The guy gets picked up by the tourist in the Kombi and pow arrive in Kalbarri. Now given that the Wolfe Creek carter is off the Tanami track, I estimate at least a 3 day drive yet they get there the next day, why not stop at Broome or Port Hedland.

Having driven the area a few times I never got that feeling of Deja vu. I suppose there would have been a lot of SA or Victorian land marks, definatley not WA or NT.
FollowupID: 467249

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 08:28

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 08:28
Yes totally disgusted in the way Australian audiences were treated like idiots i mean really whose gonna believe driving back and forwards over the causways at Pt Augusta is going to get them to Wolfe Creek? Why didnt they just call it the Flinders at least then it would have been more believable. And surely any Aussie would know Kalbarri is 000s of km from Wolfe creek anyway
As you said - disgusting
AnswerID: 207267

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:26

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:26
Davoe

Thats was bad

When't to work the next day baging the film

It made me mad, I could pick the places they were traveling and was yelling at the missas did you see that......

The rest if the film was bleep as well
FollowupID: 467378

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 09:11

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 09:11
It's interesting how peope respond to media.
There are those who really get involved, and those who can stand back and just see it as story, no matter how scary.
Wife and I are like that, the two opposites.
I get really involved and passionate, and find myself being really scared, while my wife can watch all the blood and gore and remark on the fine points of human antamony.
I find I just have to miss such films and TV series for my own sanity.

Yet, I have worked in meat works on and off for over 30 years, and as part of a design team most probably am responsible for the death of a few million cattle, roos, sheep and emus. I regularly visit them and analysis the production methods without any qualms. 45 litres of blod per cow, 10 to 12 litres per emu, first trim, leg overs, all part of the problem to solve.
A film or TV for some reason is more real than reality for me, and I just have to keep away.
AnswerID: 207270

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 09:25

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 09:25
I have never watched horror films. There's enough horror in real life .
But that's just me. I'm a guy who believes that the war is the ultimate pornography.
I must be a sad case.
AnswerID: 207277

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 16:47

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 16:47
Footloose,

We meet again. But this time we agree. I'm grateful for that.

It's the desensitsing effect that concerns me. I think that this type of gore transposes into real life horror in some folks. Maybe not in quite so concentrated a form, but is this why it's becoming acceptable behaviour to bash people senseless? Nobody thinks twice when someone is murdered? It's OK to drive like maniac and kills several others when you finally stack it?

Is thrillseeking all there is to life? Is it a "must have"?

Whats' next - "Watch me decapitate my mother on 'U-Tube' "??

You're right FL - There's enough horror in real life . Why do we have to make it up?

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467269

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 17:44

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 17:44
Take a 6 hour walk thru the Nazi Museum in Nuremburg. That will cure your de-sensitivity. It is also the most chilling example of TRUE preplanned mass murder that I think one can see.

It should be named Man's inhumanity to Man.

I spent the first hour in tears, the rest in asronishment, horror and realisation that something of that magnitude can occur in a modern, knowledgable society.

FollowupID: 467281

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 19:18

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 19:18
Bonz, most have no idea of the sheer scale of some of the horrors of that era. But you don't have to go back that far. The Balklands conflict is within our memories; where supposedly civilized countries murdered whole villages on the whim of a few, much of the time with an impotent UN force looking on.
Every day there are around 30 relatively small scale wars happening around the globe, as in people are dying in horrible ways.
Someone once said that while ever there are men, there will be wars. What a horrible indictment of mankind.
FollowupID: 467300

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 19:33

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 19:33
Bilbo, this time I think you're on the money. We haven't seen horror in this country that many overseas countries know only too well.
All of our cheap thrills seem to come from overseas incidents and mostly imported movies.
Yes I understand the attraction of being politely scared. Perhaps that's what its all about, dealing with horror on the screen rather than in real life. (Horror ? Has anyone seen the state of our Govts lately ?:)
Anyone who has truly seen horror, anyone who has experienced true evil, could surely not enjoy watching it even on TV.
And you're right. There is a de sensitivity issue, it's well known by child psychologists (although they told us violence on TV didn't affect kids...told us that for 20 years until they woke up to what we'd known all along...ah duh Mr Psychologist )

FollowupID: 467303

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:15

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:15
Footloose and Bonz,

Thanks for your comments. Like you, I visited a place of horror, where my father fought in WW2 - the Burma -Thailand Railway and the War Cemetery there.

Like you, I had tears in my eyes as I stood there. I thought about my father and the stories he told me about liberating those prison camps in Burma as the Japs were pushed back. Those poor buggers. Some wouldn't come out of the camps, they were so frightened that the Japs were still there! They were like chastened, frightened children. Many never got out alive.

What one human being can do to another is without bounds. So why do we have to make it up for entertainment I ask myself? Don't we have enough of it all around us? When is enough, ENOUGH?

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467377

Reply By: troopyman - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 09:36

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 09:36
If you want to be scared then drive on QLD roads .
AnswerID: 207278

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 12:44

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 12:44
Not only QLD.......I have live in many places and honestly believe that Canberra Drivers are by far the worst.......Every morning is as scary as hell.........
FollowupID: 467228

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:28

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:28
Have driven all over Oz quite recently and the drivers are no worse or better. But Oh the road system ! The design engineers should be shot ! High speed traffic merging from your LEFT ? Lanes that encourage people to speed up trying to beat the traffic/lights so that they can merge and possibly have a high speed dingle ? etc etc
Maybe all that's normal in Vic ? haven't been there in years....too many argumentative types down there :))
FollowupID: 467355

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 11:52

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 11:52
if you want to be scared, Bracks just won again...
FollowupID: 467436

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 09:37

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 09:37
Everyone to there own, personally I cant stand this type of film wether its only a film or not, so thanks for the warning, hadnt seen it yet, so will give it a miss!

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 207279

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 10:45

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 10:45
The content of "Wolf Creek" was no secret ...... why watch it?
AnswerID: 207291

Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 13:08

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 13:08
Hmm,,,,,,,this seems to have stirred up the possums a bit and I see "Footloose" and I agree on something finally.

I picked the DVD movie more out of curiousity than interest. We don't watch a lot of DVDs but we won 5 free movies in a product promotion and we were strugglling to find anything that interested us.

What concerns me is not the "scary" factor. It's just that with films like this we seem to be going further and further to get increasing gratification. A bit like drugs - take more for a bigger hit. Just gore and more gore without thinking, "Is this right?". Some on here have said that "Wolf Creek" was nothing, you should go and see such 'n such a film. I mean, where do we stop in the search for the next heart stopper? Will someone now make a film about burning babies for fun?

The point has been made that the 6 o'clock news often shows stories about people being killed, we have documentaries about wars where thousands are mown down and that these are all worse than a film. However, these news items are real events and can't be ignored. They did actually happen. But do we really have to dream up stuff like "Wolf Creek" to get thrill or a rush. Or do we get confused with reailty and fantasy so much that there is little or no difference? Is this why people think it's OK to bash people bloody and senseless for a minor indiscretion or often, no reason at all? Is this why violent death is regarded as frivolous nowadays?

I may be a sad old bastard but stuff like this worries me. But live and let live - just not near me thanks.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 207310

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 13:28

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 13:28
...it's damn annoying when what you want to say is the last thing you say!! ...hey bilbo!!
AnswerID: 207311

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:21

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:21
No Andy, that's not the last thing I'll say. But in this case, with some people, I have no choice do I?

It's a free country. Just having may say on what I see as major problem - lack of understanding of where regular exposure to extreme violence can lead.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467352

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 13:51

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 13:51
Hang on - nothing happens for the first half of the film let alone the first 30 min all the horror starts after uncle Mick gives them some sweet water from the top end about 1/2 way through.
plenty of caracters like that living in sheds around here in the middle of no where....................
AnswerID: 207318

Follow Up By: Moose - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 14:27

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 14:27
That's what I was thinking - stuff all happens in the first 30 mins.
Wife and I watched it all. Enjoyed it. Neither suffering any nightmares nor now too afraid to camp in the bush. We don't carry any extra protection (what more would we need than the couple of bazookas, a knife or three, chainsaw and axe we've always carried!) Some people are just too sensitive.
FollowupID: 467244

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 17:47

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 17:47
"plenty of caracters (sic) like that living in sheds around here in the middle of no where"

Hope not - we'll run out of backpackers

PS any bush fires up your way at moment ?- plenty NW of Newman eg Area C

FollowupID: 467283

Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 16:33

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 16:33
Ok, OK - for the pedantic amongst us - say 40 minutes, 45 minutes. We watched up to the bit where he severed her spinal cord. Ok now?

Bilbo

AnswerID: 207346

Follow Up By: 4x4Mad - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 16:40

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 16:40
ohhh so u did,nt see the ending then ? you were,nt to far off it !
FollowupID: 467266

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 17:00

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 17:00
Mad,

I know how it ends. I read the reviews and some film forum comments after I turned it off.

If the ending was as they described it then I'm happy I missed the disappointment. Which makes me think that if the ending was so weak, then the rest of the fim didn't have a point. It was gore and violence for its own sake.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467273

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 17:47

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 17:47
I think hos Toyota breaks down at the end and he needs a tow from a Nissan, and Roachie and Pesty are pisstaking when the Toyota gets towed off. Anything else is best left to the imagination, not to this forum methinx

FollowupID: 467282

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:31

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:31
Bonz,

Nissans versus Toyotas,,,,,,,,,,!!!

Not now, not here mate. There could be kids reading this forum.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467381

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 20:35

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 20:35
hahahaha I was changing the subject mate

FollowupID: 467542

Reply By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:01

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:01
Hi Bilbo.

I agree entirely on what your saying, but i guess its up to each individual adult on what sort of crap they want to watch. What concerns me more than anything these days is some of these computer games out there that are readily available to any kid that wants one, Its the same thing blood guts, & gore, and they get to pull the bloody trigger!!!.

Cheers Axle
AnswerID: 207362

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:28

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:28
Axle,

Yep - PC games are another source of 'confusion'. Value systems get distorted when people use these things day in & day out. It's easy to see how violent behaviour gets a foothold. Start 'em off young and they'll be queing up to watch films like "Wolf CreeK when they're old enough.

Lets's all have a look outside our windscreens. It's getting worse every day.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467380

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:53

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 18:53
Bilbo,

Don't forget the movie Razorback,

It still makes me double think about bailing out of the shooting rig to chases little porkers down on foot with the dogs.

All great fun though.

Kev

AnswerID: 207369

Reply By: 4x4Mad - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 20:28

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 20:28
cant believe all those that are worried about a flamin movie ! Aussie blokes turning in to a bunch of panty wearers . The bottom line is , Its a movie ! If you are so worried about it , why the hell did u hire it ? surely u did,nt just get it for a pretty cover on the dvd ? chill out a bit and go hire the wizard of oz , or i could allways send you one of my kids wiggles video's , but be careful of them to >> 4 strange men in coloured skin tight skivies , could be just a little to much to handle .
AnswerID: 207396

Follow Up By: Dave ....Adelaide - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 21:54

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 21:54
Chitty chitty bang bang is pretty good too ....lol
FollowupID: 467339

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:51

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:51
Mad,

I hired it out of curiousity and lack of anything else that seemed remotely interesting.

I just wasn't expecting that level of phsycopathic violence acted out in a realistic environment. Most hooror films have a built in 'de-coupling' system within them. They are often so bizzare as to eb "unlikely". They would not be likely to happen in reality. Therefore they can be dismissed as fantasy and are therefore comparatively benign.

"Wolf Creek" is not one of those films. It's so close to actual events that it should not and cannot be glorified or written off as fantasy. Therefore it's close to reality. Therefore it's transportable to reality. Therefore for some people, it's dangerous.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467363

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:34

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:34
4x4Mad

The problem is there isn't many Aussie blokes left...

to many married men with kids

the savouries of as all
FollowupID: 467382

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:35

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:35
us all
FollowupID: 467383

Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 21:38

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 21:38
This whole thread is nonsense.

Debate about people standing in front of a camera and pretending to be someone else (that is the basis of a movie) is absurd.

Are there not more important issues to debate????
AnswerID: 207415

Follow Up By: Dave ....Adelaide - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 21:57

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 21:57
yep!!! Nissan v Toyota Waeco v Engle which tyres are best , my winch is better than yours .....and the list goes on ....lol
FollowupID: 467341

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:12

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:12
nahhh how about daylight savings I reckon that really kicked but over the passion stakes for something that prob doesnt matter much (yes i was a majotr contributer)
FollowupID: 467346

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:58

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:58
Jimbo,

",,,,,,,,,,,,Debate about people standing in front of a camera and pretending to be someone else ,,,,,,,,,,

Please see my comments above in reply to "4*4Mad". Some people don't want to or cannot see the pretence of it all.

And I'm afraid that I do see it as an important issue. More exposure to any stimulus means more acceptance of that stimulus as normal standards.

Look at the USA for an example. 'Cos that's where we're heading - "Violence Central".

Bilbo

FollowupID: 467368

Reply By: Dave ....Adelaide - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:02

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:02
Hey Bilbo , even though i dont totally agree with your comments , i say good on ya for having a say , and also good on ya for discussing something different for a change , i personally found reading all the replies quit interesting , made for some different reading for a change instead of all the usual same old crap .......Cheers .....Dave
AnswerID: 207421

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:36

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:36
Thanks Dave,

Yeah, it does make a change to slaggin on about GPS systems dunnit! Or trying to find out what Roachie's up to,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,which I do happen to know by the way, he,he,he.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467358

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:28

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:28
Hey Bilbo,

You certainly got a cross-section of people's views mate.

I believe most thinking people would be more disturbed by the contents of "Rabbit Proof Fence". No real violence at all, just the kidnapping of children away from their communities as an "experiment" in bringing them up in a "white man's environment".

I am not really much of a movie watcher, but now and again I like watching movies made by the Australian and New Zealand Film Industries. Thus, I watched "Wolf Creek". (I believe the ending was concocted specifically for a "sequel").

Now a Kiwi film you and your Wife should enjoy if you haven't already seen it.
WHALE RIDER (Keisha Castle-Hughes)
A very powerful (but non-violent) film about a Maori community and a loving, but pig headed Grandfather unable to cope with a change of circumstances.
Probably the best film I have seen for a long time.

AnswerID: 207450

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:40

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:40
hay

what about once we were warriors..
now that was a film to make you think...
FollowupID: 467385

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 08:36

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 08:36
Once were warriors one of my all time fav comedies! love it! didnt think much of the sequel...
FollowupID: 467609

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 11:52

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 11:52
Troll of the year?
AnswerID: 207513

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 21:04

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 21:04
Good effort, but only a bit over 1000 views in 2 days.

I've seen better LOL
FollowupID: 467551

Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:12

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:12
Truckster,

No mate, not a troll effort. Most people on this forum know me. I'm not a stranger looking for a verbal stoush.

This film and the general subject of violence really get to me as I beleive it's a big contributor to the increasing disregard for human life, dignity, privacy and property that we ALL complain about regularly on this forum.

You should know me better than that Truckster.

It's been in interesting insight into how others think about it. Thanks everyone.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 207653

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:22

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:22
yea I do know you better thn that. thats what has me phukt to the original post...

been said before, if you dont like something dont watch it or dont read it...

but its been good, I've got a stack of new movies from this thread I've downloaded off Limewire and torrents today!

about 5 so far.
FollowupID: 467569

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:26

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:26
PS if you bought it and have finished with it, can you post it to me? I gotta see formyself
FollowupID: 467572

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 00:33

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 00:33
Truckster,

Sorry mate, it was hired - and I wouldn't COPY a video would I,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

As for the thread, I do sometimes get a hair up my freckle about violence in this day 'n age. I can't see where it's all gonna end up. I mean, what's really causing all this vicious attitude with people these days? Maybe I'm just getting too old.

CYA mate,

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467600