Bendethera, Deura NP

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 09:46
ThreadID: 39882 Views:4037 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
Gday all

Gettin out of the big smoke for the weekend and was going to have a look around and camp at Bendethera valley at deura NP.

Never been to this area and was wondering if anyone has been there lately, I beleive there is a river that you can camp beside or would this be dry???

Should I be concerned with the bushfires at the moment, and also want to know if I can take my dog?

Any comments appreciated

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 09:54

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 09:54
First, No dogs as it is National Park. I was there about 3 weeks ago and there is still plenty of water in the river. Fires are always a risk. Has a couple of Pit toilets and has excellent grassy camping areas. No problems with a Camper Trailer and no problems with space, can accommodate heaps of campers......
AnswerID: 207493

Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 15:15

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 15:15
NSW is in total fire ban, so far that area is not a risk but ya never know and as above, no dogs.

Yadbora is an option it's closer to Sydney and it's state forest, so dogs are allowd, and there's water in the Clyde river.

AnswerID: 207553

Follow Up By: flappa - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 15:40

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 15:40
Where is Yadbora Baz ?
FollowupID: 467486

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 16:22

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 16:22
Or Shallow Crossing on the Clyde and you are allowed pets there......Very nice spot......
FollowupID: 467488

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 17:49

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 17:49
Hey Graeme, it's west of Milton, the turn off is in the town, i think it's west st, but if not you follow Yadboro Rd into Yadboro state forest to Yadboro Flat, get the Batemans Bay State Forests Map.

FollowupID: 467509

Follow Up By: flappa - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 10:27

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 10:27
Thanks Baz
FollowupID: 467630

Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 15:54

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 15:54

I went there about 12 months ago. Nice place.

No pets are allowed in NSW National Parks

Access via the south western end near Snowball is a rough steep descent around hairpin bends. I wouldn't recommend attempting to tow down or up via this entrance.

Access via dry creek east from Araluen is OK but check creek crossing depth at dry creek prior to crossing. There are some steep climbs and descents on the track in but no steep hairpin bends like the climb to Snowball. Track condition was OK 1 year ago. It does take 2 hours or so from dry creek depending on speed travelled.

Don't go if it looks like rain, very unlikely I'm sad to say.

Access from the south coast should be OK.

Phone South Coast Eden district National Parks for very helpful information.

Flys may be thick, friendly and very annoying at this time of year.

A couple of 4wding yahoos messed the place up a few years ago and gave us 4wders a bad name. The NSW Parks Rangers were very P***ed off for good reasons and they are taking some time to accept us 4wders again. Please don't mess about or leave rubbish.

Phil R
AnswerID: 207566

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 16:29

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 16:29
There is no problem towing into Bendethera. Yes, it is steep in some places but if you take it slow and easy there isn't an issue, unless it is wet and then it's an issue for everyone? Going in through snowball is nowhere near as bad as it used to be, don't even need 4wd. The road has been done up.....
FollowupID: 467492

Follow Up By: ImEasy - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 15:07

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 15:07
Yep, went in there a few weeks back, I reckon you could drive Go Kart in now.
FollowupID: 467682

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 15:57

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 15:57
Hi Ingo, we were there 6 weeks ago, see our report in the trek notes, cheers unc.
AnswerID: 207567

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 18:22

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 18:22
Recommended AAA+
There is a quick way in from the coast about 20kms from Meruya (spelling)
AnswerID: 207592

Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 21:23

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 21:23
Ingo,

There are two or three trip reports including track files at www.lcool.org - go to Trips section.

River will have water in it. If keen to take your dog, go for Shallow Crossing - a couple of trip reports at above link with two x day trips from SC listed
AnswerID: 207640

Reply By: ingo57 - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:03

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:03
Thanks guys for all your imput, much appreciated.

Just hope the weather and bushfires are kind this weekend.

AnswerID: 207651

Reply By: Member - Lindsay- Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 18:04

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 18:04
G'day ingo57

I was out at Bendethera last weekend and there was plenty of water in
the Duea River & it is an area where often hundreds of people camp as there is heaps of grassy campsites adjacent to the river. Plenty of fallen timber for firewood as well.
There was a fire at Bodalla (40km east) yesterday & last weekend was rated Very High fire danger. Check the RFS website for updates.
Forget the dog as it is Nat Park. I woke up under the stars on Sunday morning to 30 roos etc grazing nearby our campsite at Racecourse flat.

It is a truely beautiful place & a interesting 4wd trip from any direction you come.

Allow some time for the 4 km each way walk to the caves.

Keep in mind that there are 4 river crossings & the low range section of the ascent to get out is clay the colour of a ripe banana so plan based on weather & leave immediately if things turn bad. On the way out you climb to over 1000m elevation so this true mountain country.

Make sure you go there!

Lindsay & the Polar Bear
AnswerID: 207809