State laws
Submitted: Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 15:45
bgreeni
The sooner we get rid of states the better!!!!!
I have a boat on a trailer in storage in NSW. It was registered in NSW but this has expired. I lived overseas and did not bother re registering it.
I now live in WA and want to drive to
Sydney at Christmas time, pick it up and tow back.
This now looks too hard. Each state (NSW, SA and WA) want a separate permit.
WA will issue one good for 48 hours and allow me to apply on line.
NSW have a list of requirements a mile long, including the need for a NSW address - I don't have one, I live in WA. Also need a pink slip and need to take the trailer to one of their centres for plates etc (all for 2 days towing), and they are all closed over Christmas - New Year.
Haven't even tried SA yet
Why cannot the states get together on something as simple as this.
Bruce
Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 15:52
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 15:52
"Why cannot the states get together on something as simple as this"
Revenue.
The same reason when you live near the QLD/NSW border and buy a car with 11 months rego in Qld and bring it over the border and have to re-register it in NSW.
Pathetic.....
Reply By: Notso - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 15:53
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 15:53
Mate, can you imagine what it's like for a business trying to operate in all the different staes and territories in Aus,
There are about 8 different OH&S acts in Aus. Goodness knows how much other legislation they'd have to comply with. Hope little Johhny takes it all over and brings in common legislation all over Aus.
What about getting the boat across on a transport, probably wouldn't cost all that much???
Reply By: Member - Heinz- Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:33
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:33
" get rid of states the sooner the better "
Why did you let expire the rego in the first place????
In Victoria it cost $33.70 to register a trailer for a whole year.
So that is bagger all, isn't.
You would have saved yourselve a lot of trouble if you just had paid up over the time.
I can see your problem, but hope you you learnt something of it and plan in the future
when you go oversees for a long period.
I hope you get your problem solved in a satisfactory way,
but I can't see why we have to get rid of our states for your that matter.
cheers:
Heinz
Follow Up By: bgreeni - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:13
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:13
In hindsite I agree, but at the time i could not see point in handing over money for nothing. Thought i would go back to NSW, but things change.
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:16
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:16
In SA they have "seasonal" registraion for trailers and caravans. My Jayco is out of rego at the moment and has been for 10 months. When I want to use it I ring up and register it over the phone for 3 months. There is no extra charge.
They get a little narky if you let it go too long.
Pete
Reply By: Exploder - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:46
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:46
I would just risk it and tow the trailer back with the expired rego.
Got a mate with a trailer, boat caravan in WA.
If you do
If he is ok with it, Borrow his WA Plates and rego from his trailer and take them with you, take you old NSW plates and expired rego of the Boat trailer and put his WA ones on, Then Tow it back to WA give him his pates and rego back and take you unlicensed trailer to get inspected and get new WA Plates and rego for yours
To easy. LOL
Follow Up By: Troo Bloo - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 23:37
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 23:37
Best idea save the hassel, you try to things the right way but they just make it to hard.
Follow Up By: Dion - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 08:26
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 08:26
1. This is illegal.
2. Registrations have V.I.N. recorded.
3. Wouldn't like to be involved in an accident when plates don't match.
Dion.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 11:18
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 11:18
I was thinking the same thing, I'd be tempted. As Dion made some points that I'm pretty sure everyone already new (der), but yeah you'd just have to be careful to:
a) not speed etc (attract attention)
b) be REAL careful to not get caught up in an accident (make sure the trailer is in tip top condtions, bearings, studs,
suspension, hitch, lights etc before departing and leave good following distance etc.
I'd be tempted to do the same myself...
Of course the other option is to get it freighted over by a boat transporter (my parents did this from Vic to WA with their trailer sailor, bloody expensive though!
Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:46
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:46
Do you know someone with a registered boat trailer?
Borrow the plate and disc, drive it over and post them back.
No one will be any the wiser if all is roadworthy.
Or you maybe able to use a trade plate if you know anyone with one?
You have to play there little games the way they play them!
Cheers Pesty
Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:48
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:48
LOL, I see we think alike. ha ha
Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 18:56
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 18:56
I'm with them.....
Follow Up By: Luke SA - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 00:22
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 00:22
Also if you have a trailer thats registered as a "home made trailor" you can use it for what ever you like. My uncle used to have a rego disk of a home made trailor............ thats all he used to do
Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:49
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:49
To make matters worse, the states and the Feds often run similar organizations which usually disagree with each other. An example is Education, heavens only knows how many taxpayers dollars are wasted. Having one mob would save a LOT of our dollars.
BUT
Then we'd have laws that were made in
Canberra for the whole of Australia.
Take daylight saving as an example. Look at the fuss the WA people made here, imagine if they'd have been rolled by, say, a lobby from Vic ?
Some say Australia is too diverse to be governed from
Canberra. If you live and work in the Pilbera, for example, you have different needs to someone in
Sydney.
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:55
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:55
Yeah Footloose, there is no simple answer. But the waste of money with the current system is definitely not justified.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:09
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:09
Agree. The question is not so much a matter of, is state legislation un necessary, but perhaps is Federal legislation in many areas un necessary ? Seems to me that our constitution needs bringing up to date in a lot of areas to reflect a more modern world. But what would I know....
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:18
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:18
Footy,
WA is a bad example. We all know they want to secede from the rest of the country but what not everyone realizes is that if that happened the
Pilbara would want to distance itself from the Kimberly would want to separate from the South West would want to separate from
Perth .... etc etc etc. It's the Hutt River mentality over there LOLOL
Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:32
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:32
Yep, im heading to the state border, shovel in hand...
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:35
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:35
Mike W,
Is that the one around your house :)))))))))))))))
Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:35
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:35
Gramps, it's all that sand they ingest I rekkon. Makes em cranky :)))
Mike, I can do that here. I can see the border from my place. Oh...sorry I could a minute ago....storm comin
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:44
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:44
They're a feisty bunch alright Footy. Definitely the influence of too much sand and sun hahahahahaha
Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 23:50
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 23:50
I reckon if you live anywhere other than
Sydney, you have different needs that Syneyites. I think a lot of the Sydney/Melbourne/
Canberra mob have trouble imagining life in the rest of Australia let alone understanding it!!
Having said that, I think we need to abolish State government as an unnecessary leftover from colonial times, and strengthen local government to look after local interests.
Can we discuss sex and religion next LOL? Maybe they are the same thing??!!
Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 23:57
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 23:57
John, sex and religion ? Ok
Censorship appears to be a Federal thing. And religions don't (AFIK) pay too many taxes. Nor do they pay state land taxes (correct me if I'm wrong here folks).
That wasn't what you meant, was it ? :)))))))
Reply By: Wayne-o - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:53
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:53
put it on a trailer and truck it over, save yaself the hastle pal!
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 00:56
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 00:56
yeah ditto.
Cost to truck a landcruiser
brisbane to
Perth, +/-$1000. Boat would not be much more.
Reply By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:54
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:54
Hey Bgreeni
I bought a new trailer in
Sydney and also lived in WA. It wasn't as hard as you make out. I just went to the Traffic place and got a permit to bring it to WA. It cost about $35.00 from memory and was valid for a week but I think that is negotiable on wher you are going. Then over here you have to take it over the pits and get it inspected and relicensed.
Easy peasy!
Follow Up By: bgreeni - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:08
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:08
According to licensing authority here you need the three permits. Problem in NSW is closed Christmas - New Year
Might see who has a trailer as suggested.
Follow Up By: SA_Patrol - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 10:22
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 10:22
What a dumb rule, my SA plate can drive all over Australia so why couldn't a permit be the same. are you sure the WA permit won't let you bring it back from NSW?
I say borrow a plate and disk from an identical trailer and use it. only problem is your trailer will have a different chassis number. unless it's older than 1988,
There must be an MP or Govt dept that should help you,
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:56
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:56
Bruce,
Save your time and money and have it put on a truck and ship it over. Most removalists and interstate courier companies can ship it on the back of a truck/train. That way you do not need to worry about the licensing at all. You will also save on the fuel costs for the towing....
Having done the trip a number of times back and
forth - I would prefer to fly and have the vehicle shipped back and
forth these days (almost costs the same when all things are considered, fuel, days, food, camping/accom etc).
Reply By: Max - Sydney - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:15
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:15
Bruce
This time last year I tried to do the opposite to you - get a car and caravan
home from
Perth to
Sydney when my wife got crook. My insurance company would pay to send them by truck, and fly us
home, but warned us that it could take 8 weeks to find spots on trucks going the right way.
Ended up they paid for our daughter to fly over and escort my wife on the plane, and some expenses for my brother & me to drive
home. It all happened in 5 days.
However in your case, I wonder if you really need to solve the rego problem? Unless you want to come to
Sydney for other reasons, its going to cost you maybe $1500 for fuel, lets say another $1500 for food and accommodation, and all the way
home you will be dragging an uninsured trailer because if you need to make a claim they will find out that you have your mate's rego plates & label and wipe you.
Instead, why not
check out the trucking option? You could start by asking the storage people the name of a trucking company and see if you can negotiate a price less than $3 grand to bring it over. Might take a while but you get good weather over there and could go boating most of the year to make up for the delay.
Then again, you may just like long hours of driving in 40+ heat, and you may enjoy driving into strong winds at least one way!!
Hope it works out for you
Max
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:20
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:20
It's a no brainer. Truck it.
Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:23
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:23
Gday Bruce
I agree with the whole state thing.....be wary of what you are letting yourself in for with the illegal options listed above - just driving unregistered and unlicenced will not give you much change out of a grand in NSW.....but, be caught with someone elses plates etc and you can also be done with decieving the public (I think it is called -- wonder if the polies are aware of this one LOL)....be very bad news if you were in an accident in either of the above. I'd either get the permits required - you usually only have to get the one, which is basicaly a week's rego - have to supply a roadwothy for this, and its all ok, or you could go with the transport option. With transort go with a firm that often does boats, many a boat has been destroyed by incorrect tieing down and the twisting of the trailer has cracked the boat apart.
Cheers Andrrew
Follow Up By: Marn - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:36
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:36
Yep its called false plates with intent to deceive. Monetry fine up to $2000. Been there done that but it could cost more by now( fined in 1999) Cheers
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 11:25
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 11:25
Yeah I'm with you regarding the specialist frieght option. Even with the "boat transportors" they still damaged the trailer sailer that my parents shipped over, can only imagine what you average joe trucky would have done to it. When you are freighting a 3 tonne boat with riggings and bleep all over the place you really should have at least some clue as to what you are doing....
Reply By: 666toy - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:52
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 17:52
You recon its hard with moter vehicles . Try haveing a firearms licence.How hard would it be to just rego the bugger?
Reply By: DIO - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 18:37
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 18:37
GOOD ADVICE to truck the outfit over to WA
BAD ADVICE to use someone else's rego and plates.
Surprised that anyone would be so stoopid as to condone an illegal act on a public
forum. If the cops didn't know about it (I bet the do) then they'll be able to read about it here for themselves.
Reply By: Member - John L G - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 19:00
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 19:00
I think there will be a very sobering lesson once you start getting prices for trucking East to West.
Tried to get a Vanadian Canoe here two months ago and prices ranged from $2 - 3K.......
Reply By: Ron George - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 20:47
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 20:47
G/day Bruce... Mate I`d sell the bludger...It`s gunna cost a bleep load to get it back to WA... not to mention all the hassles… Put the $$$s you save into a new/SH jobby.
For what it`s worth I`ve been towing an unregistered trailer up & down the East coast from
Cape York to Tassie for about 5 yrs now…(Yes I know… totally irresponsible) I gave up worrying about the "what if factor" ages ago. Stuff the Chicken Littles of the world. The trick is not drawing attention to yourself… keep your rig in good condition…Obey all road rules, Don`t draw the crabs … Works for me. Cheese. Ron.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 01:00
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 01:00
all to save yourself what-$30 to $50? in rego a year and no insurance (3rd party) if anything happens whether your fault or not.
whats that 3 packets of ciggies or a carton of Coronas
thats good maths
Follow Up By: Ron George - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 10:32
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 10:32
Fisho64... Mate, don’t drink/smoke, & to my reckoning I’ve saved about $250... To this point, not much to some... but to others a little pot of gold... so to me, that is good maths. If you want to follow the letter of the law & pay the government fee for the privilege of towing a 6 x 4 box trailer... so be it... I can’t help people with the "Chicken Little/what if" factor... Witch is the very reason why these insidious fees creep in... Government spin doctors/BS artists telling us it’s all for our own good... Take the latest from the QLD. What they`re going to do RE the road toll (It’s in this
forum) Fines & penalties...It’s all getting to be a bit of a joke really!!! A bit like the Gov telling fat people there will be an extra surcharge for the privilege of drinking Diet Coke!!! The sceptics amongst us know... It DOES`NT WORK. Cheers mate. Ron.
Follow Up By: 666toy - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 12:49
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 12:49
trailers are still covered under 3rd party insurance when hooked up to a registered vehicle. max fine 120$ no points (this apply for a single axle trailer eg 6x4)...666toy
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 12:51
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 12:51
wait til your vehicle gets snotted by an unregistered car, or god forbid you get hurt by an unregistered car/trailer and cant access an insurance claim (3rd party) for your injuries. And you cant work. And you have a family to feed. And a mortgage to pay. Cant imagine anyone in that situation saying to the unreg driver-
"oh well at least you saved $250, just give me that and we'll call it quits"
nothing personal but a friend has been in this situation and it SUCKS.
and I imagine that the trailer referred to in this post at the top, hasnt been maintained in the time it has been unregistered, so to pull it out and tow it 5000km without any cover is high risk.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 13:32
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 13:32
"trailers are still covered under 3rd party insurance when hooked up to a registered vehicle. max fine 120$ no points (this apply for a single axle trailer eg 6x4)"
In WA, 3rd party component of rego for car is $225, for trailer and caravan is $5.45. While it is likely true that the trailer is covered by the cars 3rd party in some states, I could not imagine ANY insurance company agreeing to cover an unregistered (and therefore illegal unchecked) automatically and unconditionally?
I suspect you might be referring to 3rd party property cover, not compulsory 3rd party for personal injury?
Follow Up By: Ron George - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 14:40
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 14:40
G/day fisho64, mate I`ve enjoyed our little debate, good talking to you, I`m thinking the topic has run it`s course... we could agree to disagree untill the cows come home...& as the spider said as he walked across the mirror..."That`s just one way of lookin at IT" Hope we find out how the bloke tackles the problem???
Cheers Ron.
Reply By: kookaburra - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 22:27
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 22:27
you could of rowed it in the time its taken to read this,
Reply By: Andrew-rodeo - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 00:01
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 00:01
Does it still have plates on? If so, just hook it up and tow it away, if you are unlucky enough to get pulled over, just act dumb. Besides that a fine would probably be cheaper than 3
permits from the various states.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 01:01
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 01:01
til something goes wrong and it ends in tears!
Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 00:54
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 00:54
cops/transport officials now have the ability to check regos from in car comms in seconds and they do this constantly, so .you get pulled over and asked if the trailers rego'd or not, they allready know it's not, thats why you got pulled over in the first place
I bet the one's who mentioned what the penalties are for getting caught(after being caught) thought they wouldn't get caught either!
sooner or later you'll go
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 02:16
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 02:16
What's wrong with getting a loan of a Traders Plate, do you have any mates in the used car game,
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 01:54
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 01:54
arent they state issued? be doing well if you had dealer friends in 3 states who were happy to lend them for use on a possibly unroadworthy boat trailer?
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 12:00
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 12:00
I say just town the flamming thing. What chances are there of gettin harassed if its a good condition clean looking trailer and boat?
or register the thing for $30 using your mates address. when you get th WA, cash in the plates.
Reply By: bgreeni - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:27
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:27
The whole thing is the hassle involved. I don't mind paying, but the NSW business of
Get a pink slip
Get a weigh bridge
Get a NSW address
List the roads and dates you want to use them
Oh, we are closed between Christmas and new year
It all becomes too difficult. My idea was drive to
Sydney - have a couple of days break - Tow the boat to
Perth seems impossible to do legally, no matter how much I want to be legal and insured.
I am trying to get costs to truck but so far cannot find company who will do it. once again I need to pick up and take to a depot - need temp reg first to do that - I think they want you to break the laws at times, then fine and raise revenue for state.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 22:32
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 22:32
Got a mate with a boat trailer in WA? Grab his plate for the few days and give him a slab of beer.
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 11:07
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 11:07
Just borrowed a mates trailer for a 4,500 trip to Cairns and back. When I returned I mentioned that I couldn't find the rego sticker - doesn't have one because it isn't registered. All worked out OK but it was best I didn't know before I left.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 11:32
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 11:32
HAHA, as my little daughter would say "ooopsy daisy".
Glad it all worked out for you!