Pre Pay Campsites In Qld.

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 08:03
ThreadID: 39974 Views:6998 Replies:17 FollowUps:11
Maybe some members have not struck this yet but now you must pre book and pre pay for a campsite in Qld Nat Parks and State Forest campgrounds.

This is to be done on the internet or telephone before you arrive at the campsite.

A lot of travellers are lodging complaints with the Qld authorities and the parks staff.
Park rangers that I have spoken with are not in favour of the system and are sick and tired of fielding complaints from disgruntled campers who arrive at a campsite only to be faced with a sign threatening on the spot fines if you camp without pre-payment and pre- registration.

With some of the campgrounds it is not possible to phone and pre-pay for a site as there is no phone coverage so it is either drive until you can phone or risk a fine.
This takes some of the spontaneity out of deciding where to stop when on the road.

Another complaint being fielded by the rangers is the added cost.
It takes 7 to 10 minutes on the phone to complete the transaction, a lot of stupid questions have to be answered and credit card details taken, you have to listen to and agree to a lengthy set of terms and conditions.
The mobile phone call can cost $6.00 to $9.00 depending on your location and plan.
That just about doubles the cost of a one night stop.

None of the rangers that I have spoken with can see a requirement for this stupidity, there is no labour saving on their end as they still have to visit the campground and check the registrations.

I have phoned to register my concerns about this system, the only response that I got was “Yeah, we are getting a lot of complaints.”
I have also written but no response has been forthcoming.

Just another way to deter people from using National parks.
Add it to the list, no fires, no fishing, closing tracks, increasing charges, no waste removal, no firewood supplied, no firewood gathering.
Soon the yogi bears will have what they want, NO PEOPLE.

Anyhow, that’s my rant for the day.

Reply By: Flash - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 08:53

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 08:53
Bob,
Agree totally.
the more people complain, the sooner we'll get this stupid idea turned around.
Rant as much as you like- it's for a very good cause.
AnswerID: 208112

Reply By: joc45 - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 08:59

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 08:59
Hi Bob,
yes, that was my experience a couple of years ago. We spent over 15 mins on the mobile phone making a booking for two nights. Cost us over $15 in phone costs just to make the booking. What was a pain was that the person at the other end was "multi-functional", and their job was normally something else, so they only did this occasionally. The frustration we encountered as they were heard to be trying to find out "how this booking system works", why their computer was not responding, and all the time we could see the dollars ticking up.
Gerry
AnswerID: 208113

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 09:17

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 09:17
Wonder who voted for the Greens?
AnswerID: 208117

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 09:21

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 09:21
Bob,

You can also make the bookings on line and yes it is a pain at times but in some circumstances I think it is good.

It is not set up in all QLD National Parks at this time. If you go to the EPA website and look under camping bookings, only the places marked with a red symbol have the online booking ability.

Like I said the system can be a bugger at times but in some places however it is great. We go to Moreton Island a lot. The online system is not running there as yet although I am led to believe it will be shortly.

Prior to having the online system at Moreton I would have to pay over $300 just to get my vehicle and camper over on the barge but with no gaurantee of being able to camp where I wanted to. With the new system I will be able to pre book my spot and know I am not risking the substantial barge fares etc before going.

The rangers at Moreton are looking forward to it being up and running as they have to deal with a lot of unhappy campers who have paid the money to get over there but can't get to camp where they want to.

We also go to Fraser Island a bit and again I think the online system is better for there as it allows the large number of campers visiting the place to at least know if they are a chance of getting a spot before spending the dollars to go over.

I am not saying for a minute that the phone and book/online system is the best option for all places but it has some merit IMO in a number of spots.
AnswerID: 208119

Follow Up By: Turist (The Original One) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 10:34

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 10:34
Brian thats fine when you actually get an allocated site that will suit your rig.
Most of the campground subject to this stupidity do not have reserved sites, first in best dressed.

Take this example.
Went to Charlie Morelands without a pre paid booking. (Didn't know about the system)
Late Friday afternoon, drove almost back to Kenilworth before getting phone connection.
Made booking.
Drove back to Charlie Morlands.
In the meantime around 8 caravans, a group booking, had arrived.
No suitable ground left so off to Peach Trees up the Sunday Creek Road.
Find a good spot at Peachtrees, next day the Yogi Bear arrives, sorry, your pre paid booking no good here. Can not be transferred.
Must make another booking for Peachtrees and apply for a refund for Charlie Morland booking.

Brilliant logic.

And by the way, all Qld campgrounds will soon be subject to this stupidity.
Nat Parks is now the management authority for State Forest campgrounds.

FollowupID: 468070

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 12:14

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 12:14
Bob,

Like I said in my reply, in some cases it is good not all.

The EPA have done a terrible job of letting people know about the changes to bookings that is for sure and I think that is one part of the problem.

The other issue like you have said is that in campgrounds without allocated sites, pre-booking will not work and I think you are spot on.

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), which includes the Queensland Parks and Wildlife Service (QPWS) is the organisation that manages the parks and forests in QLD now and trhey have applied a generic type fix to all parks instead of making the system park specific.

Good luck in getting a reply out of them as I have tried on a number of occasions over similar stuff with no replies to date.

FollowupID: 468076

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 12:22

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 12:22
I can see where you are coming from, Brian. In the types of places you mentioned and in peak season it would make sense to be guaranteed a site. For not so busy camp grounds and out of peak season it seems a pain, even pointless.
I don't know why they couldn't use the 'self-registration' system like in NSW; fill out the form at the camp ground, pop your money in the envelope and drop it in the box.
FollowupID: 468077

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 12:52

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 12:52
My biggest problem with it is that we like to camp in one spot for a week or more and if I don't know the camp ground but have to book and pay beforehand, I wont do it because it's too much of a gamble to find out you don't like the spot (does't suit kids, not enough shade, whatever..). So that means there is a whole lot of places I wont go to.
FollowupID: 468082

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 23:22

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 23:22
queensland.. beautiful one day, bleep in stupid the next.

I cant think of a more stupid setup in the country.
FollowupID: 468402

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 09:23

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 09:23
Rant away Turist, make it loud, and dont bother ringing them, start at the top with your polly.

Simple answer for interstaters, dont camp in Qld Nat Pk's, in fact dont bother going to Qld at all, spend our money somewhere else.

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 208120

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 13:00

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 13:00
That thought was running through my mind as I was reading the thread, not good for tourism in QLD.

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 468083

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 23:34

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 23:34
I agree Pesty! Plenty to see in Victoria
FollowupID: 468405

Reply By: Turist (The Original One) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 10:24

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 10:24
Another National Parks issue that is getting up my nose is with regard to human waste disposal.

There is now a lot of pressure from the Yogi Bears to use portable chemical toilets and not bury your waste.

Well that is a really good idea, a lot of campers think that a shallow scrape of soil equates to “bury 150mm deep” and the waste and paper are soon exposed.

But a chemical toilet soon fills up and has to be emptied.
So you take it down to the Nat Parks dunny to empty it to be confronted with another bloody great sign saying “Do Not Empty Portable Toilets.”

Back to square one, dig a hole.

AnswerID: 208132

Reply By: snow - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 10:25

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 10:25
Yep that's the attitude Pesty...bet you wear socks and sandles too old son...
AnswerID: 208133

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 08:58

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 08:58
Mate I wouldnt be seen dead in sandals and yes thats the attitude, they stuff it up I dont support it, simple!
You would be a Queerlander for sure I can tell?

I cant stand regimented camp sites that arent big enough to put my basic camper on and putting green logs in to close me in, I can get that in a caravan park.
Add the cost of the ph call , wasted time, and the camp fee and the day fee?
Bloody expensive bush camping experience!

Qld gov tried pushing tourists around with caravan parks, and that failed.

So looks like wayward stops if I decide to tour Qld.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 468216

Reply By: troopyman - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 10:41

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 10:41
There is now a boomgate at the amity point camp ground .
AnswerID: 208135

Follow Up By: Turist (The Original One) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 10:46

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 10:46
Someones sure to test thier winch on that one night.
FollowupID: 468072

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 14:46

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 14:46
Only a matter of time and i reackon they'll have some p#ick touring around in very expensive 4x4 to collect dollars of Truckies,Tourists, ......and yeh ok Pilot operaters too for camping in Rest Areas and Truck parking bays.
Shhhhh don't tell em
Doug

AnswerID: 208160

Reply By: kiwicol - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 16:43

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 16:43
Lake Tinaroo FNQ has a camping area that u book but when u get there, there is no room for camper trailers and only room for one tent all fenced of with those stupid coppers logs. Col
AnswerID: 208176

Reply By: Alan H (Narangba QLD) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 18:13

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 18:13
I agree with most of the sentiments above. I avoid camps in national parks etc as much as I can. I should not have to pay to use public land. I already pay taxes.

The stupid trend to force all camps into one area just turns a campsite into suburbia and then attracts wildlife looking for a free feed. I do not want any facilities in parks. I accept that very popular spots might need toilets for health reasons but not park management reasons.

The permit to use roads in QLD is also another madness to be avoided. There is a tendency to try to get parks where all visitors are banned and then sell exclusive access rights to commercial tourist operators. There are already many instances of parking for tour buses etc and yet environmentally these buses place too many people in one place at one time. The same number spread over more time do not have the same impact.

We ever we go camping the first requirement of a campsite is that it is not used by anybody else.

I agree with the sentiment of not coming to QLD to such ridiculous officious power grabbing policies. However, when you do come, please send an email to the government, premier etc to tell them why you avoided coming.

User pays should imply some decrease in taxes but it never happens.
User pays if we have to have it should also imply choice.- hot water, interpretation centres etc but not access to a piece of land that did not require any "improvements" in the first place.

Sorry about the rave but I can't stand permits and fees.
AnswerID: 208190

Follow Up By: markeaust - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 18:43

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 18:43
Most places down here in Mexico (;-) are yet to have this absurdity applied, except for the most popular spots like Wilsons Prom etc, where there is a multitude of 'facilities'. I'm happy to avoid all that and stick to the Alps........

Reminds me of a few years ago travelling in the Cape York area. Driving along and see a sign..."Pay Camping Fees at Ranger Station", then another couple of k's up the road was the 'track' to the Ranger Station with another sign stating ... "Ranger Station 83km" Yeah right, I'm going to drive 166km to pay my $16 camping fees........pffffft. Mind you he came around the next morning to collect his $16.....cost efficiency at its best. Anyone would think old Joe was still in power!!!! ;-)

FollowupID: 468130

Reply By: Peter - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 21:49

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 21:49
Yeah we also ran into this stupid system at Charlie Moreland. When we arrived we set up and then went back to the Rangers Office to register (wasn't towing 3 tonne of van back just to register). There's a payphone on the side of the road near the Rangers Office. Rang the number and spoke to the rep on the phone. She asked where I was and I advised her at Charlie Moreland. OK now start registering! Can I register at the Rangers Office (if it was open - this was around 1:00pm on a Friday afternoon). No they don't handle registrations, but she advised me I could register online - again told her I was standing in the middle of the bush! Oh! OK credit card number? I asked what if I don't have a credit card? Answer - wait and I'll find out. Then advised I can register at one of their offices (if they're open). Where are the offices located I ask - um Airlie Beach, Bundaberg, Caboolture etc. OK again I advise I am standing at Charlie Moreland. A plaintive cry from the end of the phone - do you have a credit card - so I relent and provide the details, then have to listen to all the privacy act etc.
That weekend a large number of people arrived at the campground and all were confused. We sort of assisted them by explaining the situation and suggested they decided that they would just use the campground passes provided and write down a number resembling the one provided to us. Not one person was caught illegally camping that weekend. How and when do the Rangers get notification of who has paid? Bearing in mind you can register anytime. What's to stop me from registering at the Kenilworth Office and then driving 10 minutes into Charlie Moreland? National Parks must be losing a fortune through this stupid system.
Hopefully someone in the Smart State will wake up to what idiots are running this system
AnswerID: 208238

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 00:36

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 00:36
Hi Bob - I have yet to get to Qld, but have been reading of this ridiculous idea on the forums for some time.

When we travel, it is totally unstructured and at whim. We never book anywhere (exception; the ferry to Tasmania and the CP for the night before). We too want to see a place before deciding whether we will stay or not.

Most states have honesty boxes for NP camp fees - even then, having to decide if we will stay or not before entering a park has sometimes been enough for us to say no to staying, paying day fee only, taking a drive around and moving on before camping.

Perhaps a line of caravans camped on the road edge on the park boundary, not booked in and refusing to enter the park until morning, will give them a clear message.

Certainly i agree with your suggestion to start with the pollies - write to the minister for tourism for a start.

AnswerID: 208261

Reply By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 08:22

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 08:22
Still getting over the $7/day vehicle fee in NSW!

What's that about. Similar in WA but you expect that from CALM.

Also NSW are sticking some camping fees up as well, sometimes $10/Adult - you'd want hot showers and power for that.

I think they will find visitor numbers will reduce dramatically in Qld with their bluddy stupid system which is probably what they wanted to achieve, but, it is still only $4.50/Adult and NO vehicle fee.

Free camping will become more of a problem for the authorities iin Qld with this system. I know I'll be doing it more.

Who knows maybe the Qld system has been put in place to deter full time travellers from using the parks. I can't figure out any other reason for the madness. They probably figure local family groups using the parks don't leave as much mess behind. If that's the case they've got it back to front I think.

They would have known when the system went in it was going to tick everybody off. They can't be that shortsighted? OK yes they can but surely they thought it through?

AnswerID: 208275

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 00:00

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 00:00
Mate there is a vehicle fee in QLD for some spots. Moreton Island, Fraser island and if you go beach on North Stradbroke Island, the local council charge you a vehicle fee and the same happens if you go on the beach at Bribie Island.

It's not everywhere but it does exist in some places.
FollowupID: 468614

Reply By: Member - David A (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 12:32

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 12:32
Camped at Cedar Grove in Amamoor SF this w/end. Did it all properly online a week or so ago. Rangers turned up to check the tag on Saturday morning.. what do you know.. no mention of my permit number on their sheet. Said "don't worry about it". Maybe that's indicative of how many errors in the system their are. I had my receipt with me just in case! At least one crew turned up and had to leave again because they hadn't pre-booked. I have no problem with being able to pre-book, BUT you should be able to register on-site if there's room.
AnswerID: 208311

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 22:01

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 22:01
We used the Qld website and booked online - for Coochin Creek this weekend.
There are aprox 25 sites, but only 5 are for campers/vans. The others are for tents, and the tent sites have 'bollards' for protection.
A check box indicates if you have a tent - or uncheck if a camper/van. However, you are allocated a site number purely in order of booking - irrespective of type of acommodation. We indicated a van - and were allocated site 2.

So - we booked - then turned up only to find all the camper/van sites were taken, including the day-use area. ALL the tent sites were vacant - and unaccessible for a camper of van.

We drove aprox 80 Klms to Charlie Morland, and the ranger was prepared to accept our explanation and receipt. Lucky the campground was not fully booked or crowded.
The system needs a major upgrade if it is going to work, plus the ability to book on site, IFF there are vacancies......................Keith
AnswerID: 208418

Reply By: daisygirl - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 23:15

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 23:15
Our 4wd club normally stays at Charlie Mooreland overflow each year for our Xmas party. This year we moved to Imbil Caravan Park because it was only 50c per person per night more expensive and you got proper flushing loos and hot showers plus a lovely creek and swimming area on site.

Imbil caravan park has heaps and heaps of space and you have lots of lovely shady places to park and you can even have dogs. We still went 4wding in the state forests as if staying at Charlie Moreland and even drove through on Sunday. We did notice a lot less people camping than normally so make a stand and don't stay there and support local businesses such as the carvan park instead of supporting the fat cats in government.
AnswerID: 208433