The Butterfly has landed
Submitted: Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 15:55
Wayne (NSW)
I have now got another vehicle in the drive way.
Another Troopie. 2003 HDJ78 RV
Nothing like the power house that Roachie has got but a modest 122KW at 3400 rpm and 380Kw at 1400 factory turbo diesel.
I like the motor in the 100 series but the front end lets the vehicle down. The Troopie has the same motor as the 100 Series, less the inter-cooler, but has a solid front axle. The best of both worlds.
Having a leaf rear end for the weight carrying and I think that I am on a winner.
The other good thing is that a lot of the extras on the 75 Series will fit the 78 Series.
I have been looking for this type of vehicle for a while now, and I must of looked at every site on the internet that has used vehicles. There was nothing in
Sydney, but the right vehicle just happened to be in
Brisbane. A early morning flight on Friday, checked the vehicle out, paid the cash and drove it home.
The vehicle has a lot of go.
5th gear and nothing below 80kph going up Cunningham Gap.
I also roughly worked out that I was getting 11/12 lt/100km.
Now the job begins of swapping some stuff over and getting the 75 ready for sale.
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 16:08
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 16:08
Good to hear Wayne
There will be soon enough of us to take over the world (or at least the form) LOL...
Before everyone gets in to you I'm sure you meant Nm not kW on the second statement..
Follow Up By: Sign-man - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 16:14
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 16:14
Yup
Troopys rule!!!!
Reply By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 16:32
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 16:32
Yeah good choice mate.
Reply By: troopyman - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 16:42
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 16:42
How will you ever cope without quarter panel windows .
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 18:20
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 18:20
hehehe
Not only that but Wayne will have to deal with electric windows, remote central locking, carpet, armrests, chrome and cupholders!!!
Well he did get the RV!
Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 19:06
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 19:06
Phil,
Cup holders? What cup holders?
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 22:53
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 22:53
Maybe I was getting carried away there - of course theres no cupholders in a 78. Maybe I meant the swish centre console or the door pockets or the chromed blinkers and roof gutters :-)) You can see I lust after an RV!
Also Wayne, how'd you get on with those 18inch Coopers in the high country?
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 21:42
Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 21:42
78's and 79's have cup holders,
well according to Toyota those two "dents" inside the glovebox lids are cupholders!
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 22:54
Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 22:54
Geeze Geoff,
Good to see I'm not going mad. My first vehicle was a '69 Cortina - so it sounds like it had cup holders too. Come to think of it, those round air vents on the dash of the Cortina were the same as the current 78/79series :-))))) Got to love progress!
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 16:54
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 16:54
Hi Wayne,
Great choice.
Best I've got out of
mine is 10.5 lt/100 and worst is 12.2 lt/100 for a low tide slog along
Stockton Beach.
It should have travelled the full length of the F3 in 5th and held the speed limit dead easy!!
How are you settling in to the electric windows, carpet and cloth seats?
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 18:26
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 18:26
Wayne,
Good stuff. Enjoy the new truck!
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 18:29
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 18:29
Good one Wayne.
How many Km's on the clock?
And if its not a rude question can I ask what she cost?
I'm just about to do the same but from my 2003 RV to my new 2006 RV the new one has factory lockers as opposed to the Air Lockers on the old one.
Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 18:32
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 18:32
Lovely pics on your members page.
Where is pic number 5 - the stone cairn?
Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 18:43
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 18:43
Rick,
That is Canning's Cairn on the CSR.
It is a cairn that was erected by the drovers as a tribute to Alfred Canning.
Reply By: Member - Tour Boy- Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 20:31
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 20:31
Hey Wayne I'm jealous searched for 8 months and couldn't find a good turbo RV so I went for a standard 78. Now I'm going a hunjy.
Surely all you troopie lovers know somone who would like a 78 troopie even if I call it Kermit (see trader LOL)
Tour Boy
Reply By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 21:06
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 21:06
Congrats on the staying loyal to the "we don't want your IFS" cause.
I had the same dilemna with the 100 series.
Can you weigh it before you throw everything on.
I have a 2002 78TD and would love to have known what she weighed before all the gear went on. It currently weighs 3.15t without any luggage or trip gear and both tanks full.
Did you buy it from Ben at Cousins?
Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 21:25
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 21:25
John,
I will try and put it on the bathroom scales before load it up.
I am going to reduce the amount of stuff that I take away with me. I don't know how or what but I will give it a go.
After looking all over I did go to Ben at Cousins. A real nice bloke. Always on the phone. He had sold 3 vehicles by the time I was ready to do the paper work.
Follow Up By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 21:45
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 21:45
Thks appreciate it if you get the chance.
Sounds like Ben hasn't changed.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 21:53
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 21:53
Yeah I'm gunna do the same with my new one before I stick all the stuff on it.
Weighed the current 2003 78 series at Alice a few months ago and it was 3750 kgs with a full trip load so will be interested to monitor this one and see how much weight I hang off it.
Follow Up By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 07:39
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 07:39
Wow that's some weight. How does it handle the
sand dunes?
I'm thinking of doing a chip and maybe the exhaust for when the van arrives.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 12:30
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 12:30
Ozdyssey no hassle at all the TD has never given me any issue with a perceved lack of power in any circumstance I have driven it. (Have a look at my profile to see where its been)
In fact it continues to be an eye opener in some situations.
I have no chip or exhaust mods and don't feel the need to do so.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 21:51
Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 21:51
According to the papers my February 2006 registered RV Troopy weighs 2,071 kg's Tare with a GVM of 3,300 kg's.
That was stock standard with Sub tank so empty the engine wouldn't run and the main less than 1/4. The first fill on delivery was 132.30 litres.
Only accessory was air conditioning.
Hope that helps,
| Geoff,
Reply By: Bilbo - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 22:33
Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 22:33
Wayne,
You said, ",,,,,Nothing like the power house that Roachie has got but a modest 122KW at 3400 rpm and 380Kw at 1400 factory turbo diesel.,,,,,,,,"
Like Roachie, I have a Chev V8 as
well. The figures you quote above are not that far removed from the Chev 6.5 V8 figures.......135 kw at 3400 and 430Nm at 1700
I owned a 100 series TD 'Cruiser for a while and the difference is how the torque is delivered. With the V8 it comes in as soon as you get off tickover. With the Toyota you have to wait for the turbo a bit.
I wouldn't knock either engine. I love both of 'em, but the V8 is a tad more flexible. But we don't have a "power house" under our bonnets. It just delivers it a bit more progressively.
I still miss my 'Cruiser though.
Bilbo
Reply By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 08:54
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 08:54
G'day Wayne (&others)..
Will be fitting one piece 16x7 rims later in the week.
While doing that- thought I might get the toe in checked & adjusted. The 'tiller' is about 5 degrees off centre.
What toe-in would you reckon for a hzj75- leaf springs?????
Reply By: Noisy Mango - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 21:36
Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 21:36
Wayne,
Congratulations! Must have been that ride up Big Red that sold you! Cant wait to see it.
Jen & Wayne.