What really peeves me off. Buying a new 4WD
Submitted: Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:43
kimprado
I recently decided to explore the cost of replacing a 2003 Prado. Rang the local Toyota dealer and told the sales person what I wanted.
This guy was totally fixated on the colour of the vehicle......did I want white or silver? I attempted to explain that I go through a process when buying a new car, only to be interrupted by the question of colour again and again.
This went on for some time until I pointed out that I wasn't interested in his welfare, nor his current stock.This didn't go down
well. Once again I asked for the following:
What is the on road price for the Prado I want (very similar to extracting teeth).
What is the best interest rate Toyota are prepared to offer.
What is the net price after trade in.
His response was "which colour have you chosen" (white or silver).
During our discussions I also explained there was the need to transfer a significant amount of equipment from my current 4WD to the new vehicle. No problem he stated, we'll do it free of charge (normally this would cost around $2,000 or more).
At this point I asked him if he had any idea what I was talking about. The response "Yes we have the colours your intersted in".
Can you understand why I get grumpy?
Kim
Reply By: ZukScooterX90 (QLD)Member - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:46
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:46
Kim,are you sure you were talkingto a real person & not a machine.:o))
BoB.
Reply By: Doggy Tease - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:48
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:48
Been there, done that,,,got the patrol alot cheaper in the end because of it as
well.
there is nothing like a stupid car salesman to ensure that you get areal good deal from the new car sales manager.
meow.
rick.
Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:49
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:49
So are ya gettin' white or silver...??? Answer the question dammit...!!!
Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:49
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:49
But what colour do you want the white, the off white, beige, bone.
It is cricket season don't forget.
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: kimprado - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:00
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:00
Suffer little children
You'll not know until the end of this post. It could be any colour apart from white or silver!
Kim
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:01
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:01
So I'm close with it being either off white , beige or bone????
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:02
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:02
This is the reason why I have bought both my vehicles through a Car Broker. Very simple to work with and you know that the price you are getting is good, plus the price he gives is final cost with no hidden charges at all. The car broker saved me $6500 on my 2006 4.2TDi Patrol and $3500 on a 2005 Mazda SP23 which we bought last year. Each time it has been great prompt service (price within 24hours and all carried out over the internet) and dealings with the car yard are keeps very minimal....I will always buy my news cars this way. They can also organise a good trade on your vehicle....Highly recommend....
Reply By: kimprado - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:15
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:15
Kev,
Your a smooth talker. But it's not going to be that easy mate!
The colour will be published on this site in the coming days.
Kim
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:49
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:49
OK but what about Ivory, Pearl????
Come on just pick one
cheers Kev
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:17
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:17
Kim,
While I was looking for the 78 Series I spoke to one "Sales Executive" who had sold the vehicle that I was enquiring about but had a 2000 model, 8
seat, turbo diesel, GXL Troop Carrier and it was not white or silver.
There is only one thing worse that a "Sale Executive" who tries to sell what he has in excess stock, is one that tries to sell a vehicle that does not exist.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:40
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:40
Wayne,
I bought my 79series from the finance man - at the time (quiet Monday morning) there were no salemen there, so this guy checked out the Prado I was trading, and gave me $5k more than anyone else. Changeover was only $3k, so I put it on the credit card and drove away in the TD 79series. It was nice to deal with someone who didn't know much about selling cars.
Reply By: Roddesh - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:19
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:19
Don't they charge extra for metallic paint? ie silver... Maybe he needs this info to work out a price for you...
Not taking his side as he should have made this clear to you if it was the case, just putting it out there...
Rod
Follow Up By: DaveNQ - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 09:39
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 09:39
Yes,I think the Metallic Silver is a $500 option. It was on the last model.
Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 16:37
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 16:37
I thought the same thing.
sure he can give you a price but if its not for the thing you're after, what good is it?
I bet he even had the nerve to ask if you wanted petrol or diesel. Such arrogance!
Follow Up By: ross - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:43
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:43
How come they more for paint that flakes off after about 6-7 years?
After my experiences with mettalic paint I would never buy another.
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:48
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:48
You are not an impulse buyer. I am not either.
You make sales people work for a living asking for detail and final prices.
This bloke is not used to that.
Give up on him and find some one else at another dealership who will work the way you want too. Or ring his manager and let him know.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 22:54
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 22:54
I called hos manager and he wanted to know... what colour I wanted, white or silver?
Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 01:07
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 01:07
When I made my last purchase, the car sales person did not have a clue - could not even answer basic questions about what I wanted, in the end I went to the sales manager and said if he wanted a deal to look after me himself - next time I might take teabags advice and use a broker
Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 02:03
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 02:03
Hey Kim,
My Navara was a nightmare to buy, even to the point that one dealership told me to leave if I wasn't prepared to
sign the paperwork there and then. Even when I did recieve the car it had 200kms on the clock and no towbar wiring....... I could not believe it. How could they fit a towbar and not put fit the wiring??????
When I bought the hilux it was just walk in walk out after a few prices from other dealerships. I knew I had got a great deal.......
Persistance and patience is the key......
Reply By: PradoTrev - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 07:21
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 07:21
Come now Kim you can not depart from the script that the manager has set down other wise the sales person could forget what you rang for.
And what was it a white Prado or the Silver.
And as for transfering your equipment from one car to the new one you did mead your bags and a few CD's didnt you.
When you go in to see the sales person make sure to take a tube of clearasil wont you.
Trevor
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:51
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:51
If not a wire brush and some metho.
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 09:09
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 09:09
Went through the new car (not 4wd) thing over the last 2 weeks. Huge range of attidue difference between all of the dealers and brands ranged from agressive and pushy to disinterested. I find that most of the salespeople (!) nowadays have little understanding how things work but are still quite prepared to try and explain. You may be interested to know that ABS is why the
suspension is so smooth because it automatically adjusts the shockers.!!
I ended up buying a new VW Jetta 2L TDI. Goes like the clappers and on a clear road the fuel consumption stays around 4 - 5 l/100k @110k/h - wish the Pajero would do the same. Have given up the idea of a new 4wd because I could not face the trauma of transfer all the gear and finding that half of the stuff I have won't fit/work in the new one.
alastair
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 10:47
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 10:47
G'day Kim,
I had a similar experience when I was considering upgrading to my last vehicle. I was looking at both Nissan and Toyota. The toyota dealer is just around the corner so I thought how convenient lets go and see what they can do. They got hung up on the notion of a test drive (not colour) and I don't even look scruffy (
well not when buying a car anyway). Thought if they can give me this much grief just buying the thing how good will their response be if I have a problem. The rest is history but strangely a mate also had this problem in
Sydney but he looks scruffy so I can understand the salesman's concern, the problem is my mate has money so he promptly walked and bought another brand.
I think that car salesmen are like politicians you can vote with your feet but you still and up with another.
Follow Up By: 666toy - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 18:29
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 18:29
Funny i tried to buy a 4x4 patrol ute years ago .A then currant gu 4.2 ute with a service body on the back. I looked a little ruff but hey you get that . He (the salesman who wouldn't know a injector from a tyre) preceded to tell me the price ..I told him what i wanted to pay we argued we came to a price i went back to my car to organise the funds in cash .Tried to pay & was told "we don't accept that kind of cash !!!!". I walked away shaking my head .It goes without saying i did not return. crazy world out there .....666toy
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 20:36
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 20:36
666toy,
I had a Mitsu dealership in
Sydney cr@p themselves when I paid 50% deposit on a brand new GLS Paj in cash one Friday arvo. They nearly lost the sale because of it also, only for the manager coming out and telling the finance mgr and salesman to wake up and take my money. Strange world we live in, I can't get enough of the folded stuff!!!
Cheers Trevor.
Reply By: Dave Thomson - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 15:05
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 15:05
Hi Kim,
yes the advise about ringing the manager is the way to go, unless you do he'll never know,we went to caravan land in Madington to buy a Freedom told the salesman we'd already been offered $11.000 trade in on our old Coromal, no problem he said we'll match that so we picked an 18 month old Freedom at $25.000 and shook hands on the deal, he said I'll just go and see the boss !!! we're thinking WHF ??? 10 mins later he comes back and says no mate the boss is only prepared to give you $9.000 so I reminded him Coromal would give us $11.000 without even seeing it, he still said no so we went, a month later I was still seething that he'd welched on the deal so I rang his boss and told him what happened, mate he was fuming that a $25.000 sale had walked out the door due to a greedy salesman trying to screw us for $2.000, he was carpeted for it and I ended up with a good deal, so tell him mate you might even get a better deal who knows ?
good luck anyway,
regards,
Reply By: Ozboc - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:16
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:16
kind of makes you wonder what the power of speach and interpretation is for, when people can not answer simple questions.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 22:57
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 22:57
Its as simple as black and white, oops Silver and white
Reply By: T.C - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:21
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:21
Hi Kim,
what area do you live in ? I am in south east QLD and about to
check out my 4th Toyota and have a nice dealer i use. My last Toyota I bought in Febuary was a hilux and Leased it through them also.
Good luck with what ever you choose.
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 20:43
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 20:43
Southside Toyota? Bruce Hickling?
If I was buying another Toyota (not in this lifetime hehehe) I would go back to this mob and ask for the same guy I dealt with last time as it was easy easy, I got what I wanted and they got what they wanted. Took plenty of time in the haggling but other than that it was all "no problems Trevor, we can do that" (and they did, strangely enough).
Trevor.
Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:52
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:52
So whats the Colour?????
We are still waiting LOL
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: kimprado - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 20:14
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 20:14
Kev,
I've had a sh*t of a day and I'm depressed. I think I'll go for Black just to confuse the situation even further.
Kim
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 20:17
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 20:17
That will be one hoooooooooooottttt car,
your day can't have been that bad, I was admitted to hospital due to sever lower back pain from the discogram on Thursday last week.
I still have my sense of humor and a computer though
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: kimprado - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 20:52
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 20:52
Kev,
I have to put up with Local Government. Some days it's really bad, others days its worse. Today went off the crap meter!
In addition to this, I'm forced to make a colour descision???
Have some empathy mate. All of this is seriouly cutting into my drinking time.
Kim
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 19:39
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 19:39
So Amber it is then,
Didn't know that Toyota had amber as a colour LOL
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: kimprado - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 21:54
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 21:54
Kev,
Obviously, you have no idea who your dealing with mate. I'm not a girly person.
Once I make up my mind that's it! The colour is Green (unless I change my mind). I'm a really tough guy!
Tomorrow I'm going to be visited by the sales guy and, his manager.
Should be an interesting day!
They will assume I'm a complete idiot and act accordingly. I should dress for the occasion.
Seriously though. If I don't get the deal I want, they can stick it.
I have a new "what peeves me off" coming up shortly. Listen in.
Kim
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 22:59
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 22:59
Kev, have a bit of decorum mate, here you go winging about a back and some trumped up story about hospital and the like and poor old Kim has to decide white or silver. Put it in perspective mate :)
I loved this thread kim cant wait for the update
Follow Up By: kimprado - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 23:36
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 23:36
Bonz
Kev an I go back a long way (at least two days). He's suffering from a few domestic issues at the moment, but more importantly a loss of identity.
Colour is very important to Kev at the moment and I think we should support him in his time of need.
I won't have a nasty word said about my mate, Kev.
Kim
Follow Up By: djrziggy - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 10:26
Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 10:26
Sounds more like kath and kim not kev and kim
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 19:47
Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 19:47
Kim, you KNOW you cant prop up people forever mate, let it go, even old mates need to be let venture into the world and make their own mistakes.
If you let him go and he comes back to you he always was a mate.
If you let him go and he doesnt come back, he prolly drives a Landrover and is stuck on the side of the road somewhere.
Follow Up By: kimprado - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 20:41
Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 20:41
Bonz,
I think your right mate.
However, the poor Bugger is colour blind and only trying to help.
Having said that, his character is one dimensional and not helping my case.
On your advice I might give him the flick.
Kim
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 21:14
Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 21:14
Good move I am sure Kev will appreciate it after he gets out of counselling.