which dingy

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 06:53
ThreadID: 40069 Views:9037 Replies:7 FollowUps:16
I am looking to buy a dingy to put up top on my Landcruiser and really don,t know which one to go for. I need a very stable one I guess with a flatish bottom so that wife will not fall over each time she tries to get in. Any ideas on type and size would be appreciated.
Nev

Reply By: Grungle - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 07:58

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 07:58
Hi Nev,

I went through the same ordeal over the last 3 months and finally I get to pick up my Qintrex 3.70 Traveller and Mercury (US model) 15 HP at the end of the week.

It is hard to say what is better between the different makes and models as they are all so very similar in consruction however there are some points I feel are essential to narrow the decision:

1. Number of people to be carried as this will determine length,
2. How you are going to carry (you said roofrack) so now you need to check what the maximum beam of boat you can carry,
3. How much weight you can carry on the roofrack. Things such as length, beam, hull thickness etc. will all affect the weight so if manually lifting, can it be done easily or will you have a boat loader type arrangement,
4. Where are you going to use (creeks, river, close inshore) as this will determine hull type. For example a dingy will be more suited to chop than a punt. This is not all that critical as it is just smoothness of ride.
5. Price. I found that some manufacturers had up to $300 difference between the range of 3.7m v-nose punts,
6. Outboard size. Again not as critical but boat length will determine max rating. I found that there is very little in price difference between the different capacities so I went with the max rated for the boat.
7. Quirky things that you only find out talking to people in the know. For example I found out that there are 2 types of Mercury's. 1 is US made and is a true Merc, the other is Asian and is actually a Tohatsu which has been detuned for lower power.

That is about all of my criteria that I used. Other people will have different reasonings than me so please only use as a guide (usual disclaimer needed so people don't come back and say that I am wrong).

AnswerID: 208650

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 08:12

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 08:12
David ,
They should keep your instructions here on the site , for the future reference of people askingf the same question .
Well done ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 468635

Follow Up By: RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 08:40

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 08:40
One to add to David's great list: for car toppers, to prevent fouling on the rollers the gunnel needs to be clean: so no hand-rails.

A bit OT but I have found that the weight of the engine really only strikes home when you lift it on and off the transom. Start doing the bench presses, Nev!
FollowupID: 468639

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 08:44

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 08:44
Grungle.
I picked up a Porta-Bote & 4hp Mercury outboard last week. How do you tell the difference between a US model Merc & an Asian one???
FollowupID: 468641

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 08:51

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 08:51
The size of the motor determines weight as has been pointed out by Ray and it makes a big difference for example my 15 comes in at 32Kg (from memory) my mates 25 comes in around 50Kg and and outboard is not easy to handle between 2 people. So unless you are planning to be the next Mr Universe don't go too far beyond 15. There is very little real difference in performance when you are talking only 2 in the boat.
FollowupID: 468646

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 08:52

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 08:52
PS the difference between the US and Asian Merc is the reverse gear mechanism but I'll stand corrected.
FollowupID: 468647

Follow Up By: biz - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 15:52

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 15:52
The US 15hp merc is crossflow charged which idles smothly and is good for trolling, the Asian Merc is the same capacity as an 18hp tohatsu, it is loop charged, which idles a bit rougher but has a greater amount of torque. The Asian model is called a 15 "super" and IMO would be the superior motor.
FollowupID: 468700

Follow Up By: Grungle - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 08:44

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 08:44
Hi Ozrover,

I am not sure about the other outboard sizes but the dealer explained to me that with the 15HP, the gears (F-N-R) are on the tiller for the US spec and the gears for the Asian model are on the side of the motor. Apart from that physical difference the only other one stated is that the Asian model was not as powerful but this could be fixed by getting it tuned properly next time you get it serviced.

I would suggest contacting a Merc dealer and picking his brains for more info.

FollowupID: 469116

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 13:11

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 13:11
Grungle.
Thanks, mine is only a 4hp merc with the gears on the side so I'll assume It's the Asian model.

That's ok, with the deal that I got through Norm C, I basically got the motor for free! 8 )>
FollowupID: 469151

Reply By: Nav 8 - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 09:12

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 09:12
G`Day Nev,,,,I have a Stessel heavy duty edge V 3.8 mtr. It has a very wide beam and is a very stable boat, eg you can walk around in it. I use it in the open sea on good days without problem and it is rated up to a 25 HP motor. When I first bought it, it had a 15 HP Yamaha that I found a bit under powered and now have a 20HP Yamaha that fixed that problem. It is carried on the rack on the Navara and loaded by hand no problem. Regards Nav.
AnswerID: 208666

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 11:11

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 11:11
Hello all you knowledgeable people .

I will now ask a quick question in hope you may be able to help ,I have a 3.1 mtr starfish by stacer and is powered by a 6HP Johnson Seahorse I have only put it in the water once as a test and was a little disappointed in the performance as it was only carrying myself 75kg and another adult 90kg how do I determine whether or not the motor is too small or if it is sick or wrong prop the hull is wrong ?? as I want to use it as a roof topper and take my 2 boys 4yrs @ 20kg 8yrs @ 40 kg mayby the wife no comment on weight as she has never told me for the last 20 yrs so why should she tell me now ....( 75kg I think LOL ) If all works out this holidays and we find its not too much work taking the boat I will probably trade/sell both my boats for a new tinnie but for now I want to try this set up, any input appreciated .

Regard J.B .
FollowupID: 468671

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 16:00

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 16:00
JB, I can't see a 6HP doing what you are asking. With 2 adults and 2 kids, I doubt you will be able to plane well with less than 15HP. Problem is your 3.1mtr boat is prabably rated to a max of 9 or 10HP. The plate in the boat that specifies its max load and passengers should say what the recommended and max motor is.

When I was doing research, I originally was trying to get away with a smaller motor, but all my research suggested I needed 15HP. That is what I got and it is great. At 35KG, it is the same weight as most 9.9HP anyway. Only Tohatsu makes a 9.8 that is lighter at about 26KG I think. Only a few hundred different in price as well to get the 15HP.

Can't answer you questioin on prop etc, but I doubt that will solve the problem.
FollowupID: 468701

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 20:37

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 20:37
Hi Norm,
It says 7.5HP max .....Thats not much better is it?

FollowupID: 469021

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 22:44

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 22:44
If a 6HP is well underpowered for what you want to do, I doubt that you would notice much difference with a 7.5. It would be good money after bad.

Looks like you have to change your wishes (ie, be content to just putt around when there is any more than one in the boat - which is somewhat limiting), or change your boat and motor.

Good luck with your decision making.
FollowupID: 469071

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 10:48

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 10:48
Nev,

You say you are looking for a boat that you can carry on top of your Landcruiser so IMHO a boat with a length of 3.2 metres is about your limit. Anything bigger than this will be just too heavy to carry in any other way than a boat trailer.

I have a 3.2 metre Stessl which takes an outboard up to 15 hp. I use a 15 hp Merc most of the time, but also have a 4 hp 4 stroke Yammie outboard for use in areas where bigger donks are not allowed. The 4 hp is a bit of a dog though, it barely gets the boat on the plane with two people on board and because of the single piston, viabrates like buggery. It is good however for slow trolling work. Overall though, the 15 hp twin is much better. This is about the biggest "portable" outboard you would want to transport in the back of the vehicle, or on a trailer's A-frame and lift on to the transom of a boat.

Now, as to the floor of the boat. The most practical hull for multiple use is the V-nose punt, which has a shallow but V shaped hull. If getting in and out is a problem, my suggestion is to buy, or make up, a removable plywood floor, but remember, you need to carry this about with you also.

A flat bottomed hull will give you grief anywhere except on a pond during a blissfully calm day and I would not recommend it for larger rivers and other open areas of water.

Good luck with your choice mate.

AnswerID: 208687

Reply By: troopyman - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 10:50

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 10:50
The main problem i have with putting an aluminium punt on top of the 4x4 is the weight . A 3.3mtr is going to be at least 50kgs .
AnswerID: 208690

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 13:01

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 13:01
Nev, some good info here, but a lot will come down to what you want and how easy you want to be able to lift things, whether you will get a boat loader (or lift it onto the 4B manually) etc.

I went through exactly the same process a while back. I considered a boat loader, but for a number of reasons decided to set up so I could lift the boat up manually. I targeted boats that were under 80KG, but could take a 15 HP motor. Anything smaller than 15HP will have trouble getting most boats on the plane with 2 people and equipment in it.

We ended up with a 350 (3.5M) Stacer Seasprite which weighs 76KG and a 15HP Mercury 2 stroke which weighs 35KG (the lightest of the 15HPs).

A flat bottom boat is very stable when at rest, but in anything but smooth water, you will get a bit uncomfortable and wet when cruising, particularly the person at the front. A deep V will give great cruising, but not as stable at rest. Their are many boats that compromise between the two, the Stacer Seasprite being one of them. Another factor is the amount of free board (height of sides). Higher sides will make it a bit heavier, but much better in a bit of a chop and you will feel a bit safer in croc country.

My wife is normally a real worrier in boats, but she is very comfortable in the Stacer. Has no trouble getting in and out and was happy to lean over the side to net a nice 74cm Barra a I got a few weeks ago.

I'm 52 years old, reasonably fit, but have a bit of back trouble at times. I can get the boat onto the Hilux by myself pretty easily, but it is easier with someone else, even Kathryn to take a bit of the load. I manage the 35KG motor no problems, getting it in and out of the back of the Hilux and onto the boat.

Apart from the outboard, I also carry a 40lb thrust Minn Kota Elec motor and 60AH AGM battery. With all that on board, plus 2 people, esky, fuel tank, fishing gear etc, we plane along great. With just me, I move the fuel tank to the front (battery is also at the front) as counter weight. I've also made a removable plywood floor, which just happens to fit very easily in the Hilux, so we even take it on trips.

You can see a bit of my set up in the pics in my rig profile. You may set up a bit different with the LC, but it might give some ideas.

We have set up so that we can leave as much stuff as possible in the boat when it is on top of the Hilux. Life jackets, paddles, bait pump, gaff, bracket for sounder all stay in the boat, and I'm working on a way to leave at least one of our fold down seats in the boat as well. I put a small 'glove box' in the front thwart and leave some of the smaller stuff (torch, fishing licence, etc) in there as well.

Good luck. I reckon research and setting up is half the fun.

AnswerID: 208714

Reply By: Tia Maria - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 20:18

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 20:18
Hi Neville,

I'm presently going through the same exercise, but being 74 years ancient with a crook back, weight is everything. I'm considering the Quintrek 340 Cartopper which weighs in at only 42 kg and takes 4 people. Max. recommended motor is only 8 hp which may be a bit restrictive.

good fishing, John L.
AnswerID: 208782

Follow Up By: Member - neville G (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 06:58

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 06:58
Goodmorning,
Thanks for all the help, david I appreciated your thoughts very much, I should have mentioned that I have a near new 8hp. Mariner and would like to use it, don,t bring much on the s/h market. John L. I will investigate the Quinnie, sounds good and as I will be useing the boat mostly in outback rivers and lagoons etc. the speed will not be a problem. I intend to invest in a loading apparatus of some description and have been looking at the Rhino system, has anyone had experience with them?.
John, I can relate to your age, back etc as I am in the same "boat', past the three score and ten, crook back and all the other things that come with our age but still getting out and enjoying life.
Cheers for now and thanks to all,
Nev.
FollowupID: 468845

Follow Up By: sandyngraham - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 07:36

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 07:36
Hi Neville

We have just bought a Quintrex 3.4 cartopper coupled with 8hp Mariner. Our main reason for selecting the above was 1. Weight 2. Where we wanted to use it (quiet creeks, rivers and dams) 3. How easy it could be handled (1 or 2 people) and the Quintrex met all requirements.

Took it for a run for the 1st time. 8hp had it up on the plane quite quickly and easy with 2 adults and 13 yo teenager on board, does have tendency to get a bit of bow spray when in chop or crossing another boats wake, but nothing serious.

I load it on top of the Patrol by using a Rhino system with extendable rear roller bar so that it is away from the rear of the vehicle when load... works a treat, had initially thought I would need a small winch on bull bar, but not necessary, boat rolls on and off easy.... Overall, very happy, providing you don't want to venture too far in other than smooth waters.

Have fun, and enjoy... Graham
FollowupID: 468852

Reply By: Member - Alex K (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 22:57

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 22:57

I'm also looking at a similar set up for summer. I was thinking of 3.5 - 3.7 on the roof of an 80 series, and a 9 - 15hp. My only concern with the 15HP is that some of my fav stops include a reasonably long hike down a beach through soft sand and the 15HP gets a bit heavy. They also are very cumbersome to carry regardless of the weight. I was also hoping to put the motor on the roof under the boat to save space in the back tho a little unsure about the amount of weight on the roof.

Alex
AnswerID: 208838

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 23:55

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 23:55
Check out the specs Alex. For most manufacturers, the physical size and weight of a 9.9 HP and a 15 HP is identical. For the Mercury, both are 35KG. For the Yamaha both are 36KG. For the Tohatsu both are 42KG. The only one that is lighter that I'm aware of is the Tohatsu 9.8 HP, but I'm told it's an inferior motor to the 9.9 (but no personal knowledge).

To get a real size and weight advantage, you have to go down to the 4 or 6 HP, but they won't do the job.

From my experience and research, if you go for a 3.5 to 3.7 boat and you will have 2 adults plus gear, you are better off with a 15HP.

Motor on roof might be an issue (unless you go for a 4HP). A 3.5 to 3.7 boat will weigh 75 to 85 KG. A 9.9 or 15 HP motor will weigh 35 KG. Apart from the roof weight, getting the motor up might be difficult. You might be better to put other stuff that is lighter under the boat. I carry seats, clamp on jockey wheels, crab pots and floats, fuel tank and stuff like that under the boat. Bulky but pretty light.
FollowupID: 468816

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 08:44

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 08:44
G'day Alex,

You mean like this?

!MPG:3!

FollowupID: 468859