Diesel/LPG.....ratio of use and air filters

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 22:54
ThreadID: 40105 Views:2999 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
G'day all,

I've been going through the paperwork I inherited when I bought the ChevNissan and came across the name of the WA gas fitter who did that part of the job in April 2001. His name is Bob Jackson from Brunswick. The reason I wanted to speak to him is that the paperwork suggested the set-up was done with the aim of getting around 30% gas to diesel usage ratio.

From what I have read on various sites, this seemed to be a bit too high; but it does explain why he fitted a 60 litre gas tank.

Another thing he suggested is that I should use a Finer Filter or K&N Filter or Unifilter etc as they breathe better (which I already knew; and I was given to understand from past discussions on EO that they also let more dust through). Bob pointed out that the air intake MUST be kept clean as, if the engine suck clean air, it will suck more gas...........after all, it's gotta suck something!

I have been too busy driving the beast to have even checked the type of filter used or it's state of cleanliness. However, in the box of bits I inherited with it, there is a paper element, so I am assuming the one in there is also paper. As somebody else recently mentioned, the large Donaldson drum is a little difficult to get the end off (or so I would imagine just be looking at it), without maybe removing the intake hose from behind the left headlight.

Bilbo, do you know what type of filter you're running at present? What about any other Chev owners?

Thanks in advance.

Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 23:52

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 23:52
Roachie,

My Chev has an air filter on top of the engine. It doesn't have a Donaldson Pre-Cleaner. Yours may be the same - reading your description of "how to get the air filter out", it sounds about as 'easy not' as mine! I normally do my own servicing and it's a bitch to get the air filter out of it's container drum. It was even worse when the converted truck was first delivered from Brunswicks - to get the air filter out, I had to remove the drum from the engine. To remove the drum from the engine, I had to get at the strap bolts at the rear of the drum - it is 99% impossible to get these strap bolts out. To make this a bit easier I removed the whole flamin' kit and kaboodle from the engine - brackets 'n all. I picked off the spot welds and turned the straps around so that the bolts are at THE FRONT and welded the straps back on. That way I can undo the drum retaining straps, remove the filter and replace it. It's still a bitch, but now it's only a little bitch. Yes, I still have to remove the large diameter air inlet hoses. I remove the "U shaped" one on top and the one underneath that. I do not remove the end that goes to the inner wing panel (and then on towards the snorkel inside the wing). This whole shooting match is an ongoing mod until I make it easy to do.

The mechanic at Brunswicks reckon' he can get the air filters out WITHOUT removing the drum from the engine. He does it by 'bending' the plastic blades on the filter element and by "pushing back" the air con piping and associated brackets. A bit rough I reckon. There's gotta be a better way and I WILL find it! It shouldn't take 30 minutes to clean a paper air filter for God's sake!

I'm running a paper element - part number is - schit!!!, the trucks in the panel beaters and the filter part numbers are in the truck - I'll get it for ya tommorow when I get the car back. Wife backed it into a BIG tree!!

The K&N filters will let the engine breath better but I wouldn't use a K&N in the bush. City maybe, but not in the bush. A lot of Chev owners switch filters from K&N to standard and back again as they to 'n fro from the city to the bush.

Re the gas fitter - phone Brunswicks (08 97261431) and ask to speak with Scotty or Greg Jones himself ( he owns Brunswicks), tell 'em your dilemma with the gas. They will be only too pleased to help out. They're a great mob to deal with. 30% gas sounds way too much and I'm surprised that its not running a tad hot from overfueling. Just shows how much abuse the Chev will put up with eh?? 8% to 15% is about right.

Hope this helps mate,

Just call me if ya need any more,

Bilbo
AnswerID: 208847

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 07:08

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 07:08
G'day mate,

Nah, mine has got this big black Donaldson filter sitting above the passenger's side wheel arch; right where the 2nd battery would normally go....or in the case of my old Patrol, it's where I had my 2nd battery mounted. They even had to move the radiator expansion bottle. I don't think mine will be as difficult as you describe yours being. I'll try to get a photo and upload it into my profile pics (like I did with the other 2 a coupla weeks ago.)
Thanks mate.
FollowupID: 468847

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 00:58

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 00:58
Hey! you two. Just get a JEEP each and we won't have to read/listen to this V8 'hissan-nissan' diatribe.

Maybe a nice big Toyota air box would be the go, or a nice plastic JEEP one that has two clips and takes 20 seconds to open, remove -replace filter and shut.

Keep it coming Roachie, I am just hanging on every utterance re this new monster you have by the tail. Hang on to it real tight mate.

ROFLMAO with copious tears in eyes and sore sides.

PS

What did you do about those two big mother of holes in the snorkle. That may be a clue to the LPG/Diesel ratio thingy.

My old 81 Datsun b-bird that I put on LPG gave me all sorts of grief/excitement when I dual fuelled it in 1986. 12 years of R&D later I finally got on top of it along with the consulting mechanic/techo's. I still have it and it HAS run 100% lpg
since 1987.

AnswerID: 208863

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 01:43

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 01:43
Lucy,

I used to have a Toyota air box - with a 100 series TD wrapped around it 'n somebody stole it!

I now own a Chevissan as nobody wants 'em - 'cos the bloody air cleaners too bloody hard to get out!! ;)

Take care,

Bilbo
FollowupID: 468828

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 07:09

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 07:09
Keep ROFLYAO old mate.......now I'll be able to tow BOTH the jeepney AND the droopy out of the chit for you; both at the same time!!!!!!!!!!! ;-)) hahaha
FollowupID: 468848

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 00:14

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 00:14
Oi! why don't you tow the 8tonne GU 4.2 down to meet Des, just cause you can and to show off as well.

Then, because you only have enough fuel in that V8 monster to get home, you could 'swan' around in the 4.2 just like days of old.

If the Air filter is such a bitch to change, what about the oil filter. Whilst on that subject, is that 'toilet roll' thingy you have on the 4.2 transferrable to the V8 or are you going back on the ramps and skinned knuckles again.

I was standing alongside a Brunswick 6.5l in Marks 4WD adapters this morning.

Not a bad looking power pack at all.

The inlet manifold was intersting - it had a 360deg swivel inlet port on top so that you could feed it from any direction as well as accomodate twin snorkles.

They also had a what they called a front 'portal diff and housing' for a GU on the floor.

Its one of those doovies that they use in the Hummers and Unimogs that raise the diff centres by 100mm.

$15,000 not including fitting.

Have a good one and keep us all posted on the V8 'spruce goose'

FollowupID: 469092

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 00:17

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 00:17
Know what you mean Bilbo

If you left your foreskin lying around someone would decide that they need it more than you.
FollowupID: 469094

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 01:47

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 01:47
Lucy,

Love it mate!!

Bilbo
FollowupID: 469102

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 01:08

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 01:08
Roachie,

K&N is the worst filter you can use .. in the US with the bigger engines nobody in his right mind uses a K&N only unless they don't know better ...

K&N does not retain as much dirst as it should and the flow is also way less than others .. I have purchased paper filters for town use for mine and AC Delco when I go in the dirt .. I did that on recommendations and test data and do not have any own experiences yet since my truck has not arrived yet ...

The 30% I guess is the max and probably not an average gas consumption although I think the gas systems now aim even higher. Let us know how you go with the gas ... I was thinking about it too for mine, but first have to see where I fit all my extras and still have space for a decent size tank.

Have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 208865

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 03:35

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 03:35
gmd pps.
I know that I shouldn't do this.
Alas, I simply can resist no longer.
Please supply your details to David, and I shall be happy to pay your membership fee.
Sir,
you have much to offer.I would welcome the opportunity to speak directly.
Thank you in anticipation. JH.
FollowupID: 468839

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 07:05

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 07:05
One thing I neglected to point out with the gas-fitter, was his suggestion that (if I'm worried about using too much etc) the gas only needs to be switched on when I feel the need for a bit more grunt.......like going up hills and towing etc.

As far as temp goes, the gas actually makes it run cooler.

It's a great set-up, just a shame about the size of the gas cylinder (too bloody big!) hahaha
FollowupID: 468846

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 11:13

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 11:13
Jeff,
I refuse to pay or have paid any membership to any on-line forum. It's rediculous with all that advertising to pay anything for obscure additional services. If the owner or anybody else argues about bandwidth they should move to another ISP. Servers in the US are cheap and one does not have to sit in OZ for that. Any other online forum is free or it is completely for paying members only.
You can talk to me anyway .. gmd_pps@ozshops.com ... no problem ..
have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 468882

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 11:20

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 11:20
Roachie,

I am primarily interested in the cleaner oil and the lower EGT. Economy or power is not really my issue.

The larger tank is a plus in my book when you don't find LPG .. so you can live a bit longer on it. Unless the tank is in the way somewhere .. I was contemplating 80 -100 l but of course on a larger vehicle. I have a 200l tank (58 Gallon to be exact).

have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 468883

Reply By: traveller2 - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 10:17

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 10:17
Whatever you fit make sure it offers no restriction to airflow, these engines need lots of air. Mine has 4 inch ID trunking all the way before and after the Donaldson air cleaner.
Steer clear of foam filters if you intend to keep it for any length of time they do let lots of fine dust through, paper does a much better job.
AnswerID: 208896

Reply By: PK Eildon (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 10:25

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 10:25

I have diesel/gas on 4.2 Patrol. My understanding with the gas is 0% at idle and up to 30% under load. This averages out at about 25%. I have 180l diesel and 60l gas which runs out about the same time.

PK
AnswerID: 208898

Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:18

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:18
Roachie said, ",,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,.......now I'll be able to tow BOTH the jeepney AND the droopy out of the chit for you; both at the same time!!!!!!!!!!! ;-)),,,,,,,,"

Which reminds me of a story,,,,,,,,,

A good few years back a workmate of mine retired and bought a Landcruiser and a 16 foot van. Off he went from Perth, up around the Pilbara and The North West.

He was about 80kms from Nanutarra Roadhouse (yes THAT place of pirates and brigands) when he came across an old Datsun ute towing a 6 by 4 trailer full of camping gear, broken down on the side of the road. My mate stopped and spent a few minutes trying to get the ute going again. He's a vehicle upholsterer by trade and not a mechanic so they didn't have much luck. So the ute driver asked if he could tow him to Nanutarra Roadhouse. My mate didn't want to leave his new van on the side of the road so he thought about for while, asked his missus and finally hitched up the ute AND it's trailer to the back of his van!!

And off they went!!

He'd been going (slowly, slowly) for a while when he noticed that his Landcruiser and it's "road train" were going faster uphill than it was downhill!! Strange, thought he???

After about half an hour he stopped and walked back to the ute and asked him WTF he was doing to make it go slower downhill than uphill.

The ute driver replied that he was putting it in gear and dropping the clutch every once in a while to see if he could get it going by tow starting it!! BUT he didn't want to "put too much load" on the Landcruiser by doing this uphill!!

My mate went ballistic!! Damn near strangled the bloke!!

True story from the bad old days in Cowboy Land, Western Australia.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 208925

Reply By: 666toy - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 19:56

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 19:56
While its a different vehicle & donk i put a 6bgt isuzu into a f100 admitantly i had more room but i used a international harvester air cleaner assy.(Donaldson copy)
Just one question do you really have a a/c in the can ;)) lol
What about vertical mounting could this work in you vehicles ?
As a mechanic i would steer away from foam filters for these vehicles but thats just me. I have seen some real ugly dusted donks from these first hand.
Side access could work as well but you would need to cut body panels & make a neat access door.... hope this helps 666TOY
AnswerID: 209015