Victorian High Country
Submitted: Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 16:36
Member - Stephen M (NSW)
Hi all, any body that is intending going to the high country forget it. Just got back about an hour ago and all the tracks roads etc are closed and the 3 fires have all joined together as one front and have wiped out half the place and is out of control. We used the sat phone on sunday night from Buffalo River and made a few calls and were told to get out as the fires were only a few klms from us so we left and the fire hit there the next night. All access was shut so couldnt even get to craigs hut. We just got right out of there and headed towards Thredbo and did all around there. Wont be going back there for a few years there will be nothing to see. The amount of dead timber/trees etc around from the 03 fires is unbelievable no wonder it has gone up again. They have said these fires are worse than the 03 fires. Up until about 9am this morning they had lost 4 propertys. They have sent fire personell from New Zealand and some army personel up. They are there purly for protecting homes in the area. All up in a bad position at the moment so any one thinking of going over chrissy or now I would forget it all together. Regards Steve M
Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 17:48
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 17:48
This link shows the extent of the fires
www.theage.com.au/flash/alpinethreat/
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 18:26
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 18:26
Bloody hell, that's scary mate.
Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:20
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:20
It's not worse than '03 yet. But it will be in all likelihood with no rain on the horizon.
This weekend's forecast is disastrous and without rain the fires are projected to join up and form a front at least 100km in length. They will probably burn down to the Princes Hwy and there are sections of it likely to be closed this weekend.
The big firebreak between Tassie and Victoria may be all that stops it in the end in some
places.
There are already areas which burnt in the '03 fires which have fiercely reburnt.
However there'll always be plenty to see and do in the High Country, and as soon as they reopen the tracks - or need help to do so - I'll be back up there. For me it is and will always be home having grown up in it for much of my life. And it keeps drawing me and others who grew up there or have grown to love it back.
It's burnt before on this scale and the recovery process is something that only a a few can ever claim to have seen in their lifetime.
Don't stay away just because of the result of a few lightning strikes.
It rarely strikes the same place twice....
Reply By: Nick R - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 09:26
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 09:26
Looks like the
Otways might be busy this year......
NickR
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 18:06
Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 18:06
until the next fire Nick
Reply By: Richard of NSW - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 16:45
Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 16:45
Where off to the High Country on a 7 day
camping trip end of December, coming in from Thredbo side. Been planning for 6 months.....just so disappointed. What to do?............anybody have the latest extent of devastation done.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:33
Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:33
Check out the news tonight craigs hut the "man from snowy river" was burnt to the ground today and obviously all the bush land around. The smoke when we were there was terrible cant even see the mountains to take the usual stunning photos. Rang the two tour mobs that I know and they have both cancelled there new years eve tours for this christmas, When we were there last week they have closed off all the roads leading into the high country so what is the point save your money and enjoy some thing else. I know how you feel I was looking forward to it as
well as the other 5 vehicles but safety was parramount so we were out of there.We were staying at buffalo river and saw the smoke so pulled out the sat phomes made a few calls and got out of there. The next night exactly where we were going to
camp the night before the fire's come through. Our familys were freaking as they didnt have the sat phone no and they couldnt get us on the normal mobiles and we didnt realize how bad the fires were so didnt think of calling them. Even our last night at tumit is now under threat as
well. Regards Steve M