Just what is a "Mexican"???

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:16
ThreadID: 40216 Views:2688 Replies:14 FollowUps:14
When I lived in Townsville a "Mexican" was regarded to be anyone who lived South of Mackay.

The basis of a "Mexican" is an American thing, that is to say "someone south of the border"

It makes me giggle to read South Australians referring to Vics as Mexicans. The only thing south of the SA border is water.

Get this, it is really simple......Victoria is east of SA.

I've never got the State's parochial thing. I'm an Australian, where I live in this fine land is immaterial.

Have you ever heard a Vic call a Taswegian a Mexican???

Ever wondered why???? There's no inferiority complex.

Reply By: Blaze - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:27

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:27
So I guess when you were in Townsville you couldn't understand why all the Banana Benders went on about State of Origin Matches. And interstate cricket matches would have to be stopped because they are definately a parochial state thing. I have some very good friends interstate (all very proud Australians) and we all seem to enjoy with a smile the parochial nature of the states......
AnswerID: 209522

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:32

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:32
Buggered if I can ever understand why Australians need to join factions....I thought that was just for poltical organisations.

Anyway, live life as you please, I'm not God.
FollowupID: 469546

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:38

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:38
i thought factions were just two numbers seperated by a slash, now I am told they are non metric portions of a number, so 1/2 os no-metric 50% is metric

I cant wait till we go to metric time, 1000 seconds in a minute, 100 mins in an hour ten hours in a day, 1 megaday=1 month, 10 megadays in a year

FollowupID: 469848

Reply By: ZukScooterX90 (QLD)Member - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:33

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:33
Jimbo, if thats all you get called your doing pretty well in life.:o))
AnswerID: 209524

Reply By: madfisher - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:41

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:41
Jim the Taswegians when they find out you are from the big island check your hands to see how many fingers you have. Speaking of 6 fingers some west coasters in tassie look like their parents may have been related
AnswerID: 209525

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:51

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:51
It's a term used by wankers to describe someone from Victoria, anything else you want to know Jim.
AnswerID: 209526

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:40

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:40
You sure its not a term by someone to describe wankers from Victoria....hahahaha!

BTW Jimbo, Victoria lies Southeast from SA. :-D
FollowupID: 469558

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:50

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:50
yep I'm sure Willem, it's only an issue for the insecure.

FollowupID: 469563

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:53

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:53
Hahahahahahahaha!!!!
FollowupID: 469566

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:28

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:28
Charter boat - charter boat ! - what charter boat .... must be goin' blind!!!! I didn't see no charter boat....

Grrr!!!

Me Aussie - not Nth Mexican....
FollowupID: 469578

Follow Up By: Hairy - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:55

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:55
Bloody mexican!!!
FollowupID: 469587

Follow Up By: Eddy - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 20:06

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 20:06
So Why do you MEXICANS keep coming to North Queensland in the winter months and stealing our fish?
FollowupID: 469684

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:58

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:58
Instead of enraging the forum population Mr. J you should be keeping watch out of the closest north facing window of your house, for the dreaded red glow on the horizon that gets brighter by the second.

AnswerID: 209533

Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:03

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:03
Jimbo perhaps we could just abolish all states and have one timezone for all of Aust - wouldnt that be good - forget daylight saving !!!
AnswerID: 209534

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 07:42

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 07:42
Aboloshing all time zones - not practical.

Abolishing all states - an excellent idea. It would get rid of a some problems that exist in Australia due to our political structure. One problem is that we have more politicians per head of population than any other country in the world. Another is that each state has different laws and this causes a lot of complexities including when travelling.

Bob Hawke (when he was a Rhode Scholar) did a thesis supporting this idea. He didn't propose it as Prime Minister.

How could you abolish the states - change the constitutions. This is where it gets difficult. The politicians would have to support it. Would you support losing your job.

If it was proposed each state would have to have a yes vote and there would have to be a yes vote federally.

Not much chance of that being successful. In the history of Australia there has only been two successful federal referendums. One was to give women the right to vote. The other was to recognise Aboriginals as citizens of Australia.

Not much chance of it happening Trekkie.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 469604

Reply By: Member - Karl - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:05

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:05
Here in God's Country (WA) we just call everyone 'Eastern Staters' and treat you with the contempt that you all deserve. :-) :-)

Karl
AnswerID: 209535

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 01:43

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 01:43
Yep Karl. (See next item).
FollowupID: 469599

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 13:45

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 13:45
Which God?
FollowupID: 469650

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 23:50

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 23:50
Willem

Refer back to PostID: 40184 LOL....
FollowupID: 469709

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 00:09

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 00:09
We Vic's call anyone north "Canadians"
AnswerID: 209544

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 01:33

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 01:33
Yair GIO, that's fair enough. Vics are maybe like Shrubs (Weeds or, even, bushes ::even.)
Maybe Vic's are not real bright, but content to blur geography. (CANADIANS? But aint they the good guys? Are they really like , - - me -- us ? . Webbed , fungal digits?

Mate, all those years we lived in the Deep North, we regarded anyone without fungal webbed toes (5, 6 or7 on average,all up, both hands), as peculiar. Especially them dryland weirdos from 'round Townsville.
But now I knows better.
Mexican = NSW, Vic folk.
Tasweigans are just that, and dam good value.(It's the wet country, you see.)
SA is, God. Forsaken nuclear playground.
WA: Hmm. used to be about as good as us, er , 'Canadians'.
Now, ta to Mexicans on Charter boats, we're pretty well polluted up here.
But when push comes to shove, it's the bloke who counts, not the origins.

Meanwhile, I live in hope that we can all offload on one another, in jest and sic humour.(If you're still reading this nonsence, then you are either a psychologist or in need of one.See you there. Jeff.
FollowupID: 469598

Reply By: Atomnaki - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 07:09

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 07:09
Have to agree with you Jimbo, in you own words "I've never got the State's parochial thing. I'm an Australian, where I live in this fine land is immaterial."

Been reading all the comments with a smile on my face.
Now my hubby and I were both born and schooled in Melbourne (Vic). In the last 32 years we have lived in Leeton (NSW), Sydney (NSW), Adelaide (SA), Geraldton (WA), Coolum Beach (QLD), Deception Bay (Qld), and Melbourne (Vic). Our daughter was conceived in WA and born in Vic.... even had a grandson born in Nambour (Qld) but he was conceived in Vic. .......Now we are all back in Vic, for how long who knows.
We have been lucky to have visited all states of this great country and lived in most. Have travelled extensively throughout them as well, both coastal and outback....
I've never been able to understand the ribbing some people give out to fellow Aussies from a different state.
I suppose it all started when the colonists/migrants were from England, Ireland, China, Italy, Greece, Malta, Germany, Vietnam, Sth Africa.....etc, etc. From all the lands we come. No matter where you come from we are all different, but deep down we are all the same........Aussies......... and if you don't regard yourself as an Aussie and you live here then you really haven't let go of the place where you started........ and personally who gives a S**T.
My opinion on this is if someone gets off on ribbing about where one comes from then they really need to get out and "ExploreOz" hahahahaha
HAGW.
AnswerID: 209558

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 07:54

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 07:54
Once upon a time in the Kingdom of Heaven, God went missing for six days.

Eventually, Michael the archangel found him on the seventh day resting. He enquired of God, "Where have you been?" God pointed downwards through the clouds. "Look Michael, look what I've made" said God. Archangel Michael looked puzzled and said, "What is it?" "Its a planet replied God", and I've put LIFE on it. I'm going to call it Earth and its going to be a great place of balance." "Balance?" inquired Michael, still confused.

God explained, pointing down to different parts of the Earth, "For example, North America will be a place of great opportunity and wealth while South America is going to be poor; the Middle East over there will be a hot spot and Russia will be a cold spot. Over there I've placed a continent of white people and over there is a continent of black people." God continued, pointing to the different countries. "This one will be extremely hot and arid while this one will be very cold and covered in ice."

The Archangel, impressed by God's work, then pointed to another area of land and asked, "What's that?" "Ah," said God. "That's South Australia, the most glorious place on earth. There are beautiful people, impressive towns; it is the home of the world's finest artists, musicians, writers, thinkers, explorers and politicians. The people from South Australia are going to be modest, intelligent and humorous and they're going to be found travelling the world. They'll be extremely sociable, hard-working and high-achieving, and they will be known throughout the world as speakers of truth." Michael gasped in wonder and admiration but then proclaimed, "What about balance God, you said there will be BALANCE!"

God replied very wisely," Wait till you see the idiots I'm putting next to them in Victoria"
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 209562

Reply By: Barnesy - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 11:33

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 11:33
I've lived in SA my whole life and not once have I ever heard anyone from another state referred to as "Mexican". During the 1980's when state of origin footy was at its peak we hated the Vics, now the AFL has changed that.

As for SA cricket the Redbacks, there isn't a rivalry with any other state. I'm just glad if we can win a game, we only seem to be able to beat Tassie. And we struggle to do that most of the time. It's a population thing, the Eastern states have 3 times the number of people to choose from, simple as that.

I think you have too much time on your hands Jimbo.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 209577

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 13:49

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 13:49
"I've lived in SA my whole life and not once have I ever heard anyone from another state referred to as "Mexican". "

Hmmmm Barnesy. You must have lived a sheltered life to date....lol
FollowupID: 469651

Reply By: cowpat - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 13:57

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 13:57
And the Tassies call those from the mainland North Islanders.
AnswerID: 209592

Reply By: Harry - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 20:49

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 20:49
Willem, you haven't been there all your life------yet :>))
AnswerID: 209656

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 10:02

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 10:02
This is a Mexican.
AnswerID: 209717