Submitted: Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 00:50
ThreadID: 40219 Views:3157 Replies:8 FollowUps:17
I just read a post about Mexicans....
Whats happened to our country???
Nicknames used to be funny, an Australian way of almost showing affection,'
Jokes were allowed.
Critisisim was constructive.
Black and white were colours or descriptions and people could take a joke.
Blackfellas were prowed of their colour and so were whites.
Racism only happened in other countries and we all suck together!
This politicaly correct crap has not only become an issue but its now accepted.

Heres my thoughts...
Common sense is learnt not taught.
Laws are there to be use if needed but not something to live by.
These days EVERYTHING comes under a law .
How are people ever going to learn to think for themselves if they arent allowed to or simply dont have to because the goverment is going to do it for us?
Think about it... you used to come to a corner and judge your speed, your capability, even the condition of your vehicle without even thinking. These days if the sign says 100km you do a 100km and if you have a accident its someone elses fault.
We learnt common sense because we had to think for ourselves and if we got hurt it was our own fault.
If we dont all take a look at what we like about our country and do what we need to to keep it that way it will be gone before our next generation of kids grow up.
YES... and maybe we might have to tread on a few toes to do it!!!!!

( sorry about opening a can of worms!)
Na Im not!!!

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 01:43

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 01:43
The 'genuine' West Aussies call Victorians "Mexicans" simply because they (we) come from over the border

Now I've a WA drivers licence I'm one of 'em too.......
Mexicans, just come over here and take all the good caravan spots on the beach.
Blackboy's were a type of tree, now they're called grass tree, talk about 'political correctness' gone mad.

(Will need really big feet to tread on them toes)
AnswerID: 209551

Follow Up By: Member - BUNDY BOY (WA) - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 03:05

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 03:05
hay Mainey ...its only WA you cant call them black boys ...as ive learnt...every were else i know of its fine...::)))
FollowupID: 469602

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 10:44

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 10:44
"its only WA you cant call them black boys"

Ha ha, yep, and its not the noongahs that are the ones that are enforcing this. Its all the PC, whites skinned do gooders that beleive that the aboriginals will take offence. I know a few noongahs, and some of them being elders, even they call them black boys.

For me, I will always call them a black boy, if the PC police dont agree, oops, my care-factor-meter is going birco again HA!
FollowupID: 469632

Follow Up By: Hairy - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 11:17

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 11:17
Mainey.
Ive got a healthy pair of size 12s,.. im game
FollowupID: 469637

Follow Up By: Member - Karl - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 09:40

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 09:40
Still call them black boys. I picked one up a couple of months ago from a construction site and replanted in my back yard - the kids have name him Bob the black boy.

I may stand corrected but the Noongar name for them is Balga (as in the suburb).

Karl
FollowupID: 469739

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 09:43

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 09:43
From memory me thinks you are correct. Heavy buggers tho LOL
FollowupID: 469740

Reply By: goingplatinumcomau - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 01:49

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 01:49
Gidday

Yes i agree we do not think for ourselve's well it would appear that way it all come about with being zapped with subliminal messages.

A good indication of that is we are now expected to drink recycle sewage the sewage system being full of cockroachs blood vomit and what ever else goe's down there.

However find a Cockroach in a meat pie and there would be hell to play.

A subliminal message is like when you get a song in your head and you can not get rid of it.

A subliminal message is a signal or message embedded in another object, designed to pass below the normal limits of perception. These messages are indiscernible to the conscious mind, but are alleged to be perceptible to the subconscious or deeper mind: for example, an image transmitted so briefly that it is only perceived subconsciously, but not otherwise noticed. Subliminal techniques have occasionally been used in advertising and propaganda.

Shane
AnswerID: 209552

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 11:08

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 11:08
I believe they have some high-tech devices to filter cockroaches out of the system these days.....

FollowupID: 469636

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 11:40

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 11:40
Hmmmmmmmmmm! 'cockroach in a meat pie'

never seen one.

How about a 'cockroach in a Kadina pie'

Now that I have seen
FollowupID: 469641

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 13:58

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 13:58
Hahahahah Ms Lucy...Very funny....Am waiting with bated breath for the retort.
FollowupID: 469654

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 05:56

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 05:56
Hairy, totally agree.
The Bride 'N her Embarrassment went to a TAFE course recently.We were being primed as offsiders to an ESL instructor.(English [as] Second Language).

WOULD YOU BELIEVE WE SPENT A FULL DAY ON WPHS? (that's Work Place Health and Safety, for anyone lucky enough to be spared the crudd ).
And the poor robot who accepted money to expound this banal nonsence repeated, frequently, that there is 'no place for common sence*. Everything must run to rule, and no room for maverics.
(*Yeah, so I mis spelt: enjoy, 'cause there are more to follow.)
Hairy, it's as you said. A melding of experience with common bloody sense beats "Legislation" hands down, 'most every time.
As it turned out, the Bundaberg TAFE facilities are lower than abysmal. The bird running the show is gifted, but she is trying to cater to young'ns who are pretty damn good, to old Chinese farts who've just arrived in country and wouldn't know a John Howard from a dead crab.
Shi* service just isn't good enough, Mr Howard.
Thanks eh, JH.

AnswerID: 209556

Reply By: Member - Jack - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 07:12

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 07:12
The one thing we know about common sense is that it is not "common"

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 209559

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 08:05

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 08:05
God bless Australia!

WE ARE ONE!

We are the people of a free nation of blokes, sheilas and the occasional wanker.

We come from many lands (although a few too many of us come from New Zealand), and although we live in the best country in the world, we reserve the right to bitch and moan about it whenever we bloody like.

We are One Nation but divided into many States.

First, there's Victoria, named after a queen who didn't believe in lesbians.

Victoria is the realm of Mossimo turtlenecks, cafe latte, grand final day, and big horse races.

Its capital is Melbourne, whose chief marketing pitch is that "it's liveable". At least that's what they think.

The rest of us think it is too bloody cold and wet.

Next, there's NSW, the realm of pastel shorts, macchiato with sugar, thin books read quickly and millions of dancing queens.

Its capital Sydney has more queens than any other city in the world and is proud of it.

Its mascots are Bondi lifesavers who pull their Speedos up their cracks to keep the left and right sides of their brains separate.

Down south we have Tasmania, a State based on the notion that the family that bonks together stays together. In Tassie, everyone gets an extra chromosome at conception.

Maps of the State bring smiles to the sternest faces.

It holds the world record for a single mass shooting, which the Yanks can't seem to beat no matter how often they try.

South Australia is the province of half-decent reds, a festival of foreigners and bizarre axe murders.

SA is the state of innovation. Where else can you so effectively reuse country bank vaults and barrels as in Snowtown, just out of Adelaide (also named after a queen).

They had the Grand Prix, but lost it when the views of Adelaide sent the Formula One drivers to sleep at the wheel.

Western Australia is too far from anywhere to be relevant.

WA was the last state to stop importing convicts and many of them still work there in the government and business.

The Northern Territory is the red heart of our land. Outback plains, sheep stations the size of Europe, kangaroos, Jackaroos, emus, Uluru, and dusty kids with big smiles.

It also has the highest beer consumption of anywhere on the planet and its creek beds have the highest aluminium content of anywhere too.

Although the Territory is the centrepiece of our national culture, few of us live there and the rest prefer to fly over it on our way to Bali.

And there's Queensland.

While any mention of God seems silly in a document defining a nation of half arsed sceptics, it is worth noting that God probably made Queensland, as its beautiful one day and perfect the next.

Why he filled it with Richard Craniums remains a mystery.

Oh yes and there's Canberra.

The less said the better.

We want to make "no worries mate" our national phrase, "she'll be right mate" our national attitude and "Waltzing Matilda“ our national anthem (so what if it's about a
sheep-stealing crim who commits suicide).

We love sport so much our newsreaders can read the death toll from a sailing race and still tell us who's winning.

And we're the best in the world at all the sports that count, like cricket, netball, rugby, Aussie Rules, roo shooting, two up and horse racing.

Stand proud Aussies - we shoot, we root, we vote.

We are girt by sea and bleep by lunchtime.

I am, you are, we are Australian!

PS. We also shoot and eat the two animals that are on our National Crest!!!!

No other country has this distinction!
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 209564

Follow Up By: Gob & Denny - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 08:28

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 08:28
maaaatttteee
you missed the other 2 states the north and south islands they must now be part of us as they are included in all our weather forecasts and shown on most maps and some of them do speak a type of english even if pronunciation is a bit off like fush and chups and sux lollies etc

but very well described otherwise

FollowupID: 469609

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 08:36

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 08:36
Australia's not a penal colony anymore Kumanara. You are free to leave anytime you like.
FollowupID: 469610

Follow Up By: Member - Clive G (Int) - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 09:07

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 09:07
Good one Kumnuara.
As for your little dig about to many from NZ, and there is a lot, consider this.
In the year 2004.
5.2% of the Australian population was born in New Zealand.
5% of the New Zealand population was born in Australia.
(from an Australian think tank on Aus- NZ relations, headed by former PM Bob Hawke.)
So it's a fairly even score.
Also just last week a parliamentry committee in Canberra recomended to the Howard Govt. that NZ be brought into the Federation sooner rather than later.
It will happen in due course I believe.
Clive G (NZ)
FollowupID: 469616

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 10:40

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 10:40
Jimbo

For your information my ancestors came to Australia on the HMS BUFFALO. South Australia was a colony – not a penal colony.

One of the things about the true Australian character is our ability to laugh at ourselves and not take ourselves too seriously.

Clive

I wasn’t aware of those statistics – thank you for that information. I agree with you that it could be a good idea for Australia and NZ to be one country.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 469630

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 11:04

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 11:04
I can assure you that Melbourne is no longer too bloody cold and wet!

Too bloody hot and smoky more like it this week.
FollowupID: 469634

Follow Up By: Hairy - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 11:28

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 11:28
Kumunara,
I agree the Kiwis would probably be welcomed,
As long as they dont make our school uniforms grass skirts and make us all do the harka each morning!
FollowupID: 469640

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 15:23

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 15:23
I do "The Harka" early, every Sunday morning,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

After 4 crayfish, a feed of prawns, a good serve of Pavlova, 16 cans, 7 glasses of red and a rum 'n coke and 2 big glasses of Grandfather port,,,,,,,,,,

"Harrrrrk, haarrrrk, haaarrrrrrkkkkkk"!!

"Aaaaghhh"!!

Bilbo
FollowupID: 469661

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 09:55

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 09:55
Jimbo, we are not supposed to have foot n mouth here anymore ;-))

That's about as aussie as you can get

FollowupID: 469745

Reply By: Barnesy - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 11:08

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 11:08
My cynical view is that commercialism and an obsession with economic growth has turned many people into consumers who buy and do whatever advertising tells them to. We get a lot of our popular culture from the US.

I was amazed that Sony pre-released the new playstation in the US not long ago and people were lining up in the street for days so they could be one of the first to get one! Some were actually starting fights over it! Why? Because big corporations spend huge amounts of money telling people that they will be cool if they buy their product. They did a pre-release of limited numbers to build up consumer hype.
If this is happening in the US then no doubt it will start happening here too.

Example last week with change in leadership of the opposition. Beazley is a man of high intellect, experience and integrity yet he gets ousted because apparently voters want a more 'saleable' figure.

Independent thought gets left behind.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 209576

Follow Up By: Hairy - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 11:22

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 11:22
Advertising and hype is here for the long haul, people need to ignore it!
My kids get a choice....That computer game or horse riding this week?
Computer game or go bush?
Horse riding and bush wins evey time!
FollowupID: 469638

Reply By: kimprado - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 15:23

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 15:23
Hairy,

There's wrong with my Australia. best place on Earth!

Kim
AnswerID: 209602

Reply By: Redback - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 10:01

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 10:01
"The 'genuine' West Aussies call Victorians "Mexicans" simply because they (we) come from over the border "

Hate to break it to ya mate but NSW has this saying, ya know "south of the border down Mexico way."

Correct if i'm wrong, but no other state in australia can claim this fact!!! that Vics are genuine Mexicans to us, cause the're south of the border.
AnswerID: 209716