Fridge in Draw System?
Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 22:53
Moggs
Further to a comment in another thread by 'inspired' related to how it is easier to access contents in a swing door fridge than a traditional Waeco/engel design top opening fridge.
Why hasn't any of the draw manufacturers designed a set of draws that is a fridge??? I reckon a side by side draw configuration with 1 draw fridge and 1 draw freezer would be excellent! Batteries to run the fridge/freezer could be kept at the rear of the draws (under top deck / shorten draws). Fridge compressor also attached to rear of draws Of course, draw height would have to be sufficient to hold a stubby standing up!
I know that my CF50 mounted on top of my side by side draws is a hassle for my family and I hate emptying the fridge basket to find whatever is needed that happens to be at the bottom of the fridge.
What do you reckon? Would be easy access to contents and save some space ie. flat deck for all the other gear. Any reason why it wouldn't work?
Reply By: Ianw - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:21
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:21
DRAWERS, please D R A W E R S, can't anybody spell correctly these days
Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:22
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:22
does it matter? Im sure u get the jist of the post ian.
Leroy
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:37
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:37
Hmmm ..... I think you mean "gist"
Follow Up By: Moggs - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:37
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:37
Umm, yeah...I seem to have a problem with this draw/drawers word - same as a previous post where I was taken to task. Oh
well, it is late and all that. Sorry to all the protectors of the English language!
Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 09:50
Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 09:50
Hey Ian,
Get a life Mr perfecto, oh, and btw, you forgot to end your sentence with a question mark, you know, one of these '?'
Pleeeeaaase, doesn't anybody know how to use punctuation these days ?
Pezza
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 11:25
Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 11:25
Hahahahahahaha nice reply Pezza.
Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:24
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:24
Moggs, I think it's a great idea. BUT - there's always a BUT,,,,,,my wife "looks after the fridge". So it's not a problem for me,,,,,,
I just have to ensure the fridge has electricity,,,,,,,,,,,
SWMDBO make sure there's beer in it,,,,,,,,,
Bilbo
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 01:44
Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 01:44
G'day Bilbo
Hey don't wacoe make a fridge that is a dror/ droar, .... I seen it on the internet just the other day but I thinks its just a cooler, hit me with the shuvel if I;m rong
At that price it would have to be a fridge , thought don't seem to go as cold as the others
Site Link
Drawer Fridge CD-30-D
Product Code CD-30
Availability: 3 left
Retail Price $699.00
Fridgeshop Price $545.00
Dimensions W440 x H250 x D730 (closed) / 1040(opened) mm
Weight 18 Kg
Capacity 30 Litres
Power Power Source 12/24 Volts
Temperature Range +12°C to -2°C (fridge only)
Reply By: disco1942 - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:30
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:30
Moggs
Waeco do - try - tinyurl.com/ynalwy
Follow Up By: Moggs - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:40
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:40
had a look - same sort of thing - I reckon a set of full size drawers (hmm....hmmm, note spelling) would be great. The Waeco unit looks pretty small
Follow Up By: Ianw - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:58
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:58
Thanks Moggs, Much easier on the eyes!
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 00:12
Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 00:12
Why not 2/3 drawers on top of each other on one side, and fridge on the floor? Mines like that works perfectly. Even Cammo can get to it on his own
Drawers are robbery now. how much do you think a fridge set would be? $20k?
Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 08:32
Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 08:32
no good for me - a very large boxer travels in the back. He can't travel in the back
seat with the kids - tried it once and they came out looking like they had been slimed like in the Gohstbusters movie.
Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 08:34
Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 08:34
Waeco make one... as stated above..... but not real big, you'd probably need two!
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 09:20
Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 09:20
Moggs,
It is more a matter of horses for courses and supply and demand.
Drawer manufacturers are exactly that they manufacture storage drawer systems in a variety of configurations for multiple purposes.
Most people want to store their normal gear in the drawers and have a fridge sitting either on top, or on the side of the Drawers.
Drawer Manufacturers do not manufacture fridges.
Fridge Manufacturers on the other hand make fridges, but not Drawer systems.
As has been pointed out, Waeco provide a drawer style fridge and Engel provide an upright style fridge with a front opening door but none of these would be used in place of a purpose built Storage Drawer System.
That's my logic anyway.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 09:27
Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 09:27
I've got a friend with a troopie who made up a fridge drawer using the Danfoss unit. Nicely insulated etc - freezer at the compressor end, and with dividers, fridge and cooler as you worked back. Used a sliding door switch on the front part to get over the wiring hassles. He found it very hard to regulate it - fridge stuff would freeze etc. But the fridge was 6-foot long - got called the "coffin" :-)))
For me, I use plastic containers to separate all the contents in the engel.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 16:16
Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 16:16
they gave it the wrong name...it should have been "the morgue"
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 09:12
Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 09:12
hehehe......... The guy has come on the odd desert trip, and we comfort everyone by telling them that if someone dies out there, at least they won't smell on the way back :-))
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 10:18
Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 10:18
hahahaha