An illegal campsite please !

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 17:13
ThreadID: 40348 Views:6827 Replies:6 FollowUps:17
I have just been reading Willems post on all the crazy things we used to do as kids. We used to have a camping spot in Tassie where we could ride our minibikes on some dirt tracks behind the camp and Dad could tow us around behind the boat in front of the campsite.

I am looking for somewhere where I can take the kids ( and possibly even the dog ), set up camp for a few days and let the kids ride their minibikes around on the tracks while I inflate the boat and go fishing, skiing, swimming etc.

I live near Canberra so the coast is only an hour or two away but try to find a place where the above activities can be done..... its not possible anymore. It is illegal for the kids to ride minibikes anywhere but private property. It is illegal to tow kids around slowly on a biscuit behind a boat except in designated ski zones. Try finding a spot where you can do both without sweating over the fact the ranger might drive round the corner any second to confront you with thousands of dollars in fines and confiscating all your kit.

What have we done to ourselves ? Because nobody wants to take responsibility for their own actions we have gone the way of the Americans and started sueing whoever was to "blame" because we have to "blame" somebody. We now have large portions of our lives legislated and large portions of our country fenced, controlled and policed... what happened to enjoyed ?

If anyone has a private property with access to the water ( ocean or lake ) and would not mind some self sufficient guests who clean up after themselves then please drop me a line. I am willing to pay or do maintenance / work in exchange for access.

We have our own power. We have our own toilet. The minbikes are only ridden on existing tracks. We are willing to travel interstate to find this paradise.

If you don't want to publicly announce you have a location then please feel free to IM me or drop a subtle hint and I will IM you.

Cheers....Taz

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 17:51

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 17:51
"What have we done to ourselves ? Because nobody wants to take responsibility for their own actions we have gone the way of the Americans and started suing whoever was to "blame" because we have to "blame" somebody. We now have large portions of our lives legislated and large portions of our country fenced, controlled and policed... what happened to enjoyed ? "

I could not agree more with this if I tried. The world has gone crazy and we are simply over regulated. Laws for this, laws for that, for everything.

I don't disagree with having laws by which society has to have in order for us to live by, but do we need as many laws as we have. If we aren't regulated by national laws, its state laws and then local government laws, and the aren't always in agreement, especially in local government.

Anyway, I wish you luck and hope someone does come forward to offer you the use of their property, and I commend you for being willing to give something back to the owner, instead of just wanting or expecting everything for nothing as a lot of people seem to be these days.
AnswerID: 210349

Reply By: png62 - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 21:49

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 21:49
Crikey TAZ,
I know a great spot that I can do all that and its only 50 minutes away from home and very remote - not likely to be another camper within 10 kilometres, OOPS - sorry - it's here in Tassie.

Good Luck - OH ! by the way - What are you doing in Cantberra?

John E
AnswerID: 210383

Follow Up By: Mbr - Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 07:08

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 07:08
Hi John,

I left Tassie when I was 17 to join the Army. Did that for about 15 years with postings all over the country and trips all over the world. Left the Army on 11 Sep 01 - timing is everything - Roamed the country a bit and ended up in Canberra. Actually live just out of Canberra in Queanbeyan. My wife's family is here so there is little chance of moving to a warmer climate ( I spent 8 years in Townsville ).

Am currently a private security contractor in Afghanistan. I have been working here for over a year and will be coming home in early February

Cheers...Taz
FollowupID: 470443

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 22:12

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 22:12
Taz,

Have you been to Shallow Crossing on the Clyde River near Batemans Bay. It is a private camp ground the you can take pets have your boat in the river though not sure about the mini bike thing. It's a great big open grassy area and worth a look....Here is there phone number, give them a call and ask about the mini bikes....

myhome.ispdr.net.au/~camping/default.htm

Shallow Crossing Camping Ground, Shallow Crossing Ph: 44781183
AnswerID: 210387

Follow Up By: Mbr - Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 07:18

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 07:18
Hi Teabag,

I know where shallow crossing is but have not yet had the opportunity to visit it. Thanks for the tip, I will give them a call when I get home in February. Is the river deep enough for an outboard in the vicinity of the campsite ?

I think I have seen your Patrol around town. When I get home I am having a Unichip installed and probably an ARB rear air locker. We should get together for a trip one of these days. I have been a member of LCOOL-ACT ( Landcruiser owners online) for over a year but haven't met a single person yet as I work overseas for 3 months at a time so my family time when I'm home is very precious.

Cheers...Taz
FollowupID: 470445

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 07:41

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 07:41
You'd be lucky if there were a spare blade of grass this time of year, every man and their dog go there.
FollowupID: 470450

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 11:43

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 11:43
Taz,

Just sent you a PM......

Redback is right that it will be busy this time of year though depending on when you wish to go you can get the place to yourself. I was there recently and there was only one other camper. Yes, the water is deep enough to run an outboard down from the crossing across from the camp area. It's a nice little spot.....
FollowupID: 470495

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 06:13

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 06:13
Yep know the spot its about an hour east of .............. Then turn down S...... H...... road and you end up at the gate the key for the gate is the box on the left.

AnswerID: 210424

Follow Up By: Mbr - Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 07:21

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 07:21
Hi Eric,

Thanks for the directions. Just one question... Are we talking about S..... H...... road in Queensland ? lol

Cheers...Taz
FollowupID: 470446

Reply By: Big Woody - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 06:23

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 06:23
Hi Taz,

We are lucky enough to have all that you have mentioned less than half an hour from our home near Bundaberg.

All of the campsites are less than 10 metres from the waters edge. There is no need to travel for good fishing as the best spots are right in front of the camp. We take our tinny, and motorbikes for the kids although it is all sand tracks and a mate has a couple of quad bikes which work better in the sand. The camping is free and very quiet as it is a dead end. There is only a small window of about 3 or 4 hours to get in and out because of the tide so this tends to keep a lot of day trippers out of the area too.

There is heaps to do as we are camped on a narrow point beside the river with nice safe swimming for the kids and about 400 metres behind us is a long white sandy beach on the ocean side. I wouldn't call it a surf beach as it is protected to some extent by Fraser Island but it does have swell with breaking waves. You can also head upstream in your boat for about 10km with plenty of side channels into the mangroves for good fishing/crabbing too. Plenty of live bait to use and using castnets to catch it in Qld is legal. Also plenty of yabbies to pump. It is safe here to swim all year round as the stingers don't really start until Agnes Water/1770 and Crocs don't start until about Gladstone.

Best of all we can still have a camp fire. WOW!!! We camped there in September school holidays and there was only 4 other camps in about 2km. The area is deemed a conservation area and the QNPWS have a sign up banning domestic animals. There doesn't seem to be any other rules except for only being allowed to drive north of the 4wd beach access point as to the south it leads into a residential area with a designated and patrolled swimming zone.

We will be there over Christmas with friends coming up from NSW and will keep using it until they over regulate this area too and then continue the ongoing search for something similar. Our back up plan is that we have a small yacht and can sail to the western beach on Fraser Island and beach the yacht in places where it cannot be accessed by 4wd. This way we get our remote undisturbed camping in a pristine environment and it costs us nothing for barge fees, 4wd permit, or camping permit (sleep on boat) and even the cost of getting there is free. It takes about 8-10 hours to sail there. We can walk 500 metres into freshwater lakes that are probably only visited by half a dozen people per year and if the weather really blows up we can shelter inside one of several creeks on the western side of the island, one of which (Wathumba Ck) even has toilets. It is sad to say that this may be one of the only ways in the future to access good, clean, quiet campsites without to many rules.

All this sounds great but I don't know about driving all the way from Canberra though???

Brett
AnswerID: 210425

Follow Up By: Mbr - Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 07:43

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 07:43
Hi Brett,

It does sound like a fantastic spot. I will try and convince my wife next summer as I don't get home till early Feb and we have a baby due in April.

A 2-3 day drive should get us to Bundaberg (with a quick trip to the rum factory for a couple of litres), camp for a week and then drive home. Sounds like a nice Xmas holiday next year.

We have a 50cc quad which should have no dramas but I might have to air down the tyres on the CRF80 to improve sand performance.

I have read of people travelling south from Fraser and camping on the beach. In the pics I have seen there is a river or lake inland from the beach. Is the spot you referring to in this area ?

Cheers...Taz
FollowupID: 470451

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 07:48

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 07:48
This statement bothers me

We take our tinny, and "motorbikes for the kids" although it is all sand tracks and a mate has a "couple of quad bikes" which work better in the sand. The camping is free and very "quiet"

Quiet you say, how is this possible!!!!

FollowupID: 470453

Follow Up By: Mbr - Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 08:00

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 08:00
Baz,

Perhaps he means quiet as in isolated from other campers so that they are not disturbed by our kids or our toys including my Kipor generator.

I appreciate peace, quiet and tranquility when I can get it but that doesn't happen often when you have 4 excited and active kids who want to make the most of their time away from home and have just spent a day or two cooped up in a vehicle travelling.

In that context "quiet" is a relative term...lol

The more active the kids are during the day the earlier they crash into bed allowing my wife and I some peace and relaxation in the evenings.

Cheers...Taz
FollowupID: 470458

Follow Up By: Big Woody - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 09:16

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 09:16
Hi Redback,
Yes Taz is correct in his reply. I wouldn't dream of allowing the kids to use bikes or run a generator within earshot of another camp. Generally the riding is for a purpose eg. to load up with fishing gear to get to another spot or to get to the sand flats for pumping yabbies etc.
I love my peace and quiet and have no problem with kids starting bikes and then going off to explore some sand tracks that may be a few kilometers away where there are no other campers. The bikes start and take off and then return half an hour later, this is not disturbing the peace and quiet. I can assure you that riding around the campsite is not on. Actually I have noticed them riding less and less anyway as we have 9000 acres of mountain country that borders 50,000 acres of state forest so when we want to go riding, we do it properly for up to a week at a time.

Taz,
I think the area you are refering to is between Noosa and Rainbow Beach. Just North of the Noosa River is a place called Tewantin, you can access the beach at this point and drive up Teewah Beach past Double Island Point and either up the beach past the coloured sands to the township of Rainbow Beach or via a short inland track past Lake Freshwater to the township.There is a campground near the start of the Freshwater Track as well as a stretch of beach south of Double Island Point where beach camping is permitted. You are in a National Park through this area so you will not be able to take motorbikes/quads for the kids.
In behind Teewah Beach is a large lake system which is the upper reaches of the Noosa River. The largest of these is Lake Cootharabah. Thie is a great place to explore especially with sailboats and canoes as it can be quite shallow in places. The lake system is not really accessible from Teewah Beach side and is best accessed through a road system from the Pacific Highway south of Gympie around a place called Pomona.
I am not aware of any free camping on the lake edge but it has been quite a few years since we explored that area so I am only working from memory here. There are some commercial campgrounds but I would imagine that they could get rather busy in holiday season.
I have found that if I focus on places North of Fraser Island, generally we stay outside of the target areas that the majority of the crowds from Brisbane tend to travel to for camping holidays and if we pick our times right, we can have most places virtually to ourselves.
Be quick though, I lived at 1770 until 3 years ago and there was some great free beach camping between Agnes Water and Deepwater National Park, but this too has now been closed off to 4wd and is only accessible by foot.

Brett
FollowupID: 470474

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 10:22

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 10:22
Don't think i'm having a go cause i'm not, i ride bikes too but i try to seperate the camping and bike trips, nothing more annoying than having kids and adults riding around the camping area, Bungleboori in Newnes west of Sydney springs to mind.

Sounds as though you guys respect other campers, which is getting harder tofind these days.

Hope you find a suitable spot.

Jenolan campground is popular with bikes and you can go further in from the road if you want a bit more privacy, just be aware of the State forest ranger as he will probably be active this time of year.

FollowupID: 470480

Follow Up By: youngharry52 - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 12:06

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 12:06
gday woody,

do u mind if i email you? i suspect i mayknow where you mean but havent been there at this point. it does sound very inviting........
FollowupID: 470499

Follow Up By: Big Woody - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 16:15

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 16:15
Hi Youngharry,

No I don't mind mate and you too Taz if you want to contact me my email is

l i g h t h o u s e 6 9 (at) bigpond.com

(delete spaces and change to @ symbol)

cheers,
Brett
FollowupID: 470549

Follow Up By: ads_gu - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 17:15

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 17:15
Woody,
I live in the township where this paradise can be accessed from, so I can back up your claims. There is very little traffic up that way and is a very nice place to be for a few days. Even though I live there, when we go up the point, it feels a million miles away from anywhere.
I have heard rumours that NPWS are going to start charging people for the privelage, so i guess the cat is out of the bag a little.

Adam
FollowupID: 470561

Follow Up By: Big Woody - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 17:52

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 17:52
Hi Adam,

Yes I have heard the rumour too but I am starting to get used to this small town chatter after moving from the Gold Coast 7 years ago and I tend not to take too much notice of it now.
I am sure they may eventually want permits to access but it going to be difficult for them to regulate with such restricted access due to the tides.
We'll cross that bridge when it happens I suppose and look further afield.
My next move might be Cooktown I think!

You are not the Adam from Adam and Kelly are you?

Brett
FollowupID: 470571

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 18:20

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 18:20
Other side of the river a council c/van park ? ? last Xmas / new years counted 58 tinnys on the "beach" and looking accross the water seemed a much better place.
FollowupID: 470575

Follow Up By: ads_gu - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 22:30

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 22:30
Alloy,
Yep thats the one. Thec/van park is nice but does get crowded.

Woody,
My wifes name is Kristi, but i am pretty sure i know the Adam you are talking about. I had a game of golf with him a few months ago, and he mentioned he had some friends that went up the point with him.. Maybe you?

Adam
FollowupID: 470600

Follow Up By: Big Woody - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 00:36

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 00:36
Hi Adam,
I didn't think you were the right Adam as I asume you have a GU Patrol by your user name and I know Adam has a Triton.
My best friends are Kelly's sister and brother in law so that is how I know him but we don't see a lot of each other. He was up at the point when we went in September so I'd say we are talking about the same bloke.

I didn't think there were many EO users around this area so it is good to catch up with some locals for a change.

Alloy,
I have never been at Christmas before as we usually plan our trips away to be off-season but 58 tinnies on the other side of the river and that is not counting the ones that are out fishing, WOW, that is a bit scary. We might be putting up with a bit of outboard motor noise by the sound of it. I bet the Fisheries drop in for a check on everyone too. Oh well, I am sure that is nothing compared to Inskip point over the next few weeks. If it is too crowded we will come home and jump in the trailer sailer and go and try the new entrance into Skyringville and just camp in there for the week. I hear the old entrance is gradually closing up since the new one broke through.

Brett
FollowupID: 470630

Reply By: Johnny boy - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 23:50

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 23:50
Hi there
dont know if this is what you want and it aint remote but if ya come up to syd and drive about 30 min out of windsor on your way to wisemansferry you will come accross a place called Pacific park it is a water ski park on the hawksbury river so that covers the water side of things and there is a motorbike park there also now its not bush camping but all the same you still camp and I have seen pets there ( dont know if they should have been ?) and I think they just built new shower and toilets there also .
ask for Dave ....(02) 45791019.

regards J.B.
AnswerID: 210590