Four days to change a tyre...........................................

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 23:25
ThreadID: 40360 Views:3647 Replies:10 FollowUps:9
Monday:

Think I should remove Roadslippers from rims and fit MRF's. Think about it for too long and the day heats up. Disappear into house.

Tuesday:

Move tyres from one side of garage to work area. Phone rings. Pipe burst at Art Centre, expertise needed(or rather bring your tools please). Half day mucking around and other half hiding in house.

Wednesday:

All intention of doing job but day heats up to 40 and disappear into house again.

Thursday:

Its raining and its cool. Must do that job this morning. Remember dog has to go to Vet. Bugger!. Start splitting rims at 2pm and finish job at 3pm

Friday:

When I stop reading the Phryday Phunnies on EO I must fit the wheels to the trailer.

Bugger, nearly a whole week has gone by. Such is life.....:-D

Reply By: Member - John - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 23:42

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 23:42
Thank you..................priceless

AnswerID: 210409

Reply By: rev's - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 23:49

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 23:49
Go on get it over and done with straight away, don't think about it for too long it just gets worse and the job still need to be done. Have you heard of plugs ?available from any 4wd accessories distributor, there so easy don't even have to take the tyre off the vehicle.

Get that job done now!!

Rev's
AnswerID: 210410

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 00:31

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 00:31
Hey rev's,

As far as I can see and read the rims are split rims.
1.... They have tubes, rendering plugs usless
2.... It is illegal to have split rims without tubes, same as retreads.
3 ....Even if u tried to go tubless on split rims u would not have any succsess
FollowupID: 470430

Follow Up By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 08:06

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 08:06
Hey Rev's

Just in case there is not a large amount of tongue in cheek or a case of sarcasm, Willems major expense for any trip to date is the purchase of more plugs. I think he buys them by the gross. Hence the change to splits.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

FollowupID: 470459

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 09:04

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 09:04
Hahahaha Wim, ...yes you are right!!!

I seem to have used 55 plugs in the last year. One tyre took 8(had to toss it in the end...bloody Cooper...lol).

FollowupID: 470470

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 10:18

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 10:18
Revs

This time I am talking about split rims

I have

5 Cooper STT's on alloys( most with multiple plugs stuck in them)
5 Eldorado ZTR's on Speedy steels( some with plugs)
10 Roadgrippers on splits
4 MRF 14 ply casings

5 MRF 12ply on order

FollowupID: 470478

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 01:10

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 01:10
If you can afford to blow days like that then I have one thing to say to you Willem.

Get a hair cut and get a real job. lol.

Every now and then someone posts something on this site that makes me truly jealous.

It's usually you......................lucky, lucky, ba$%#*&

Duncs.

ps Have a great weekend. Wish I could be there.
AnswerID: 210418

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 02:17

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 02:17
So what's yer hurry???????

;-)))
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 210422

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 08:16

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 08:16
Willem, my father once told me that's why God invented bosses. For days/jobs when we didn't really feel like it :))
AnswerID: 210431

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 09:00

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 09:00
Relax Willem...take it easy old son...don't bust a gut ...there is always tomorrow

AnswerID: 210438

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 09:08

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 09:08
Hahahaha...I have to do the job while the missus isn't looking as stomping the split rim down into place with my boots on requires some effort. Having had both knees replaced I must be a tad careful. Yes I know, use a rubber mallet!!! They don't always work that well. The ole boot and some dishwasing liquid is best.

FollowupID: 470471

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 11:02

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 11:02
I totally agree. My legs aren't the best, and stomping around on the rims can be stressful. One rim I had to use a sledgehammer on ! Boy was that tight. A river of suds and finally I got sick of it and whack ! I guess the rust had finally got to it.
That was the practise rim and left in the shed.
FollowupID: 470484

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 21:58

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 21:58
Ahhh Footy.....you have to clean the rust off each rim and paint the area before reassembling. Supposed to do that every year I am told...and it makes sense but its a bugger of a job...:-D
FollowupID: 470596

Reply By: Redback - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 09:09

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 09:09
Sounds like a normal working week for me mate, seeing as i work for a local council here in Sydney ;-))

Life too short to rush things:-))
AnswerID: 210441

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 09:17

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 09:17
Willem, just bring the wheel into the house, repair it on the kitchen table, and all would have been well :-))))
AnswerID: 210445

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 14:28

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 14:28
Obviously the house has air con so doing the job inside is the answer.
But not on the kitchen table - his knees aren't the best and stomping around up there would be dangerous. I suggest the lounge room floor with the tele on the cricket would be a far better alternative.
Cheers from the Moose
FollowupID: 470526

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 17:06

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 17:06
UNtil the local counciller got home hahahahah

FollowupID: 470558

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 23:51

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 23:51
Hey Willie, get a large deadblow rubber mallet, works a treat, and much cheaper than knee joints :-))

AND - had a brain storm for you at work the other day, was on the taylor dunn electric buggy ute thing we use around the workshop, noticed the valve stem was missing on one wheel, but the tyre was still nicely inflated, like a fourby tyre with 28 psi or so in it. upon closer inspection the tyres are filled with a rubber foam compound, they must fill them through the valve stem then slosh it around as it goes off and forms a foam.

Would be great for your off track slow speed adventures, no plugs needed !!

cheers mate Brad
AnswerID: 210728

Reply By: Bilbo - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 00:11

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 00:11
Willem,

Look at my signature line below and don't stress over it mate.

I've got jobs that have been waiting 28 years and still not done.

You young folk, going rushing at everything,,,,,,,

Bilbo
AnswerID: 210730