Most Western Point

Submitted: Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 01:28
ThreadID: 40363 Views:3242 Replies:9 FollowUps:6
Anyone got any info on the Most Western point of our Country and what the track is like .

Doug

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 05:44

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 05:44
Don't answer....I've gone this morning

AnswerID: 210423

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 10:59

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 10:59
Doug,

We are publishing a brand new trek on this exact item today. We have been working on it for a day or two and it will hopefully hit the server today.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 210462

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 13:22

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 13:22
Thanks mate, had a look at the web site,good one, Damn if i had to deviate to Merriden to pick up to Dozers and Escort them to Maddington this morning but yes it's on the Agenda

Doug

FollowupID: 470819

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 11:16

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 11:16
Steep Point.

I doubt very much if you can actually get your vehicle there now, as the Leyland bothers did in their movie "Wheels Across A Wilderness" showing their trek from Steep Point to Cape Byron.
AnswerID: 210467

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 11:25

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 11:25
I got mine pretty close

FollowupID: 470489

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 22:37

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 22:37
I have a very similar photo with a GQ in it.

Great place to visit, as it was my first real out of the way place visited I found it quite awe inspiring, but you can't quite see South Africa. Maybe if you stood on a chair?

FollowupID: 470601

Reply By: Warrie - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 17:25

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 17:25
Gidday Doug, Steep Point is in Places. Just type it in and check out the 9 pix someone has uploaded. Also other spots within 5km are able to be visited with just a click. The track is long - about 150km each way from the tarred road to Denham but do-able in a day trip if you have to rush. A mate went there in 05 in a Challenger and let the tyres down to 20psi and had no problems. Cheers, Warrie
Warrie

AnswerID: 210518

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 19:55

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 19:55
As mentioned new trek note loaded and updated today see: Site Link

AnswerID: 210536

Follow Up By: atoyot - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 22:47

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 22:47
There doesn't appear to be any mention of Thunder Bay in the trek notes. The ranger directed us there a few years ago, as there are some amazing blow holes there. You need to be pretty careful as the area seems to have the ocean running right underneath it; almost like being on the back of a sleeping dragon is the best way I could describe it. Maybe the area has been closed off. It is a few km south of Steep Point (1.5hrs) along the Zuypdorf cliffs. Well worth the time on the way back.

FollowupID: 470605

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 15:30

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 15:30
Andrew,

They are mentioned and I think these are near Crayfish bay - in the supplied notes these are just notated as Blowholes. I do believe there is a cost line track however the supplied notes did not include this. We can only publish what we are given or research ourselves so if anyone has updates on this or any other trek notes please let us know. We do however work very closely to GPS data so any updates would require track plot type files and waypoints. Thanks for the info - I hope the noted Blowholes are the ones you are referring to.

FollowupID: 470699

Follow Up By: atoyot - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 22:24

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 22:24
Yes, you are right David. I'd say "Thunder Bay" and Crayfish Bay are one and the same. The blowholes would be the one's I'm referring to. I'll eventually get back over there, but it might take some time; I'll put the trek notes on my "todo" list!

FollowupID: 471131

Reply By: Auntie - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 00:01

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 00:01
Did this trek in 2002. A round trip of about 500k. from Denham to Steep Point and Thunder Bay. Steep Point to Thunder Bay takes you along the top of the Zuypdorf Cliffs. A rugged part of the world. Dirk Hartog Island in the distance. Pretty spectacular stuff. Let your tyres down, as they seem quite fair dinkum about it. Signs threatening to fine you heaps if you fail to deflate them. A good days drive though. I did it in my Explorer, with friends in a Discovery and a Prado,and the Explorer was just as capable as those two if not a tad better than them. It was a very memorable day.
AnswerID: 210593

Reply By: Oz Trekker - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 00:46

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 00:46
Steep Point via Dehnam. Good tracks but 4wd access only. If you go to the PlotSwap and Pointplace there is a master treknote available loaded by Exploreoz team member Damien complete with all the info you could ever need. Cheers
Been here, been there, goin again!!

AnswerID: 210602

Reply By: Member - sparra - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 07:04

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 07:04
g'day doug, as you would have already found,it's not a bad track in,20 oddpsi in tyres you should be right. weather pretty good at the moment. i live just around the corner from the point at useless loop. cheers doug and have a good festive season. sparra
AnswerID: 210616

Reply By: Rob from Family First Aid Supplies - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 21:41

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 21:41
you have been told. Steep Point.... we weant there 13years ago in a L300 standard 4x4 with 15" tyres... fully loaded...and i mean FULLY LOADRD 3/4 tyer pressure (my 4x4 cousin expert looked after the tyre pressure),.... and back then nothing but step sand hills. the thing bounced and all the beer got fizzy....late november the sun got us but we had the best time fishing the point...i hope the chair is still there (there was an office chair concreted into the rock right at the very point). once you have been there a week you finialy got the chair for a night or two. one of the best fishing/camping trips ever been on. go around the point and swim on a beautiful in shore reef. clear and clean water. goog luck..i have heard it is easyer to get there nowdays. but only go there when other people don't....spanish macral good in summer. winter fish at night. try balloon fishing with helium. that was the best fun.

robin
AnswerID: 210703