For drawer system

Submitted: Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 01:40
ThreadID: 40447 Views:2186 Replies:8 FollowUps:1
Trying to make my own drawer and box system, I am after the fancy aluminium angle to finnish up the edges and corners.

Any idea where I can get that from?

Tried to google it, no luck and the aluminium shop has just the plain stuff.

Hope I explained it right :)

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 01:57

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 01:57
Try Bunnings, I think I have seen it there.

AnswerID: 210899

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 01:58

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 01:58
I assume you mean the "checker plate" style pattern?

FollowupID: 470960

Reply By: Oz Travellers - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 08:26

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 08:26
I went to a sheet metal shop & got then to bend up some angle from Al. thin gauge chequer plate. These used scrap off cuts & it did'nt cost me all that much. Sparky
AnswerID: 210914

Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:16

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:16
Yup- try your local sheet metal shop. They can guillotine to length & bend to all angles. A few bucks is gonna sve a lot of headaches
AnswerID: 210923

Reply By: disco1942 - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:41

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:41
Have you looked in the Camec catalogue www.camec.com.au/ ? Look in the RV section under Building Materials.

You could try caravan repairers and ships chandlers.

AnswerID: 210931

Reply By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 17:11

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 17:11
Kangas,

I got mine from a shopfitters - they had heaps of offcuts so it didn't cost me mush either.
AnswerID: 211016

Reply By: Pezza (Bris) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 17:22

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 17:22
Hi Kangas,
Bunnings have flat and ribbed (ribs running lengthways) thin gauge ally angle in different sizes, check with the lady at the entrance and she should point you towards the correct isle.

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 211023

Reply By: kangas - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 18:44

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 18:44
finnished up going to Bunnings in Maroochydore and they had that one there.

Not what I was after but it will do the job.

Thanks all for your help

kangas
AnswerID: 211040

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 00:46

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 00:46
For a fraction over what you pay at Bunnings for a 2 metre length a metal specialist that sells 8 metre lengths will give you 400% more ally for your buck.

AnswerID: 211119