Next G is a downgrade compared to CDMA

Submitted: Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 08:14
ThreadID: 40450 Views:3530 Replies:19 FollowUps:25
I upgraded to Next G from CDMA a fortnight ago, I was assured by telstra that the coverage matched CDMA, it does not even come close. Not much better than GSM. After much complaining to Telstra, they terminated my Next G contract and gave me back my old cdma phone. Telstra's coverage maps for Next G are way off beam.

I strongly suggest that others who have upgraded to Next G and have found that they do not have adequate coverage complain loudly to telstra. As CDMA is only around for another 12 months and I have serious doubts as to telstra fixing its network problems in this time what then? Satellite phones are way to expensive.

Reply By: Oz Travellers - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 08:22

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 08:22
I have a CDMA phone & I have had been considering the change. Looks like the consumer gets screwed again! Sparky
AnswerID: 210912

Reply By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 08:24

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 08:24
Your experience adds to the advice I received from a Telstra contracted repairer
some months ago when he got my homeline going, yet again. He said Next G was not a patch on CDMA in fringe areas & to stick to CDMA for as long as possible.
..oldbaz.
AnswerID: 210913

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:37

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:37
Quote " .... advice I received from a Telstra contracted repairer some months ago..."

So how had he tested it then as it was up and running from only 6th of November? Interesting Baz
FollowupID: 471041

Follow Up By: Big_Pete - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:44

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:44
Yes most of my problem is that my CDMA usage is in fringe areas. But having said that CDMA works adequately , so far Next G does not.
FollowupID: 471046

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:21

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:21
Funny Pete, but a guy who used the NextG phones travelling in Western NSW and North Western Victoria said exactly the opposite last week.

Nick R who also uses his in fringe areas is getting good reception.

I wonder what phone people are using. Have an LG phone here and I know Nick has two Samsungs. I know that my digital Nokia has heaps better capability than the previous Siemens which was hopeless, indeed both the Siemens. Hardly surprising they aren't around any more as a phone brand!

I have no doubt there is good information and not so good information, I am trying to sort which is which without the hype and mis-information. I also have no doubt that Telstra will pick up the cudgel with pressure. They have already stated it will be boosted in power next year, then more in 2008. I believe they will also give it more bandwidth for data when CDMA is packed away
FollowupID: 471110

Reply By: franga - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 08:28

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 08:28
Hi Big_Pete
Thanks for the info, Telstra have been on to me to upgrade as well, the only reason i haven't as yet is I'm waiting the the nokia phones to come out so i can use my existing car kit with new cradle.
What area do you operate in?
I operate all throughout CQ and i need the coverage for business purposes.
The brother is down Vic way and he just signed up, got broadband as well and reckons the broadband side of it is supercharged, he can't believe how fast it is.
Anyway will keep ears & eyes focused an see what future brings

Cheers with beers

Franga
AnswerID: 210915

Follow Up By: Big_Pete - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:41

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:41
I use CDMA around Wingham NSW and surrounding areas in the country where the CDMA signal is mostly in fringe areas. Wingham has GSM coverage the surrounding areas do not.
FollowupID: 471043

Reply By: Ozrover - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 08:31

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 08:31
I also was looking at moving over to Next G from CDMA, & the Optus rep that I spoke to, said that Next G will not be upgraded to fully replace CDMA until CDMA is terminated!!

AnswerID: 210916

Reply By: Grungle - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 08:45

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 08:45
I know of a company up here in central Qld that is contracted to upgrade the cellular sites and they have only completed less than half of the 100 sites that they are responsible for. Takes around 4 days for each one so they still have a long way to go. I will be waiting until the last minute when I know when all sites are up and running.

AnswerID: 210918

Follow Up By: Big_Pete - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:36

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:36
Yes I think we will all be left waiting for a long time yet.
FollowupID: 471039

Reply By: XpLoiT - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 08:58

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 08:58
what about the vodafone cards you can get? how is their coverage?

dave

The Grey Nomads
Relaxed forum for the grey nomad community to keep in touch
AnswerID: 210919

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:39

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:39
I think Vodaphone use Telstra for some services but not Next G
FollowupID: 471042

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 18:28

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 18:28
I have heard Vodaphone referred to as Jokaphone due to inadequate coverage - could not be worse than Optus though ..or was that 'Opeless

FollowupID: 471074

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:25

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:25
Greg, I think Optus is gradualy trying to fill in round our area - western end of the Great Ocean Road, but they are a long way behind, despite the industrialisation of the gas industry. Vodaphone not within Cooeeeee..ee...e Think the Jokaphone sounds right.
FollowupID: 471111

Reply By: Redback - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:16

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:16
Apparently coverage goes from 95% to 98% over CDMA, and seeing as these persentages are population, not area, means nothing in rural Australia and for people living in rural areas.

Don't ya just love the way Telstra markets things, they promise better, and give the same or less.

How very ordinary Telstra, take a bow!!

AnswerID: 210922

Follow Up By: Big_Pete - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:35

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:35
Its quite simple Australia's population has increased since Telstra's last survey, the coverage has not.
FollowupID: 471038

Reply By: ozdragon - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:37

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:37
They did say in wouldnt be fully implemented untill 2008 so there is no point complaining. The only complaint I would make is the blatent lies being told by telstra dealers or the totally lack of training by telstra itself. It pays to do your own research. And besides since when has an assurance by telstra been any good

AnswerID: 210928

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:45

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:45
>>> As CDMA is only around for another 12 months and I have serious doubts as to telstra fixing its network problems in this time what then?

according to the telstra bloke here at work (We have 2 fulltime telstra people here to fix phukups daily!) they cant turn CDMA off until they have equivilant coverage... I disbelieve him

Ive had arguements with dudes in telstra shops who assure me a 3G phone will work at home - they didnt know where I lived.... Keeping my CDMA phone until last days possible.. would like a new one actually, I'd go that over anything else if I could find a store selling CDMA still
AnswerID: 210932

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:51

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:51
Try an Australia Post shop - I picked up a CDMA Samsung there for about $90.
T.R.
FollowupID: 470984

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:57

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:57
Telstra CDMA (and others) coverage map if you don't have it bookmarked
Site Link

T.R.
FollowupID: 470985

Follow Up By: Big_Pete - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:33

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:33
I wanted a new phone too, thats why I upgraded to Next G, I didnt want to spend money on CDMA when telstra are killing it off.
FollowupID: 471037

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:50

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:50
Here we go again...........the most misunderstood concept in telecommunications at the moment.

Big Pete,

Be aware there are two things at play here, COVERAGE, and ACCESS.

Coverage: The coverage is there, it is technically the same as CDMA, using the same antennas in the same poles, only with some of the old CDMA equipment removed, and the new NextG equipment installed. They are both about the same frequency and the same power. NextG digital technology superior to CDMA for noise cancellation and technically range, "pulling a signal out of mud".

Access: There is only limited installations of the new NextG network equipment happening in the poles as people are being switched over (progressively running one system up and the other one down). This means for example that if one receiver in the Telstra poles can receive 50 calls on the NextG network and there are 70 people trying to get through, then 20 people miss out. This may appear as "poor coverage" (ie good signal strength, but can't connect), but is in fact a "poor access" issue.

Most of the present issues are in fact ACCESS issues, and the situation will improve as more poles get more NextG equipment installed (typical pole has ~20-40 Tx/Rx units that drive the antennas, they have been replacing a fraction of those at a time on a "cyclical" basis). Conversely the situation for CDMA will slowly get worse, with increasing access issues as the old CDMA equipment is removed (but still the same "true" coverage).

The big answer is to hang onto CDMA equipment until you are having access problems with it, then change over. Be aware of the flipside, that the access to the NextG network will be a bit iffy but improving, until all the CDMA system is closed down.
AnswerID: 210944

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:53

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:53
Two other points, don't be conned into changing over by salesmen. The deals they are doing now will still be there when you want to change (possibly even better as they become more desperate to get ppl off CDMA). You should also have a better range of phones to chose from if you delay your decision.
FollowupID: 470995

Follow Up By: joc45 - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 15:17

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 15:17
Gary,
I concur with the above technical issues.
While virtually all base stations have been fitted out with Next-G, there are only a limited number of Tx/Rx units in each base, which will increase as they cut back CDMA, (they are sharing the same frequency band, so some channels have to be kept for CDMA until it is fully phased out) so congestion will be an issue until then. Towards the closing of the old analogue network, its performance was abysmal as TX/Rx's were shut down, resulting in congestion - it had no less coverage, just less individual circuits available to the users.
Next-G is in reality Wideband CDMA, so it has all the advantages of the original CDMA, plus the advantages of speed, extra facilities, and newer technologies to drag a weaker signal out of the noise.
On replacement phones, I have recently received an offer from Telstra to upgrade my pre-paid CDMA to a Next-G plan (not a pre-paid). The handsets are $0, but it's a 24 month plan. Only two handsets are on offer, not sure if either of those can take an in-car kit with external antenna - the Telstra web page doesn't seem to offer this on any of the 6 models listed. Think I'll wait a while.
Gerry
FollowupID: 471028

Follow Up By: Big_Pete - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:31

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:31
So in other words Next G will not be become really effective until CDMA is turned off, and in the mean time we wait as CDMA becomes useless.
FollowupID: 471036

Follow Up By: joc45 - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 18:59

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 18:59
Big Pete,
Not quite as bad as you describe, but Next-G will not be optimal till the CDMA is completely phased out. Just depends on how many people are trying to make a phone call in the cell at one time. If there are only a few, then the system should work at full performance, but if lots are trying to make a call in that cell, then they may not get a phone channel.
Also, as I read the technology, in technical terms, several customers share the same radio frequency channel (and there are many RF channels in the band), but customers are separated by codes (hence Code Division Multiple Access). The more people using that channel at once, the poorer the performance, and I would expect that the software by design, would limit the number of people using that one RF channel to keep the performance to an acceptable level. I'm guessing, but it may be that while there are a limited number of RF channels, the software limits may have been extended to allow more people to use the RF channel, with a resultant degradation of performance. Don't quote me on that, tho.
Gerry
FollowupID: 471077

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:54

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:54
I upgrade to Next G and coverage was useless. On complaining was discovered that the phone was faulty. Phone replaced and coverage better than CDMA.
According to the dealer there are heaps of problems with the phones.

Neil
AnswerID: 210947

Follow Up By: Big_Pete - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:28

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:28
You could be right, but I was not offered another Next G handset. Only option I got was to re enable my old cdma.
FollowupID: 471035

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:27

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:27
Pete, you may have a poor handset or poor brand. What the hell is it? You are just badmouthing without the research.
FollowupID: 471115

Follow Up By: Big_Pete - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 07:16

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 07:16
It was the Telstra 850 ZTE
FollowupID: 471177

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 08:51

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 08:51
Telstra got a Chinese manufacturere to make some, guess it may be that one. Oils ain't oils mate.
FollowupID: 471184

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:35

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:35
I'm having the same problem cant wait for nokia to bring a real handset out grrrrrrr
AnswerID: 211002

Reply By: Big_Pete - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:45

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:45
Thank you to all for your replies Pete.
AnswerID: 211007

Reply By: 3F62 - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 17:00

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 17:00
My wife & I have just done the CDMA to Next G upgrade....... Hers a Samsung & mine a LG as it came with a free full incar kit with ext antenna capable...... The samsung Vs my old Nokia CDMA seem on par for coverage, but the LG is less by lots, so telstra is swaping for another handset.......

Being an old radio/communications buff from way back I had a look on the Aust Comms Managment Authority website @ the Radio repeater sites & licences in my area......... these 2 are on the same tower on the same hill.

CDMA, licenced to transmit @ 199.50 watts via a 12.5 db Vertical antenna

Next G, licenced to transmit @ 31.60 watts via a 17.5 db slant antenna

Thats a pretty big difference wouldn't you say !!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 211013

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:36

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:36
Pobably looking at one NextG versus 4-5 CDMA Tx/Rx sets until the upgrade is done. My guess is it will change in time.
FollowupID: 471096

Reply By: Big_Pete - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 17:49

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 17:49
For anyone that is interested, check this out its a telstra website with complaints about telstra. Site Link
AnswerID: 211030

Reply By: disco driver - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 17:50

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 17:50
Why can't they (Telstra,Optus or anyone else) produce a mobile phone that is just a phone.

I have no wish or need to own a phone/high tech video camera, still camera, radio,TV, MP3 player, wireless computer, notebook, email, GPS thingy with hundreds of extra special features available at the press of a button or key..

All I need is a thing that goes "ring ring", I pick it up ,press one button, say hello and can talk to whoever rang me and then hang up knowing that my message has been received at the other end and/or vice versa.

Is that too much to ask????

Disco

AnswerID: 211031

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 18:21

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 18:21
Is that to much to ask ?? YES ,,,it is . Bit like walking into a car yard and asking for a "basic" vehicle ,, no such thing any more.
FollowupID: 471072

Follow Up By: honestjohn - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:05

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:05
i agree 100% disco driver just something that does what cdma does ?probably too easy
FollowupID: 471089

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 00:16

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 00:16
I agree Disco,

I had a salesperson from Telstra rang me a couple of weeks ago, trying to "encourage" me to upgrade from the CDMA phone to a new beaut NextG one.

I advised him I'm not interested until NextG is fully operational AND they can provide a phone with NO CAMERA in it.

I work for a Company that has banned camera phones and possession of one on-site, can lead to dismissal. (I don't wamt a bloody camera in my phone anyway)

I have a very good GSM phone for normal use and a prepaid CDMA phone for use when I'm out of the metro area. None have a camera incorporated in them.

My intention is to combine the two into the one NextG phone account when the above two criteria have been satisfied and not a moment sooner.

FollowupID: 471162

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:04

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:04
I picked up a new Motorola Maxx V6 phone on NextG last week. Going great so far but I have not actually been outside metro Adelaide as yet!

Within Adelaide I get much better call quality than my previous Nokia 6255 on CDMA. Lots of great features on the phone including ability to take a 2Gb flash card negating the need to buy an iPod. $0 upfront on $40 a month plan for 24 months. Got a $149 H700 bluetooth earpiece as an incentive for upgrading from CDMA.

Going to Sydney next week so will see how the regional coverage is going. See how far into the Hay plains I get before being out of range.

Muddy
AnswerID: 211066

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 21:25

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 21:25
Muddy,

Have you made that trip to Sydney yet?

I have just moved to Sydney and my CDMA has no coverage in the new house, nor does it have coverage where I am working. Have been thinking about Next G as a replacement buyt don't want t find it is useless in the bush.

Thanks in anticipation of your answer.

FollowupID: 472608

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 23:43

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 23:43
Pete
Geez no wonder the poms can't understand us , 1 you post
Next G is a downgrade compared to CDMA
then you start the post with I upgraded to Next G from CDMA ,PETE is it an upgrade or a downgrade..LOL

ME

AnswerID: 211113

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 23:49

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 23:49
Pete
just joking in my first reply , but really though when you think about it CDMA has and is a good system , it does what I need in a mobile , I don't need all the other crap and camera's, i NEED A GOOD phone and at the moment I have one, as for Satellite phones do they need to be so expensive, I think not, for next G i guess it will get better coverage as time passes and more area's are switched on , give it time

Doug

AnswerID: 211114