Customline Camping Trailer

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 10:36
ThreadID: 40487 Views:7973 Replies:10 FollowUps:26
Just trying to find out whether anyone out there has a Customline camping trailer (Queensland), and what you think of it. On the surface they appear good quality for an excellent price. I don't plan on doing anything too severe, but I usually buy things that are heavy duty just in case. Thanks

Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 11:03

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 11:03
Join www.campertrailers.org/ group, theire are a few Customline owners
there. I haven't seen a bad word about them.

Tambo Campers in Victoria is similar as well...
AnswerID: 211161

Follow Up By: Stan - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:14

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:14
Thanks Stan,
That's the good thing about this site, you get to learn about other useful links. Thanks again.
FollowupID: 471213

Reply By: wazab - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 11:05

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 11:05
stan i spent ages looking at different types of camper trailers and ended up getting a local trailer builder to make a off road trailer exactly how i wanted it got the canvas work done to our requirements then let the missus get the kitchen set up she wanted (that went down well) and saved big heaps on the price of a showroom job. just a thought. cheers
AnswerID: 211162

Follow Up By: Stan - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:19

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:19
Wazab,
I have been playing around with the same idea. I know this guy's canvas work is excellent, and he will fit it to your existing trailer. I just have to work out whether I will actually save anything buy buying the trailer separately, given the prices of decent offroad trailers. Have you got the basic spec's of your trailer, to give me an idea? Thanks.
FollowupID: 471214

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:47

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:47
Great tent maker and overall not a bad trailer. Had problems with my suspension and not overly happy with his response - this goes back a few years now and he may have picked up his game in this area. Basically the 1900Kg rating only applies to the axle and bearings NOT the springs, mine came with 1200Kg springs on the basis that no one loads any more than that - we did! So know what your dealing with regarding the springs and ultimately your load. Planning for a tinnie on top, water tank and 4 jerries then load the trailer and you will be surprised of the weight but so long as you find out before you go off road there is plenty of time to fit the correct springs.

AnswerID: 211177

Follow Up By: Stan - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:39

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:39
Thanks for that, I took it for granted that the springs would be rated to the same limit. I suppose it's like the old saying, "you only get what you ask for". Thanks again.
FollowupID: 471272

Reply By: Utemad - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:02

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:02
We've got a Customline almost. It is waiting to get picked up from their factory but I can't get there til Friday :(

It seemed pretty good quality to me. There are two in our club. One guy is happy and the other guy who only got the top has had a few canvas issues. The guy who is happy has had his two years and the other guys is older still. So hopefully they sorted the canvas issues since then.

We will be taking ours for a quick week long trip over New Years so will get back to you if I remember.
AnswerID: 211178

Follow Up By: Stan - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:40

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:40
Thanks, that would be good if you could.
FollowupID: 471273

Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 00:11

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 00:11
Well time for your update. We went to Double Island Point in Qld between Christmas and New Years. 5 days/4 nights. It drizzled and rained constantly for the first three days. We didn't get a single drop of water in the tent. Some water came in the annex but it turned out I hadn't secured/sealed some velcro properly. Was fine after I sorted that bit.
The trailer towed perfectly behind our Discovery through the soft sand. Reversing was made very easy which I guess is a virtue of the long draw bar. Our rear suspension did not droop with the camper connected. Not sure what rating our rear springs are but they are 2in lifted King springs that were fitted by the previous owner.
The only down points I noticed are that it is a PITA to get the passenger side jerry can out of its holder if the tent is fully setup with annex and annex walls. Just remember to remove it before you set up or don't be in a hurry. Not a real problem but something to remember.
The other problem that I had not given any previous thought to is that my wife cannot close the camper when you lift the lid with the tent on it. She is 5 foot 2 inches tall and weighs 50kg. She has to climb on the mud guard just to reach it and then with all her weight hanging off it it will not close. Admittedly funny to watch however it could become a problem in the future. I am 6 foot 2 inches and 90kg and I need to pull down hard to close it. It would however seem that the power in the gas struts is needed as when the lid is almost closed and you are bearing most of the weight of the lid in your hands it is quite heavy.
Since we haven't built our pull out kitchen yet if the trailer is not perfectly level there is nothing to prevent the tailgate from closing (or opening wider). So it would be good to have some sort of locking pin to keep it in the 90 degree position.
We didn't get the kitchen so can't comment on that.
The annex walls are zip on and not velcro like some others. I prefer the zip on myself but it is probably a personal thing.
I would definately get the extra support poles. There are 4 inside the tent and 4 for the annex. The annex poles go from top to top of poles to create a full frame work. This enabled us to only use the ropes on the corner poles. It also removes the need for two of the front annex poles so it is more open and less ropes to trip over. Cost for all 8 poles is about $120 possibly $130.
The trailer itself didn't leak water either. Not into the main section or the front box. Neither when travelling or when stationary.

That is all I can think of at the moment. Ask away if there is anything else you'd like to know or if you want photos.
FollowupID: 473414

Follow Up By: Stan - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 20:57

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 20:57
Thanks for the great detailed response. We have just done the Bi-annual Christmas trip to the in-laws Via Dubbo / Blue Mountains / Port Macquarie, and back to Brisbane, and we went through some heavy weather around Grafton, and it really got me thinking about the leaking issue, so your message is timely. I am also thinking of making my own kitchen, as I am not sure on how I would set up the area in the annex. Would love to see your pictures if possible. Thanks again for taking the time to get back to me.

Stan.
FollowupID: 473590

Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 21:13

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 21:13
Here are some photos for you

FollowupID: 473593

Follow Up By: Stan - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 18:38

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 18:38
Thanks for the photos, makes me want to head to the beach. How did you find the solid jockey wheel on the soft ground, and do you reckon an inflatable one would be better. Are you going to buy a fly to go over the whole setup - do you reckon it's needed? Sorry for all the questions.
FollowupID: 473848

Follow Up By: Utemad - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 19:53

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 19:53
I found the hard jockey wheel fine on soft ground but crap on dry soft sand. An inflatable one might be better on the soft dry sand. The jockey wheel I have is the larger one offered by Customline.
I have one of those blue tarps that is more than large enough to cover the whole setup and more but I don't intend on using it. It would no doubt keep the temps down in the heat but has proved unneccesary for keeping the water out. Either way my style of camping is usually weekend or travelling. The beach trip I just went on of 5 days/4 nights is about the max time I would ever spend in one spot so setting up the tarp is just one more thing to setup and pack away.
I haven't noticed many of our club members using tarps over their campers but not sure what their reasons are for using them or not.
Ask as many questions as you like :-)
FollowupID: 473852

Reply By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:27

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:27
Hi Stan,

We have a Customline Camper, they installed a tent over my original galvanised trailer.

I can only comment on the tent & build quality.

We have owned it now for about 1 1/2 years, and used it approx 8 times.

We went for the whole shebang, ie extended tent, annex & walls

Great tent, waterproof and well built. See my photo's

I would just recommend getting extra roof spreader bars, so roof does not sag too much

I would highly recommend

TonyG

AnswerID: 211180

Follow Up By: Stan - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:42

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:42
Thanks Tony,
I still haven't made up my mind whether to source a separate trailer, and try and save a few dollars, or just buy a complete unit from Customline. Thanks again for your comments.
FollowupID: 471274

Reply By: DaveNQ - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 14:23

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 14:23
Stan,
I have just gone through this same process myself in regards to camper trailers. For me it came down to Customline, Camel and Trackabout. The Trackabout and Camel are very similar but the Trackabout wins on price. In regards to Customline, they are cheaper than both of these other manufacturers but if you do the proper research you will soon workout why. I know people with the Customline and it serves their purpose very well. I want a trailer i can take anywhere with confidence and am prepared to spend the extra $1100 odd dollars for a better quality trailer and canvas. I am going with the Trackabout. They have been very easy to deal with and also very willing to give me any information i wanted. The information from Customline has not been as forthcoming and this also helped me make my decision.

Dave.
AnswerID: 211191

Follow Up By: Stan - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:44

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:44
Thanks Dave,
I will have a look at Trackabout.
FollowupID: 471275

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 16:30

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 16:30
Stan,
Just to give you an idea in regards to the differences between the Customline and Trackabout and why the extra dollars doesnt just go towards marketing, and other fancy stuff.

Customline Drawbar 2.5mm Drawbar-Trackabout 3.0mm
Customline Drawbar in Painted Black Steel-Trackabout Drawbar is Duragal.
Customline has Standard Drawbar setup-Trackabout Deluxe Tourer has triple Drawbar setup.
Customline Canvas is Standard 9ft room with door on end.
Trackabout has Standard 10ft room with door in middle which makes it easier if you have kids like myself. Trackabout also has larger windows and one extra window as standard which is important for ventilation and especially here in Cairns.Also has as standard, floor windows at ground level under trailer which can be left open regardless of rain.
Trackabout also has small features such as checkerplate stone protectors on mudguards. This might not seem like much but if you are planning heaps of offroad work they do come in handy. I have looked at the trailers at Cairns Camper hire which use Trackabouts and you get to see the bits that get sand and rock blasted.
I think the whole process depends solely on what you want from the trailer. I agree with utemad when he says he likes Customline because they have basic trailers which can be speced up as needed. This is especially handy if your working to a budget or do not want to spend a sheit load of money on something that is going to totally exceed your needs.
I believe that both trailers would do the job asked of them, i just like the extras that come with the Trackabout and am prepared to outlay the extra cash.

Dave.
FollowupID: 471446

Follow Up By: Utemad - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 10:55

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 10:55
I picked up my camper yesterday. So now begins the trips and then the fit out when I decide what I really want.

If the Customline does show up any flaws with my usage then I have a pretty comprehensive workshop (at work) that will allow me to make any changes. Plus it will make my fit out easier.

I agree that the Trackabout had some extras but for my use I didn't see the value. No point spending wads of extra cash when I can modify a cheaper unit myself at work if needed.

Whatever you get just remember that if you don't like it you can sell it for what you bought it for and have another go :-) The resale value of camper trailers and most things with 'off road' in the title is amazing.
FollowupID: 472063

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Monday, Dec 25, 2006 at 14:03

Monday, Dec 25, 2006 at 14:03
Cheers utemad, and congratulations on the trailer. Hope all goes well and Have a Merry xmas and a Happy New Year.

FollowupID: 472171

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 16:00

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 16:00
I have the customline.
We came down to three, customline, trakabout (safari) and lifestyle.
As daveNQ says, the customline is the lightest built of these.
We also run pretty light, maybe 800kg max. Have problems finding enough gear to fill the trailer to stop things moving around. Thinking of taking a leaf out to soften the ride.

Choose this one as a compromise between price and quality, and the use it will have. 50% coastal and 50% touring out west. We only use it three or four times a year so couldn't see the point in having $12,000 plus sitting in the front yard doing nothing. Got the customline 2nd hand (12 mths old, 2 uses) with everything for $6,200.00.
Dave can be bit crotchity after he has been to a few shows and he is tired. But I find him good to deal with normally.

Only used it a few times so far and quite happy with it.

I had some issues with others to these three trying to put my 32" od tyres on and not clearing the guards, poor design of the chassis, and poor design of the box and fittings. There is a lot of different designs out there that call themselves 4wd.
AnswerID: 211205

Follow Up By: DaveNQ - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 16:14

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 16:14
Oldplodder,
Thats a pretty good buy. I have been trying to get on to something like that up here but they all want new prices.
Its hard to buy something and do the negotiating and asking questions over the phone. Much easier to be down there and have a look yourself. Cairns Camper Hire have the Trackabout which enables me to have a real good look at them and hire before i buy. It annoys me to know that i have to spend an extra $4000 when i could get a buy like yours.

FollowupID: 471255

Follow Up By: Stan - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:48

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:48
Thanks Mate,
I suppose that's the million dollar question, how much will I use it, and how hard. Like I said I usually buy "super heavy duty", when I may not always need it. Thanks for the advice.

Stan.
FollowupID: 471277

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 18:10

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 18:10
Dave, Stan,

Once we had an idea of makes and models after 12 months of looking at new models, we kept and eye on the trading post and local paper. Took 6 months before this one came up. Almost bought the lifestyle. Lifestyle and trakabout do have better seals and a third drawbar for a start.
We may just have to travel a bit slower (or more carefully) with the customline on a bad road than we would have with the other two.

Trying to buy a CT is almost as bad as trying to buy a car. :o) So many options.
FollowupID: 471281

Reply By: camwill69 - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 18:03

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 18:03
Hi Stan,
Both me and my boss have customlines. He has had his about 6 or 7 years and me only 7 months. I have not had an issue with mine nor has my boss.

They are great value for money and very well finished.

Don't expect to get much info out of dave as you won't. He just seems to go here it is, have a look.

The boss has had his all over the country on some very rough roads with no trailer issues. I thought the trailer was as good as any ($ wise) but would be happy to be proved wrong.

Camwill69
AnswerID: 211215

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 18:45

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 18:45
This is what I actually like about Dave Jenner. He has no marketing or sales departments. He goes to some shows, has a spec sheet and an out of date website.
So I feel of the approx $1000 extra for the Trackabout that most of that goes to Trackabout's sales and marketing team, fancy office and advertising/sponsorship.

Plus I like Dave's idea of having two trailer models (on road and off) and then just having a long options list. Instead of having a few models with fluffy names like 'Adventure. Expedition or Extreme'.
FollowupID: 471284

Follow Up By: Stan - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 08:18

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 08:18
Guys,
Thanks for the feedback. I have talked to Dave a couple of times, at his shop and at the shows, and I agree he isn't the most talkative person, but I have always walked away thinking that the quality of his trailers do the talking for him. It's good to hear about the trailer itself, as I have full confidence in the quality of the canvas work, but I wasn't sure about the ruggedness of the trailer itself.
FollowupID: 471356

Reply By: aka_db - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 06:44

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 06:44
Hi Stan,

We have had a Customline for 6.5 years and think it is u-beaut. We shopped around for about three years before we bought and decided on Customline for combined quality of trailer and canvas. As far as we could tell, the canvas work in particular surpassed all that we looked at. I have since continued to look out of curiosity back still haven't found anything else I'd rather have.

If you do a search on the forum, I think you will find a bunch of comments from other owners, most seem pretty favourable.

One thing we noticed in particular with the Trackabout was that the axle was a long way back. This makes for excellent towing and especially reversing, but puts a lot of additional weight on the towbar and can have ramp-over problems. We had selected Trackabout as our second choice but decided on Customline and have been very happy.

Regards, db...
AnswerID: 211299

Follow Up By: Stan - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 08:06

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 08:06
Thanks Mate,
It's good to get another angle on the trailer. I too like the idea of a long drawbar, but I never stopped to consider the ramp over angle, or ball weight. We have looked at the Customline over the last four years, especially at the camping shows, and really can't see anything else out there that comes close to it when it comes to value for your dollar.

Thanks for your time.
FollowupID: 471355

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 10:32

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 10:32
Stan,

Mate, I just recently upgraded from a Customline Camper trailer to a Kimberley Kamper. I had my Customline for 3 years and in that time it did some pretty hard work without issue. 2 crossings of Australia and 6 weeks on the Gibb River road. Has previously stated I had the springs upgraded from the standard 7 leaf to 9 leaf shackle springs rated up to Two ton. I also upgraded the wheel bearings to 2 ton bearings and never had any issues what so ever. Dave Jenner at Customline had this all done prior to purchase and nothing seemed an issue, great experience for us dealing with him. My parents also have a Customline and did the Cape last year and also haven't had any issues with their Canvas or trailer what so ever and had the extra weight of boat and motor on top.
My Trailer had a 80ltr water tank, 5 jerry can holders, battery box, stone guard, treg hitch, kitchen unit, extra canvas walls......I was more than happy with the performance of this trailer and is true value for money.....Feel free to contact me for pictures or further info......
AnswerID: 211329

Follow Up By: Stan - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 11:32

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 11:32
Thanks Teabag,
You and your parents trips have given me a lot more confidence in the actual trailer construction, and that was really the only lingering doubt in my mind. I agree with your comment on value for money. I spent nearlly a whole day walking around the last Camping show here in Brisbane, and I could not see the justification in some of the prices for the other comparable trailers.
FollowupID: 471383

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 12:28

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 12:28
Stan,

I strongly recommend a little research wrt your expected load requirements. If your going to carry a large load I would strongly recommend going to 9 leaf shackle springs with reinforced drop shackles and upgrading the wheel bearings. If your not intending on carrying a large load then the standard suspension will suffice. It would also be recommended to get shocks added if you have a little extra cash to play with.....Hope this helps?????
FollowupID: 471400

Follow Up By: Stan - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:16

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:16
Teabag,
Can you remember approximately how much your Wheel Bearing / Spring upgrade cost you.
FollowupID: 471422

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:37

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:37
Stan,

It was only about $50 for the Spring upgrade and about $150 for the bearings, give or take.......It wasn't expensive....

FYI, I sold the trailer last year in W.A for what I paid for it 3 years earlier. In effect the trailer cost me nothing during my time in ownership. I put it in the Paper and was sold that afternoon, could have sold it 3-4 times.......Great value....
FollowupID: 471426

Follow Up By: Stan - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:04

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:04
Teabag,
For an extra $200, I think I will just do it up front. I would cover all my bases, and if I ever did sell it, it would probably make it more attractive. Thanks again for all your great advice.

Stan.
FollowupID: 471428

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:18

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:18
Stan,

No worries mate, if you want any further info just email me under my profile and I will endeavour to assist where I can.....I also have some good pictures of the trailer in action......
FollowupID: 471430