Need a new 'puter, any ideas please,,,

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 00:43
ThreadID: 40639 Views:3590 Replies:17 FollowUps:50

A day before Christmas and Sod's Law kicks in,,,,,,,,,,,

This old desktop 'puter of mine is playing up something shocking and I reckon it's dying the slow death. I have to talk nicely to it, read it a bedtime story and give it chocolate every half hour so that it will start up,,,,,,,,,Boot sequence is stuffed and no amount of changing boot settings will get it going. If it's in a good mood it'll start but it's got a mind of it's own over the last few days.

I'm looking for a laptop to replace it as I do a lot of bush mapping and my current laptop is REALLY old - Windows 98, little RAM and slow hard drive and all that stuff.

So I'm killing 2 birds with one stone and I'm the market for a new laptop to do both jobs.

Any recommendations? Or more to the point, with that many on the market today any particular brand to stay away from?

I do a lot of mapping, internet work, word proceessing, a few pics, a bit of LP and CD ripping and NO GAMES!

Bilbo

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 00:49

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 00:49
Dell
AnswerID: 212003

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 01:38

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 01:38
"Dell"??

Dell what?

Buy one or stay away from 'em?

My son's girlfriend is a Canadian that's worked in the USA and reckons they have a terrible rep over there. So, what's the drum here in "Oz"?

Bilbo
FollowupID: 472186

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 02:21

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 02:21
Err thats not Farmer in the D### is it, I would look at the HP and Toshiba and yes Dell is also a good brand

FollowupID: 472188

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:14

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:14
Yes.... D E L L
Link: Site Link

Check out the 3rd notebook down.

Compare the specifications with any local computer shop system available here and Dell can better it, at a lower price.
I have just bought an Inspiron 6400 with 'all the fruit' and printer, after doing the relevant 'homework' required.

The Dell phone service is terrific to date and system 'upgrades' are readilly available.
FollowupID: 472210

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 13:01

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 13:01
Firstly I don't work for Dell nor do I hold shares in the company.
I have two Dell Laptops.
The first is a Inspirion 8200 which I have had for about four years.
This computer has done about 50,000 km's of travel on everything from the Simpson Desert to the Anne Beadell Hwy, The Vic High Country, Tasmania (You get the picture) over the worst corrugations and dust you have seen.
The machine was running mobile mapping (Ozi Explorer and Discover Oz at the same time via Franson GPS Gate) and music through the cars stereo constantly whilst sitting in a Mobile Desk mount.
This means the machine is turned on and runs all day whilst we are driving not put away and taken out only when needed like some do.
It also is used for uploading digital pics etc.
Its also done all my business work Accounting, email etc.

The bottom line is its been superb, never missed a beat and been invaluable to my needs. The kids now also use it for gaming and network parties at their mates places.

Dell's warranty is brilliant and all machines are built to order so you are getting todays technology and components not stuff built 6 months ago with outdated processors etc, An important issue to ensure your machine is as up to date as possible.
If you compare Dell to other brands you will almost always find that the others are behind the game in processor speeds etc offered as they don't build on a just in time basis and hold stock of whatever components they need for months before they are sold.
Thats a reflection of the fact that Dell is the largest manufacturer and seller of computers in the world.

I have now bought another Dell Inspirion 9400 17" wide screen six months ago
and its also a fantastic machine. This one is used for my business work and has not been off road as yet as the 8200 is still going strong for this use.

I also owned a Dell Desk top years ago and it never gave me any issues bar a tape drive problem and I rang them up and the guy was in my office the next day replacing it, excellent service.

Other brands are OK like Toshiba etc but as I said they are machines made months ago and held in stock by the manufacturer/distributor and the retailer until sold.
Dell make to order and my latest laptop was delivered from Malaysia 8 days after I ordered it.

The Dell range is very large and you can have them built to suit you exactly by adding or subtracting components to suit.
They also offer a 3 year on site warranty.

Next time your in a bank or a government office take a look at who's equipment is sitting on the desks, In my experience its mostly Dell.

Have a good look at the web site to get all the info.

FollowupID: 472220

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 14:04

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 14:04
Gee, John that is pretty hard for mission critical puter. I have a little Dell C400 with a 12.1" screen that has been long distances too. Suffered airline handling too as well as corriegations. Like the next one to be a bit more powerful and also tablet style one. The C400 has an external drive enclosure for CD but it's all overtaken by USB connections anyway.
FollowupID: 472233

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 16:03

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 16:03
Dell Inspirion 9140, get two, one for me, I cant get mine till March

FollowupID: 472253

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 16:33

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 16:33
Sorry, no results were found for "9140"

"Inspiron 9400
Multimedia Powerhouse
A generous 17" wide screen for multimedia applications in a notebook packed with productivity and performance
Intel® Core™ Solo or Core™ Duo Processor
Genuine Windows® XP operating systems
17" W\XGA+ or 17" UltraSharp WUXGA display with TrueLife™
512MB Memory.

Priced from A$2,299 (Price Inc. Free Delivery)
Price valid to : 28/12/2006 "

Above is the only Dell Inspiron starting with the number 9***
FollowupID: 472263

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 17:28

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 17:28
Thats the one I would get, sorry about the 40 oops

FollowupID: 472276

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 17:55

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 17:55
Bonz,
what configuration are you getting ???

Mine was built and delivered only 9 days after I had specified what parts I wanted built into it!

With the Intel Core™ Duo Processor and 2,000Mb Ram it absolutely flies.....

FollowupID: 472281

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 18:07

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 18:07
Core duo and 2 gig ram (maybe 1 gig) 240gig hdd

Thats about it, not bad for a mapping pc

FollowupID: 472284

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 18:55

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 18:55
bonz,
$3,200 is a nice mapping computer.... as shown at the Dell web site with the specs nominated by you above '9400 Inspiron' however with only 1 x gb Ram and 200gb hard-drive and no picture capable printer lincluded, lol

FollowupID: 472296

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:41

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:41
I think the screen is too big on the 9400 may have to go smaller

FollowupID: 472305

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 23:06

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 23:06
Bonz, I like the idea of plenty of horsepower and a 14" screen being big enough. After that I guess you guys and poor eyesight want huge widescreen TVs. I just wear my glasses as the screen is just beyond my fingers on a laptop....
FollowupID: 472372

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 23:23

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 23:23
Went from a 15" screen in my first Dell lappy to the 17" wide screen and its a major difference.
Get the 17" if the dollars are not the issue, you won't regret it.

Just remember bigger is always better. ;-))

FollowupID: 472380

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 23:27

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 23:27
with a 15.4" screen with SXGA+ TFT truelife display with 1680 x 1050 pixels you can see the individual hairs on a head, it's the highest pixel rating I could find when I was doing my 'homework'
In real life the typing is heaps smaller on the screen, but it's still readable and the pictures and movies are really 'lifelike'
My suggestion is to use it as a TV also for about $140 extra for the plug-in.
The clarity is the best I've seen on any computer screen.

For comparison check out the number of pixels on various models of opposition notebooks or even TV's, they just don't and can't compare relative to price.
FollowupID: 472381

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 02:23

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 02:23
Hi Bilbo - There are only 4 steps.
1. The Brand - The ASUS brand is world renown for reliability. (Not ACER, but ASUS).
2. The CPU (central processing Unit). I would get an AMD processor - and probably a 64 bit one. Much more value for your $$s and just as reliable.
3. The Graphics Chipset - The cheaper models have the graphic chips integrated. The better models have dedicated ATI or Nvidia graphics. Ask for the dedicated graphics - with their OWN memory. Speeds up displays for maps, Internet sites, and your digital pictures.
The above 3 factors determine the specific model ASUS .
4. Then all you need is specify the amount of RAM (ask for at least 512 meg - preferably 1 gig).

Thats it. I have owned ASUS gear for years, both desk and laptops, and they deserve their reputation for reliability. My laptop goes on every camping trip, and runs the mapping (Oziexplorer) and all the digital pics.
regards........................Keith
AnswerID: 212006

Reply By: Member - John Q (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 06:25

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 06:25
If you are looking for a competitive price check out Harris Technologies (www.ht.com.au) & their web site gives good comparisons on the different brands. They have a store in WA.

AnswerID: 212013

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 09:45

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 09:45
G'day B
Just bought an Asus laptop - a first lappie for me - full of features and plenty of grunt ....... to summarise:
Model F3JC - AP105M (specs are more important than models of course - so many models in stores - all much the same !)
Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T5500 (note the core 2 - some are just core)
1.66GHz speed
120G Hard
1G Ram
Windows XP Media Centre Ed SP2 v2002
2 Year warranty (many only have the 1 year)
1.3Mpx camera built into lid.
4 USB 2 ports
Wireless Lan ready
PCMCIA (Express) and SD card
DVD burner/drive

I saw laptops ranging from $1000 to $4000 - this one had all I need and more. Some useful software on board.

Local retailers (SA) had this bundled with a carry bag, mouse AND digital TV tuner (Asus) for $1800 - in the end, got mine from Radio Rentals for $1650 (bit of a steal IMO - then again, maybe they were laughing - anyway, I'm happy).

I'll probably try and sell the tuner - swap those funds toward an analogue tuner - more useful for regional travel (or a combo unit an/dig tuner).... whatever.
AnswerID: 212025

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 09:48

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 09:48
Bilbo,

There are many brand and no brand solutions for you to stew over and maybe save a few bucks choosing one over another but:-

What suits your the most?
Buying from a local retailer or Computer specialist that can help you if the need arises with configuration, or hardware problems?
Or, buying on line where you can choose from a range of hardware "add-ons" and end up with a pretty good system, with what you need and not what a salesman is trying to flog you. Don't need useless games software that merely fill up disk space and you know you'll never use the crap.

I am also an owner/user of the Dell brand having both a desktop and Notebook system, which I purchased on line.
The Company I work for is a multinational IT Provider and has selected Dell for its own internal use. There may be several reasons why it has chosen Dell, but one of them is the fast response it gets for purchasing and support.

Have a look at their Australian Web site www.dell.com.au and you will notice how you can select a system with a base configuration (more than adequate for the average user) or upgrade various components to choose the system that best suits you.
Want extra memory, a bigger hard drive, a higher definition display?
You can "build" the system to your own requirements, purchase it on-line and it will be built and delivered to your door, withing a week or so. Maybe sooner if you select a base system.

I have no personal connection to Dell, but through both work and at home, I have had considerable experience with the brand and it is as good as any other system in the market. Costs are kept down because their is no "middle man". Dell distribute direct from their warehouse to the buyer. They have an on-line help facility if you experience difficulties down the track and an extensive on-line knowledge base.
Best of all, if you need to speak to someone, you will get a person that understands and speaks the English language, unlike other "brand" systems I come across from time to time within the IT industry.

AnswerID: 212026

Reply By: Member - Arkay (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 09:51

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 09:51
Despite what Keith_A said, we have a fairly new Acer purchased from a Retravision store which does all we want.
It is model Aspire 5652WLMi which has (these are numbers from the book and mean little to me) Intel Duo Core processor 1.66GHz, 667Mhz FSB, 2MB L2 cache, a 15.4" WXGA TFT LCD screen, , 80GB HDD, and CD and DVD read/write (both do both).
Importantly it has a built in (not added/plugged in) TV tuner which tunes to analogue, digital, and and HDTV.
It has Windows Media Centre and I can (and have) download home videos (VCRs) to the hard drive and then write them to a DVD (up to 2 hours of video). I have also learnt how to copy CDs to the hard drive in MP3 format and then write them to another CD. With MP3 the trick is you get 8 or so CDs on the one new writeable CD in M3 format, so you get many hours music using the 4WD CD/MP3 player (lots more if you have a multiple stacker)
So now when we go travelling we just take the laptop, and leave the computer (old laptop), the TV, the DVD player, and the didgital set top box at home. We just take the new Acer which does the lot.
Cost was in the order of $2500, but I guess they (or similar) or less now, or you get more features for the same price (Ours is about 18 months old.
AnswerID: 212029

Follow Up By: Keith_A (Qld) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 10:47

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 10:47
Hi Arkay - I didn't mean to imply that ACER were not good, rather that the two brands have simliar names (particularly when pronounced), and I was referring to the other name. Acer also have a good reputation.....Keith
FollowupID: 472196

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:52

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:52
Dell.
paid $2220 on line... check out the specifications and retail :-)

sure you can buy "cheaper"
but not with the same speed, unreal screen clarity or memory capacity!!!

I've taken a picture of a Brahman bull at 30 Mtrs and blown the picture up and you can see individual hairs & veins on it's ears - that's clarity of screen.
FollowupID: 472216

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 13:48

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 13:48
hehe.....your session cookie page for the dell website is not a valid site link :-)

FollowupID: 472228

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 14:03

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 14:03
works for me... but it' a Dell

FollowupID: 472232

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:25

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:25
Mainey

They are not working for me either

FollowupID: 472334

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:43

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:43
it still works for me (again) but I have reset with-out the link, out in the open.
You will have to "copy/paste" it this time.

Site Link

it takes you direct to the relevant 6400 notebook web page!

FollowupID: 472341

Reply By: troopyman - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 09:55

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 09:55
Everything you ever wanted to know about computers and comparisons .

" target="EOF" class="lbg">www.tomshardware.com/
AnswerID: 212032

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 10:09

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 10:09
Hi Bilbo,
My only thought after all the other's advice, was that a centrino processor is more efficient on battery life.
I get bombarded weekly with Dell advertising fax's, and was told that with the cheap Dell's, the after sales service is very bad, but the corporate type deals that large company's do there product and servicde is good, so I guess that means dont buy a cheapy.
Happy shopping.

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 212038

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:32

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:32
Hi Bilbo

Centrino processors are stripped down Pentiums. They are missing the bits that make Pentiums better for graphics (mapping.) My choice is AMD twin core 64 bit processors - you will need something like that if you get caught for installing Vista.

FollowupID: 472336

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 10:41

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 10:41
Look for a model that has at least 2 and best 3 years warranty. If you need to have a motherboard replaced in a laptop at 14 months you will be shocked at the price and you will throw the thing away in disgust.

Stay away from Dell

HP Compaq, ASUS good choice. HP service very good, no experience with ASUS service.

Acer has many models which are nice units, but their service is cr@p, their 3 yr wty models are expensive and the service is still cr@p.

Sony Vaio are nice things but only 1 yr wty.

Fujitsu Lifebook excellent but expensive.

For bush, Panasonic Toughbooks are expensive but you can use them as a jack base if needed :)

AnswerID: 212044

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 11:13

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 11:13
Maybe we've just been lucky, but the puter I use here at home every day (except when we're away camping), is a 2+ year old Dell Inspiron 510m laptop and we've never had any issues with it at all. It gets turned on in the morning and stays on all day (connected to ADSL all day), until it goes off around 10 or 11 pm.

I don't take it away in the 4x4; it's just a home unit......I origianlly had grand visions of hooking it up to an etrex I bought and having all that moving map stuff. However, I couldn't get my old fat head around all the technology and software. I sold the etrex and vowed to look into again some day, when all you have to do is plug the laptop into the a GPS mouse (or similar) and the bloody puter screen will automatically populate with a map showing you where you are. In my ideal world, this would require no input from me, other than to turn it on, and I could hit a "ZOOM" button (in or out) to show me where I was, anywhere in Australia (overall view of the continent)....zooming in to show me right down to the street I was parked in, or the sand dune I was crossing!

So, I guess it'll be many years (if ever) before I venture into this techno-age stuff again....hahahahaha
FollowupID: 472199

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:07

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:07
"some day, when all you have to do is plug the laptop into the a GPS mouse (or similar) and the bloody puter screen will automatically populate with a map showing you where you are. "

Hi Roachie,

All this is possible right now.

It's easy to set up a laptop to automatically run the mapping program when it turns on, and the mouse GPS will feed it the co-ordinates and your position will be centred on the map.

sorry, but "many years" has shrunk to "next year" for your next exploits :-)
FollowupID: 472209

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 15:49

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 15:49
Thanks for that.....I thought someone would come back with a comment such as what you have said........

However, to me the problem comes when you say: "It's easy to set up a laptop". It's those 2 little words "set up" that always seem to buggar me up. .......and as for that word "easy";.......... well, what can I say? .......I've long ago learnt that words like "easy" or "user-friendly" don't belong in the same sentence as "computer" or "laptop". I know, I know, I know; I'm a dinosaur (at the tender age of 51) who just can't get this chit straight in my head.

Before I do anything else about on-screen mapping, it'll have to be a case of either going on line (or into a computer shop) and ticking the boxes of the system I require (which will include the aforementioned ability for me to simply turn the computer on as soon as I get it out of the box and immediately see where I am in this wonderful country). I am simply not interested in (or capable of) loading various compact discs in a certain special order and trying to make Ozi-bloody-explorer "talk" to Raster-bloody-maps or whatever they call it (they are just 2 terms that were doing my head in a year or so ago when I finally gave up).
FollowupID: 472248

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 15:59

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 15:59
Roachie,

That's the trouble with you young ones, you give in too easy. We aged dinosaurs are much more tenacious :)))))))))))))
FollowupID: 472251

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 16:23

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 16:23
Roachie, I thought you would be like the Yanks are in the freezer territory, leave it running 24 hours a day. Ensures you don't have too many startup worries ;-)
FollowupID: 472261

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:43

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:43
"Stay away from Dell"
I guess that statement would have absolutely nothing with the fact that you are in the business of selling computers????

Would be good form and morally decent forum etiquette to declare your personal interests before bagging another brand!!

FollowupID: 472340

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:53

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:53
Oops should read "absolutely nothing to do with the fact"

To quick on the send button for my own good!!!

FollowupID: 472347

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:30

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:30
Dear John,

Although I have been in the business for many years, I really don't bother selling PCs or laptops any more. For $50 or less margin on a $1500 PC/Laptop, I'd rather not sell them so I no longer do. The days of $500-$800 profit on a $3000 PC are long gone.

That means that I do not have to preface my opinion with your suggested preamble, because you have reached a wrong conclusion, a common ocurrence when someone goes off half cocked.

I actually don't mind Dell at all really. Some of my corporate customers love Dell 'cause they buy them cheap, and I love them 'cause they require so much warranty work. Corporates are often pretty stupid with their purchasing, because they never consider TCO, only IPP.

The warranty is covered by Dell of course, but I get paid for making all the phone calls, etc, meeting the Dell technician, and watching him replace a hard drive or whatever, then reloading all the OS and apps, etc.

Their service is truly amazing - one GX280 machine had a noisy CPU fan, dud cd combo, and faulty power supply. That's right, three faults in a 2 month old PC. I loved this one - I reported all 3 faults at the same time (55 minutes on the phone), and they sent 3 separate technicians at three different times, each with a single spare part. So I was eventually paid almost 6 hours labour for the fault. As I said, I don't mind Dell.

By comparison, a 3 year old Compaq NC1000 laptop developed a faulty screen - 15 minutes on the web reporting the fault, an email with a picture of the rubbishy display was attached to the problem file, Laptop collected by HP next morning, returned 2 days later with new motherboard, new screen, new screen surround to replace cracked one.

My time - a lousy 30 minutes.

But I still recommend HP even though I make less from them.

FollowupID: 472359

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 23:12

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 23:12
Dear Gerhardp1
Thats really great that you say "stay away from Dell" in one post then when your caught failing to declare your personal interest you change your tune to one of "I don't mind Dell at all really" they make me lots of money.

And for every bad news story on Dell's or any other brand you may like to bag I could come up with just as many good stories.
It does seem to me that on this thread there are more happy Dell users than unhappy computer salesmen.

I should add that I buy Dell's so aside from getting the latest components and building to my spec I don't have to put up with bull$hit computer salesmen who can't lie straight in bed.

FollowupID: 472374

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 09:30

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 09:30
Dear John,

Thank you for catching me for failing to ascribe to your personal moral code, whatever that is.

Problem is you can't read. Have a careful read of this -

Although I have been in the business for many years, I really don't bother selling PCs or laptops any more. For $50 or less margin on a $1500 PC/Laptop, I'd rather not sell them so I no longer do. The days of $500-$800 profit on a $3000 PC are long gone.

That means that I do not have to preface my opinion with your suggested preamble, because you have reached a wrong conclusion, a common ocurrence when someone goes off half cocked.

Go fire your blanks somewhere else and leave me alone. The post is about Bilbo asking opinions on what to buy, and I am offering my opinion.

So stop hijacking the post with your own stupid comments about me. This is not the first time you have done this either. You're a child.

FollowupID: 472423

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:18

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:18
Dear Gerhardp1

Yep I can read!!, Shall I do an archive search on your other posts that you have made about being in the computer industry for X years and selling X brands of machines???

Problem is I don't think you can read or you must think that people are stupid, probably the later as a typical example of a computer salesmen.

From your post below...
"I've been selling & supporting them, and Acer, and others for 16 years and this is news to me"

Correct Bilbo asked for personal opinions on what to buy, you did not offer a personal opinion you bagged a product that you can't sell in favor of one you can without declaring your interest in the business and now your caught you try and deflect the issue towards someone else.
Maybe we should start to refer to you as the BillS of computers???

Oh by the way call me what you wish, Better people than you have had a go with little effect.

John B. Child

FollowupID: 472436

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:17

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:17
I have an ACER and an ASUS.

The ASUS (A2500H) uses a 19 volt 6.5 amp supply and will NOT run off my 300 watt, 12 / 230 converter (when accessing the hard drive and displaying new screens on a mapping programme) or the 12 volt car / aircraft power supply unit.

The ACER only wants about 3.5 amps and runs ok using the converter or the car / aircraft power supply in the truck.

I would not choose an HP / Compac as they have their own special operating system and are not 100 % compatible with all the software that I have wanted to run. They also use some parts that are only made for HP / Compac, so you cant always get spare parts from a local supplier.
AnswerID: 212057

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 17:31

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 17:31
HP / Compaq has it's own special O/S ????

I've been selling & supporting them, and Acer, and others for 16 years and this is news to me.

All laptops have their own drivers for chipsets, etc to achieve things like maximum battery life. Never heard of an App which won't run on an HP. They have extensive support for their products, and will frequently correct issues with compatibility if you send a problem to them.

Acers have their own stuff just like HP, Toshiba, ASUS, etc, etc.

Also, all laptops use parts that you can't buy anywhere other than from their distribution chain. None of my suppliers sell Acer motherboards, for example, so I can't onsell them even if I wanted to.

The only spare you can buy from the local shop is a non-genuine A/C adapter or a carry bag.

FollowupID: 472277

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:22

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:22
Hi Gerhardp1, If you don't know about the unique differences in the operating system of HP / Compac it's probably because you have not had to delve into those areas, which is good as it means you have not had problems in those areas. One of the features that is unique is where and how information is stored on the hard drive, if you use certain recovery programming tools that work ok with other so-called "IBM compatible" systems you will find that they just don't work on HP/Compac systems. As long as your system is working ok you will never need to delve into this area so it will never bother you. Just do regular back-ups (as we all should !) and incase of a hard drive problem, get a new hd, re-load your O/S and restore data from your back-up, don't try and use programming tools to unscramble the disc as you will be wasteing your time. I am not saying that they are not good computers, just that I would prefer to use another brand.
FollowupID: 472332

Reply By: Member - Ivan H (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 13:51

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 13:51
I was lucky enough to be heavily involved in replacing the Coca Cola sales force laptops.
Now these sales reps are rough, VERY rough with their laptops, you should have seen the bits and pieces that made up their old equipment.
In any case, we went with IBM X Series (now Lenovo X Series) due to their true double hinges, solid casing and internal resistence to flexing.
Also the small form factor of these were handy (only a 12" screen), and they weighed under 2kg's.

In any case, we went through Dell, HP, Compaq, Sony & Toshiba laptops, and the IBM's could take the biggest amount of torture.

Now these X Series are a bit expensive, especially when you option them up with faster hard drives (5400rpm as a min, 7200rpm is the best), more ram and more powerful processors.
The T Series is an even better workhorse, but slightly larger @ 14"

At the end of the day, if you are after a laptop you can throw around don't look at anything but an IBM (Lenovo). I've had them all, and supported 10's of thousands of users with different laptops. IBM's always last the longest.
AnswerID: 212065

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 23:36

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 23:36
You have seen nothing of people being hard on machines until you seen our reps - we gave up on laptops and tablets and went with toughbooks.

10000% better and no returns per week compared to 4+ with laptops and 8+ a week with HP Tablets.
FollowupID: 472385

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan H (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:59

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:59
I'd believe it mate, but they also weigh a tonne which is why it was never considered it.
The Coke rep package (case + laptop) = 1.8kg's. Looks very similar to a compendium.
The Coke reps rest the laptop on one arm (special case designed for this), and punch in orders with the other.
FollowupID: 472440

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 23:53

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 23:53
Truckster, Ivan,

What are "toughbooks"???

Bilbo
FollowupID: 472636

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan H (NSW) - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 11:49

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 11:49
Truckster could give you a better idea about how they perform as he uses them.
In simple terms though, they are a laptop/notebook with a very strong protective casing.
Here is an example of one: Site Link
They come with all the stuff normal laptops offer too.

The good thing about them is that you can really throw them around, they are very durable, and even the hard drive is spring mounted to reduce shock. I've seen one thrown at a wall at a decent speed, driven over by a car and it survived.

The bad thing is that they are heavy, but that really depends on your circumstances and preference.
For example, I dont want a laptop that weighs more than 2kg's, cause I carry my laptop around with me all the time for work.
FollowupID: 472672

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jan 01, 2007 at 11:34

Monday, Jan 01, 2007 at 11:34
They are a good little machine, and I'd have one any day over a laptop, but they aint cheap... tryin to get one out of work, but the keyboards are small, and bleep me. I'd have to have a USB one to plug in.

some come with SD Card readers standard.
FollowupID: 472924

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 13:53

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 13:53
Time to add this question to the "what's the best 4wd", "what's the best portable fridge", "what's the best snorkel", "what's the best battery system" area......they all seem to have the same answer :-)

AnswerID: 212066

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 14:20

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 14:20
Yep true but easy to answer in each case..................
Toyota, Engel, Safari, Duel (Thats a more complex answer) Oh! and Dell!!!! ;-)

FollowupID: 472234

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 15:22

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 15:22
3 out of 5 is not too bad....better luck next-time ;-)

FollowupID: 472241

Reply By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 14:14

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 14:14
Bilbo... Bilbo... Bilbo... what have you done...? You have opened up the X notebook computer v the Y notebook computer wars - Waeco v Engel will seem like small beer in comparison :)

As someone who has been designing electronics and software since before the IBM PC was released; I recently purchased a "new" notebook... I paid A$550 for a 1GHz IBM R31, with 256MB of memory (512 would be better), a 40GB hard drive and a (slow) DVD burner from E-bay. It does everything I need and is robust.

AnswerID: 212068

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 16:10

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 16:10
PS. Your current notebook isn't "really" old; I still have my first notebook - an Acer 25MHz 486 without a math co-processor, a 40MB hard drive and monocrome display - and whilst we're on the subject I also have my first "luggable": an Olivetti 8MHz 8086 PC with amber (monocrome) 7" screen and floppy drive - 640K RAM too! And we'll not even mention the Sinclair ZX81 (with (unreliable) cassette tape storage) upon which I learned to write Z80 machine code in 1979 :)

FollowupID: 472257

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 17:34

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 17:34
you really must do a spring-clean one day :-)

FollowupID: 472278

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 17:59

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 17:59
Oh!

Tell me about it!!!

Mike Harding :)
FollowupID: 472283

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:13

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:13
I must now fess up to still having my first computer - a TRS80 pocket. One line display and a massive 1024 Bytes of ram. I even have the printer option - 20 character wide dot matrix!

I managed to cram an astro navigation program into it for reducing star sights.

It is in the shed behind a lot of other junk that should be stored at the tip.

Pete
FollowupID: 472433

Reply By: F4Phantom - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 17:51

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 17:51
A lot of them are all the same, and so are the warrantys BUT acer have this really good thing where they fix it under warranty in 2 hrs or 24hrs or something like that. We went acer at work for this reason only, as the rest all have the same warranty but it can take a month for them to have the problem fixed. I think with acer thay say they will get it fixed the same day or if they cant give you a newie, as to performace they all have good and bad models, and the price is similar, sure dell could have the lowest tag but in a race where crap could be only a hundred or two less than good, who cares. Again, acer based in warranty as the others such in this area.
AnswerID: 212085

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:55

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:55
They all have 24hr warranty if you pay for it.. We have it with IBM at work, had it with DULL at Southcorp.

I had an acer computer once...
FollowupID: 472368

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:49

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:49
Build your own.
Built a mate one last week, AMD 4000, 300gig HD, 256meg vid card, 1.5gig ram new case, etc under a grand with new 19inch flat screen monitor, Logitech external speakers, etc

Why buy any of the crappy company ripoff built ones.
AnswerID: 212130

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:52

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:52
then I see u want laptop.

We use Stinkpads at work.

the only thing with laptops - WARRANTY - LOTS OF IT... we have a Thinkpad at work that needs new motherboard $800 (desktop board is $200), so its not worth fixing the laptop as its out of warranty...

Dell, IBM, Sharp, HP etc are all about the same, with some models being great, some sucking bum. but the best bet is to go sit infront of a few at stores, and see what features you like, what is in your price range, and what things you need/dont need.

steer clear of Acer
FollowupID: 472367

Reply By: Blaze - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 00:07

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 00:07
I sell PC's for a living, and even though I don't own one personally as I usually leave my Lappie at home I would buy a Tablet Notebook (or similar) if I was in the market for a new system to carry around in the bush.
AnswerID: 212141

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 00:28

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 00:28
Hope you mean Toughbook, not Tablet, eg HP tablets?

as a demo that sold us on the Toughbooks, the rep threw one on the ground..picked it up and proceeded with the demo for 2 hours.. We signed before the 2 hours were up.
FollowupID: 472394

Follow Up By: Blaze - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 00:34

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 00:34
Sorry about the misleading reply, you have it in one truckster, the toughbook, we do a lot of work with Cockies who have them in their self steer tractors etc. Nice units.
FollowupID: 472395

Reply By: Bilbo - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 23:39

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 23:39
Firstly, a great big thank you to all that contributed to my thread. It's been both revealing and helpful.

My choice at present is an ASUS model of some description - A8jp possibly or ASUS F3??. The only issue I can see so far is "Kiwi Kia's" comments about his ASUS not running on his 12 volt system. That's a REAL worry in the bush! If they won't run on 12 volt converters - 12vDC to 19.5vDC - then ASUS is a non-starter.

I need to email Mike Harding for some tech tips. I THINK I've got his email addy somewhere,,,,,,,,,

In the meantime, I'n trying to find a solution to this old desktop,,,,,it's still wobbling along as you can see.

Thanks fellas, we really have a heap of expertise and experience on this forum. It's simply THe BEST.

Bilbo

AnswerID: 212350