larger exhaust or not.+UHF CHANNELS

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 23:13
ThreadID: 40654 Views:4292 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
ive had a few different opinions on this, is there any advantage to a bigger diameter exhaust on a smaller turbo diesel 2 1/2 was recomended do you gain anything from it . plus is there a channel that is favored by people touring mines mostly on ch.40 seems to be the best for getting rader locations ect of the truckies thought there might be one used more by tourers,

Reply By: Davo_60 (ACT) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 23:40

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 23:40
As a very general rule, better flowing exhaust i.e. less backpressure results in better performance from a turbo engine and may reduce EGT'S. It's not always that simple but you may get benefit from a bigger exhaust and maybe beneficial in conjunction with other mods such as fuel and boost increase.
AnswerID: 212138

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 02:25

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 02:25
Davo_60
I have always wondered if less back pressure in an older engine could lead to increased oil consumpsion, I ask because my Troopie got a set of extractors about 2 years ago and was suppose ta have the 2.5 " pipe to the rear but this old Gunna-Do hasn't done yet , it has 656,000 klm on the clock

FollowupID: 472405

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 09:25

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 09:25
The increase in diameter of the pipe will decrease the backpressure on the turbo, allowing it to spool up sooner. It will not make much difference to the peak torque value, simply the rpm that it occurs. Peak power will not generally be affected.
FollowupID: 472421

Follow Up By: Davo_60 (ACT) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:35

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:35
Doug,
I don't see why a 2.5 inch exhaust would make any difference in oil consumption, although if you have already got 656,000k maybe it has the perfect set up already! Thats impressive K's even for a Tojo.
FollowupID: 472438

Reply By: turbo 79series - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 07:57

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 07:57
gday mate i think there are advantages for using a bigger exhaust power wise ,there is a big improvement as the engine will breath a lot better as in getting rid of the gases a lot quicker and with a bigger exhaust the engine gases released run cooler so with a cooler motor comes more power.I would be using a three inch exhaust on a landcruiser or patrol engine and i think a 2 1/2 inch would be suitable on anything else smaller if the motor was a standard turbo or aftermarket.So yes i think a bigger diameter exhaust would be beneficial to you go and speak to all the 4wd shops that you respect about what they think im sure they will say they same. Just one more thing the most important point to remember if you buy a larger exhaust it has to be a mandrell bent one other wise you are wasting your time.By that i mean when they bend the exhaust at the bends the diameter of the exhaust pipe gets smaller say if you buy a 2 1/2 inch exhaust at the bend it will probably only just be 2 inches so restricting the gases flowing where as a mandrell bent exhaust say if you buy a 2 1/2 inch exhaust the pipe will stay just that on the bends achieving what you originally set out to do less gas restriction and cooler running gases which all add up to more power for your vehicle .Hope i helped mate.
AnswerID: 212152

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 08:02

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 08:02
Mate i would not go playing with the boost pressure you might be able to put it up half a pound depends what engine, how old, how long you want the motor for you can play around with your fuel that will make an improvement but unless you know what your doing leave it to the experts.
FollowupID: 472415

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 08:42

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 08:42
Warren, there have been heaps of discussion in the past, I had people say to me there is little benefit but the other side is they hadn't also made a change to a larger dump pipe.

The dump pipe is the pipe, usually cast iron out or the turbo. If that is the standard one, it is about 1.7" diameter and very restrictive. I have photos of it still and can reload them if you need to see them. The new pipe is fabricated 3" and free flowing.

I actually had a 16% improvement in the 0-100kph acceleration after fitting. Not bad for a bolt on jobbie last Christmas day.

UHF 40 is often pretty noisey, but 18 is the camper trailer and caravan channel. Depends if you need to talk to someone really. If you can stand listening to the language and crap from the truckies all day.........
AnswerID: 212153

Follow Up By: Member - warren B (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 15:23

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 15:23
thanks john ill have to have a good think about it i cant chip my diesel so im looking for any other gains i can get
FollowupID: 472465

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 15:53

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 15:53
Warren, mine can't be chipped either. Aged diesel design the 4.2, but a goodn'.....
FollowupID: 472470

Reply By: Member - Arkay (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 09:04

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 09:04
UHF CB radio channel allocations.

11 calling channel established by law. To call or locate another station. Parties then switch to a conversation channel.
9, 12 to 17, 19 to 21, 24 to 30, 39 conversations. Used for conversations between stations
29 Highway communications. Mainly used by truck drivers and other Highway users on the Pacific Highway (Sydney to Brisbane) in N.S.W.
40 Highway commnications. Mainly used by truck drivers and other Highway users Australia wide, but not usually on the Pacific Highway (Sydney to Brisbane) in N.S.W
18 caravanners, campers. Holiday maker's communication channel, e.g. when in convoy
10 4WD drivers. Use by 4WD enthusiasts, clubs, convoys and in National Parks
5 Emergency calling channel established by law. Can be used by anyone in an emergency situation ONLY
1 to 8, and 31 to 38 repeaters established by law. In duplex mode, repeaters need two channels to work. Receivers on 1 to 8. Transmits on 31 to 38 (automaticaly). When within range of a repeater it will increase the communications distance. Operation in simplex mode on these channels is not permitted when within range of a repeater.
22 and 23 data transmissions established by law. No voice transmissions allowed on these two channels (access to 22 and 23 is not available anyway on some UHF CB radios).
AnswerID: 212156

Follow Up By: Member - warren B (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 15:25

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 15:25
thanks arkay i just printed the info out cheers
FollowupID: 472466

Reply By: Sparkiepete - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 09:49

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 09:49
My brother installed a 3" exhaust on a 2.8 6 cylinder turbo diesel and it has never run better. It is definitely worth the effort.
AnswerID: 212163

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 11:54

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 11:54
My answer would be.Probably not all that much improvement but still a small improvement.
There are a lot of mods we can do which will marginally improve/or decrease engine performance and fuel. Individually quite insignificant but added up can make a lot of shange. I had a vehicle fitted with a performance chip and got and extra 15% power on the dyno but fitting a raised suspension, roof rack, A/t tyres, larger diameter tyres, Driving lights(restricted airflow for intercooler), negated that inctreased power. This was all checked on a dyno.

My advice is wait until the exhaust is worn out and then replace with a bigger one. To spend $1000 on something that will only give minimal improvement is not really worth it.

A lot of people will tell you of huge improvements but that does not usually translate to the dyno. Louder noise does not necessarily mean increased power but sometimes it helps justify (in their own mind) t6he cost of the modification.
AnswerID: 212182

Follow Up By: phil - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 13:43

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 13:43
Louder noise could also bring a defect notice, requiring you to undo all that expensive work.
In NSW any modified exhaust must not emit any more noise than a standard exhaust. and MUST have the same number of mufflers.

Phil I
FollowupID: 472453

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 15:55

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 15:55
Turbos tend to muffle the exhaust note anyway, so generally speaking it isn't usually a problem. (only really a prob on unturboed engines)
FollowupID: 472471

Reply By: prado_95 - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 18:52

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 18:52
A larger exhaust (within reason) will provide;

1. improved turbo spool up - particularly at low revs
2. lower EGT - important if you intend to add a performance module or tow heavily
3. marginally improved peak power
4. improve mid range power under acceleration - as result 1 above

The improved mid range response may be all you are looking.

If done correctly there will not be any noticeable increase in exhaust noise, and there will not be any interference across the complete vehicle articulation range - this can be a problem with 3" systems on some vehicles.

It wont provide huge steady state power increases - this is essentially reserved for modified ECU fuelling and timing using diesel performance tuning modules, chips, and downloads.

AnswerID: 212211