Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:17
Howard T
Have just removed the old pin striping off my sons Hilux and its left a residue from the glue. Used a heat gun.
Anyone got any ideas of how I can remove this residue? Metho does not budge it.
Thanks in advance.
Howard T.
Reply By: Notso - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:24
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:24
Eucalyptus Oil, or Ti Tree Oil will move it I reckon
Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 08:01
Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 08:01
Eucaliptus Oil,,, bloody brilliant
Reply By: Black Beard - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:26
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:26
(Spelling??) Tolulene.
Reply By: Ozrover - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:27
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:27
Hi Howard'
I usually just use WD40 or similar, spray it on, give it a chance to loosen up the glue, then rub it off with a cloth.
Takes a bit of elbow grease, but it works for me.
Follow Up By: madcow - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 12:36
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 12:36
good for removing bitumen also
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:46
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:46
Eucalyptus or citronella oil.
Will not damage the paintwork either.
Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 11:09
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 11:09
We use citrus based Goo Remover- available from most hardware shops.
Spray onto the goo- let it sit for a few minutes- then just wash off.
You may have to give the area a light 'polish' to blend in if the stripes have left a 'shadow' .
Reply By: DIO - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 11:46
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 11:46
Turps - Turpentine, White Spirits. Both will work
well and should not damage paintwork.
Reply By: Glenn WA - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 12:36
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 12:36
Howard,
A mate of
mine is a panel beater. The pro's use a product called "Prepsol",wax and grease remover, worked great on
mine and no damage to the paint. Use it to clean the area if re- applying more stripping.
Cheers glenn
Follow Up By: Heefers - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 10:13
Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 10:13
Right on Glenn,
I'm also a panel beater and this is the gear to use. It's primary use is to decontaminate an area that is about to be sray painted. It removes all of the residues that may have been picked up during the repair process like wax, greases and silicons to avoid paint imperfections such as "fish eyes". It also does not break down the paint surface and is therefore the best choice for the removal of pin striping glue residue.
Cheers, Heefers
Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 12:56
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 12:56
Just done acres of the stuff on my 1964 Fairlane (don't ask......) Judicious use of a heat gun and a citrus based product called 'De-Sove It'. Both items available from Bunnings for under $40 in total. I used a kitchen spatula for non-stick pans made from a Tupperware-like plastic to get the edges started and it worked a treat.
It does take a while (unless you are lucky) so set up a plastic chair, a supply of drinks, a transistor radio and bin for the scraps. That way it becomes a pleasant way to spend a few hours with your thoughts rather than a chore.
Reply By: ishtvan - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 15:30
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 15:30
meny way to fix;- Acetone rubbed on for minute, tray a smol aria first
Follow Up By: Shane (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 16:55
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 16:55
With all due respect I would be very carefull using acetone on paintwork !
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 21:59
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 21:59
I concur with that. Acetone will go through paintwork in mere seconds and in half a second if rubbed!
Don't use it.
Bilbo
Follow Up By: Heefers - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 10:21
Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 10:21
Acetone, commonly referred to as Thinners is definetely not for use in this situation. Thinners will break down your paint surface and turn what was a good hard protective film into a smeary, smudgy jam like mess in no time which will most likely be unrepairable short of respraying the affected area. Trust me on this one, tried it once as an apprentice beater on a busted panel.
Cheers, Heefers