OT Help please. Computer problems

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 08:32
ThreadID: 40724 Views:2783 Replies:13 FollowUps:15
In a moment of memory lapse I opened an attachment to an email which I thought had come from an acquaintance. As a result I now have an infected file.

Over the past few days my operating system has been getting slower and slower.

I have just done an Adaware scan and have got rid of 20 bugs.

I have the 2007 version of VET by CA Anti-virus but in the process of downloading it a few weeks ago I was issued with an incorrect licence number.(CA has changed to a new system and hence the dowload). Although I am paid up until August 2007 I keep on getting pop-ups telling me my subscription has expired and that the licence is incorrect and that new updates cannot be installed. Everyone at CA(Computer Associates) has gone on holiday and there is no response to emails sent.

I did a scan yesterday with VET(it still seems to work) and the system came up as clean. When I start the computer in the morning though I get told about the infected file.

The file is Win32/Sinteri/adir.dll

I am asking for help to clean up this infected file.( In laymans terms please ..lol)

Reply By: Steve from Albany - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 08:46

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 08:46
Willem,
Download a free ware program called SPYBOT and see if it can help you. It's got me out of trouble in the past.
AnswerID: 212552

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 08:50

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 08:50
Willem,

Do a Google on adir.dll. It will give a list of possible solutions. Unfortunately EO won't use the link in my reply (it may be too long ???? )
AnswerID: 212554

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 09:08

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 09:08
Hi Willem,
Download and install AVG Free edition It will do a scan when installing.

It's a 16MB download (not so good for you on dial-up I'm afraid) and gives you an excellent Anti Virus product with regular updates free of charge. The commercial version includes Spam and Spyware protection plus a firewall but all you really need is the Anti Virus package, a good firewall like Zonelabs ZoneAlarm (also free) and Spybot. Why pay for protection when you can get it for nothing? :-)

AnswerID: 212556

Follow Up By: Cruiserman1961 (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 09:32

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 09:32
You might consider the Avast free edition, AVG free will be scrapped from January on. Avast is free and updates every day automatically.
Google the infected file Willem, it will tell you how to get rid of it.
Happy new year to you all!
Cheers, Udo
FollowupID: 472820

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 09:36

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 09:36
Incorrect. AVG version 7 is being discontinued, replaced by version 7.5 :-)
FollowupID: 472821

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 09:56

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 09:56
I have been using 7.5 for a few months now.
FollowupID: 472823

Follow Up By: CLC50 - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 09:58

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 09:58
Hi Mr Bitchi
Yes this is True I run 7,5 Free just upgraded Last Week. I used to run AVG Pro But AVG free is great & with daily Updates & auto Scans
FollowupID: 472824

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 09:56

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 09:56
Thanks fellas

I tried a NoAdware program(adir.dll remover...so they say) which scanned my computer and found 63 bugs etc but then wanted $37 USD to remove them. So.................

I downloaded AVG a couple of days ago but then it came with a file extension I could not open so it too was removed.

Will go to Spybot next if I can get Google open again...

AnswerID: 212560

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 09:59

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 09:59
Willem I can google it and email u the result if you want

FollowupID: 472825

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 10:08

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 10:08
Golly! I googled and found lots of bad news reports.

First it says its malware, or spyware, so it shouldnt be slowing things down IMHO.

Theres a few progs that wont remove it including spybot, but I would try that anyways, also try to google HijackThis and that will give u dsome clues I THINK....

See how u go

FollowupID: 472826

Follow Up By: brad1972 - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 11:49

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 11:49
this little bugger goes by a few names but it is a medium risk trojan

Affected operating systems Windows

Side effects Allows others to access the computer
Drops more malware
Uses its own emailing engine
Downloads code from the internet
Installs itself in the Registry
Leaves non-infected files on computer

I am trying to find a simple way to get rid of it, but do not use NoAdware program that you tried they are all a con and will find heaps of things to get your money by fooling you into thinking you have adware etc.

If your email isp does not do virus checking (this one got thru) change to one that does or pay the few dollars they charge, and get a decent antivirus that scans emails as they arrive on your computer. I will not be drawn into the debate of which antivirus is better, there is an old saying that you get what you pay for.
Brad
FollowupID: 472833

Reply By: troopyman - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 09:57

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 09:57
Buy a recognised anti virus such as norton internet security 2007 ya tightass .LOL . Seriously i have had a puuter for 5 years and norton has not let in a single virus ever . The 2006 edition was far better than any previous edition so 2007 should be great . Some might say it slows the puuter down but with todays specs thats a croc . Cheers and have a safe and virus free new year .
AnswerID: 212561

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 10:26

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 10:26
Of course it hasn't, so many viruses and malware thingies can work their way around Nortons, it won't see them.
FollowupID: 472829

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 10:36

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 10:36
Norton's is certainly not the #1 in my opinion. I have had troubles with incompatability and it not preventing some viruses.
FollowupID: 472830

Follow Up By: brad1972 - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 11:52

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 11:52
Yep the latest norton and zonealarm have compatibility problems.
FollowupID: 472834

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 10:38

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 10:38
Willem,

This dll file is not a Windows file so your system, or applications you have installed, may not need it. (I ran a search and it is not on my Windows XP System)

Try renaming it, or copying it to a removable medium such as a "stick drive".
If you can successfully copy it, delete the original from the win32/Sinteri directory.
Reboot your PC. If it doesn't complain about the missing, or renamed file, you don't need it and can be permanently deleted. The Sinteri sub directory is probably from a specific application installation.

Run the various applications you have got loaded to check if one of them needs the file. If it does, maybe reinstallation of that application will resolve your problem in the meantime.

Quite often a virus infection adds a new dll file, rather than infecting an existing one.

Good luck.

AnswerID: 212562

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 12:14

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 12:14
Willem, before going much further I'd do a backup of my essential data, email lists etc onto a disk or cdrom. Bear in mind that the backup might be infected.
Then I'd get rid of the problem. Be sure to disinfect the backup with whatever you use to get rid of the bug.
This way if anything goes wrong , you should still have your personal data availiable.
I can sympathize with your hassles.
I've had to replace hard drives because of virus activity.
Takes ages to set the puter up again , and I've learned the hard way about backups :((
Good luck with it.
AnswerID: 212567

Reply By: bushandbeach - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 13:21

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 13:21
Try going back to a restore point on your computer before you downloaded the attachment. Remember that you wil loose information on your computer that you downloaded since that time.
AnswerID: 212571

Follow Up By: Pnut (cns) - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 10:01

Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 10:01
I used the ''system restore'' option previously, and worked fine, after I tried all the free spyware options etc, which did nothing. I reset the computer to 2 days earlier .
Worth a try to set back to a date when all was fine.

Pnut
FollowupID: 473024

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Jan 01, 2007 at 06:57

Monday, Jan 01, 2007 at 06:57
Hi Willem

I would actually try and get the file off another computer, change the file_name on yours first,,,add the file, then delete the other one..

If you need toreformat I have a corporate version of XP Pro, service pak 2, or anything else , just yell out,, and I will gladly do you a copy

I don't get cought with virus's ( touch_wood )
Here is what I do !

I go to " webmail " on my ISP's site,,
,,, webmail allows me to check my emails on their computers, monitor all the files ( believe me,,I get about 20-30 a day )
I am " ruthless ", I delete all I do not know ,,,

I then empty/purge the deleted files folder..

Then I recieve my emails, via Incredemail ( it appears less succeptible to problems than Outlook )

Now in the Options folder or your email client, I go to" CHECK for NEW MESSAGES " option and put it up to 180 minutes,,

By doing this, you eliminate any chance of automatically downloading " trouoble ".

doing this for 4 years now, and trust me its the only way..

Cheers Mate
ps have a happy new year
AnswerID: 212661

Reply By: kangas - Monday, Jan 01, 2007 at 11:59

Monday, Jan 01, 2007 at 11:59
Google for a program called hijackthis, run it and submit the logfile to w w w . h i j a c k t h i s . d e / ( remove the spaces ), if it finds trouble their forum is very helpfull to
AnswerID: 212704

Reply By: Member - Royce- Monday, Jan 01, 2007 at 14:05

Monday, Jan 01, 2007 at 14:05
This has happened a few times to me Willem.

The only real solution I have found is to 'restore' your computer to a date before it happened.

AnswerID: 212721

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 10:36

Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 10:36
Hi Willem - As you know - when all else fails, do a clean reinstall of Windows.
In some cases this is the only way to guarantee success, plus it gives you a clean registry.
One solution to keeping data safe: before you re-install Windows, partition the hard drive into 2 drives - a C drive and a D drive.

A partition is like putting a cargo barrier in the 4wd. The operating system goes on one side of the cargo barrier (the C drive), your data goes on the D drive.

If there is a crash or virus etc, you can reformat C drive and re-install windows, but your data stays safe on the D drive. We all know we should back-up, but we are human - and most never do (myself included). So - Partition the drive and your data is safe. Have used this on many computers over the years.

(To move your data to another drive, click Start; then right click MY Documents; click Properties; click Move.).....................Keith
AnswerID: 212833

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 17:58

Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 17:58
Thanks Keith

My drive D is taken up with my DVD Rewriter etc.

How do I create another drive?

FollowupID: 473072

Follow Up By: Keith_A (Qld) - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 19:12

Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 19:12
Hi Willem - noticed your reply to Richard - seems you have solved the problem this time. Congrats.
To answer your question, there are several options ;
1. You can always install a second hard drive (eg a physical hard drive). The system will then assign it a letter, possibly D or E.
(You may notice that when you insert a USB memory stick, the computer treats it just like an extra hard drive, and assigns it a separate drive letter.)

2. To partition the existing drive, several programs can reformat and partition it - Fdisk is the standard microsoft program, and it comes on most versions of Windows- eg from DOS3.3 to Win98. The original Windows XP CD gives you the option to reformat and partition, when you install XP from the CD.

There is a catch with some brand name computers (Dell, Acer etc) that come with their own 'Restore' CD - These doesn't give you the option to partition. ( The upside is they do come preloaded with all the drivers for the video card; the NICS, sound card etc.) In that case, borrow or download Fdisk and do the partition first.
WARNING - partitioning destroys all data (including viruses) on your hard drive.
It truly wipes the slate clean. Make sure you have burnt your data to a CD first - (then remove the CD and reinsert it - and check that it is indeed on the CD).

Another mountain to cross...........................regards......Keith
FollowupID: 473091

Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 11:53

Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 11:53
willem
i have just rebooted after being infected since 23 dec.... with a clean machine..I Hope?...it took all day yesterday and last night letting spysweeper do last clean up over night, and this morning its now 11.10am...i have run all antispyware programs stuff again this morning...so i have my fingers crossed...if it does work i am going out to get a new compter and give this one to the mongrel who downloaded the shiet..my eldest boy!

Go to bleepingcomputers.com and majorgeeks.com (yes you heard right ..dont sound llike safe or good sites but they are) for info and free scanners and follow thier directions to the word...seems to work. You will need to join as a member to be able to down load a couple of small files. But they tell you where to go to get some goodens..even if only trial. One gooden is called hijackthis.

But i did have a particular nasty one so only time will tell. I ended up with smitfraud, along with a couple of other nasties and vet kept on deleting clspring virus that kept reappearing as did smity and the others even though i removed them from the registry as well.... they say trojans usualy come down in groups and they look after each other...so if you delete one ,the others reinfect you with it again.

the time it has taken me to write this i would have been redirected to winantvirus pro 2006 ((DO NOT GO THERE)...its a bad site so google says) and some othermm...10 or so antivirus sites by now...but so far not one
AnswerID: 212839

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 18:02

Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 18:02
G'day Richard

I have now installed AVG Free and CA Vet antivirus new edition after lots of agony.

Computer seems to be running sweetly now.

Whew!!

Off to Warraweena tomorrow to look after the place while SAtony and family take a break.

Happy New Year!

FollowupID: 473074

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 21:47

Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 21:47
your lucky...i am still keeping my fingers crossed...so far so good

have a good trip
and happy new year to you both
FollowupID: 473120