off road trailers
Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 16:25
Gossy
I am wanting to have an off road trailer (not camper trailer). This is to simply get some stuff out of the car to make room for other things. I don't need a traditional sized trailer so a half sized would do fine. Needs to be off road tough though (shockers etc).
Anyone in
Adelaide who sells this type of trailer (or can make one)? Can't seem to find anyone.
Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 16:53
Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 16:53
G'day Gossy,
Try 'Built Tough' in
Gawler (not exactly
Adelaide, but close)
85223552, have seen some of his trailers and they seem pretty good.
Have a google and
check out his site.
I believe he will make what you want.
Not connected at all.....etc etc etc
Michael
Follow Up By: Gossy - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 17:09
Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 17:09
thanks for that. Will try and get up there tmw. Looks like they will be able to do what I want (if the price is right). Storage at the house is the other reason for wanting a smaller one.
Follow Up By: SA_Patrol - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 23:22
Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 23:22
A mate of
mine had his trailer built by them but wasn't very happy with the service, they took 4 weeks longer, they stuffed up with the wheels on his pathfinder it went back 3 times and cost him $600 more because they fitted accessory's that wasn't suitable for offroad.
The after sales service was shocking.
Stay with the local guys, Arrow, Kessners, Universals.
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 09:18
Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 09:18
Thanks SA_Patrol,
Interesting to hear, as stated I have no connection at all.
Just going on the trailer that my neighbor has.......that I tend to use a fair bit..lol
When I am in the market for one I will be looking around for sure.
Gossy,
Keep us posted on how you go.
Michael
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 16:54
Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 16:54
Gossy,
Most of the trailer manufacturers would have off road trailers, but they would normally make a standard size, eg 6'x4'.
You probably wouldn't save much if anything, in having a smaller size custom made.
In the north eastern suburbs there is Kessner Trailers on Mullers Road Greenacres.
Also Modern trailers at Lonsdale or Pooraka.
www.moderntrailers.com.au/off.htm
Heaps of others too, but these two came to mind.
Follow Up By: Gossy - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 17:10
Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 17:10
tried Kessner but they are on leave at the moment. Will try the others.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 18:41
Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 18:41
kessner..why would you bother
Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 17:25
Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 17:25
Gossy
I have a Modern Trailer (you already have the link)...they are in Main North Road.
It is a 7x4 chequer plated with long drawbar. It will come with HiLux rims.
I have no issues with the trailer. It tows
well.
It was $1850 in October 2005.
Reply By: Teeks - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 22:07
Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 22:07
Hi Gossy
I have organised a custom made off road trailer, that had a few extras such as extended draw bar, chequer plate storage box on frame, matching landcrusier rims etc from Modern trailers and was very happy with service and price.
They were able to custom make by adapting from their off road trailer, and I just added what extras I wanted.
Teeks
Reply By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 22:50
Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 22:50
Considered a roof rack/tray with lugguage sack??
Follow Up By: Gossy - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 08:57
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 08:57
yep already have that. My wife and I prefer to
camp in a tent which is quite a large one. This takes up a fairl bit of room in the back. Like most people our car is full fairly quickly including the roof rack. Planning on having a kid next year which means that I will have to put back at least one of the rear seats and therefore lose space. I now also have a kelpie which I would like to take away which also means loss of storage space.
Reply By: cuffs - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 08:55
Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 08:55
All Type Trailers
564 Main North Rd Gepps Cross SA 5094
ph: (08) 8262 9511
Can't go wrong build one for me to my specs, wheels needed to be in line with tow vehicle, Treg coupling complete off road.
Reply By: mattie - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 23:04
Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 23:04
try meigel bros at
murray bridge
Reply By: 666toy - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 00:28
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 00:28
Just be careful of some companys "off road" trailors as they are nothing more than the standard trailor with 15" wheels & a six stud pattern instead of a 14" ford type with still the same bearings & light duty axle setup
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 06:23
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 06:23
Also have a look at RV Trailers on Peacock Road Para Hills West.
Reply By: Gossy - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 08:59
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 08:59
thanks everyone for your advice. Will chase all these connections up as I only have one chance to get it right!
Does anyone have any experience (or know of someone) who has a "backtrak" fibreglass offroad trailer?
www.backtrax.com.au
size wise and weight wise this is perfect but not sure about the structural strength. Stoage space at the house is tight which is one of the reasons why I am looking at a smaller trailer.
Reply By: Gossy - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 09:38
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 09:38
whoops, don't worry, I just saw the price!!!!!!!!!!!!