Things of Stone and Wood...

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 20:35
ThreadID: 40836 Views:3353 Replies:24 FollowUps:25
... oh yeah... and papyrus...

... and plasma conduited outer shield hulls...

Well trend-setters, it’s been a while.

I’ve been busy with lots of stuff, and still haven’t finished it all!

I have been over to the Far West Coast of South Australia, and along with a long time friend of mine, we have been exploring a newly found fossilised palm forest (which he discovered) along the coast. The palms are of a Cicad type, and have literally been blasted over with volcanic activity, and subsequently pushed, rolled and buried in amongst the ash and lava flow.

We have known of this site for a long time, and after taking lots of photos, we decided it was time to let the relevant authorities become aware of the find, hoping for a little gratitude...

Well, it would be easier to convince them that the moon is made from cheese.

“No, you must be wrong, there has never been any volcanic activity over in that area sir...”

We have samples, photos, and have had dozens of close colleagues pore over this site, and you see whole trees, laid down in disarray. Their trunks are crystallised on the insides, and the only other recorded species of these particular palms are in Far North Queensland.

With all the evidence we have submitted, the authorities are still too set in their ways to even send someone over simply to have a look.

Well, looks like we’ll have to let that one slide, and go back to exploring our hidden cave further up along the along the Nullabor, the one with the eight Egyptian papyrus boats hoisted up inside to keep them out of the water whilst the landing party went inland...

Mmmmm... wonder if that will get some attention... sounds more plausible than the forest, don’t you think?

Maybe we should have simply just told them we were abducted by an alien spacecraft whilst travelling across the Nullabor, that always seems to work...

Yep, the Nullubor Plain in Australia...

It’s our very own little area 51. It’s got myths, nymphs, spacecraft, and lights, and now, it also has it’s very own stone forest, with a window to a lush green and violent past...

Wolfie

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 20:45

Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 20:45
goodday ian
nice to welcome you home
dont worry about authorities most of them cant see as far as they can pee

if you like to say where it is 1 day we are heading across just nosing around in august would be worth a look
AnswerID: 213078

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 10:59

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 10:59
Cheers Steve.

I am not in a position to tell all and sundry, as it's not my find.

Maybe we could set it up as a geo-cache?

Wolfie
FollowupID: 473478

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 20:53

Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 20:53
welcome back brother.

brill story about those palms. and i hope to induct my family to the nullarbor night later this year. tell me more about those nymphs.....

love and quiches to you mate.

AnswerID: 213079

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:03

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:03
... nymphs...

I have yet to see one.

As a boy scout, we would lay awake each night in the desert, hoping to spy one, only to fall asleep...

... did dream about them though...

Wolfie
FollowupID: 473479

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 21:15

Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 21:15
Nymphs? I assume u have pics? Good to see you back Sir B.

AnswerID: 213081

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:07

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:07
Geoff...

Unfortunately, they never seem to show up on film, like they seem to have this ghost like power that makes them non-renderable. I am guessing that with a 20 mega-pixel camera, and an ISO 1600 setting, we should be able to catch one.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 473480

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:11

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:11
u have my phone number, we leave within the hour

FollowupID: 473485

Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 21:31

Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 21:31
Welcome back oh honourable canine chief. Your presence has been sorely missed and I for one have had added pleasure installed on this day knowing that you have not forgotton us.

Des.
AnswerID: 213089

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 21:54

Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 21:54
Welcome back Wolfie.......we've missed you around here mate. Those damn Blandcruiser drivers (especially those who live in the Riverland, Blyth and anywhere in Vicbloodytoria) have been running amok; and I mean BIG TIME.

Now that you have returned, a general sense of decorum will no doubt return to this wonderful site.

Roachie ;-))
FollowupID: 473380

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:10

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:10
Dez and Bill...

How you both going?

Not sure about the decorum thing though...

We will have to catch up again.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 473483

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 21:47

Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 21:47
Happy New Year Wolfie - so glad to see you back on EO

AnswerID: 213097

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:11

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:11
Motherhen, long time no speak!

I LOVE your Rig Pic!!!

Happy New Year to you and your family.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 473484

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 21:57

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 21:57
Hi Wolfie - Rig Pic not that far from you. It is near Milang on Lake Alexandrina. We found a spit jutting into the lake away from civilisation, and had the area all to ourselves (just how we like to go camping), and after a windy night, woke to a blood red sky. After about an hour wandering on the cliff top in my night attire take a very colourful series of photos, the sun broke through behind the caravan. I love the camping life.

FollowupID: 473609

Reply By: troopyman - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 22:13

Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 22:13
Crystal as in amethyst or smokey maybe . Veritable fortune there .
AnswerID: 213102

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:14

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:14
I founf the crystaline structure in the trunks quite odd. There is a definate six sided formation which runs the length of the plants. I don't know if this is because of retained moisture and silicone under pressure, or if it is inherent in the make up of the plant.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 473487

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 22:29

Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 22:29
Happy New Year Wolfie, welcome back to howling land.... Tis a full moon tonight too.
AnswerID: 213109

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:16

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:16
John, Happy New Year to you and your family.

I have been watching the moon each evening from my pool, and I am just about ready for my naked dance around the bogonia shrub... oops.. hang on... that has to wait 'till autumn.... doh!

Wolfie
FollowupID: 473489

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 22:31

Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 22:31
Hey, man, good to se ya.
And nice to know SOME things don't change........................

AnswerID: 213111

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:17

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:17
Rick, haven't caught up with you for a while.

Yeah, some things don't change, and that's a good thing, eh?

Wolfie
FollowupID: 473490

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 22:57

Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 22:57
Wolfie , Wolfie , Wolfie , EVERYBODY missed you . There was even a post a week or to ago "where's Wolfie ?"

Could you please post a photo of the fossils . It would be very interesting to see them .

Thanks ,

willie .
AnswerID: 213115

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:13

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:13
By fossils Wolfie he doesnt mean a self portrait

FollowupID: 473486

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:21

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:21
I was at Macca's this morning, and the place mat had the "Where's Ronald" thing happening on it! Just imagine a "Where's Wolfie" one... all these little bandana wearing fat bastards hiding behind Nissans and Toyotas in the desert!

I do have some piccies, and I will post them up on my site in due course.

Wolfie (found...)

FollowupID: 473491

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 23:11

Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 23:11
Wolfie,

Great to see you back.

Hope all is well.

AnswerID: 213121

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:22

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:22
Brian...

All is good in my world.

I will drop in from time to time, and shake the tree...

Wolfie
FollowupID: 473493

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 23:47

Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 23:47
Ahh, it must be a full moon!!!

Welcome back wolfie

AnswerID: 213124

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:24

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:24
Captain, thank you!

I was checking the BOM site for the weather, and decided to drop in to see you guys.

I hope all is well.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 473494

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 00:27

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 00:27
Good to hear from you again Wolfie. Hope you'll stay awhile.
AnswerID: 213133

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:25

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:25
Al, thank you.

I'll drop in from time to time, but I have a full time pursuit I am chasing, (as well as my woman...)

I'll be around...

Wolfie
FollowupID: 473495

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 00:46

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 00:46
Welcome back Wolfie.
Last time I was down that way, they told me the only fossil on the Nulli bore was ME !!
Seriously, sounds interesting. Is it possible to publicize it on the net without giving too much away I wonder. If enough excitement was generated, it might provide the appropriate kick in the pants ??
AnswerID: 213137

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:27

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:27
Not sure...

Generally it would become a gazzetted site, and be closed off to the public. I don't think that there is anything earth shattering to be learnt from this site, except that it has given us a window into the past.

Time will tell...

Wolfie
FollowupID: 473496

Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 08:05

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 08:05
happy new year wolfie
good to have you back.
AnswerID: 213154

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:32

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:32
Ahhh....

Member Number 1.

Long time, no speak...

Happy New Year to you and your family, and may we have many hot days here in Adelaide, and may you sell lotsa air conditioners!

Actually, Pat (Patrolman Pat) rang me from a roof across the road from where I live. He was servicing an air conditioner, and seen my car. I told him I was in the pool. He hates me now...

Wolfie
FollowupID: 473497

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 15:03

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 15:03
so do i now!
FollowupID: 473527

Follow Up By: navaraman - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 12:08

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 12:08
I think you said you were in the pool with a cold bourbon, you b@st@rd.

GRRRR.
FollowupID: 474271

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 08:58

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 08:58
Hooowdy Wolfie!

Area 51 hey? I'm intrigued. Perhaps you could lead an Exploreoz gathering there sometime.

Good to have you back matey.

AnswerID: 213159

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:34

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:34
That would be so cool!!!

Imagine, an Area 51 E O gathering!

We would have enough colourful characters here to make it almost an attraction on the worldwide stage.

Can you imagine all of the things we could get up to?

Bears thinking about...

Wolfie
FollowupID: 473498

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 09:27

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 09:27
G'day Wolfie,

A Happy New Year to you and I hope that we have the pleasure of your company again because the place has been getty a bit serious.

AnswerID: 213166

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:36

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:36
Beatit, thank you!

Happy New Year to you and your crew.

I guess the pendulum will soon swing the other way again, and fun will rule!

Wolfie
FollowupID: 473499

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 09:38

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 09:38
Hi Ian, Happy new year to you,
I too know about the caves along the coast, but as yet havent had the chance to have a look, my cousin in Ceduna has been shown many of the ones that most of man doesnt know about, by a long time local.
Sounds like we had better go have a look before it is touristised, or shut off by the powers to be, or claimed by the abbo's.
Nice to hear you voice mate LOL

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 213170

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 09:45

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 09:45
" or shut off by the powers to be, or claimed by the abbo's. "

You pessimist you, LOL.
Whatever would make you think that that would ever happen in our "free" country :-)))

Pezza
FollowupID: 473466

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:43

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:43
Steve...

Going back a few months ago, I ventured down the limestone cliffs, and fought the surf to get into the under-water caves. They are pretty gnarly, and I got knocked up pretty good in the process. The ocean tide was coming in, and we had an extremely small window to get in and out. As the waves came in, the pressure almost would burst our eardrums.

When I got back on high land, I was completely bloodied, as I got thrown around pretty good.

There are some wild cave systems along there, and I don't advocate doing what we did. We are in our mid forties, and stupid, so that gives us special dispensation!

Happy New Year to you and all of your crew...

Wolfie
FollowupID: 473500

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:56

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:56
"We are in our mid forties, and stupid, so that gives us special dispensation!"
Are you sure your not stretching the truth just a little bit? LOL

Yes mate will not subject myself to that much pain, but would have a look at what ever i can, unfortunately it will be a while, fair bit going on at the moment.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 473502

Reply By: Member - Rotord - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:52

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 11:52
You could have a lot of fun with this . Report the details , without the location to the media . Hold the authorities up to public ridicule , poor a bucket of scorn upon their heads , deride them for incompetance and castigate them for dereliction of duty . Offer to give the find to more enlightend scientists from Victoria !
AnswerID: 213191

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 13:56

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 13:56
Welcome back Ian,

Sounds like an interesting find. I look forward to the photos.

You were missed - see post 40134 where people were asking after you.

Pete
AnswerID: 213210

Reply By: Gajm - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 14:48

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 14:48
Its good to have you back Wolfie, we have missed your unique humor and the colour and life you give the written word. All is right on EO again!!
AnswerID: 213218

Reply By: Bros 1 - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 18:37

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 18:37
It is good to see things gradually returning to normal with the 2nd, or is that the 3rd coming of the LONE WOLF.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 213261

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 00:43

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 00:43
hey - welcome back big chief :-)

was just thinking of you the other day, nearly got run into by one of them delicia vans, thought "who in their right mind would drive one of them?" LOL...

ps - i'll swap you the location of a very rare fully weeping river red gum..

Mate, make some dosh and run secret tours to the place.
AnswerID: 213335

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 10:42

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 10:42
Hiya Wolfie

Good to see you back again.

Sounds like you have been having some good adventures.

There is a petrified forest in Damaraland(west coast of Africa). Quite a stunning place. There is also a similar place in an isolated remote valley in the NT. This place does not have many petrified trees but rather holes in the lava flow where trees used to be. I have neglected to advise anyone of the latter feature..lol

Wouldnt mind seeing how the papyrus has weathered over the past 3000 years....lol

Take care

AnswerID: 213964

Reply By: Oz Travellers - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 13:46

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 13:46
Good to see you back Wolfie, lots of us missed your stories, would love to see the photos of the fossils if you post them up.

Carolyn - (no longer of Troopy Travellers - the troopy went to a good home and we still see it from time to time)
AnswerID: 213994