next g phones
Submitted: Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 17:23
friar
G/Day All, a new year more toys ,is anyone using next G LG mobile model TU500 phone, with in car kit , this has been offered to me as a change over from my CDMA, all free on a $40 plan. I have been told my old external whip aerial will plug in to car kit ,thanking you Friar.
Reply By: srowlandson - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 17:34
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 17:34
not sure if it is my jasjam or nextg network, but i hate
mine.
great PDA, hopeless phone.
drop outs all the time, answer and can't hear other person.... pita..
Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 18:55
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 18:55
i have the same phone agree with ya comments, but i have no worries with reception!
Follow Up By: Member - Nifty1 (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 22:21
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 22:21
I have a Jasjam and as a phone it's terrible, constant dropouts and missed calls.
At least for now the Next G network is dreadful (
Canberra region).
What's most frustrating is that Telstra (in my experience) are happy to hand over new phones but not fix the problems ..
Reply By: John R (SA) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 19:03
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 19:03
Can't offer first hand experience, and am interested to see what people say about the LG as I'm on the verge of changing too.
My stock agent was telling me this morning that they nearly had the samsungs delivered, but were warned off them as pretty ordinary by a local independent telecommuncations guru, who suggested they have the LG (yes, very anecdotal but I know both sources give phones a real workout!).
Quite a number of people I've run in to have them and are very happy. I just wish a few more models would hit the market.
Good to know about the jimjam, or whatever it is, as I was thinking about getting one of those.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 23:25
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 23:25
John, have a LG and it goes
well with the car kit. Plugs straight into the old broomstick antenna but uses a re-radiating antenna for the phone. Good solid car kit, good speaker and microphone.
Reply By: Member - Brad S (SA) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 19:11
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 19:11
I opted for the Samsung SGH-A701 when I moved from CDMA. $40 plan. Happy with the phone, just trying to source a car kit. Coverage seems to be OK...just a little under CDMA...again a car kit might cure this.
Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 19:25
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 19:25
Subject of coverage/usability/access to NextG has been covered elsewhere.
If CDMA is working
well for you at the moment, don't change until you have to. If the CDMA is getting a bit on the iffy side for you, then change, but expect that the NextG will be as iffy as CDMA at the moment, until the changeover is complete. No need to charge into a new contract/phone just because a salesman says you should. The deals will be around for a lot longer yet, and the range of phones available is likely to improve.
The towers use the same antennas for CDMA and NextG but the equipment/technology/frequency is slightly different. All they are doing is going around and changing a percentage of the Tx/Rx units at a time in every tower, removing some of the old CDMA and plugging in the new NextG, so the towers are shared between the two technologies as the changeover is occurring with the bias being towards more and more NextG as time goes on. Ultimately CDMA will be as iffy as the initial stages of NextG were in the beginning.
Reply By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 21:31
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 21:31
G'day friar ,
We went in a few weeks ago and got 2 of the TU500 phones , gotthe car kit as
well , with all the hipe the girlie went on with i was fairly impressed ,, shoulda known better ,, we had the antana on the bullbar , the new kit fitted into it so you should be right ,, but think about it ,, i have 2 here if you want ,, the next G system is rubbish as far as we are concerned ,, never had so many dropouts and even as you answer a call it drops out , need to call the same number a few times in hope !!
All the best with it ,,,,
Neil ..
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 21:47
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 21:47
Read my post above...it should improve over time...and CDMA will be lousy within a year.
"access" to the network does not equal "coverage".
Too many early adopters in a small area attempting to talk through the one tower can overload the system until everything is swapped over, causing "dropouts" (in fact access problems rather than coverage).
Follow Up By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 21:55
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 21:55
G'day GaryInOz ,,
Fair point ,, but why tell everyone that it is so good now when its nowhere near what we were told , she told us the coverage up this way and all through the cape area now left cdma in the dark , we would've waited if we thought it was going to be this bad ,, so I still say its CRAP !!
How ever , they do take not a bad photo for a phone camera !!
Neil ..
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 23:34
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 23:34
="Salesmen"=
They tell you exactly what you want to hear to make a sale......................
Don't panic or write it all off as a bad joke, they were/are right about access/coverage...........eventually!
Reply By: 3F62 - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 21:32
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 21:32
Have had
mine for about 4 wks providing the LG flip phone is open the signal is the same as my old Nokia CDMA but once you close it up & put it in its carry pouch on your belt it loses considerable reception to to stage it wont have a signal indoors @ work where my Cdma did........ the Next G & CDMA tower is 3 k's from work & about 75 mtrs higher........ Once in the car kit with the external "broom stick" type antenna the Next G & old Nokia CDMA are the same........ my wife got the Samsung A501 Next G which has an external antenna on the phone & it's reception is superior to my LG........ A bit disappointed with battery life........ like the idea of it roaming to Telstra GSM if it can find a tower if out of Next G range & will use other service providers tower for "000" if in range of them & out of Next G.
Reply By: Peter - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 22:04
Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 22:04
As mentioned elsewhere about new systems taking over old ones, I wont touch next g until CDMA is turned off, dead, and buried. I got bitten by Telstra in the Analogue to CDMA change over, and once bitten twice shy.
Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 00:07
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 00:07
I am thinking similar to others - Telsra
shop tells me they dont have any decent car kits in Next G - so I will wait until my CDMA dies or until Telstra turn CDMA off (that coulkd take a while - my Kyocera 3245 has been brilliant - one of the most robust mobile phone I have owned - and great car kit) Sound like we have about 12 months of CDMA left
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 05:04
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 05:04
Next G
What crap ,,,,,
In both
Leongatha and Wonthaggi in South gippsland,, still lonly get it in 1/2 the towns,, I got this wiz-bang Motorola ,,,phone is good,, service crap !
The Mrs little Optus digital prepaid, worked more
places in the Outback too !
$200m spent on set up, Promotion's on the TV and Radio, probably got them another $10,000m in sales and contracts
Go Telstra
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 07:32
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 07:32
A suggestion, start reading before you start writing. Read and UNDERSTAND what I have said above...............
Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 06:03
Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 06:03
Stuffed up there ,,,didn't I
Sorry about that ,,,
Reply By: Member - Arkay (SA) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 08:17
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 08:17
A little bird told me that there will be a Nokia Next G phone available March / April 2007. After several mobile phones of different makes and all the systems over the years (all Telstra) I have developed a preference for Nokia. So personally I will not even begin to think of changing my CDMA for Next G until I see what Nokia has to offer, and probably several months after that to allow the new system to settle in.
Reply By: padler - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 21:28
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 21:28
Maybe you should wait until around June when Nokia are supposed to be bringing out their nextG phones. I reckon they will have an arial capabilities on them. The LG ones are useless up around the
Onslow, WA area.
Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 08:13
Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 08:13
For anyone that is interested they are doing a software upgrade to next g in rural areas by the end of the month so it may improve signal I found this out by complaining about the coverage of my nextg phone in
weipa.
Reply By: friar - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 12:29
Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 12:29
Thanking everyone for their imput, I will wait a little longer before I change over, although the cdma is starting to fade out at home, which it only did in the early days of cdma.Friar
Reply By: Willykj - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:34
Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:34
My CDMA phone died last year so in December we changed over to Next G. My wife changed from GSM &
mine CDMA. Despite what has been said we are very happy with our experience so far.
We went with Samsung - 2 phones for $20 plans, phones included. Neither of us have had any dropouts. We have traveled country areas & reception has been great.
A couple of weeks ago we were up in
New England with 2 other couples with CDMA's & generally my Next G reception was better. Also use it with a laptop for internet & the speed is very very good. Just as fast as my broadband at home.
Willy