Land rover discovery's

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 23:23
ThreadID: 40876 Views:5456 Replies:18 FollowUps:17
Can any body tell me why the disco's are so cheap. Have seen 98/2000 models with around the 120k mark in td5 form for around the 15k mark. Do they have major issues or are they a good vehicle. Updated the wives car last year to a newy and am now going to update the lux. Ran out of funds last year. The disco's seem to come pretty well equiped or am I asking for trouble. Am not interesed in the V8 as a friend had one and had nonthing but electrical troubles and he owned it since new. Is this the same with the td5 electrical issuses, crappy air con, oil leaks etc or was this mainly the V8's. Dont want to start a nissan/toyota thing here just wanting to know what there like. I am a toyota fan but open to other brands even looked at a few tritons over the weekend dont seem to bad. Not into rock hopping any more or stuff like that just some thing that is still reasonably capable off road and for pulling the camper trailer hence why Im getting rid of the 2.8D totally gutless for pulling but has been a brilliant vehicle all the same great off road with the solid front end. Regards Steve M

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 23:28

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 23:28
I could say something, but those who have had a good one will argue. Try Googling around for pages that say "why I love/hate my Disco". There should be a Yahoo Disco group on the Net ?
AnswerID: 213318

Reply By: Member - Jason S (SA) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 00:08

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 00:08
Fiance's father has one. He goes pretty hard in it.

Simpson regular.

He is over it and looking at the V8 TD Toyota on it's way out.

Issues include freaking expensive repairs, pommy engineering, manifold warp x3, no where near enough clearance, 2 hours to change a fan belt.

He busted a power steering hose just out of Broken Hill last trip. Was off the road for a week waiting for a part to be sent there for the repair.

Don't look at the Disco as an improvement on the towing front either.
AnswerID: 213331

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 00:35

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 00:35
Hi there Jason, yes am looking for some thing with better tow ability which isnt hard when comparing the old 2.8 lux.I didnt realize the disco's had so many problems just did a google search. looks like a disco is off the books after some of the things I have just read on other sites. Was looking at the 2.8 td pajero but have heard they have head problems on a regular occurance so maybe a petrol might be an option for myself. Only want to spend around the 15k mark but dont want an unreliable sh@t box either. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 473644

Follow Up By: Member - Jason S (SA) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 02:00

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 02:00
Depending on what you got to spend, you might be better off with something like a GQ with a V8.

There is a sweet one on ebay. $7990

Saw a member's GQ that has a V8 diesel injected in it. That was a sweet ride.

You are right about the 4M40 Pajero motor. I do have mates with it and they have done 400 000 + but others have had the head issue.
FollowupID: 473646

Follow Up By: madfisher - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 09:45

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 09:45
Stephen hi,
THe 2nd hand market is a very astute judge of a vehicles reliabity.Got a mate in Tassie who I fly done to visit every couple of years. He has had a couple of Discoverys over the last 10 years, and I am yet to ride in one, always in the shop. THe pajero 3lt petrol is not much thirster than the 2.8 diesel and is a nicer drive. THeir was aq base gl NL in the trading post with the 3.5 motor with stacls of extras for 12500.00 and it looked really clean, not far from you at Richmond. But GQs are bullett proof if you can find a good one
Good luck Pete
FollowupID: 473684

Reply By: Beadman- Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 08:20

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 08:20
I've been down this road only 8 months ago. I bought a disco with only 80k on the clock. nice car to drive BUT i've already given it to the wife for the kids and got my self a GU 4.2td. The discos have got a few problems. You should find a good GQ for $15k i looked at one in Gympie QLD two weeks ago 4.2td 215000km A/C needs a bit of tiding up but drove really well listed for $14.5K. So I'm sure you will find something. Good Luck
AnswerID: 213352

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 09:22

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 09:22
Agree with Footloose above......been broke and on medication ever since.
Now own a 99 GU 4.2.............................Keith
AnswerID: 213364

Reply By: Member - Axle - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 09:25

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 09:25
Hi Stephen

The 98/ 99 mod disco with the tdi engine was a good unit, NO electrics, all minor mech faults been rectified, they ARE reliable and a excellent tow vechicle.

Auto transmission makes them even better, but hard to obtain.

AnswerID: 213365

Follow Up By: Alan H - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 10:55

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 10:55
I had a 300Tdi Disco and it was reliable, plus economical and a good riding vehicle. Never any serious probs. and it pulled our van weighing approx. 1.5t up and down the state with out any dramas. Lagged power on hills when towing but that wasn't a great problem mostly.
We did over 100,000klms before selling it and only did that because I wanted a Defender.
Don't believe all the bar room bull bleep you hear about unreliable Land Rovers as I suspect they suffer no more than others do when everything is taken into consideration.
Alan H.
FollowupID: 473714

Reply By: banjodog - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 10:23

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 10:23
Is the 2.5L TD Jeep Cherokee XJ an option? A '99 to '01 model Cherokee is in your price range. Don't know if it's still the VM motor though in the later XJs.

I believe the TDi 4 cylinder Discovery is a better option than the TD5 5 cylinder for the price of engine parts but a few phone calls to the dealer should sort that one out.

But don’t overlook the 2.8L Pajero of the same year as they’re in your price range too.

AnswerID: 213377

Reply By: srowlandson - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 10:28

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 10:28
Early disco's had LOTS of dramas...

Later model ones are a lot better.

Like all british cars, maintain them well, and they are generally reliable.... skimp on maintenance (which can be expensive) can make things get VERY expensive.

that said, they make a great cheap bush car if your buying one for weekend fun and not a daily driver.

I have been keeping my eyes open for a bargain early V8 Auto Disco 3 dr to heavily modify for a weekend warrior type vehicle.

AnswerID: 213378

Reply By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:28

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:28
Thought I'd just try to slow than avalanche of negative sentiment - or is that like trying to stop the tide from coming it??.

Bought our '97 300Tdi (4 cyl, 2.5 L) in 2001 with 89K on the clock. Had the timing belt modification kit fitted, as it was a relatively early-build engine but I knew about and was prepared for this mod.

Now has 228K on the clock and has NEVER broken down or left us stranded, including Cape York and Simpson Desert by ourselves. At least half of the kms we've done with caravans of between 1600 and 2200 kg in tow and much in hot northern Oz conditions.

Apart from regular maintenance (oil & filter every 5K, other fluids every 30 - 40 K and timing belt and fan/aircon belts & coolant hoses every 70K) the following maintenance/repairs have been done:
. One set of front and rear pads (original discs),
. Replaced original dampers with Bilsteins at ~100K,
. Rear main seal replaced at ~160K - replaced clutch and pressure plate while apart but originals far from worn-out,
. Water pump (weeping seal) at ~ 180K
. Replaced original springs with Lovells at ~190K (original rears starting to sag under 'semi-permanent' 300kg load in back plus much towing).

Pretty reasonable total cost of ownership and comfortable, reliable service, IMHO. I believe the later Td5s are generally good vehicles too but I'd avoid the first year or so of production, as I would with any make or model.

But Land Rovers definitely aren't for everybody. You either love 'em or hate 'em. Then, I like being the underdog at times - especially when snatching Toyotas out of the sand with a 'puny' 2.5 L
AnswerID: 213387

Reply By: Utemad - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:30

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:30
I bought a 1994 V8 manual Discovery about 5 months ago. I bought it for two reasons. One was that the Rodeo I had wouldn't pull the camper I wanted to buy particularly well. Two was that the Rodeo wasn't good enough for the 4wd club stuff that I was doing. The Disco I have pulls my new camper like it isn't there. No trouble hauling the trailer through soft beach sand either. The V8 economy isn't as bad I was told either. I get 15L/100kms with mixed driving. My last beach trip towing the camper with much of it through soft sand still only saw 22L/100kms.

The only problems I have had with it is the central locking. I have replaced two of the motors with Jaycar units and one more needs doing. The motors are $10ea retail. Hardly an expensive repair.

The V8s are much cheaper to fix if something goes wrong but then what petrol model isn't cheaper to fix than its diesel counterpart?

My Disco cost me $7600 in Sydney and is in immaculate condition. Owned by a very fussy guy. Came with an ARB winch bar with 8000lb Warn winch, GME UHF, Sheepskin covers, redone roof lining, rear _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx, factory mags and factory cruise control, fridge, all his (unused) recovery gear, spare service parts, roof racks, upgraded ECU, 2in King Spring lift and Bilstein shocks.

A Disco in series 1 form is not a large vehicle however its offroad abilities put it with the Patrols and Cruisers due to its suspension. The series 2 has more storage room as it is about 20cm longer I think.
How much would a Patrol or Cruiser with comparable kit and comfort levels cost you? Or would an IFS Japper be okay anyway considering the Disco is the same size and you don't need its offroad ability.

However $15k is very much the starting price for the Td5 models. I wouldn't have thought you would see one with only 120k on it for that much.

If you want to trawl through heaps of excellent tech info then have a look at www.aulro.com
AnswerID: 213388

Reply By: greydemon - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:31

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:31
I LOVE Landrovers. I loved my 1996 TDi Auto Discovery. It had great off road ability, was great to drive, didn't have oil leaks, and had a lot of 'soul'.

I haven't got it any more. I have an NM Pajero. It is comfortable. Does the job. Hopefully will be cheaper to run. And is dead boring.

The Disco was always a delight to drive but in 4 years depreciation and repairs cost around $8000 per year. (Not normal running costs of insurance, servicing, rego,fuel etc - just repair of broken things)

I won't bore you with the list but when the entire engine had to be written off after a sudden loss of coolant it was the last straw. When I win the lotto I'll probably get a Td5, I won't get one of the new Discoveries 'cos they are bog ugly and look like a delivery van.

SO, if you are rich, get a Disco - you will love it.

AnswerID: 213389

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:40

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:40
a few months back i stopped as there was disco on the side of the road with it's hood up to make sure he was ok as phone coverage was a little patchy. Anyway his td5 disco had dumped all it's coolant also. i don't know if this is a common thing.

Leroy
FollowupID: 473723

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:59

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:59
Aw, fair go Leroy! What about every other vehicle you've seen broken down on the side of the road - are they an example of a 'common' fault with that make & model?

In general, I don't know of too many vehicles that can tolerate a "sudden loss of coolant". And unless I'm again mistaken, such an event can happen to any vehicle through poor maintenance (e.g. old hoses), poor workmanship (loose hose clamps) or, occasionally, just plain bad luck. [Grey, please note, I'm not casting aspersions on your maintenance or workmanship.]
FollowupID: 473732

Follow Up By: Utemad - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:05

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:05
A 1996 Tdi and a 1999+ Td5 are two different vehicles.

I should also ad that my Disco did come with one problem apart from the central locking. It had a radiator leak. I had it fixed for $33. I did the remove and refit which took about 10mins each way.
FollowupID: 473735

Follow Up By: madfisher - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 14:58

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 14:58
When I was a lot younger I loved Jags, still do, but a lot wiser person told me to get my mechanical enjineers deegree or make a lot of money. My solution was to find a mate who was an enjineer who owned a modded Xj12. Because he reguraly lost his lic. I often got to drive it (damm car felt better at 140ks than 100k)
My piont is all english cars have character and soul But are a pain you know where.
In case people think I am anti rover We have a 11a and a series 111 on the family farm but rarely use them because the yota or narvara always go
FollowupID: 473786

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 15:00

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 15:00
I agree Ian. It was merely an observation and I thought maybe someone may shed some light on it other than being a coincidence.

Leroy
FollowupID: 473787

Follow Up By: marcus - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 15:16

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 15:16
Greydemon,
I know exactly where you are coming from.When my mate threw me the keys to his '02 Pajero and said you drive i jumped in with an "open mind".The V6 was smooth,willing and thirsty as we headed down the blacktop.Whatcha reckon he queried as we sailed along on cruise control and i politely replied very nice.The truth was i could have been driving a commodore.It was modern and did the job but was all too bland,totally without character or soul.I think you have to own a landrover to understand this and thats why so many owners love em and others don't.My heart still raises a beat when i jump into the TD5 because the way it drives is special and i love it on road and off.I have had it now for over five years and it has been reliable after many off road trips.I believe the series 11 to be better built than the earlier models.
Cheers Mark
FollowupID: 473799

Follow Up By: greydemon - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 17:23

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 17:23
No offence taken Ian from Thermoguard. My water loss problem was caused by a bl**dy great hole in the cylinder head. The mechanic reckoned that it had been there from day one as a minor imperfection, perhaps invisible being initially below the surface, over the years this became a cavity which grew and grew until finally after 10 years it burts through and dumped all my coolant while going up a steep hill. I had about 5 seconds warning (an ominous engine rattle) before it stopped for ever having stuffed up the head, block and other bits.

Ah well, we are trying to build some character into the Pajero, after 5 weeks or so it finally has a name! Once we have shared a few off road adventures together I'm sure we will become mates.
FollowupID: 473831

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 20:18

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 20:18
>became a cavity which grew and grew until finally
>after 10 years it burts through and dumped all my
>coolant while going up a steep hill.

Well... I would not have thought ten years was an unreasonable life for an engine - although I _know_ lots of people will respond and say how they have had 300 years and 12 x 10+6 km from _their_ engines :)

FollowupID: 473855

Reply By: markeaust - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:36

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:36
Stephen,

I had a 200Tdi 1992 Disco which I bought with 35k on the clock and 3 years old.

I loved the engine. It was reliable, economical and generally powerful enough until you put a heavy load or towing something moderate. It would then struggle to get up hills or take off from the lights on a hill. I would say that I enjoyed the car overall but would agree with some of the other posts that suggest high level of maintenance to avoid even more costly repairs. They are an enthusiasts car IMHO.

Some well known 'common' problems with this model were:
1. Leaks...both water leaks into the cabin and oil leaks. Mine had both several leaks into the cabin which took me quite a while to sort out (cheaply) and a couple of little niggly oil leaks ie Rear main seal (minor) ....power steering box which took the mechs 2 years to sort out...it was a very simple issue that was repetitive due to incompetent mechs.

2. Gearbox. Mine had the early LT77 box and there were issues with the synchros and over the years it was removed and repaire twice (cost $5k...ouch). There was also an issue qwith the clutch throw fork being too weak and the 'actuator rod' eventually pierced the fork and therefore no clutch....gearbox out again.

3. Axles. Whilst I had no issues with mine as I drive very carefully, these aren't the strongest in the business, but can be replace with aftermarket ones....but at a cost.

4. Suspension. In standard form a bit on the soft side, but has great articulation...one of the best in the business. Needs heavier springs and shocks for load carrying (just like most others though).

5. Wheels. These early ones were poorly manufactured and would often be very difficult to balance. I found some later ones which had better welding which cost very little and fixed the problem.

6. Steering. knuckle wiper seals....very inadequate and consequently the CV's would leak about 10 minutes after replacing the seals....I just gave up. The 'universal type joint' on the steering column was also know to seize up and cause difficult steering....easily replaced or temporarily lubricated.

Would I have another one....? I don't think so. I do a lot of touring in the outback and many trips in to the Vic H/C and I now have kids. The Disco was too small, particularly in the back (I couldn't fit my Autofridge in longways with the seats in position). Also I wanted a vehicle which, if it broke down in some way (which they all can do, Toy/Niss/Mitz/Ford..whatever), then I wanted the BEST chance to be able to get parts/service for it in remote areas. In this regard the 105 L/C suited my needs. There were literally thousands of these things touring the outback (Britz/Hertz etc...). Split rims are tuppence a dozen etc....though I digress.

Taking all that into consideration, they CAN be a good buy on the 2nd hand market if you are prepared to treat it with TLC etc....

Good Luck,
AnswerID: 213405

Reply By: Andrew5691 - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:45

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:45
I was in the market for a Disco about a year ago and stumbled across a Mitsubishi Challenger for the right money and bought it instead. I have been really impressed with it. Its fantastic on the beach with the big tyres they come with (standard tyres are only 10mm skinnier than on an 80 series). I have done a bit of bush work including Sundowner and up Spicers Gap without any difficulties at all.

Many of those trips have been in the company of my brother who drives an 80 series with nearly every accessory available and he has begrudgingly gone from calling the Challenger a "hairdressers 4wd" to acknowledging it goes ok. Mine does have a LSD on the rear which I think gives it a lot more off road ability. Look for one with this if you can.

Fuel consumption is ok. Importantly cos its still where they spend most of the time it drives well on the bitumen and is particularly comfortable for long highway drives.
AnswerID: 213407

Reply By: Bytemrk - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 13:05

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 13:05
Like many have said, Land Rovers are not for everyone..

That said - I have a V8 Disco II and I love it.. unlike all the rumors you hear.. it has NEVER failed to get me home.. and has had no more issues than any other vehicle I have owned over the past 20 or so years.

I use mine for a daily driver in town, pulling our camper trailer and regular off road excursions. I believe you will not find a more capable vehicle - in standard factory build for off road use. (with possible exceptions of a Defender or a Troopy)

The key is maintenance.... yes if you use dealers it is expensive. BUT there are many good knowledgeable Land Rover mechanics at a reasonable price if you know where to look.

Pop into www.aulro.com and you will find a lot more info on Discoveries. While it's no doubt a little biased in it's views... you will find no better resource on the net regarding Land Rovers.

I am not interested in the Toyota vs Nissan vs land Rover crap.... we all choose what we choose... but from my experience - most unreliable Land rovers are that way because they are not maintained.. or not maintained by mechanics with the appropriate knowledge.

With a Disco II ( ie TD5 disco) your mechanic does need the right computer system to maintain it... so depending where you are located - this may be a problem.

FYI
AnswerID: 213415

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 17:02

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 17:02
"most unreliable Land rovers are that way because they are not maintained.. or not maintained by mechanics with the appropriate knowledge"
Although poor maintenance may contribute further to Landys being unreliable even when brand new many are just plain lemons. A very good friend had his first ride on the tilt tray less than 50 KM from the dealer then a further 3 more times it was either picked up or driven back in limp home mode in the 2 years he could afford to own it. Another with 5 small issues on his Defender went to a big Melb dealer complaining only to be given a list of 14 other problems he could expect in the next couple of years. Of course with LandRover closing many of their dealerships recently, getting expert service is now even harder to find.
I once had an enlightening discussion with a member of the Vic LandRover club about the poor build quality of the brand. When I estimated that 1 in 10 Landys were lemons he surprisingly corrected me saying it was probably closer to 1 in 5. It is a pity though as if you get a good one they are by far the best alround offroad vehicle made.
Cheers Craig............
FollowupID: 473825

Reply By: Bilbo - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 16:48

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 16:48
A lot of you have said,"One either loves Landrovers or hate 'em".

As an ex-Landrover mech as a younger man in the UK, I hate 'em with a passion.

I've NEARLY always driven Nissan Patrols since coming to Oz in 1974 and never had much of a repair bill for anything.

Previous Nissan was a 1989 Ford Maverick diesel ute that was caned and overloaded regularly in the bush. Took it from 39,000 kms to 280,000 kms and only ever had to pay out for a new front brake rotor after the caliper jammed, reground rear brake drums and oversize linings after "taking economy a bit too far" and the usual batteries, bulbs, tyres etc. Never even put new shockies or an exhaust on it. Easy to service and did all my own stuff on it. Bombproof and it's still going strong with its new owner.

My last 100 series TD Landcruiser was costing me about $3,000.00 per year to sevice by Toyota - never again.

My current Nissan with Chev V8 truck engine, servicing costs me about $300.00 a year.

Now what was that about Landrovers???,,,,,,,,,They're not even a decent car let alone a decent 4WD. But before you all go mad, Stephen did ask for opinons. This one's only my opinion.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 213465

Follow Up By: Utemad - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 20:00

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 20:00
Recent Land Rovers may have a few parts common to the old days but if you haven't been a Land Rover mechanic since at least 1974 then I think you must really hold some grudges :)~

I didn't think you have had your V8 Patrol for 12 months yet?
FollowupID: 473853

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 12:39

Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 12:39
Utemad,

It's not a matter of "grudges", It's just a mechanic's eye view of current events based on personal past history. When you've worked with machinery most of your life you seem to develop a sixth sense of what's right and what's wrong, what'll work and what won't . I'm sure "666 Toy" would agree with me here.

So if I take my past exeperience with Landy's, and then add to that the complaints I see on here and then supplement that with personal observataions of current model Landys, then I get a pictire that I don't like. The old engineers maxim states, "If it looks right then it usually is". I've found that this maxim is a valuable yardstick.

I've applied the same yardstick to the 3.0 litre Nissan engine and past experience with 4 cylinder diesels pulling such a large weight led me to the same conclusion - it doesn't LOOK right.

But these are only my yardsticks. Others people have thiers.

I'm not sure what to make of your comments about my Nissan with the Chev in it. Care to expand?

Bilbo
FollowupID: 473941

Follow Up By: Utemad - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 13:11

Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 13:11
I also work with machinery but I don't look at Land Rovers and think they are crap. I have never been a Land Rover mechanic though. However going by all the front diff and axle breakages in 100 series Landcruisers in our club they must be an unreliable poorly designed vehicle. We have more Rovers in our club than 100 series Cruisers but the Cruisers are higher up on the breakages tally by my reckoning.

As for what I meant about your V8 Patrol, you said that it costs you $300/year in servicing. I just meant that how would you know that if you have not had it 12 months yet? Sure you can guess by cost of oils and filters etc but unless that is all you include in your costs then you can't really say. But if it is only oils and filters etc that people account for and not breakages or unplanned parts replacement then why is it people say Land Rovers cost so much to own?
FollowupID: 473947

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 14:13

Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 14:13
Utemad,

I have had it since early May 2006, that's about 7 or 8 months. I also have the Brunswick supplied Service Manual and the US Armed Forces repair and parts manuals for these Chev engines - they're used in millions of US Forces vehicle all over the world. I also have about 11 years experience servicing my former Ford Mavrick ute (Nissan Patrol with Ford badges on it). Now, this Chevissan of mine has had all the GU diffs, gearbox and transfer case, radiator, batteries, alternator ripped out and replaced with a total GQ drive train, and new everything else - along with all new after market suspension. There's not much left to go wrong.

And all up, it was cheaper than a new Landrover or a "new any other large 4WD " for that matter.

The Service Manuals and my experience indicate that barring catastrophic failure of the Chev engine, it is a very simple, non-complex engine to service. It's a simple truck engine with no computer or electronic parts, it's old fashioned - the way I like 'em. Whilst the body shape is GU, the rest of the Chevissan is almost all GQ - the strongest Nissan ever made - by reputation and by my experience.

So using all that info coupled with 15 years as a mechanic on trucks and heavy vehicles etc along with anectdotal evidence from other Chevissan owners, coupled with the knowledge that next to nothing broke on my old GQ in spite of it having been badly mistreated, I reckon I'm qualified to make an estimate that whilst it may be "an almost new" vehicle now, it isn't gonna cost much more down the track.

Plus - my definition of "Servicing Costs" is the regular stuff like oil 'n filters etc. Anything else, such as broken bits is "Repair Costs".

But - We ain't comparing my Chevissan with a Landrover are we? That wasn't the gist of this thread was it ;)

As for your question,",,,,,,,,,,,,,But if it is only oils and filters etc that people account for and not breakages or unplanned parts replacement then why is it people say Land Rovers cost so much to own,,,,,,,,"

I dunno. Go ask a Landrover owner why. My opinion is also partly based on what I read on here and talking to other Landy owners. My answer would be -"cos a lot of 'em break so easily".

Bilbo
FollowupID: 473962

Reply By: 666toy - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 21:06

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 21:06
just remember this LUCAS PRINCE OF DARKNESS caveat emptor not built with hot climates in mind either.
Be careful of the timing set-up on these td5 they are known to stuff up regularly & are a self destruct motor when it happens.
15k will buy you a very nice Patrol or L/C if you look hard enough
In my workshop i had a lot of land/range rovers come in with lots of electrical faults predominately .
Very difficult company to deal with for parts often unavailable or long wait times & expensive.
A total bitch to work on as well.
By one if you must but i think you will be better served by a Patrol or L/C
CAVEAT EMPTOR........................................666TOY
AnswerID: 213522

Reply By: Utemad - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 13:12

Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 13:12
Boy you have to love a good Land Rover thread :-)
AnswerID: 213626

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 14:43

Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 14:43
Thanks to every one, phew what a read, any way I have come to the conclusion that I will not be having one parked in my driveway. No offence to any one that has one but after what I have read here and other sites I will not be looking at any. They seem very capable off road but have rang around just to get some part prices and things and yes I think will cost me a lot more $$$$ in the long run. Yes I know cruisers have front diff issues and the patrols 4.2d have issues with temps etc and the pajero's few head issues and stuff and the tritons well not much mentioned at all about these things either used for shopping only or there not taken into the scrub or there a bloody good ute as I couldnt find jack sh@t in regards to problems with them. I will be looking at one of these vehicles more likely the cruiser but I have to have a long think about it as I find the ute very very handy and also have a 170L water tank in the back which I wont fit in a cruiser so wife and I will be doing some talking over the next few weeks and decide which suits us the best. Once again thanks for the replys. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 213642

Reply By: MT - Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 23:09

Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 23:09
Interesting how many folks with an opinion have never owned one...... so often a mate of mate or a friend etc.

Have had a SII TD5 Disco from new, Have been all over the place with it. NT, QLD, WA and now NSW. Towed with it, off roaded etc. Have maintained it proactively (like I reckon you should all machinery). Never had a significant problem. Have returned average 10-12 L / 100 km everywhere. Paid 20k less than for the comparable LC 100 , paid more than I would have for a Patrol. Have saved buckets compared to the warranty mandated service intervals and costs from the Toyo.

Drives real sweet - off and on road, and (IMHO) looks more stylish than many others.

Accessories are readily available.

oh - and another , minor point perhaps - could take it off road without voiding the warranty! Some other brand owners might want to check their manufacturing firm's recent history in this regard!

Bottom line - I like it, try one (borrow/ hire / test drive) and make your own mind up. Remember - opinions are like ****holes - everyone has one.

My view - you will like it or not - so be it, but do not sell yourslef short by not checking it out.

PS Any LR from 1974 will have as much in common with a modern LR as a roman chariot. Keep this in mind when looking at claims from 'experts' . Lets be honest that was 33 years ago! Can anyone remember what a Datsun or Toyo 4wd was like back then? See my point ?

Good luck with your search, hope you find something that does it for you.
AnswerID: 213917

Popular Products (11)