Bendethera Valley - Deua River Flowing?

Submitted: Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 13:46
ThreadID: 40986 Views:3152 Replies:5 FollowUps:1

Has anyone been down to Bendethera Valley lately - just wondering if there is any water flowing in the Deua River? Thinking of heading down there, would be nice for the kids to go swimming.

Also what are the track conditions like, can't recall the name of the track - but it's the one that goes past Mt Dampier Trig.

Thanks in advance,
Jezza.

!MPG:16!

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 13:54

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 13:54
Mate, Dampier Fire Trail is a highway with only those few steep hair pins. Track condition has improved heaps. I was there in November and the Deua was still flowing and we have had rain since so should be still fine. Good luck, it's a great little spot......
AnswerID: 213998

Reply By: Member - Lindsay- Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 17:59

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 17:59
G'day Jezza

I was out there mid December for our local 4wd club Xmas party weekend & the road from Moruya to Bendethra was recently graded & water in the river aplenty. We have had locally (Tuross Head) & in the ranges near Bendethra about 3 inches of rain since Xmas. NPWS have current a complete fire ban so check that out before you go.

Enjoy you stay!

Lindsay & the (polar) bear
AnswerID: 214056

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:01

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:01
Merricanbean (spelling) Fire trail....definately no trailer trail....hope it doesnt rain whilst your there, or u could be camping in the car...sort of trail. Accelerate down hills to keep steering in one particular place sort of trail :@)
Love the valley and the 4wding/caveing
AnswerID: 214107

Reply By: ingo57 - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:16

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 21:16
Was there late November, was water in the river but pretty low, track conditions were very good. Bendethera valley campground was very thick with flies...have fun, great spot.

AnswerID: 214119

Follow Up By: Member - Jezza (NSW) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 23:07

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 23:07
Hello all,

Thanks for all your replies - looks like Bendethera is a goer! Just need to give some consideration about taking the camper-trailer. Have done the track a few times without it, and know many trailers have done it before....food for thought.

Thanks again,
Jezza.
FollowupID: 474393

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 06:37

Tuesday, Jan 09, 2007 at 06:37
Was down there last week. Bendethera and Dampier tracks were fine even in damp conditions. We had two campers with us.
Merricumbene was a challenge in places particularly as it was damp. The campers would have had buckleys in the conditions. It was very rutted and chopped up on a couple of sections and some of the clay hills were a quite slippery.
There was hardly anyone there and it was quite green and the river was flowing.
AnswerID: 214171