Brew69(SA)
What brand do you have?
Are you happy with it?
How much was it?
Also anyone got one off of ebay that is any good?
Thanks Brew
Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:42
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:42
Hi Brew - We got ours from Hong Kong from EBay - had to learn heaps about electronics to set it all up - put one on back of caravan and one in back of Patrol as cost was not much different for two, although we never used the one in the Patrol. Monitor from a different supplier - heaps of them on EBay.
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:13
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:13
Thanks for the info.I suppose that was one of my fears from ebay.......ie. not being able to work out the wiring lol.
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 20:03
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 20:03
Brew the wiring is straight forward. You need the video cable comes with an RCA plug each end and 12VDC supply to both camera & monitor. I got the power for the monitor from behind the map lights in the roof console and the power for the camera from the Aux supply for the towbar...The ones from Ebay do have instructions.
Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:45
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:45
I have this one and it is brilliant:
Site Link
This one looks good too:
Site Link
But if I was buying one now I'd go for this one, good specs and simple to fit:
Site Link
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:14
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:14
Thanks for the links. Does the one you have give good night vision?
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:59
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:59
reasonable night vision, however, it switches to monochrome at night...Vehicles approaching from the rear can be seen easily if they have their lights on & it takes little skill to work out the size of the vehicle by the size, location etc of the lights...
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:59
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:59
Hi Brew,
I did some research as to what was available and how I wanted to use it.
Ended up buying
mine from Brash Imports, based in
Melbourne.
www.brashimports.com.au/6A.htm
Yes, happy with it
Price is shown on the URL and will depend on what camera/monitor combination you want.
I chose a monitor that clips over the rear view mirror as I didn't want a dash mounted solution. It is quite practical as that is where you automatically look when about to reverse.
One minor problem. In full sunlight, the screen image can be hard to see at times due to the rear window reflection.
My solution is to swivel the mirror/screen up slightly in this situation so it is pointing at the roof. No more reflection.
I put
mine in for one reason only. To check what is directly behind the vehicle before I reverse. That it does exceptionally
well.
Sing out if you want a demo.
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:17
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:17
Thanks bill. May give you a mm some time soon.
Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 18:33
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 18:33
Hi Brew69
Check the specs and wiring on the cheaper systems.
If it is for a car only then they may be fine but if you need a twin system it gets more complicated. I spent a great deal of time fine tuning a system that will make DIY easy. We supply 12V to the cameras from the monitor control unit. there is only one 4 core wire to run to each camera and it is all pre-ended with weather proof plugs.
Let me know if you would like more details.
Derek.
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:17
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:17
Inquiry sent :)
Follow Up By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:15
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:15
Brew69,
The unit that Dereck sells are great. They work extremely
well and are value for money. I would recommend them without question.
Mine is a duel system fitted to both the Patrol and rear of the caravan.
Follow Up By: Penguin (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 14:21
Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 14:21
I second that. I have the dial system on the L/C and trailer and they're great. It's an apparently
well made kit and performs very
well.
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:25
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:25
Brew,
Have acloser look at
mine next time we're in the same place at the same time. It is a Poron; now known as Polaris.
Both my cameras have the infrared vision, but in reality, they don't need it (for reversing, anyway), as the reversing lights on both the 4by and the Ultimate, light up the back end at night.
Just driving normally at night (ie: without the reversing lights on), the view using the infrared LEDs is fairly limited and I end up turning it off anyway at night.
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:38
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:38
Yeah i like the one you have mate. But not sure where to go to get prices. Not much left in the kitty after my xmas backlash lol.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 20:26
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 20:26
I have the same as Bill's as I organised the deal for us to get them. LOL
Mine stays on constantly and is used as a rear view mirror and like Wayne (NSW) mines been all over the place, one wire only that carries the power and video signal to the monitor from the camera so easy to fit.
Cost us about $290- each if my memory serves me. (Was a good deal based on the number purchased) they were selling for around $500- at the time.
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:40
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:40
Brew,
Like Roachie I have a Polaris system. It has been along the Canning twice, the Kimberlys twice across the Simpson 4 times plus a lot of other smaller trips over the last 2 years and has not missed a beat.
As soon as the motor is stared the camera goes on and does not go off until the motor is switched off, and that could mean up to 10 hours a day of broadcasting.
I have only a single camera unit mounted on the back of the roof rack, but I was thinking of putting a camera on the front of the vehicle some where.
The cost was less than $4oo and I could see it before I bought it so it was not over ebay.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 20:16
Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 20:16
Gday Brew,
I've had a Jaycar system for 2 years now on the 79series
I have the DIN size in-dash unit with 7inch TFT that sits above the stereo - press a button and it pops out, and have the wide angle bullet camera (not infrared) they supply.
I think a RV camera is essential on my truck.
Re the Jaycar Unit, the 7 inch TFT screen has adequate resolution, but not good enough for any other application. You don't need a 7 inch screen - smaller ones are OK, and I would go for a smaller screen next time. The screen is poorly supported when its out - it shakes around and flops down if you hit bumps - so I pretty much only use it when reversing. In very
bright sunlight, its hard to see whats on the screen.
The camera is a nice compact bit of gear - the image is reversed, and the wide angle is perfect as long as you have the camera angled down. But it has a very fine screw thread that holds it together, and that thread can work loose, so a drop of superglue fixed that.
Its held together despite the abuse (corrugations) I've given the vehicle over 2 years. Only issue with the screen was a stuck release button and Jaycars did a straight swap of teh unit for a new one - rather generous.
I never use it on the highway - car behind is a small dot on the screen when they are close behind you - the rear view mirrors are better for seeing that.
phil
Reply By: Chucky - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 10:44
Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 10:44
I bought a 7" touchscreen with av inputs. I just press a button on tht monitor and it brings up the camera. If I want to put mulit cameras on the system I will just use a selector box to select which camera I want.
Screen and camera cost me $210 plus $50 postage off ebay.
I used a touchscreen because I run a incar computer for my navigation and music/radio the touchscreen is so much easier to use thatn a mouse and keyboard.
Also good for storing photos.
Reply By: rolande- Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 13:43
Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 13:43
G'Day Brew,
Saw one of these set-up recently. (CM 35)
Liked the quality of the picture, and more discreet to deter those five finger discounters from getting hold of it when I visit the big smoke.
I plan on fitting it under the back door handle of the Patrol so I can see the towball as
well as what is behind the vehicle.
poron CM 35
Rolande