Blundstones leave "Oz" for India,,,,

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 17:49
ThreadID: 41318 Views:3692 Replies:10 FollowUps:26
Yep,

"Blunnies" are closing thier factories in Tassie and NZ and shifting production to India and Thailand. Same old story,,,,,,,,

I just hope that the boots they'll produce over there are better than the pair of hand-made prospecting boots that I had made in Pattaya in Thailand a few yaers back. Wot a heep of schiiyte they were. They would have crippled a Clydesdale!!

Lasted about 3 weeks 'n I chucked 'em into a tree near Leonora. I was in agony and I never have a problem breaking in new boots, never.

I have very sensitive and tactile feet it seems. In fact I'm sensitive 'n tactile all over,,,,,,,,,

Bilbo

Reply By: Hairy - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:25

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:25
I wont be buying Blunstones again!
They can stick them fair up their Ar#e.
They say its because the labour is cheaper........I asume the price will be going down then???
AnswerID: 215961

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:28

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:28
So there is another Aussie made boot you would buy instead?

Give me a clue, which one?
FollowupID: 476256

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:31

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:31
R.M.Williams still make them in SA. (Just need a bank loan)
Just about every bit of clothing they sell is made in China tho.
FollowupID: 476258

Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:39

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:39
So you won't be buying bluntstones again.
Does this same logic apply to Toyota Hilux, Mazda Bravo, Holden Rodeo, Ford Courier and any other made in Thailand stuff.
Jeeps are made in Austria, Ford F series in Brazil, Holden Captiva in Korea,
not many real "Australian made" vehicles left.

What next!!

Disco

Made in Australia would be priced out of reach.
FollowupID: 476261

Follow Up By: Hairy - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:52

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 18:52
Red back, Thomas Cooks, RM Williams, Not sure about Rossis?
Dont really know but Ill be looking around for someone who still makes them here.

If Australia made a 4x4 I considered as good as what I have I would certainly but it!
We obviously could produce a boot, sounds a bit like they could make more money using cheap labour.
You cant buy every thing made in Australia, It just shiits me when something we can make goes offshore.
FollowupID: 476268

Follow Up By: apriti00 - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 20:02

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 20:02
Once again our gov at work, here we have a good Aus product, employing locals but rather than protecting our industry it supports importation. I will want to see a drop in price when they came in from overseas as they stated overseas costs are about 20 - 30% cheaper, lets see. As far as the example of Toyota Hilux @ Mazda Bravo etc they aren't an local Aussie product which is what this thread is about, we do produce Mitsubishi's and Camry's which are well priced and good products if you want to mention Aussie products. Protect local industry tax imports.
Disgruntled
FollowupID: 476286

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 20:55

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 20:55
I got my RM Williams Boots and shirts.

Best Investment Ever!!!

I’m a Cowboy LOL

I can rock up in My Country Road jeans, RM Boots and Shirt so wearing like $500 worth of clothing and still look like I just got back from the big Muster LMAO

Out bush, My foot wear is a set of Oliver unfinished leather Work Boots or a set of Heatwave Thongs Brought from the Coral bay Deli/ Shop/ bait surplyer.

FollowupID: 476303

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 07:03

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 07:03
Please not 80% of all R M Williams clothing is made in CHINA.
FollowupID: 476375

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 07:04

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 07:04
Should read please note.
FollowupID: 476376

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 20:58

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 20:58
That's what you call a crying shame......
AnswerID: 216008

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 21:00

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 21:00
The last pair of Blundstones that I bought (6/06) were the most uncomfortable boots that I have ever owned!
AnswerID: 216010

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 21:13

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 21:13
Mind you, we need to remember that Shaker's got 9 toes but only on one foot, the other leg doesn't have a foot.

So wearing a PAIR of boots is far more uncomfortable for him,,,,,,,

Bilbo
FollowupID: 476307

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 21:15

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 21:15
The quality went out the window a few years ago. I now request Oliver boots at work as the last few pair of Blunnies I had were hellishly uncomfortable, took a good 2 weeks to bed in and seams/sole parted way very quickly. At that time I actually thought they must've been made in china or elsewhere as they were crap, the box proved me wrong and i was very suprised.
FollowupID: 476309

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:20

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:20
Either you have my alleged problem ..... or Bilbo has shares in Blundstone?

As far as I'm concerned Redback leave them for dead.

Shame about the jobs though!
FollowupID: 476334

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:33

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:33
No, no shares in Blunnies.

In fact I don't think I'll ever buy Blunnies again either. I'll go Redback or those "Blue Steel" that are sold in WA.

Anyone know who makes "Blue Steel" and where are they made?

Bilbo
FollowupID: 476340

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:34

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:34
Redback get my vote
FollowupID: 476341

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:36

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 22:36
May be Site Link
FollowupID: 476342

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 02:44

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 02:44
hey bilbo, used to always wear the soft sole blunnie steel caps, then moved over to steel blues, they were made in perth and were the most comfortable boots ever -full stop.. NOW - steel blues made in CHINA and not so comfy.... BUT yes still $130 or more a pair. Gota love it, costs at least half if not a quarter, but the end price stays the same..

will have to try rossi next i think.
FollowupID: 476371

Reply By: rolande- Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 23:02

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 23:02
G'Day All,

There are still enough boot makers left in Australia to keep us all going.

Oliver my personal favourite at the moment.

The CEO said, "labour 1/20th what we pay here"

He didn't of course mention that HE would take a large pay cut to match the cheap indian labour?

On the news employees this afternoon, "no-one told us our jobs were at risk"

Looks like another case of being stuck in a board room trying to figure out why they are losing money. (Fact is - if they got OUT of the board room more and worked with their employees the story may well be very different).

Have seen this lots of times before - boss blaming workers when in reality the boss it to blame.

I know this is a generalization, and there are some very well run companies out there, the difficult part for the employees is it is hard for them to tell the difference until it is too late.

Rolande
AnswerID: 216045

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 00:37

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 00:37
What rubbish.
FollowupID: 476359

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 09:47

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 09:47
>.Looks like another case of being stuck in a board room trying to figure out why they are losing money. (Fact is - if they got OUT of the board room more and worked with their employees the story may well be very different).

No matter how much you cry and stamp your feet, you cannot compete with the labour costs overseas to ours. How many people on this board would take a paycut so they were on 1/20th they are on now? Not me.
FollowupID: 476409

Reply By: brett - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 23:11

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 23:11
Another vote for the redbacks, damn fine boot, very comfortable and made here. If your in southern Sydney go and see the bloke at Sutherland on President Avenue, he's got heaps of Redbacks ready to go.

Would be nice since they're saving so much in labour costs now that the price would drop, but that will never happen, the share price goes up and the CEO gets a good stock option deal.

Only thing to do here people is slip on your Blundstone's and walk down to your nearest redback dealer and buy a pair, they'll get the message eventually.
AnswerID: 216047

Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 23:29

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 23:29
Bilbo, let me give you the best bit of advice you'll hear all year. Check out 'Steel Blue' work boots.

Made in Malaga WA and available from Work Clobber outlets amongst others. I just bough another pair today to fit over my ankle brace funnily enough.

Light, super comfy, extraordinarily well made......the ducks guts. If you don't like them, I'll give you my address and you can come round and kick me up the bum with them. All joking aside, I can't speak highly enough of these boots. (no affiliation or financial interest etc)

Trust me, just go and check out a pair in the shop and see what you think.
AnswerID: 216049

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 23:46

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 23:46
Let me second that, the best pair of work boots I have owned.

FollowupID: 476354

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 01:20

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 01:20
I think it'll be "Steel Blue" next time. Just gotta wear these almost new Blunnies out first. Two good bippin' trips should do it.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 476363

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 02:50

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 02:50
sorry V8, yes steel blues USED to be the most comfy made here. NOW made in CHINA !! and nowhere near as good. I have one pair of high top lace up steel caps that are hardly used - made in aus. looks like i'll have to keep em as a collectors item LOL. You want a new pair of steel blues short lace ups - size 10 1/2, you can have em free - thats how good they are now !!
FollowupID: 476373

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:26

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:26
Bugger Bradley. I had a look at mine and are definatley Australian so it looks like I may have been lucky enough to find some old stock. I'll certainly have to look after the two pairs I've got at moment then. I think they'll last a long time so I'm not too worried.
FollowupID: 476509

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 00:15

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 00:15
Blundstone have been feeling the heat for a few years, mainly because nearly all the other boot manufacturers in Australia get the upper part of the boot made offshore (Indonesia) and have the sole "injection moulded" on here in AUS. This way they can say "made in Australia"

Blundstone have always used first class leather, mainly from Tasmania ( they own their own tanneries ) and the last few years from NZ as well. The premium leather boots in the Blundstone line up are aussie hides from cold climates because the colder the climate, the thicker the hide, the better the finished product.

Having worked for a retailer of work boots for 18 years who has had a big slice of business with Blundstone I can assure you we were all surprised when we heard. Not surprised that an aussie boot company was going totally offshore, just that the first one is blundstone. They will all do it in a few years, just like everything from Yakka and King Gee is now from China or Fiji.

So, let me ask all of you a question. Take off your shirt, look at the label and tell me where it was made.

Another thing. Blundstone is a family owned business, still in the hands of decendents of the founder.

Don't know about Redback Boots, But Rossi are definately completely aussie made and family owned.

Muzz
AnswerID: 216061

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 01:23

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 01:23
",,,,,,,,,,Take off your shirt, look at the label and tell me where it was made,,,,,"

Err, puts on reading glasses,,,,,,,,,,,,err, mine sez "Good Sammys".

;)

Bilbo
FollowupID: 476364

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 01:56

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 01:56
My shirt says "Made in New Zealand"
FollowupID: 476365

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:28

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 16:28
You're right.

King Gee - made in China.

Hmmmmmmmm
FollowupID: 476510

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:33

Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 17:33
went to trims today to buy some blunnies
had some blunnies sandals....mmm i'll have some of those...read the fine print...err no i wont....Made in China - Designed in Australia

yep

ended up getting a pair of blundstones Mountain Masters.....very suspicoius of where theyre made.....as they do not have any tag on boot or even box where they were manufactured.......

seems like theyre have been there (china) for a while
FollowupID: 476873

Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 09:40

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 09:40
I think we consumer have a lot to answer for too. If any product is a dollar cheaper most people jump on it without thinking why is it cheaper.
When I was in Germany a few years back in noticed most bits are still made in Germany even the cheap stuff like pens and cigarette lighters. Most books printed in Germany. The Germans rather pay a few bucks more and avoid buying imported stuff.Maybe we need to look at ourself as well.
It's easy to blame the bosses and call the greedy........how greedy are we?

Reiner
AnswerID: 216108

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:39

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:39
hey Reiner, yep that'd be the country with great working conditions also - 8 weeks annual leave i think they get !!

And the germans have a great super scheme - the super money goes into infrastructure building and you pay a small fee to use toll roads etc.. NO private party deals with multinationals taking the wealth out of the country. No selling off critical infrastructure etc etc..

And we call ourselves the clever country LOL.
FollowupID: 476450

Reply By: Barnesy - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:15

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:15
What a load of bollocks. I'm starting to get sick of this happening. A lot of componentry welding for new 'Aussie built' cars is being done overseas. The protective clothing in these couintries consists of thongs, shorts, t-shirt, sunglasses and cardboard face mask. No wonder these companies are saving billions, they don't have OH&S laws to comply with and unions to stand up to them!

I'm still trying to break my work Blundstones but haven't been able to. They've survived everything i can throw at them. Was great that they were Aussie made.

Rossi are still made in Adelaide, Sir Donald Bradman Drive actually, pretty good name for a road and my hiking boots are still going strong after many hours of tough hiking. Happy customer with the products but not happy if manufacturing gets sent off shore.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 216138

Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:52

Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 12:52
Bradley, we have plenty of clever People here in OZ.......the problem is all the stupid ones become politicians and public servants.

Reiner
AnswerID: 216148