Submitted: Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 18:06
Scotty
Just retired and am off to
Darwin early May to do some Barra fishing, have a Prado and a Camel off road trailer. Need to know some good Camping Parks (powered) near rivers with good fishing or about 40mins drive from good fishing spots.
Would like no more than 2hrs from
Darwin as my sons will be flying in from
Brisbane for a week with me after I set up
camp. any suggestions.
Reply By: handy - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 18:13
Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 18:13
scotty look up north austrailian fish finder
forum and that will tell you all you want to know. there a friendly bunch. cheers
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 18:38
Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 18:38
Scotty ,
Go To Wooliana Park on the
Daly River. Good launching and docking for tinnies , and not too far down to travel for good fishing . www.woolianna.com.au/
The Park is pretty packed in , at that time of year because it is a major fishing period , so it may be necessary to book . Also on at that time ( usually early May )will be the Barra Classic and it is always interesting to watch that sideshow .
Fishing is mainly trolling with 10- 15 ft lures , live baiting on the snags and casting softbaits at the creek mouths . If the run off is still in progress , include casting lures into the gutters .
I have been fishing on the Daly many times and think that it would be the best bet for you and your boys .
Good luck ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 22:32
Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 22:32
Hey Willie, I'm not usually that quick to pick these things up........ but the barra must be huge to warrent a lure like that!
Cheers andrew
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:46
Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 09:46
Hi Andrew ,
Being from
Kununurra , I know you must be aware that to catch a 40 lb barra , you must use a lure of a least 10 to 15 feet in length . I think a good rule of thumb is to use a lure of the same length as your tinnie . Stops those annoying moggies too .
My lady is spending the night in
Kununurra this May on the way to the
Mitchell Plateau . Can you recommend a good motel for a lady on her own ?
Tight lines ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 10:40
Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 10:40
Gday Willie
I think the best bet would be either the country club, or all seasons motel (formally the mecure). In about May I was intending to take the family up to the falls, basically on my frst break after the roads open......going back to 2on 2 off this week!
We may cross paths....last year I towed the boat to
Kalumburu, and didn't go into the falls (I didn't want to tow a 17' boat in there, or leave it on the side of the road. We may even try to hire a camper....don't know yet. Most probably be going abot the 30th may, if the roads are open.
Cheers Andrew
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 13:55
Saturday, Jan 20, 2007 at 13:55
Thanks Andrew . I will be driving into the MP a round the 27 May and will be leaving MP on June 10 . Hope we meet .
Willie .
Reply By: res.q.guy - Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 20:16
Thursday, Jan 18, 2007 at 20:16
Hi Scotty...
We had a lot of fishing sucess at King Ash Bay on the Mc
Arthur River near
Borroloola.
Only 20 klm of dirt, they have powered sites, servo and a mini mart (of sorts), bar open about 5.30pm at the fishing club,.
They had a pie night on Thurs night and roast night on Sun night, not to be missed, if they still do it ! A fisherman's paradise !!
Neil
Follow Up By: handy - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:18
Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 08:18
yeh they still do it .top place been going there for 8yrs luv it
Follow Up By: flappa - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 12:14
Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 12:14
You did forget to mention though its about 11 HOURS from
Darwin.
Reply By: Ian-Rodeo - Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:42
Friday, Jan 19, 2007 at 15:42
Scotty
You may be interested in these weekly podcasts. Go to www.abc.net.au Podcasting downloading ..under T
abc.net.au/nt/features/tinny.xml
Good luck.
Reply By: steve&anja - Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 23:22
Sunday, Feb 18, 2007 at 23:22
Hi Scotty just logged onto the
forum yesterday I live in
Kakadu NP, May is a great time to fish up hear due to the run off .
Places to stay
Bark hut inn 1 hour from
Shady Camp (
Mary river ) this time of the year the place goes off big time just watch out for those big lizards (highest density of esturine croc in the world average sise 4.5m) theres plenty of plases in
Kakadu to
camp (powered ) and fish as
well.
Have fun