Snatch straps v. yea old tow rope

Submitted: Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:06
ThreadID: 41502 Views:7501 Replies:19 FollowUps:17
How good are snatch straps. I last did any 4WDing 20 years ago and I dont think they had been invented then. We are planning a 8 month trip around Oz and want to do some of the classic tracks such as Cape York and Gibb River Road. We are travelling alone (only 1 vehicle) - so I though a tow rope for sure and maybe a winch if we can get a cheap one - but are snatch strap the better option. They seem potentially leathal (if my understanding of them as a strong rubberband is correct) and expensive . IF we made the investment we would probably also have to pay someone to teach us how to use them . To series 80 LC come with somewhere to attach them ? Do you just use the bullbar? What about if you need to pull from the back ?

Sorry for all the dumb questions but we getting close now and I need a break from packing. Unfortunatley this forum makes it quite hard to search for related threads

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:15

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:15
Im not gonna go into safety etc coz plenty of others will but to answer the first part ogf your Q
Frig yea they are damn amazing things and make hard recoverys easy
AnswerID: 217042

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:25

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:25
I know just how you feel :))
Let me state that I'm not a huge fan of snatch straps used in inexperienced hands. I usually carry one because they can be so effective..but dangerous. So what's my first option ? Don't get into trouble :)) A winch is a good option for the solo traveller and yes you can buy ones that can be used from the front or back. If you're careful you will probably find that you use it for getting others out of strife rather than yourself.
But the best bit of kit IMHO is also the cheapest. The long handle shovel.
AnswerID: 217043

Follow Up By: Member - Lis & Paul (NZ) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:38

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:38
ROTFL - yes the shovel is on the list - and I was seriously planning on not getting bogged - I guess its fun if you are with agroup playing on the beach - but to me it can ruin your whole day if you have to get yourself out in 30C+ heat!
FollowupID: 477478

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:25

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:25

I noticed your other posts and can’t help with driver training courses in Brisbane, however I feel that your are taking the right approach. We have found the snatch strap an invaluable part of our recovery kit and in fact take two as well as a tow rope. We have found more use for the straps but then again most of our recoveries have been in sand where these straps are just the best.

Your driving course should teach you their proper use and you are quite right in considering the dangers in using these. Like all recoveries there are dangers and certainly with straps there is a lot of energy at play and thing can go wrong so make sure that the strap is well connected to something designed for that on the car and have a sack or the like on the strap to absorb the energy if it breaks. Most of all make sure that those not needing to be involved are clear of the recovery.

Hope all works out for you and you have a great time when here.

AnswerID: 217044

Follow Up By: Member - Lis & Paul (NZ) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:40

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:40
Thanks for that - maybe we will do the course and then make a decision - are they ruined once they have been used - I assume buying them 2nd hand would be a nono
FollowupID: 477479

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:44

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:44
They do wear but are usually not ruined after a recovery. Second hand not a good idea. Some have indicators that show if they need to be replaced. Buy a quality product and then hope it never has to be used.

FollowupID: 477480

Reply By: Tim (vic) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:26

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:26
Snatch straps are the go and if used correctly are very effective. If you are travelling by yourself a winch is always a good option if there is a chance you will not see other people. I would guess the 80 has tow hooks mounted on the chassis rail under the front of the bull bar and use your tow hitch for the rear without the tongue unless there is a specified towing point.

Tim
AnswerID: 217047

Reply By: Steve63 - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:34

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:34
Snatch straps are effective and cheap (compared to a winch). They are relatively safe if used correctly. You do need another vehicle though. Winching can be just as dangerous as a snatch strap. Both involve huge forces. I have seen a pic of an army truck with the cabin removed just above the steering wheel by a winch cable that broke. The wire streches under tension. You should always use rated recovery points on the vehicle. Never use a towball. I wouldn't use a bull bar either though others may have another view. Don't know if the LC80 has standard recovery points though a lot of vehicles have standard recovery points front and rear. Make sure it is a recovery point and not a tie down.

AnswerID: 217048

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 17:18

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 17:18
I agree with Steve63,

Please be sure that you know the difference between recovery points and tie-down points. Useing a snatch strap on the wrong one could be very dangerous !
FollowupID: 477497

Reply By: Member - Lis & Paul (NZ) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:41

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:41
Thanks for all helpful answers !
AnswerID: 217049

Reply By: Hairy - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:46

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:46
I rekon they are brilliant and dont go anywhere without one.
Like anything they can be dangerous if commonsense isnt used. I couldnt count how many times Ive used one and never had anything remotely dangerous happen.
Very effective.
80 series have a tow hitch under the front of the chassis which I use and for the back if you have a Haymen Reese type tow hitch you can poke the end of the strap in where the tow ball would usually go and put the pin through.
I would never hook one around a bull bar without having a really good look at it first after seeing a bull bar torn clean off !(bloody hillarious)

AnswerID: 217051

Follow Up By: Member - Jason S (SA) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 20:20

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 20:20
With Hairy,

Been using them for years.

I have a high mount winch but I still use snatch straps.

Wouldn't travel without my recovery gear, that is all of it. A Snatch strap is just one part of it. Not the complete answer by any means.

Like all recovery gear they are cheap for what they do. Don't make the mistake of buying cheap. I swear by ARB, done to death I know, as they just last a whole lot longer.
FollowupID: 477544

Reply By: Member - Lis & Paul (NZ) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:53

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:53
Now I was poking around this site and there is something called maxtrax which you put under the wheels to aid traction (advertisor on this site) - has anyone used anything like that - seems like a useful option especially in a single vehcile situation
AnswerID: 217054

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:56

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 15:56
You can use anything under the wheels. Rocks, wood, even car mats depending on the situation.
FollowupID: 477482

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:03

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:03
Great for sand, but if you are doing any "rough stuff" not all that good. You can be gently snatched/pulled out of a tough spot with a strap, and can be towed out of a soft area of sand/mud. The Maxtrax only give you the option of going forward a few feet before rolling off them and possibly having them end up trapped under the vehicle.

My money is on the strap, more versatile.
FollowupID: 477483

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 00:05

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 00:05
I think the maxtrax is good but I'm with these guys. Sometimes it takes just a little practical thinking; I've used my beach towel to the same effect.
FollowupID: 477597

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:06

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:06
I have been involved with 4WD clubs since about 1982 and have always been told to NEVER connect a snatch strap to either a bullbar or a towbar.

I have actually seen a tow ball snap whilst a snatch strap was connected and its a scary thing to see. Thankfully on that occasion, no one was hurt.

Below is an extract from the Office Of Fair Trading in Qld regarding snatch straps.

........................................................................................................................
Snatch straps potential safety hazard

Fair Trading Minister Margaret Keech is warning off-road enthusiasts to take precautions when using snatch straps on a bogged vehicle.

Mrs Keech said snatch straps were designed to help pull clear a bogged vehicle, but could be a potential safety hazard if not used correctly.

"The safety hazards of using elasticised snatch straps were highlighted recently with the reported death of Queensland man during an attempt to recover a bogged vehicle," she said.

"In this tragic incident, a snatch strap catapulted a towing hook (which had become dislodged) 10 metres, striking the man in the stomach."

"The Office of Fair Trading is working with industry and Standards Australia to develop performance and labelling standards for elasticised vehicle recovery straps.

"Consumers should not underestimate the potential risk of serious injury or death if safety precautions are not taken when using snatch straps."

Mrs Keech said key safety tips were:

- Always follow the manufacturer's instructions on how the strap is to be used and maintained.

- Never connect a snatch strap to a conventional tow bar or tow ball, as these are not designed to withstand the severe forces created by the stretching and release of energy of elasticised snatch straps.

- Connect the snatch strap securely to appropriately rated shackles or tow hitches engineered, making sure they are suitably bolted to the vehicle for the purpose.

For more about product safety issues contact the OFT on 1300 658 030
......................................................................................................................

I for one would NEVER just put the snatch strap on the tow bar using the centre pin as has been suggested in one of the other responses, but each to their own.

Used correctly, snatch straps are great. Used incorrectly, they are deadly.

I would suggest that your course you have suggested doing will show you the correct methods and could well be the best investment you will ever make towards a successfull trip.
AnswerID: 217058

Follow Up By: Sparkie C - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 21:47

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 21:47
The incident referred to above related the recovery of a truck with a heavy payload that was severely bogged ,and the recovery tow hook had been under extreme loads and stress for many attempted recoveries.
The hook finally became the weak point and gave way with fatal consequences.
Straps can be dangerous and we all take them too lightly because a recovery so simple most of the time.
As previous posts have said Join a 4WD club or do a course and learn the Safe way to do it and have fun in the bush
Regards Sparkie (Qld)
FollowupID: 477568

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:08

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:08
Have a look at this web site Site Link
AnswerID: 217059

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:54

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:54
Because you mention both snatch straps and tow rope, be aware they are used for entirely different purposes and therefore you may need both.

Snatch straps are very good for getting you, or another vehicle out of difficulty, but requires basic knowledge ouf how to attach the straps to both vehicles and a safe method of using them.

You do not necessarily need to pay someone to teach you how to use them.
A search on this forum should give you all the info you need. Mostly it is just commonsense. For instance, you only need a couple of metres of slack and when the vehicle that is doing the pulling takes off, it is done gently. Not planting the boot and giving it heaps. Making sure the attachment point on both vehicles are specifically rated for the snatch process is also important.

Even though you are travelling alone, if you have your own snatch strap and know the basics of using it, you are more likely to be given assistance by someone else, regardless whether they have one themselves, or not.

The tow rope speaks for itself and is used for towing a vehicle that has broken down. A snatch strap should never be used for towing.

Apart from this, the best pieces of equipment to have is a long handled shovel and a good quality jack and base plate. quite often, a little work with one or both these pieces of equipment will get you out of most situations you find yourself in.

AnswerID: 217074

Reply By: Member - Axle - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:54

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 16:54
Just blame the missus for being bogged!, in a fit of rage she will drive it straight out by herself, be prepared too walk home though.:)))

AnswerID: 217075

Follow Up By: Member - Lis & Paul (NZ) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 19:34

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 19:34
Watch it - I am the missus! :-)
FollowupID: 477530

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 20:26

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 20:26
" OOPS" No offence, Have seen it happen though!.
FollowupID: 477546

Reply By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 18:20

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 18:20
Snatch straps are a very effective (but also over rated and definatley over used) piece of recovery equipment.

The first thing to do in any recovery situation is have a cup of coffee (or tea if you like).

We run courses every month on 350 acres of mixed terrain just south of Childers (camping is available) and can answer all of your questions, face to face and with patience ;-) and give you the confidence to know the strengths (and limitations) of you, your gear and your truck.
AnswerID: 217089

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 20:00

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 20:00
"The first thing to do in any recovery situation is have a cup of coffee (or tea if you like)."

That's the best advice I've seen for a while. ;-)

FollowupID: 477537

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 06:30

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 06:30
"The first thing to do in any recovery situation is have a cup of coffee (or tea if you like)."

I would have thought safely securing the vehicle would be first, to prevent any further deterioation in your predicament.

Have your drink and settle the nerves after that.

Assess situation from the uphill side, then both sides of the vehicle, thn once you are sure the vehicle is safely secured , from the down hill side.
FollowupID: 477623

Follow Up By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 07:41

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 07:41
Fair enough Gary.

My 'rule' only serves to suggest that by rushing a recovery (or rushing around securing the vehicle) that you put people at risk. By taking your time you only risk the vehicle. The vehicle is replaceable, its occupants are not.

FollowupID: 477637

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 10:49

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 10:49
I would even take the risk assesment further by actually guaging how the change in weight and balance is going to affect the vehicle on your exit, especially with passengers. There may be a "right way" of disembarking to prevent further damage, and possible injury.

I agree though about the general "make haste slowly" approach.
FollowupID: 477665

Follow Up By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 12:07

Tuesday, Jan 23, 2007 at 12:07
"I agree though about the general "make haste slowly" approach."

...and that is the point I am trying to make...

;-)
FollowupID: 477676

Reply By: mfewster - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 18:27

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 18:27
The big difference between a snatch strap and a tow rope is that the towing vehicle can have a little bit of momentum up which is gently transferred to the stuck vehicle. The snatch strap takes out the shock. It is especially useful for the towing vehicle to have a little bit of momentum before it takes the weight if the tow vehicle is also on sand or similar. If you haven't seen it done, get someone to demo as it is much gentler than it sounds. Try doing the same with a tow rope and you will either snap the rope or damage at least one of the vehicles. I agree with the safety recommendations, although to the best of my knowledge, the retaining pin in a towbar is a recommended attachment point (but NEVER the towball or tongue)
I reckon you need a snatch strap and a towrope also for when towing rather than recovery is needed.
AnswerID: 217093

Reply By: mfewster - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 18:40

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 18:40
I should have checked the link given in Cruiser's post before I posted. That site says it all - except I don't like the look of the attachment shown in the close up. I think it is far safer to avoid the shackle and simply run the eye of the snatch strap through the retaining pin in the tow bar. The less joins/pieces along the path of the strap the better. I also don't like the look of that right angle bend in the tongue of the tow bar.
The vehicle being rescued looks identical to mine. I would like to know what year that shot was taken.
AnswerID: 217097

Reply By: RobAck - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 19:10

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 19:10
You have hit on one of the key issues with recovery equipment. If you are travelling alone and need assistance then it may not be immediately available. So you need to consider something like an hand winch or Tirfor as they can be called. You should be able to hire one of them as they are used in the building industry and some 4WD training organisations hire equipment so a check of websites and the Yellow Pages may be the go. But get trained in its safe use

Snatch strap vs Tow rope. Well really the first thing to do is get out the shovel if you are stuck and remove as much mud/sand/obstruction from around the wheels and underbody BEFORE you consider anything else. Failure to take this simple action means you are placing more strain on whatever recover equipment you may end up using. You may also find you can drive out anyway. We always suggest the use of a simple tow rope before getting excited about snatching as, once the obstructions are cleared away, but depending on your particular situation, the recovery should be an easy one. Particularly as on the Cape you will have two scenario. Bogged in mud and loss of traction or bogged in sand and no progress.

Training. Strongly recommend training for all and any recovery equipment, aside from shovel and tow rope. Recovery is extremely dangerous, particulary with snatch straps which, like all recovery equipment, requires respect. We have seen plenty of accidents caused by lack of experience with the equipment. Most people tend to think you need to be doing Mach V to energise a snatch strap and that philosophy leads to breakages or worse. Snatch recovery should be successful between 10-15 KPH, quick walking pace. No problem if it doesn't work first time try again. Also you need to have both vehicles in the appropriate gear. Recovering vehicle 1st LR and vehicle being recovered in 2nd LR.

Recovery points. Get them checked out by someone who knows if yo don't. There is a common and dangerous misconception that the tie-down points at the front and rear of 4WD are OK for recovery. Sorry but not the case. OK for a tow but not a heavy duty shock load like a snatch recovery.

Whilst a bit long winded, sorry but this is complex and dangerous for the untrained. I hope that helps. Bottom line is get trained and get the vehicle checked for appropriate recovery points. If they are not right it is not a lot of dollars to have them fitted. Oh and there are no dumb questions when it comes to recovery and safe 4WD.

Enjoy the Cape it can be a truly wonderful place. But take it easy as sadly there is an increasing number of near misses and head on crash's there due to people travelling to quickly and without due care. Sort of like the Simpson Desert is getting during peak season

RobA
AnswerID: 217104

Follow Up By: Ken - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 20:25

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 20:25
Rob, I think you have your vehicles and gear selections reversed. The recovered vehicle should always be in a lower gear than the recovering one. This is to avoid the considerable risk of the recovered vehicle gaining traction suddenly and rocketing into the rear of the recovering vehicle.
This is particularly important for vehicles with different gearing also as some 4WD's have 1st gears which are of similar or higher ratios than 2nd gear of other [generally the larger/heavy duty] 4WD's.

Ken
FollowupID: 477545

Reply By: Member - Lis & Paul (NZ) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 19:39

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 19:39
Wow I had no idea this was such a hot topic Thanks everyone for their comments and links - I know its not the same as doing but at least I am starting to learn the questions to ask!
AnswerID: 217108

Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 19:53

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 19:53
As Dave has already stated. The best thing would be to do some training. I think you will be suprised at how much you can learn. A good training organisation will often tailor the training to suit your needs such as remote area travel prep.
AnswerID: 217113

Reply By: Member - Lis & Paul (NZ) - Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 21:50

Monday, Jan 22, 2007 at 21:50
Yes guys we are doing a 4WD course - I started another thread about opinions on that one too!
AnswerID: 217138