Happy Australia Day

Submitted: Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 07:57
ThreadID: 41639 Views:1752 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
HAPPY AUSTRALIA DAY.........

If you are an Aussie "Have a good one"
If you are not an Aussie we hope you enjoy our day.

Ozi Ozi Ozi....Oi Oi Oi.......

Don't forget to ark up the Barbie, cool the tinnie and warm up the giggle box. Eat a pie or a vegemite sanga, have a piece of pav. Give a thought to the Convicts and early settlers who did it tough and to the diggers and veterans who have served this great country either by choice or not. Remember, we are one and from all the lands on earth we come.

Stay cool and easy going cos "She'll be right Maaaaaate!"

Oh and maybe do a rain dance cos we need the bloody rain.

Cheers....

Reply By: Hairy - Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 09:43

Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 09:43
You to mate!
I reckon we will be dancing IN the rain. Were are ya? We'll try to blow it your way.
Hairy
AnswerID: 217879

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 09:46

Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 09:46
Send some to Sydney.

Hope everyone has a great Ozzie Day

FollowupID: 478291

Follow Up By: Atomnaki - Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 12:21

Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 12:21
In Melbourne, been living in SE Qld till last June. We all need rain.
FollowupID: 478303

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 10:11

Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 10:11
I'm in a quandary as to what flag to fly....
I've got the Southern cross and the Aussie flag, each at the same height on separate hoists at the moment so that should cover it...
AnswerID: 217887

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 22:08

Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 22:08
What!!! No boxing Kangaroo!!! LOL
FollowupID: 478384

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 13:05

Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 13:05
Yep good stuff.

Let's hear from all those who have a piece of paper proving they are Aussies.

By the way my birth certificate says I'm a true blue... So I also havva bitta paper...Just different.

I would love to hear why they love OUR sunburnt country a land of sweeping plains......and why they made it home.....

Happy Australia Day to all...

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 217901

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 13:58

Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 13:58
Crazy,

I not only have an Aussie Birth Certificate but I also have a Service number, so not only do I love Australia but I'm helping protect it as well.

FollowupID: 478320

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 17:50

Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 17:50
Yup me too..

Ex RAN R65995 was the tag...

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 478342

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 19:11

Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 19:11
I'm not out the door yet but ARA Engineers has been home for the past 12 years

Kev

FollowupID: 478358

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 13:37

Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 13:37
My Country
by Dorothea Mackellar
(1885 - 1968)

The love of field and coppice,
Of green and shaded lanes.
Of ordered woods and gardens
Is running in your veins,
Strong love of grey-blue distance
Brown streams and soft dim skies
I know but cannot share it,
My love is otherwise.

I love a sunburnt country,
A land of sweeping plains,
Of ragged mountain ranges,
Of droughts and flooding rains.
I love her far horizons,
I love her jewel-sea,
Her beauty and her terror -
The wide brown land for me!

A stark white ring-barked forest
All tragic to the moon,
The sapphire-misted mountains,
The hot gold hush of noon.
Green tangle of the brushes,
Where lithe lianas coil,
And orchids deck the tree-tops
And ferns the warm dark soil.

Core of my heart, my country!
Her pitiless blue sky,
When sick at heart, around us,
We see the cattle die-
But then the grey clouds gather,
And we can bless again
The drumming of an army,
The steady, soaking rain.

Core of my heart, my country!
Land of the Rainbow Gold,
For flood and fire and famine,
She pays us back threefold-
Over the thirsty paddocks,
Watch, after many days,
The filmy veil of greenness
That thickens as we gaze.

An opal-hearted country,
A wilful, lavish land-
All you who have not loved her,
You will not understand-
Though earth holds many splendours,
Wherever I may die,
I know to what brown country
My homing thoughts will fly.

Dorothea Mackella

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 217904

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 18:10

Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 18:10
Crazy, man so true, been years since I have read that...
FollowupID: 478344

Reply By: 4wdNewbie - Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 21:38

Friday, Jan 26, 2007 at 21:38
Aussie born and bred right here. Hope you all had a great Australia day and dont forget to fit a game of street/backyard cricket in the cellabrations somewhere.
AnswerID: 217957