Towing with the new Mitsubishi Pajero 3 door 3.2Ltr Diesel

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 27, 2007 at 14:48
ThreadID: 41666 Views:18082 Replies:4 FollowUps:12
Just wondering what people think about towing with the 3 door short wheel base (SWB) new Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Ltr diesel which has just come onto the market.
Spec reads:
Gross Combination Mass = 5160Kg
GVM=2660Kg
Tare (Kerb Mass) = 2085Kg
Payload = 575Kg
Maximum towing capacity (with brakes) 2500Kg
Towball down load = 250Kg

Wonder what effect the wheel base (SWB versus LWB) would have when towing?

Also heard that there may be an issue opening the rear door depending which hitch you use. Does anyone on the forum know anything about this.

JandG

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Saturday, Jan 27, 2007 at 16:15

Saturday, Jan 27, 2007 at 16:15
Gerard

My thoughts:

1. You will be inundated with experts if you post this question on groups.msn.com/Caravanersforum/ and among them you will get the full range of backgrounds and experiences that caravaners have.

2. I assume you are talking about towing caravans - any idea how big? 2.5 tonnes maximum towing capacity can get you a pretty big van, even when you allow for payload, etc. You will need a proper weight distribution hitch for stable towing, and the shorty may make that more important.

3. I personally reckon you need a big margin of car weight over van weight - I tow a van with total mass about 1.6 tonnes behind a vehicle with the 2.5 tonne towing capacity and 250 kg ball load capacity. Legally you can of course go up to the 2.5 tonnes, which will get you a 20 foot or more van.

4. The issue with shorties vs longies is usually ride comfort - pitching. However that's usually in off road situations. Never heard anything about towing comfort but I'd be worried about it. Could be partly offset by weight distribution hitch.

5. Can't imagine that the rear door clearance would be any different from the lwb Pajero - there are hitches galore for all set ups, and there are wdh's with adjustable heights.

Links that may help:

- The articles under Caravaning under "Search by Topic" at left
- www.haymanreese.com.au/

Hope that gives you a start

Max

AnswerID: 218037

Follow Up By: Member - Gerard (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 27, 2007 at 17:14

Saturday, Jan 27, 2007 at 17:14
Thanks Max for your reply.
We just like the smaller (shorter) version of the Pajero. And yes, you were right, I am talking about towing a caravan but nothing over 16-17Ft. And I also like that bit of reserve in towing capabilities so that the towing vehicle is not working to the max.

Also, I did place the same question on the caravanners forum. Also there is the price difference between the LWB and the SWB, not to be sneezed at I reckon.
I reckon the new Pajero is gonna do OK but I am not an expert. The SWB is big enough for us for what we want so why pay more if you don't need it. The other thing I was gonna mention is that it has not got a 12V connection in the back. At least the sales guy and I couldn't find it although in the spec it says it has got 2.

The fact that the towbar (hitch) can interfere with the rear door worries me and I would need to see the solution before committing. The sales guy reckoned nobody in Japan tows??

Thanks for your reply.
FollowupID: 478496

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 27, 2007 at 18:54

Saturday, Jan 27, 2007 at 18:54
Hi there Gerard, would you like me scan from 4wd monthly and email to you the test they did on the vehicle, it is in the lastest edition.Not a bad write up. Some people have good and bad to say about the testing but I find it interesting. Steve M
FollowupID: 478517

Follow Up By: Member - Gerard (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 27, 2007 at 18:59

Saturday, Jan 27, 2007 at 18:59
Would like that Steve,

email to silvolde@iprimus.com.au

Thanks heaps
FollowupID: 478519

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 27, 2007 at 19:07

Saturday, Jan 27, 2007 at 19:07
Give me half hour it will be on its way, just realized your member anyway. Steve M
FollowupID: 478525

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 27, 2007 at 20:08

Saturday, Jan 27, 2007 at 20:08
Should have it by now. Steve M
FollowupID: 478531

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Jan 27, 2007 at 19:53

Saturday, Jan 27, 2007 at 19:53
I wouldn't tow a van with a short wheelbase vehicle.

The shorter the wheelbase, the less directional stability you have at any speed.

The shorty pajero may have the necessary towing capacity but it will ptch something awful and will be equally awful in crosswinds. Not to mention the horrendous possibilities on a wet road, and the terrifying thought of having to do a crash stop with a van nearly the same weight as the tow vehicle with no directional stability.

No amount of stabiliser bars will overcome the inherent problem of the short wheel base.

With the normal wheelbase vehicle you wouldn't need stabilisers at all for a 16 ft van, and you have the benefit of being able to fit the groceries in when shopping :)
AnswerID: 218076

Follow Up By: madfisher - Saturday, Jan 27, 2007 at 21:16

Saturday, Jan 27, 2007 at 21:16
agree with the above post by Gerhardpi, I have owned several swb and lwb and the lwb are much safer to drive on dirt roads. They are also more relaxing to drive while towing
FollowupID: 478541

Follow Up By: Member - Gerard (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 09:43

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 09:43
Thanks for your comments. Much appreciated.
We are new to all this especially towing a caravan. At this stage we have not purchased anything yet but hope to after the Sydney caravan show in April. Just trying to gather all info and advise from experienced people on the forums.

When you guys talk about "Pitching", does that mean that the nose of the car will go up and down as forced to by the caravan whilst travelling. I am not sure if I understand that correctly.

We will be mainly travelling on bitumen with the odd few km's on dirt (flat) with some corrugation at times. Nothing where I wouldn't take a normal car.
We have no intensions at this stage to go off the beaten track.

The other thing is that we may be towing something quite light like a Avan Cruiseliner or a Franklin micro. Their tare weight is gonna be between 1000Kg and 1350Kg depending on options chosen. Can anyone see a problem towing any of these with the SWB Pajero.

Appreciating all comments,
FollowupID: 478578

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 10:22

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 10:22
Pitching is nose and rear bouncing up and down, caused by bumps in the road, and made worse when extra load is applied to the drawbar. Also will be caused when the van hits bumps in the road, so you get the lovely experience of seasickness and neck aches.

The short vehicle will pitch much worse than a long wheelbase even without the van on.

It doesn't matter that you intend mainly to stick to bitumen and corrugated dirt -

When a road train comes the other way and you are doing 80-100k and you have to swerve to the left to give him room, you will hit the bitumen edge and the erosion that is always there when you don't need it to be, and you will experience a ride you can't buy at a fairground. If you don't hit, or get hit, by the truck's trailer you'll still have to contend with a barely controllable rig.

If you never intend to go "true" off road, why buy a vehicle with a low range drivetrain - there are plenty of AWD vehicles with a diesel which are also excellent for your intended purpose?

I humbly suggest you release your fixation on a shorty .....

I recommend you go to the van show, choose the van you need for what you want to do, and ask all the van salesmen what they think of towing it with the shorty. I predict you will see many horrified faces if your van is any bigger than 1000kg.

Definately Van first, car second :)
FollowupID: 478587

Follow Up By: Member - Gerard (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 18:09

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 18:09
There was an article in the 4WD Monthly which states that towing with the short wheel base Pajero would make a stable combination because the towbar ball is much closer to the rear axle then is the case with the Long wheel base.

Also would like to hear what other AWD diesels are available. I have searched and have really only found petrol versions with much lower towing capabilities.

I am not trying to be difficult here and am all ears, just trying to investigate all my options within my budget.

FollowupID: 478635

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 19:39

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 19:39
Other vehicles which might suit are

The new Santa Fe Diesel - no low range, extremely economical, 5 yr warranty, $39500, $44,000, $47,000 for three models in auto.

Cherokee Sport CRDi $41950 Auto, has low range

The Pajero R is $50,000 and the Pajero X is $43000, has low range

A new Kia Sorento with diesel is due in March and will almost certainly be under $40000, has low range.

Then there's the utes which you may not have considered - Cheapest is Nissan Navara 3.0 Diesel going out for around $33,000 in manual only. Then there's Rodeo with all new diesel, Triton, Ranger, Hilux, and similar. There's a big range of options in these including 2 door, 4 door, space cab, etc and will cost up to $55,000 or so for the dearest Toyota.

Having the drawbar as close to the rear axle as possible certainly reduces vehicle pitching, but the shorty will still pitch more than the regular car with more rear overhang. Refer to Madfisher above who has done it.
FollowupID: 478649

Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:20

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:20
Gerard Hi
Mate I would only consider a SWB if you are going to do extreme 4wding, and you are really on a tight budget. They are also muich harder to sell when you want yo upgrade also. I have owned a lj80 suzi. fj40 cruiser. swb rocky and a swb jack which was the only decent road vehicle. The cruiser nearly killed me twice while towing . Swb vehicles are generally tailhappy which is great when you are 18 but not when towing. The swb would be ok if you are going to tow less than 1000kgs as I believe they are over 2000ks nett. The swb Jack I had towed my 6ookg boat on sealed roads with ease at 11o ks but you had to be carefull on dirt. In fact my better half refused to drive it on dirt , but loves her nh lwb Paj
Can you arrange a test tow with both vehicles to compare?
FollowupID: 478829

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 09:01

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 09:01
"There was an article in the 4WD Monthly which states that towing with the short wheel base Pajero would make a stable combination because the towbar ball is much closer to the rear axle then is the case with the Long wheel base."

Don't believe everything you read in a magazine, particularly a 4WD magazine ;-P
Used to have a SWB NC Paj and towing with that was a chore. The LWB is far more comfortable.
FollowupID: 478963

Reply By: Member - Tim - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 23:56

Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 23:56
Hi Gerard,

Why don't you go and speak to the dealers and ask if you can do a tow test with one of them? From all reports the LWB is an excellent tow vehicle performance wise and the shorty has the same engine. The fully independent suspension may be enough to overcome the shortcomings of a short wheel base. Best way to find out would be to try one out.

I used to own a 97 model LR Discovery which has a shorter than average wheel base and I towed a race car on a trailer as far away as Sydney. You could definitely feel the trailer there but it was a much better tow vehicle than either the Ford or Holden wagons that I had before it and they have a much longer wheelbase. I would put that down to the weight of the vehicle and the better suspension set up. The Disco was rated to 3500kg but I am not sure how safe that would have been given that it is way over the weight of the tow vehicle and that always gets interesting.

Tim.
AnswerID: 218283

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 09:04

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 09:04
Personally I'd opt for the LWB for towing. With a longish load the LWB will be more directionally stable.

Mechanically the SWB should bleep it in. Plenty of power, same towing spec as the LWB.

Same rear door as the LWB. Use an Orac hitch or a Hyland. Most problems come with the spare/gas bottles being too close to the car to allow the door to swing.
AnswerID: 218304