Des Lexic
On the way
home from a weekend in
Adelaide visiting the Tin Lids, called into a
Caltex / Woolworths Servo on the corner of South Rd and
Richmond Rd to fill up for the
home trip. Went in and paid on the plastic, signed and walked out. A penny drops a few k's down the road and I get the Minister of Finance to
check the receipt. We had been charged a $3.00 fee cos it was the Australia Day long weekend. Will be ringing them tomorrow with a not happy Jan type of phone call. We called into another
Caltex / Woolies servo and asked the question, do tou have a holiday surcharge. Never heard of it says the Counter Jockey.
If it costs so much to open on a long weekend, then don't open the bloody doors.
A bit pi$$ed off is an understatement from those money grabbing thieves.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 22:14
Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 22:14
Got charged a credit card fee by Caltex/Woolworths while on holiday in
Sydney last year.
But I get diesel at Caltex/Woolworths Blair Athol lately - $1.19 less 10c with a voucher, and seeing I buy 150 litres at a time, I can't complain.
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 22:19
Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 22:19
We wondered about that but it was a Australian weekend fee. We were in the Subaroo and only could fit 42litres in. Fee was nearly three times the discount. "Pri*ks"
Reply By: Member No 1- Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 22:19
Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 22:19
what the f***
i'll make sure i never use them...afetr i drop in and tell them so
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 22:20
Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 22:20
Definitely won't be dropping in there again.
Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 22:29
Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 22:29
Yeh mate and we are our own worst enemy, bet the posts on here in 10 years will be complaining about the big supermarkets having an Australia wide monoply on fuel and WE WILL PAY what ever they want.
Try not to support there game if I can help it. Most discounted prices can be matched or close to it, if you
shop around.
Get used to paying through the nose when you live in the country mate, you should know that, must be the freight charges that are to blame, cough cough !
Was 129.9 at
Tailem bend, 127.9
Murray bridge. 120.0 at
Birdwood, and 123.9 at
Gawler on my way
home. 10c variation! Diesel was 21c dearer than unleaded at Pt Wakefield on thursday arvo, just cannot be justified by anyone
Fuel companies and weak kneed ACCC suck!
Ah that feels better, will step down now and let someone else have a go LOL
Cheers Pesty
Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 22:29
Sunday, Jan 28, 2007 at 22:29
Your fault for not checking the amount you are paying.
Life is short, pay cash....lol
Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 08:18
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 08:18
That particular servo is a
Caltex-owned servo not a Woolworths owned servo so the normal
shop offers don't apply and a couple of other things are different.
I guess you got caught out by another one, but to not tell you before is just plain robbery.
Reply By: PradoTrev - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 09:16
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 09:16
Hey Des Lexic
I am no longer buying fuel from
caltex I filled up for the week end and did not get 900km from 180l of fuel (v6 pradotowing) filled up with BP and the fuel ecconomy returned to over 1000km from less than 180l thats worth $0.04 coupon saving actually its worth more like a $1 coupon saving.
I have used the coupons over a long period now and have had a lot of variation in milage returned. BP has been a far more consitent performer for me.
as for the $1.50 surcharge for Australia Day thats just a very none Astralian thing to do by an American / Australian company and another reason to try other fuel retailers.
no not a bp employee.
Trevor
Follow Up By: Angler - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 09:58
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 09:58
I get the same thing when using
Caltex. I use
Shell and get much further on a tank than with
Caltex.
Pooley
Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 13:30
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 13:30
I found the exact same thing when I was in SA.
Shell diesel got me a fair bit further than
Caltex.
Reply By: DIO - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 09:57
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 09:57
I guess WWW had to recover the $3m + - that they so graciously 'donated' to the recent drought relief. Wouldn't surprise me, knowing their capacity and greed for profit. The morale to the story, NEVER authorize a card transaction unless you know what and how much you are authorizing.
Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 12:33
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 12:33
Did the signpost or advise you they were applying the fee?? If not, I reckon you'd have a case with Consumer Affairs....
Follow Up By: SA_Patrol - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 19:42
Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 19:42
I know the SAFF station on OG rd Klemzig will charge you an extra 2c a litre when using a credit card on Diesel fuel, but they don't on Unleaded. They can charge upto 4 % or 4 cents a litre if you pay by plastic
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 13:34
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 13:34
We had a visitor last night who was reserving his comment til he got to an internet cafe mate. Had observed your problems ;-[>
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:34
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:34
I'm glad you didn't let him get near your computer. You never know what he might have done to it. :))))))))))