selasticman
Has anyone been here lately? I was thinking of going during the
easter long week-end. Try a spot of gold panning (never done it before) Not sure where the best place to
camp because I have a small camper trailer (6x4) and I believe that trailers are not allowed at some point along the
bridle track?
The last time I went to
Hill End we had to turn back due to a huge tree fallen along the track (about 1 and half years ago)
Does anyone have any updated info?
Reply By: Vince NSW - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 14:02
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 14:02
Road is saisd to be unsuitable for trainers as there are in
places (Narrow) no passing points. Having said that, if you come from the
Bathurst end, there are about 6 good
camping spots along the river that you can get a CT to without any drama. It will be very busy at
easter, so get there early or expect to have to look around. You will have to bring your own firewood &
water but most of the
camp spots now have lonbg drops or composting
toilets.
As for gold, you will pick up coulors anywhere along the rive. Just look for where the
water is forced to slo, say the insideof a bend, or where there are natural traps such as a rock bar or crack across the flow.
Have fun
vINCE
Follow Up By: selasticman - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 14:08
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 14:08
Hi Vince,
thanks for
the tip, how far can I go up the track from
Bathurst with a CT?
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 15:18
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 15:18
All the way to
Hill End if you are happy backing a trailer if you meet someone comming the other way. Might add that I have never had to do this as the narroow sectiopn is only short, the rest of the way is 2 lanes no worries.
If you have not been there,
Hill End is
well worth the visit. Nice pub for lunch and the National Parks musem is worth a visit.
Vince
Follow Up By: selasticman - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:16
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 16:16
"Might add that I have never had to do this as the narroow sectiopn is only short, the rest of the way is 2 lanes no worries."
Does this mean you took a CT through From
Bathurst to
Hill End via Bridle trrack?
And the 6 good
camping spots you mention, do they get packed with tourists/week-end warriors?
Is the river flowing or is it stagnent as I found could be possible with little rain we've had.
We will be travelling in a convoy of 4 rigs, so I dont think we will have to reverse much. Sorry for all the questions but I like to be
well informed.
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 17:03
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 17:03
Dont think the river will have much flow in it at this time. I have taken the CT the full length from both the
Bathurst &
Hill end Ends a few times. If there are 4 of you you can talk to each other via UHF (If you have it )
If you Google the Bridal track you will come up with a list of campiung areas. These are all run by Dept of Lands. It will tell you the distance from
Bathurst for each.
Hope this helps. I am going off air for today, but will be logged back in early am tomorrow. Vince
Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 21:34
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 21:34
You can check the flow on either the bom site( bruinbin) or the NSW
water info site. Their is a small fresh in river at the moment but will only last a few days, who knows what will happen by
easter. Personaly I would give it a big miss at this time of year, But than I cannot stand
camping with hordes of people.
The tricky bit is
Monaghans Bluff, single lane for maybe two ks with a 600ft drop into the river with no safty fence. You can also take the turondale rd to Hillend and come in from the opposite end. Best gold I would think would be in the turon
Reply By: Moose - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 17:57
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 17:57
Was there a few weeks ago. Not much flow in river - that's the one at the
Bathurst end - nothing in
Hill End end river (can't remember names).
If
Easter is going to be busy I would not recommend going around
the bluff with a trailer. We did it mid week and thankfully met nobody coming the other way. It's a bloody scary section and whilst it may be short (a k or so) it is VERY narrow with very few areas for passing. There are huge signs telling you not to tow when you get to the really narrow bit (pity they don't put them at the start of the track).
Not all camps have
toilets - there's only a few that have. Suggest you contact
Bathurst tourist office and get some info - it details everything you need to know.
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:23
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:23
G'day,
there are indeed signs at both ends of the bridle trail (worded as ADVISORY information) that specify no trailers or caravans, not just for Monaghan's
Bluff. They also specify 4wd only but this would probably be to deter those chancing it with the likelihood of rain. Up to you if you want to take one anyway. It would not be a drama for the first bunch of sites coming in from
Bathurst. You could crawl down from
Hill End to the Turon River but it is a bit narrow in parts and again would be frowned upon by some.
You could ring 63378206 at
Hill End who may be able to give you some ideas too.
Reply By: nott - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:31
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:31
Being fairly local, we used to go down the
Bridle Track on a regular basis but haven't done so for a few months. I do however have a friend who lives on the way to the
Bridle Track and he was saying last week that the Macquarie River has been running quite
well as wev'e got a bit of rain of late. We used to
camp at "Root Hog Crossing" which is a great spot probably about a quarter to halfway between start of the
Bridle Track and (heading to)
Hill End. They seem to be able to 'cram' quite a few campers in that area. The only thing being that you will need to cross the river (if you don't come in the backway which is part private property anyway). As per a previous post, I would also probably advise to ring
Bathurst Tourist & Info Centre before departing to make sure the track is open and check out the conditions as they are telling us that we should expect above average rain from late Feb onwards......can only hope for the farmers. Anyway, hope this helps with your travels.
Sue
Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 21:49
Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 21:49
Sue ,
a few years ago my sister in law was up from the big smoke, and wanted to have a look at Hillend, so to make a more interesting day of it I suggested we go by the
bridle track. By the time we got to the root hog
water hole she was as white as a sheet, and didnot speak to me for a year after. Personaly I dont even consider it 4wd . We use to be up and down their every weekend back in the 70s and only ever in Holdens. Use to take a holden onto the Forge as
well.
Reply By: Member - Jason S (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 03:02
Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 03:02
These are the signs posted at either end of the track. I was down it 3 weeks ago. Dry as and nice and rough.
Plenty of campers up till the signs but none after it.
I went down with my Pajero and a Disco following. I personally had to reverse up a few times to let people past.
Problem is the blind corners. No way of preparing.
!MPG:11!
Follow Up By: chumpion - Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 22:16
Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 22:16
I quite liked this
sign, just after the causeway....
Reply By: bockstar1 - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 12:04
Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 12:04
We did it in May last year. 3 cars (Tribute, Prado with a trailer and Paj) it was really dry so the only
river crossing we came across was dry as.
The section in question is short, about a K. There are a couple of sections where you can pass but it's tight. Thankfully we didn't come across anyone. We did the track from north to south (
Hill End to
Bathurst). Camped at the bottom off the first section. On the Sunday arvo we left and encountered one group of people going S to N. I reckon it would be busy at
Easter.
Reply By: chumpion - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 12:08
Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 12:08
We were up there a couple of weeks ago driving from
Bathurst to
Hill End, then on to
Lake Burrendong, near
Wellington.
The track itself was fine - not too bumpy, bit narrow in
places. Nothing to really worry about.
The whole area is very dry, although the campsites all seemed to have nice grassy patches, and shady spots.
We saw quite a bit of wildlife too - snakes, lizards, roos, sheep, cows, all sorts of things, and not many other vehicles. We did go mid-week on a 37 degree day though.....
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 12:15
Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 12:15
you had a few people offer some ideas with your post back then, were they any help? :)
Follow Up By: chumpion - Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 22:14
Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 22:14
Yeah, they were actually.
The track from
Hill End to
Wellington (Dixons Long Point Road) was great - nothing hard, but heaps of wildlife. The kids loved the sheep all milling round the car, and following us along.
Dixons Long Point was lovely too. We pulled over there for a while, skimmed rocks, panned a little for gold, tried to pat the cows, all the good stuff...lol
Lake Burrendong was great - the
water level was so low, there was heaps and heaps of 4WDing to be done all round the valley. The Parks people said to go for it, so who were we to argue?
I'll pop up a couple of pics below.
http://i58.photobucket.com/albums/g264/chumpion/Lake%20Burrendong%202007/100_1256.jpg
Reply By: Pezza (Bris) - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 20:00
Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 20:00
Hi S.M.
The gallery pic is part of the narrow section the lads above are talking about, taken 2 days ago, don't think it's all bituman, this section looks like it was refurbished and built up not long ago, only about 200 mtrs is tar the other 2-3 km looks the same but dirt.
There are 8 or so good
camping spots beside the river between the base of the climb you are looking at (which is south of
Hill End village ) and
Bathurst, 2 of which have
toilet facilities and 1 of those has a
water tank ( not sure if anything was in it ).
!MPG:26!
Pezza