Any good deals on 2006 L/Cruiser T/D ?

Submitted: Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 18:26
ThreadID: 41759 Views:3228 Replies:10 FollowUps:9
Evening all, just wondering if anyone can steer me in the direction of a Toyota dealership offering a good deal on a 2006 GXL Turbo diesel Land Cruiser. Failing that, any advice on what I should be paying for this model would be greatly appreciated. My local dealer started at $82,000 and is now hovering around the $68,000 mark. I've been told that the new V8 Diesel is arriving in October but I'm not too sure what effect this is having on the 6 cylinder t/d at the moment
Thanks in advance
Obone
p.s. I live in Sydney but prepared to travel (within reason)

Reply By: DIO - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:58

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 19:58
Gee $82,000 down to $68,000 sounds like its in your favour so long as you DON'T (repeat D-O-N-'-T) pay any (that's ANY) dealer delivery charges. It is NOT (repeat NOT) a compulsory charge and if you are silly enough to pay it (some say it amounts to a $2,000 $3,000 car wash) then silly fool you. If the dealer insists that you pay it, ask to see the invoice that shows the price they paid from Toyota for the vehicle. If they should show it to you, bet it's heaps less than the final asking price ($68,000 or so). be prepared to walk - very few dealers would, in thie current depressed market,let you get out the door.

The best advice when buying any vehicle (or anything for that matter) is to buy with your head NOT your heart.
AnswerID: 218458

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:05

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:05
Hi there Obone, do a search, just a week or two ago some one on here got a great deal. I think it was around the 66 mark for memory. Steve M
AnswerID: 218466

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:40

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:40
Mate, Not sure if that is a good price but I have bought my last two vehicles through a car broker. Very simple, with them doing the ground work and only cost me $25. Even if it isn't the lowest price you then know the price through your dealer is a good deal and all for only a $25 investment. Worth a look?

www.carbroker.com.au/
AnswerID: 218474

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 21:56

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 21:56
Mate,

I bought my GU4 Patrol through a Dealer in Sydney who was going to deliver it to my door with a full tank of fuel at no extra cost. Makes buy a car simple and easy, it's the only way I will buy a new car now. I hope this helps and feel free to ask any further questions......
FollowupID: 478913

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:47

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:47
If you're a serious buyer go to Car Broker and they'll hunt down the best deal going for you.
It'll cost you $50 for the information, a nominal fee to get rid of the 17 yo's pricing WRX's every second day.
If you then wish to go ahead they'll put you in touch with the relevant dealer and job done.
Car Broker is paid by the dealer, I think about $1,000.
When I bought my 2006 RV Troopy they got the whole deal done for less than Toyota's RRP. That includes rego, on roads and full of fuel. Yes, both tanks, 180litres in the Troopy.

AnswerID: 218476

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:50

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:50
Oh, forgot to add, included air conditioning, tinted windows and a few other odds and ends that made it great value.

FollowupID: 478881

Follow Up By: obone - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 14:48

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 14:48
Thanks Geoff, actually I bought my 2002 L/Cruiser through a mob called Autobytel ,looked them up again this time and they've gone out of business. Thought they were the only brokers around. Thanks for the new link
Obone
FollowupID: 479036

Reply By: camwill69 - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:48

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 20:48
Hey obone,
If you are in Qld give Neil A ring at John O'Brien Toyota in Gatton. Just did a great deal on a hilux and will probably do a deal this week for a Rav4 to replace the other Nissan. ( $7k cheaper than Metro dealers could give.)

And it's great to support the country/rural dealers.

I paid dealer delivery on the hilux and he actually delivered it . from Gatton to the Gold Coast. Our local dealer would not deliver from the next suburb.

Camwill69
AnswerID: 218477

Reply By: Member. Rob M (QLD) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 21:53

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 21:53
obone,
We just got back from a week on Moreton Island with my 2006 Td auto cruiser and 5 mtr runabout. Have previosly driven, petrol manual Patrols including 4.8 ltr manual on the island. Fuel economy with the toyota is great, digging is soft sand when the auto deceides it doesn't want to work is less than impressive. Maybe I have to change my driving style but am less than impressed. The Nissan had HEAPS more useabale grunt. P.S. paid $647500 in july this year in Brisbane through a broker.
Rob M.
Rob M

AnswerID: 218496

Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 22:18

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 22:18
RobM

You said "digging is soft sand when the auto deceides it doesn't want to work is less than impressive'. Would you care to elaborate on the causes thanks?

EV700
FollowupID: 478918

Follow Up By: obone - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 14:34

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 14:34
thanks rob, I'm heading to Brisbane in 10 days. Can you give me the name of the dealership please
FollowupID: 479027

Follow Up By: Member. Rob M (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 21:46

Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 21:46
obone,
Stave Mason at Metropolitan auto centre, was the guy I dealt with. At the time Toyota were offering large discounts, apparently to boost sales figures for the end of financial year. I still found Steve very good to deal with and very straight forward with his selling style. Immediate family members have bought 4 vehicles in the last 2 years and all have been more than happy with their purchases.
Contacty Steve on 07 3257 4444 or 0418 745774.
Regards Rob.M.
Rob M

FollowupID: 479323

Reply By: Member. Rob M (QLD) - Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 22:28

Monday, Jan 29, 2007 at 22:28
Ev700.
Buggered if I know, full throtle, just sat there with nothing happening, centre diff lock engaged, low range and not a rooster tale in site. Nothing.
My 15 Yo daughter can'tstop saying what a "woosey" car. I'm getting depressed.
Maybe the last one with 4"lift and diff locks spoiled her. Oh well, maybe a red wine to settle the nerves before work tomorrow.
Cheers Rob M.
Rob M

AnswerID: 218501

Follow Up By: Robin - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 08:26

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 08:26
Interesting Rob M , seen a similar thing down this way with my 16yr old
driving a friends turbo cruiser across a dry creek bed.
It sort of went nowhere in a pile of river gravel.
Never quite got to bottom of why as they have stacks of torque,
but he is used to driving my manual 4800 and the manual gives instant
driving feedback. I don't think centre lock was engaged in this case
and cruiser normally feels very mushy.
I suspect it was just one wheel spining unnoticed.

Kids decided that they should get a "V8" badge off a petrol cruiser
and stick it on to help with their dads image problem !

FollowupID: 478960

Reply By: tessa_51 - Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 17:53

Tuesday, Jan 30, 2007 at 17:53
obone
I was in Canberra the other day and a little birdie told me there is a bit of a war going on between CANBERRA TOYOTA and the Toyo dealer in Yass,. It was suggested that if you get a quote from Canberra T and then go to Yass the response might be as much as 10k lower.

tessa
AnswerID: 218655

Reply By: obone - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 06:06

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 06:06
Thank you to everyone who responded. Your information was very much appreciated
Best Regards
Obone
AnswerID: 218932

Reply By: The4WDMan - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 10:51

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 10:51
I guy at work just bought a brand spanking new 4.2TD manual for $58,000 from a Toyota Dealership in Frankston (VIC). I would say he's done EXTREMELY well wouldnt you say?
AnswerID: 218966

Follow Up By: The4WDMan - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 10:53

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 10:53
Thats $58,000 DriveAway No More to Pay
FollowupID: 479405

Follow Up By: obone - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 07:35

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 07:35
You've got me drooling, for that sort of saving I'd drive to Vic from Sydney. Any chance you can give me the name of the dealership please
Obone
FollowupID: 479651