A litle bit of sleep....lotsa sand, stones and MUDDDD!

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 23:14
ThreadID: 41834 Views:4328 Replies:16 FollowUps:2
31 January 2007..................Phone rings at 4.15am....

“What the.....?”

“Yeaaaahrr……..”
“Mate I'm in the chit! We have two vehicles bogged to the west of Hawker
“Yeaaahrrrr.....”…Half asleep
“Can you help?”
“Yeaaaaahrrrr...............”

'Twas me neighbour down the road. He does contract cleaning of ETSA facilities in the state. To gain access to these facilities he needs to have an ETSA contracted leccy to accompany him. They go clean the place. To save 140km return trip to Port Augusta they decide to go straight down the old road to PA.

Wrong move!!!!

Road is graded after rains. Yippeee........but only up to some shearing sheds. No worries. They carry on. Neighbour mate drives a Yota Commuter Bus weighing in at around 3.9ton. Leccy has a hired Mazda Bravo 4x4.

Creek is washed out big time but they make it through. Road in good condition for 1km and then deteriorates. Serious washouts. They pick their way around these obstacles. Then they find a ‘ponded’ stretch of road around 250metres in length.

Both the vehicles go down at around 5pm. They stuff around till about 9pm and then give up. No EPIRB(was going to get one, but.....), no CDMA service(wrong side of range), no Satphone.....CHITTT!!!!

They are stuck between Southern Flinders Ranges and Lake Torrens. You might as well be on the moon. NO stations, NO nothing(except the lonely Leigh Creek railway line).....but they can see the lights of PA. Good!!!

They start walking. GPS in hand, phone, water bottles, torches. It’s a warm night. Sheep and cattle follow them out of curiosity.

12.10am and they get CDMA reception. Ring home. Ring Port Augusta Police on 000. Police not responsive. Ring SES. They say Tough!!! Ring CFS…Double tough!!! Ring Police again…..Triple tough!!! But Police do alert Breakdown service and bloke comes out in a 2wd recovery vehicle. He meets them after they have walked 20km.

“Chitt mate, nearly got bogged in the sand meself”

My phone rings. Mate and his chaperone are at PA in motel. I leave at 6.15am after throwing some recovery gear in GQ. Luckily I have a full tank of diesel. Missus’ throws in sandwiches, thermos’ and fruit.

Meet them at around 8am. Then we drive to Quorn and visit me mate Noel, and grab more Snatchem Straps, a Stretch Rope(new) and a Tirfor. Four of us hit the road and arrive at scene of the crime at 10am.

I edge as close as to Commuter bus, attach winch cable through snatch block and start winching. Move Commuter about 10 metres and Brawn winch slips out of gear. F……!!!!!!! Wrap cable around bulbar and attach Snatchem Strap to vehicles On 6th snatch I get the bus on its way and we retrieve it. Good!!!

Now for the Bravo. It’s a lot further into the slime. I edge forward and get to within snatch range. First, second, third snatch and GQ breaks the surface and bogs big time. And I only have my plurry Eldorados on.(There wasn’t time to swap tyres around,eh?). Drop tyres pressures from 25 to 15 in the water, slush and mudddddd!

Not going anywhere!

Out comes the trusty Tirfor. As much as I hate working with them they get one out of trouble at a critical time. Much sweat and we move the GQ whilst attached to bogged Bravo. Get on to firmer ground and reverse out of trouble. Well not quite. Slip off edge of road into ooze. Slam into first high range and flatten it. I get out….Whew!!

On hard ground we attach 2 x Snatchem Straps, 1 x 1mm x 10m winch cable, 1 x Stretch Rope, 1 x Trifor and I x Tree trunk protector. About 80 metres all up. Nothing is by the book. Bow shackles, U bolts and D shackles hold everything together. Bravo driver has no idea what to do but we yell instructions to him. Her complies to the best of his ability.

As luck would have it I get him moving and retrieve the vehicle.

By now the water we are standing in is hot! The mud is hot! The vehicles are hot!! One can feel the sun burning into ones skin. Time to put muddy boots on again.

Its 2pm. We make for the creek for lunch. Both Bus and Bravo get stuck in the sand......twice......... and I have to snatch them out.

We have lunch and then drive to Hawker, Quorn and home, pumping up tyres along the way

Arrive home at 7.30pm. 610km driven. Out with the Karcher in the street, using rain water and blast the oodles of mud off.

Home by 8.30pm

And tomorrow I have to go to Adelaide!!!!

Never a dull moment.

Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 23:20

Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 23:20
That pallet of beer will taste so sweet though.

Hope they do the rightie by you Willem. You're a ferkin good neighbour to have I'd say!
AnswerID: 218911

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 23:28

Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 23:28
Yeah mate. The neighbour is an OK young fella. He helps me when I stuff the puter and I help him when he stuffs something he can't fix....lol
FollowupID: 479347

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 04:28

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 04:28
You must be bored bleep less after that brief expense/release of adrenalin (wrong word: helpish. hahahaha. Gramps picks up royalties yet again).
And species? Jeff.
ps
Mate, we are destined to cross paths at some stage. Looking forward. JH.
FollowupID: 479377

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 23:27

Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 23:27
1 x 1mm x 10 mteres should read 1 x 11mm x 10 metres!!!!!
AnswerID: 218912

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 23:48

Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 23:48
And you say nothing ever happens to you..
AnswerID: 218915

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 23:54

Wednesday, Jan 31, 2007 at 23:54
good onya I as much as anyone know the value of good help when you need it
AnswerID: 218916

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 01:56

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 01:56
geez thats a boring joint you live in buddy :-)

nice work willie.
AnswerID: 218930

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 07:17

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 07:17
nice one Willem, probably got some new aches for the next few days eh?

a post from you with "trusty tirfor" in it.. he he...must have brought back memories of your F--truck, was it a single line pull?
AnswerID: 218936

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 08:28

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 08:28
Ahh Willem,

The joys of living in the bush. Everyone is willing to help everyone else, and no one is afraid to ask.

I miss it already, I really do.

Compare that to Sydney.

Bloke breaks down on King Georges Rd at about 6pm on a weekday. There's about 10km of cars tooting horns and shouting abuse. I pull in front of him out with the snatch-strap and hook it up. Then have to get across one lane of traffic to pull the guy into a side street. Do you think any b@#$!%d will stop to let me across? Eventually I manage to intimidate some expensive looking european mortgage with the trusty old ARB steel on the front of the 4WD. Drop the guy off and call NRMA for him. Now I have to get back onto KGR to get home. That was easy too!!!

Now your assisst was more involved took longer and cost more but at least people were grateful and the scenery was better too. You probably also have that warm glow from haveing done something good for someone. What I got was angry at the ignorant mob who refuse to offer anything but abuse.

AnswerID: 218944

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 09:34

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 09:34
"Never a dull moment"

You can say that again pal.

Well done, pity I have to work.....would have come with you.

At least I know who to call at 0430 in the morning....LOL

Michael
AnswerID: 218954

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 09:41

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 09:41
Great work Willem, I wish I was retired and could even be available for such a request. Certainly has me jealous that I would have to think "what about work?" as my first thought - suppose the answer could have been to take a sickie!

Mate, there aren't enough people like you so look after yourself.

Also please to read that none of those dogooders aren't out as yet to give you a hard time on the rope joining technique.

Theo
AnswerID: 218956

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 11:02

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 11:02
Hi Willem,

What a tale and so well told too!!!

Glad to see there are still some good samaritans left.

AnswerID: 218967

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 11:06

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 11:06
Just sounds like another "normal" day for you Willie!!!! hahaha

You're a good bloke and I hope your mates realise how lucky they are to have had you in their corner.

AnswerID: 218969

Reply By: Member - John L G - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 12:13

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 12:13
Ah Willem, perhaps you can post your contact details here for the rest of us should the need arise.

Well done and I'm sure there was plenty of grumblig fun to be had in all that.......

It does make you think tho wether we the EO members should have a help line accessible from our mobile with an attached directory so If we get stuck so to speak, we could contact like minded helpful members who could come to the rescue - there is certainly enough of us scattered far and wide.

Just a thought
AnswerID: 218976

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 12:27

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 12:27
Willem, you are one of nature's gentlemen.

Good work

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

AnswerID: 218981

Reply By: Bros 1 - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 13:58

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 13:58
Willem,
All part of a normal days work for a man of your ability. LOL. Top effort, and gave you something to do for the day besides lazing around.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 218998

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 17:37

Thursday, Feb 01, 2007 at 17:37
I dont believe a word of it, you cant bog a GQ.......

Great read Willem, remind me to tell you one day about the tractor we hotwired (sorta).

AnswerID: 219039

Reply By: Willy Oates - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:05

Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:05
Yeah!! well I had to clean two phone in the bush for an electrical contract and ended up in the as Willie would say "chit", I help Willie out so it was time to call in a favour and how great it is to have a mate that will return them the Favours that is well done Willie not many do these days. I did call him very early after many services had said stiff Chit mate (what I should have said I just walked now 25 km with a broken arm and leg and badly bleeding and I might have got a better response). I was not at that stage looking to be pulled out just a pick up of two stranded people in the middle of know where as Willie has stated might as well have been on the moon. We had all the right gear to do the job we were asked to do and get out but some one had closed many roads but not this one if it had been closed we would have never been there it was great up to and passed the big creek. Then turned to Chit for us we where well past the point of no return and solid ground under water for 250 meters did look worrying but had to try it as light was not in our favour either.

Then 3 hours of digging and MUD till we walked phoned as stated in the article will posted many and got the hard lug guys, but not from Willie I did wait about an hour before I rang well about 4 in fact... a true friend indeed jumped out of his warm bed that he was not getting any sleep in anyway so I do feel real bad about that. and 2 1/2 hours later he was picking us up to get us out of that "Chitty Mud" thank you Willie from you mate Willy.
AnswerID: 219236