Submitted: Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 12:49
elmack
I was hoping I could get some advice on what brand of plastic storage containers people use to pack their camping gear. We need the large 80+ litre ones which will sit inside our Jayco Swan and be full of things like shade cloth, tarps, kids toys etc... We have 4 children so there is never enough room no matter how light we pack!
In the past I've bought 120lt tubs with lids from BIG W which unfortunately have all cracked or had handles broken off in only 3 camping trips. So which brand is durable for an assortment of gear and where do you purchase them from?
Reply By: Im.away - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 12:59
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 12:59
ARB sell a case called Space Case. They come in a variety of sizes and are as tough as nails...but they are also as dear as poison. They are
well designed though, being stackable, lockable and have an "O" ring seal that really does keep dust and moisture out.
Follow Up By: elmack - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:11
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:11
I've seen those cases out and about and they look ideal, however I don't know if my budget (or my other half) will allow me to buy 1 let alone the 4 or so I need!!!!
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:18
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:18
Depending on your location, I can get hold of the space cases in nearly all sizes listed on the web site for close to cost. I did it for a few Explore Oz members late last year. It cut around $100.00 of some of them. So if your in the
Sydney region and want some let me know.
And no I don't make anything from them, it's just I do a lot of purchasing and can get good discounts for some items.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: elmack - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:21
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:21
Thanks for the offer Kev but I'm down in Victoria.
I love your sig by the way, my children always seem to be doing that!
Follow Up By: ingo57 - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 16:40
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 16:40
I wouldnt mind taking you up on that offer Kev, Im also in
Sydney
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:48
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:48
Send me an email at
ks mizen at bigpond dot com
and I'll get the current prices for the sizes you want
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Steve63 - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:08
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:08
An unanswerable question really. We have had all sorts of tubs. The white ones from big W are ok for light gear if you cut the wheels and wheel bracket off. We use the blue ones from big W a bit. I can't remember the brand but they have no handles but a wide lip. These tend not to crack but you waste a fair amount of space because of the lips. The best ones are the containers you can get from the 4by shops. They are really tough and come in lots of sizes but they cost $$$$, the big ones are in the $100's.
Follow Up By: elmack - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:16
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:16
I might
check out the blue ones at Big W. I was hoping there were some strong ones like the black recycle tubs but with a lid.
Follow Up By: Steve63 - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:23
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:23
They are pretty strong. Probably not as robust as the black tubs though. Our lot went down the CSR with no dammage. One of the white ones expired though. There were only 2 white ones so not a good survival stat.
Just had a though. You could try the fish tubs they use at the markets. They look strong. They heave them around full of ice and fish. I have seen quite a few with lids too. Don't know where you get them though.
Follow Up By: elmack - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:31
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:31
What a fantastic idea re. the fish tubs. I might do a web
check on it and see what I can come up with. Cheers.
Follow Up By: slave - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:37
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:37
We use fish
bins with lids, one for food and one for cooking equipment. We do have the ones without holes in the bottoms, just something else to consider.
They are also sold as separates sometimes so just beware of pricing. A couple of years ago we saw lids alone priced at $22 we left them there.
Some tackle shops will stock them or commercial fishing suppliers. We live in a 'fishing town' so it was a bit easier to us to purchase them.
Mrs S
Follow Up By: elmack - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:48
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:48
Thanks Mrs S, a fishing tackle
shop would be a good place to start. Cheers.
Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 10:02
Saturday, Feb 03, 2007 at 10:02
elmack,
You may have answered your question yourself....A mate uses the hard black plastic recycle tubs on his boat. He has made lids out of 8mm marine ply, cut to shape with jigsaw. He put a couple of holes in one end for a bit of rope to enable getting the lid off. The lids fit flush and although they are not dust proof the way in which they fit they can withstand a lot of force. We use the lid for cutting bait etc and they never fail.
Tim - Stratford.
Follow Up By: elmack - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 16:50
Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 16:50
Tim, a great idea I'll be looking into! Cheers.
Reply By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:13
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:13
I cant help with 80 ltr plus boxes, too much for my old back, but I use 40 ltr ones from autocrap. Rollers, lids, stackable for under $9 on special. Wont last forever but at that price who cares...oldbaz.
Follow Up By: elmack - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:19
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:19
Thanks Barry, by autocrap I suppose you mean Auto
Barn or Super Cheap Auto???!!! I might give them a look and see what they stock. Cheers.
Reply By: Member -Signman - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:47
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:47
If you've got a Bunnings in your area- they have a good range of tubs. Some are the 'lightweight' types, but have heavier types with clip on lids. Even thier aluminium checkerplate boxes would probably be cheaper than the 'ritzy' ARB type ones.
Follow Up By: elmack - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:01
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:01
Yep, there's a few Bunnings around here, I'd forgotten they stock tubs. Cheers.
Reply By: Bros 1 - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:51
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:51
elmack,
I use 68 lt Nally
bins with lids. They are the ones that the fishermen use.
Purchased
mine in
Brisbane 4 years ago for $35 each with lids. They are available all over Aus as far as i know. The six i have fit in my C/T alongside the pull out kitchen with about 3 inches to spare on top. I also take them in the cruiser in the back full of camping gear when not using the C/T. Very strong gear.
Bros.
Follow Up By: elmack - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:59
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:59
Thanks for that info Bros. I'll have to find out who stocks the Nally
bins and if they come in different sizes too. Cheers.
Reply By: mfewster - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:59
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 13:59
Check out the ZAG cases at supacheap. About 100litres. Light and strong. Don't seem to be damaged by UV. Good clip down lids and carrying handles. I have had several for quite a few years and haven't treated them too gently. Still look as though they will go for years. About $30.00 each. Sometimes see them on special. Also sometimes at Bunnings. There was also a 40 litre size that was really useful for food. Haven't seen this size around for a while.
Follow Up By: elmack - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:05
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:05
Fantastic, thanks mfewster. Supacheap was on my list of
places to
check out so now I know what to look for. Cheers.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 15:23
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 15:23
elmack,
While you are at Supercr@p or Bunnings,
check out the metal boxes as
well. they are pretty good value, and may fit into your campertrailer better than the plastic??
Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 22:38
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 22:38
If these are the black ones with yellow catches , this is what I use , ZAG ? . Our ones survived going around Australia and you cant find any damage . perfect size for footstool around
camp.
I even have all my garage shelving set up for these boxes , $30 too good. Before I got them saw the ARB type at work and was stoked , till I saw the price.
Thought I had seen 1/2 size ones before as I wanted them to keep stuff on my roof rack , been trying to find these , Can you help.
Glenn.
Follow Up By: mfewster - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 23:27
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 23:27
Glen. Yep, the black cases with the yellow clasps. Clasps on both sides And the clasps on one side can be used as hinges, or the whole lid removed. I agree, they seem bullet proof, but light and for the price they seem to be a bargain. I have small and large size and have used the small size up on the roofrack. Kept sealed up and no problems with sun deterioration, cracking etc. I got the smaller size at Supercheap in
Alice Springs some years ago, but I have never seen the small size since. I keep looking for them and if I ever see the smaller size I will grab a couple more. The bigger ones seem to be a Supercheap permanent item.
I also have a big tuffbox. Very strong, but the zags seem strong enough, are far lighter and much cheaper. The tuffbox sits at
home.
If you have any mates that do electrical work, they might be able to get another kind of box. Some halogen light sets come in a plastic box, about 40 litre size with a hinging/folding plastic lid. Very study, but without the tiedown handles of the Zags. I have seen a few around being used in the bush and lusted after them, but haven't been able to talk any sparkies into parting with them.
Reply By: Bros 1 - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:22
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:22
elmack,
The nally
bins are available in smaller sizes too, but i am not sure what they are. I have 3 that are roughly half the size of the 68 lt jobbie.
Bros.
Follow Up By: elmack - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:56
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:56
Thanks Bros, I think I'll be able to find them in fishing shops so I'll be checking them out soon.
Reply By: neptune - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:46
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:46
nally
bins are very good, they come in a range of sizes and shapes. Most are food grade plastic and can be purchased from fishing shops or commercial cooking supply shops. I have the 68l, 52l and 32 l one which all have the same outside dimensions, but are different heights( Same lids on all). They all stack on top of each other and can stand temperatures up to 100c.
Follow Up By: elmack - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:54
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 14:54
Thanks for that neptune, off to the shops I go!
Reply By: Bros 1 - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 15:54
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 15:54
elmack,
Shop around bloke. The ones i got in
Brisbane were 1/2 the price that my local (CQ) tackle store wanted.
Bros.
Follow Up By: elmack - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 16:41
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 16:41
Always a good idea when buying camping stuff! Have a great weekend.
Reply By: slave - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:46
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:46
try talor marine or your local ships
chandler for nally
bins, may be a bit dearer than superc##p as people tend to call it ,but well worth it. No more broken tubs in the middle of nowhere
Follow Up By: elmack - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:54
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:54
That's what I want to avoid, the tubs breaking when you least want/need it. I'd rather spend a bit more and have no more breakages from the simplest lift/move. I'm close to a pretty big boat supplier where I live so I'm sure they should have some heavy duty gear. Thanks for your input slave, greatly appreciated.
Reply By: michael & lisa - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:56
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 20:56
We purchased our nally tubs from bunnings. We reckon they are great, spend a little more and get what you want. Forget the supercrap, as they don't last. Our nally tubs are still going, we have had them for many and many of years and haven't cracked, split, or damaged them. They even lasted going to
cape york, on the OTL track, and back.
Follow Up By: elmack - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 16:46
Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 16:46
Thanks for that info. I'm glad to hear such a good rap about the nallys, and also that I can get them in Bunnings which is close by.
Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 22:38
Friday, Feb 02, 2007 at 22:38
Ki-tab heavy duty crates. Got mine from bunnings. Strong, stackable, 3 diff sizes.
Follow Up By: elmack - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 16:46
Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 16:46
Thanks Tone, another brand I can check out at the local Bunnings!
Reply By: Member - Min (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 14:29
Sunday, Feb 04, 2007 at 14:29
The fish tubs are the same as dive tubs (with lids optional). They do not have holes in the bottom. Try a dive
shop.
Follow Up By: elmack - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 16:49
Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 16:49
Thanks Min, I've got great responses from everyone here so I'll be sure to check out the fish/dive tubs too for sizing/toughness.
Reply By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 00:53
Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 00:53
Hi, Elmack ..............
Yep, Nally's crates/tubs for me, too !!
Try also Butchers supplies/Equipment shops and even Materials Handling
places through your Yellow Pages directories.
Bit of a bummer that you have to buy the lids seperate, though.....
And, iffen you are able to ...... make a chopping/food preparation board cut from a piece of half-inch ply to fit in the recess of the lid, well sanded and oiled.
Makes a perfect food preparation top ...............
and perfect in the tinnie for cutting up bait on, instead of your mates using your EvaKool/Baileys lid ????
Use different lid-boards !!
Follow Up By: elmack - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 16:40
Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 16:40
Thanks for the tip re. the chopping board Pedro, a great idea. Also a big thanks for the
places to search via Yellow Pages as I'd drawn a blank on
where to start searching!
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 11:06
Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 11:06
Since you are in
Melbourne, check out a store (chain?) called Plastics Unlimited. They have a store at Fountain
Gate, but I think they have others as well. I used to live at Narre Warren North (before I saw the light and came back to QLD) and the Fountain
Gate store had the biggest range of plastic containers I've ever seen. Google might help.
Follow Up By: elmack - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 16:43
Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 16:43
Thanks Norm, I was trying to find out the name of that store as I was sure I'd been in there years and years ago. It was in the shopping centre when I went but I couldn't find it when I was last there. I think it's probably moved out to the surrounding area, so now I know a name I can google it!
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 17:36
Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 17:36
They are now over the road in the new 'bulk/ homemaker' area. Close to BBQs Galore from memory, but it's been 3 years since I was there, having moved to QLD.
Follow Up By: elmack - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 17:43
Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 17:43
Thanks for that, I know where to head now.
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 21:48
Monday, Feb 05, 2007 at 21:48
elmack, have a solid box we got from Ikea that takes our portaloo when we need to take it. Containerises and possible spill and had been strong. Have some Nylex file storage containers that we have had veterinary products in. Very convenient and strong. They aren't big but sometimes is best that way. Keeps things isolated to their own compartment. We strap verything down in the back of the ute so it doesn't move too much
Follow Up By: elmack - Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 11:33
Friday, Feb 09, 2007 at 11:33
Thanks John, the Nylex file storage containers sound a great idea for all those little things that get lost in the bigger tubs! Cheers.